For Dogs
NATURAL CHOICE® Tartar Control Dog Biscuits

Tartar Control Adult Dog BiscuitsChicken & Whole Brown Rice Recipe

NATURAL CHOICE® Tartar Control Adult Biscuits Chicken & Whole Brown Rice Recipe helps maintain your dog’s oral health. We use premium, natural ingredients, such as real chicken, whole brown rice, oatmeal and decaffeinated green tea extract. Our healthy dog treats are easy on your dog’s digestive system while helping to remove plaque, whiten teeth and freshen breath. Treat your dog to a great taste and healthy smile.

Package Sizes Available: 16 oz., 32 oz.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Controls Plaque and Tartar
    The design of our biscuits scrapes away plaque and tartar buildup.
  • Fresh Breath
    Decaffeinated green tea extract promotes fresh breath.
  • Whiter Teeth
    Our biscuit’s unique texture cleans and whitens teeth naturally.
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min.) 11.00%
Crude Fat (min.) 6.50%
Crude Fiber (max.) 6.00%
Moisture (max.) 11.00%
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

These are the recommended feeding amounts based on an ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Feed suggested amounts throughout the day as a complement to your dog’s normal diet. As with any treat, when feeding the recommended amount of NATURAL CHOICE® Adult Dog Biscuits, you should decrease the amount of your dog’s main meal or increase exercise by 10 percent each day. Always monitor your pet while feeding a treat. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times. See your veterinarian regularly. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Dog Weight (lbs.) Biscuits per Day
25 – 50 1 – 2
50 – 100+ 2 – 3+
Calorie Content
Calorie Content/(Calculated)
(kcal/kg) ME 3,390
Calories (kcal) per Biscuit 51
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 1.5 out of 5 by 42reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not in stock - much harder than old formula Loved the old formula. The new biscuits are much harder and are difficult to break for our small dog. Also, they are impossible to find in the stores. Are you perhaps stopping production of the new formula and going back to the old one? September 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ditto : All of the Other Comments Increased price, less product. Less healthy formula. No country of origin on the bag. Just made for Nutro. No longer a customer. August 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by He Loves Them My dog loves them, although they may not be the best for tartar control August 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Go back to the old recipe! We have been buying these biscuits for years. Now I'm looking for alternatives. Ditto re: price and new formulation. August 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Listen to your customers I was wondering if I might just be the only disgruntled customer complaining about the original biscuits, but I see that's clearly not the case. Not only is the new formula less nutritious with less protein and more fat, but also a smaller and much harder biscuit. Since you give us just about about half as many biscuits for the same price, what would you expect? And the new packaging Is awful. When I opened the bag the "resealable" plastic seam ripped off like it wasn't even glued, causing me to have to use a rubber band. You clearly care so much more about your bottom line than your customers. I'm going to find alternative biscuits and maybe food too, since you are proving to be just another fair weather company. August 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Want the old formula back! We, too, have been giving our dogs Nutro's tartar control biscuits for the past 12 years and our dogs just loved them, not to mention how well they were for their dental health. Not only do they turn their noses up at this new formula, the fact the we get half as much for the same price is more than disappointing. Please take the enormous outcry from your loyal customers very seriously and bring back the old formula. July 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too hard to break! I felt the same great disappointment as the other reviewers for all the same reasons. But I'd like to add a specific complaint. After each meal I'd give my lab half of a Tarter Biscuit to clean her teeth (she LOVED them); then I'd break the other half into 3 or 4 pieces and hide the pieces around the house for her to seek out. It was a great game until the new biscuits showed up -- I can't break them!! So I'm sure they are harder for my senior dog to chew. Please, do what Coke-a-Cola did and go back to the original recipe. You could label them "Original Recipe Tarter Biscuits -- Back by popular demand!" July 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Why did you change? I have had two golden retrievers since 1999 and used the tarter control bicuits daily until the store ran out of them. Not once did I need to have my dog's teeth cleaned... The vet always said "maybe next year" since 1999. Not cool Nutro. What else have you changed for the worse? July 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Thumbs down the old biscuits were much better, my dogs dont like the new ones, and i dont like the fact that there is way less in the package and the price has gone up , i give the new biscuits a big thumbs down. You had something good and went and changed it. Have purchased your products for 12 years and quite frankly I'm very disappointed in what changes you've made. I will no longer be buying your products. June 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Why did you change the dog biscuits We have a 7 year old rescue dog who has had a rough beginning!! We finally found biscuits she would eat. We would buy the sensitive stomach, tarter control, and lite. Since the change, she will not touch them. What a waste of MONEY!! We have 4 different bags and she turns her nose up at them. Please bring to old formula back! We cannot find a treat she likes. Should have left well enough alone!! June 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by tarter control biscuits the old biscuits were much better, my dogs dont like the new ones, and i dont like the fact that there is way less in the package and the price has gone up , i give the new biscuits a big thumbs down. June 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by What Happened to the Old Tartar Control Biscuits?? My dog scarfed down the old tartar control biscuits every day for the last 13 years. Suddenly Nutro "remakes" them and she won't go near these. Why did that have to redo the perfect dog cookie?? June 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by It wasn't broken, why try to fix it! Agree with the other reviews. We want the old bicuits back and the larger box option. We will pay the price! May 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bring back the original product! The original tartar control biscuits were fantastic. The dog loved them. They worked so well that the vet started recommending them for all her canine patients. The new biscuits are a total flop -- the dog spits them out. I thought the problem might be the new form factor (with spikes), so I chipped a few biscuits down to to something near the original shape. He still spit them out. I spread peanut butter on them. He licked it off and then spit them out. I cannot speak to the effectiveness of the new biscuits because I cannot get the dog to eat one. Total fail. Bring back the original product! Even at the new, inflated price! May 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by good product gone bad i've been using this product for years and my dogs loved them. now they don't want them and they don't work as good. i agree with every other review here. i would rather see the old product go up in price and still be available. i guess you lost another coustomer May 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Whyd did the biscuits change! we have use the original tartar control biscuits for about 12 years. It definitely kept the tartar build up down and the dogs loved them!. The new packaging with less weight, fewer biscuits for more money also does not store well on the shelf. I like packaging for dog treats that stay upright on the shelf. Things that fall over can also slip out and into mouths way to easily. Why were they changed? Did the old forumla not work? Let's go back to the old way. I'll need to find some other tartar control treat now for them. May 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad move - return to former business model I agree with other reviewers. Previously loved product and highly recommended. However, new product/model has forced me to look elsewhere for product. More money for less product - bad move! April 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Less product for higher cost Used the old biscuits for 4 dogs for years, 20/week, the large box. Now the biscuits are smaller, package size greatly reduced, and price increased. My dogs do eat the new variation (didn't at first but Corgis eat anything) but it is more cost effective to purchase the Milk Bone brand Medium size biscuits and probably get the same results for a lot less cost, especially with 4 dogs, so I won't be buying Tartar Control again. I would have continued to purchase Tartar Control biscuits had they left it alone. April 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad idea to change formula & packaging There ARE other dog biscuit products to choose from, but this was the one that my dog really likes and which actually made a dental difference. But lo and behold, after earning a loyal customer base, Nutro goes and (a) changes the biscuit formula, (b) cuts the packaged quantity of biscuits by 50%, (c) doesn't lower the price to reflect the decrease in total biscuits sold per package. My dog is just going to have to get used to a biscuit from another dog treats producer, because I'm not going to pour money into Nutro's new version of Tartar Control biscuits. April 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Active ingredient is missing Why did u take out the pyrophosphate? ( same as in Crest tartar control for humans)I fed the original recipe for years to my dogs and they barely needed any cleaning.I am qualified to judge this because I am a dental hygienist. Please put it back in! April 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing product change There is not much I can add to the reviews that have already been submitted. Others have said exactly what I have recently found out about your "new" twice the price Tartar control biscuits for dogs. This move by your company was very disappointing and insulting to pet owners. How could you think that the public would not recognize that you went from a 60 oz box to a 32 oz bag with essentially no price change. April 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by "Very Disappointed" I have been useing the original tartar control biscuits for seven years, completely satisfied! The change in shape, packageing, & price have resulted in my looking to other reputable pet food manufacturers for a compareable substitute. If you have a great product in all ways, why make a drastic change? April 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Big Mistake!! Compared to the old product, this new biscuit is physically smaller, has less protein (11 vs. 20%) and is higher in fat (6.5 vs 5 %). Both have chicken and rice listed. The real shock is that Nutro’s new product packaging essentially DOUBLES the price !! The old economy 60 oz box has been replaced with a 32 oz bag for about the same price. I hope Nutro doesn’t try this approach with their primary food products that we still buy. I hope they admit their mistake and bring the old product back. Meanwhile, the hunt continues for an alternative biscuit. April 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by very unhappy with the change I've found the biscuits in a large box to work perfectly on my four dogs' teeth; this new packaging is very inconvenient, much, much smaller, and is more expensive. Having four dogs with various sensitivities, these were the only biscuits that worked for all of them. I will have to find something new that works for all the dogs. Very dissapointed. April 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by New Biscuit = BAD We have been using your tartar control biscuits for treats for the past 4 years. Our Abby loved them. She will not eat these new biscuits. Please consider changing back. Until you do, I am sorry but I cannot buy these biscuits. April 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by My dogs do not count them as a treat. My dogs would drop almost anything when I said brush your teeth. If I didn't say it soon enough for them, they would stare at me. They have no interest in these. I'm tossing them in with their food until this bag is gone. I'm also trying to find a new toothbrush. March 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by CHANGED RECIPE?? BAD IDEA!! My dog has been eating the original (TARTAR CONTROL) biscuits for the past 14 years. I can accept the package change (from a box to a bag) but not your substitution of the origional recipe! The pet stores tell us it is the same recipe, but you know, I know and our dogs know, it is not!! NUTRO products WILL NOT continue to be a part of our dogs diet until the ORIGIONAL TARTAR CONTROL RECIPE comes back. Someome made a bad choice! Hope you will correct it! March 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by PLEASE!!!! Bring Back Old Biscuits Can't even tell you how disappointed I am that you have changed this Tartar Control Natural Choice Biscuit. It doesn't make any sense to change it when it was working just fine. My dog won't touch these new ones. Would you please, please, please put the old Biscuits back in the stores as soon as possible or at least let us be able to order them online - starting yesterday. We would appreciate it so much.Thank you. March 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shouldn't have changed the product Good-bye Nutro. Not sure why you dropped a perfectly great product. It's been nice knowing you. March 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing As is the case with many others, my dogs do not like the new formula. "Toothbrushes" was the bedtime call at my house, but now they sniff suspiciously and walk away. I bought I five pound box every 3-4 weeks and my dogs agreed that they WERE the best tasting dog biscuits in the world. Not anymore. March 16, 2012
<<prev2 3next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®