For Dogs

WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Dog FoodChicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

Older dogs can experience some of the same challenges as aging humans, including mobility issues, memory loss and sensitivity to certain foods. NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Dog Food with our SENIOR SUPPORT SYSTEM® Formula helps replenish antioxidants older dogs need as they age. It also contains omega-3 fatty acids, ALA and DHA for brain and cellular health. Our premium senior dog food is made with real chicken, whole brown rice and oatmeal, so it’s delicious and easy to digest. Plus, the added benefit of naturally sourced glucosamine and chondroitin will help keep your pet’s joints strong and healthy.

Package Sizes Available: 5 lbs., 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Great Taste With Real Chicken
    Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Great tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken delivers the amino acids that senior dogs need to maintain a healthy metabolism.
  • Rich in Antioxidants
    SENIOR SUPPORT SYSTEM® Formula
    Our formula delivers antioxidants and omega-3 fatty acids — ALA and DHA — to promote brain, joint and cellular health.
  • Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole brown rice and oatmeal improve nutrient absorption and digestive concerns.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Our patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.
  • Healthy Joints for Life
    Healthy Joints
    Naturally sourced glucosamine and chondroitin help build healthy cartilage, which means healthy joints.
  • no corn
    Natural Ingredients
    Our dog food is made without corn gluten, corn, wheat or soy protein.

** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

chxrceoat kibble
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for senior breed dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
15 lbs. 1 1/3 1 1/2 1 3/4
25 lbs. 2 2 1/4 2 1/2
35 lbs. 2 1/2 2 3/4 3 1/4
45 lbs. 3 3 1/2 4
55 lbs. 3 1/2 4 4 1/2
65 lbs. 4 4 1/2 5 1/4
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.99 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3614 kcal/kg, 307 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 158reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is dog approved. This product is dog approved by our very fussy 15 year old canine family member. Not only does he love it, but the other young members of our pack will wait and watch for just the right moment to sneak over and steal a bite. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eight Paws Up Both of my dogs, even the finicky one, readily eat Natural Choice Senior. At the ages of eight and nine, both dogs remain healthy and active. My dogs are Nutro dogs for life. We know we can expect only the highest nutrition and quality from the food. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Has kept my 13 year old healthy All 3 of my dogs(ages 6, 8, &13) eat Nutro Senior. My 13 year old corgi has been eating it for several years and is in great shape. Corgis are prone to joint issues due to their long backs and short legs, but Gizmo has no signs of any problems. He still runs around and jumps on the couch and has no health problems. I'll continue to feed all my dogs Nutro. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Seniors My dogs have thrived on Natural Choice Senior. they are 10 years old and their coats are so healthy. Very little shedding which is a miracle. It has also taken care of some digestive issues they were having. I wish I had discovered the benefits of Nutro sooner. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT! My sweet boy has been on this for 3 years now and STILL loves it! This is a wonderful dog food and would tell anyone to try it! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product has great ingredients for the senior a year in a half ago I was beside myself searching for dog food for my senior german shorthair who was having health problems & keeping a good weight when I tried Natural choice Senior & finally I noticed a great improvement in his weight & overall health & I then discovered Nutro ultra Holistic senior which I mix in with the natural choice senior, & both my german shorthairs are doing really good for being 13 years & 7 months old... I believe these two types of food has helped them maintain their health greatly..... thank you for a good product for my loving dogs or as I call them my kids.... February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Picky eater doesn't hesitate! Hello! I have (4) dogs, (2) Beagles and (2) mixed breed with Springer spaniel/Australian cattle dog. With the exception of one of the Beagles, they were okay eaters with other foods but the backyard was turning into a minefield! It seemed as though more of the food was waste than what was actually used. The corn by-product in most brands, I am sure, has something to do with this. On the advice of a friend, we switched to Natural Choice and the change was immediately noticeable.The beagle that didn't eat well took to the food right away and now she is eager to eat in the mornings were as before we had to coax her into eating by making her think the other dogs were going to "get" her food.And the backyard is definately not as much a problem as it used to be before switching to Natural Choice. I would recommend this brand of dog food to anyone who cares what kind of food their dog is eating. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful My beagle at age 6 was experiencing many gastro issues. Her vet recommended Nutro to see if they would resolve. Within 6 weeks she was a different girl! More energy and no more nasty tummy aches. She was so happy and made me a believer that what you feed your pup is huge! She is now 16 hrs old and walks 30 minutes every day with me. Thank you Nutro for a long life! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This dog food is perfect for older dog We own two labs one 12 and one 2. The 12 year old is active but is starting to show his age. This food is not only the right balance to keep his weight in check, but it contains the glucosamine that helps his joints stay young so he can keep up with the two year old. His coat stays glossy even in the winter when he is out playing in the snow. We have been nutro fans for 12 years! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by everything he needs It's nice to know that Nutro's Natural Choice meets all our senior dog's needs. My husband had the good fortune to speak with a Nutro nutritionist at a dog food store a few years ago. Since then, we've stuck to Nutro products. Our dogs have been healthy and fit, maintaining an appropriate weight without forcing us to worry about a restrictive diet. Thanks! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Rooter has never been healthier Our almost 10 year old black lab Rooter has tons of energy and is extremely healthy. He has been eating the Nutro senior formula for almost 2 years, since we adopted him. People do not believe his age. His coat is extremely shiny and he is able to move around without hurting. My husband and I are really glad that we heard about Nutro. We will never give him anything else. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy ingredients/healthy dogs! On a dog food grade, Nutro rates an A+ for quality and nutrition. I have a rating chart that I have used over the past years to derive a score on all dry dog food. I rate the following as pluses :the meat source, if it is baked, probiotices, fruit and vegetables, harmone free and antibiotic free, type of oil, animal protein sources, if it contains glucosamine and chondroitin, pesticide free... then I rate the following as minuses: by products, non-specific animal sources, BHA, BHT, non specific grains, non meat meal, ground corn or whole grain corn, soy or soybean, salt, etc. The highest score is the dry dog food that I purchase. Nutro has come out on top!!! Thanks to your product, my dogs are much healthier and happier. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by For Old Pup Teeth, Just Add Water! My two old lady schnauzers have been eating Nutro since I discovered it 5 years ago. Because their teeth are sensitive (and nearly all gone!) the Senior formula is perfect for them when I add a bit of warm water to soften it up. Each little morsel of food absorbs the water and becomes soft enough for them to enjoy immediately. The joint support this formula offers is an amazing bonus as my two girls are going to be 10 this summer! They are always so excited for dinner! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Forever on Nutro Our Wheaten Terrier, Samson, is over 11 years old now. He started on the Nutro Lamb and Rice for puppies and then was on the Nutro Lamb and Rice for adults. He has been on the Nutro Senior for a couple years now. In all this time, Samson, has never encountered a problem with the food. He is a "grazer" so the food is out all the time and he lets us know when he wants more. I thank Nutro for helping to keep our lovable pet family member in good shape. February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is superior to those I've tried in th The product is always fresh. It is easy to find. Its healthy and my dog never turns it down. February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highest Quality My golden retriever is nearing the 10 year mark and maintains her vitality using this fine product. We find that the quality ingredients allows her to maintain her weight and energy while still requring modest portions. February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by all 4 of my dogs thrive on this product! I have fed this product to my 14 yr old jack russell for years, Cosmo has had no health problems, no hip issues, nothing, still acts likes he's a 5yr old. Now the other 3 have started on it since they are going on 6. I have Nutro to family and people I just meet at Petsmart all the time. I think I have sold more of this product for your company than the store employee!g February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product. This is the only dog food that my dog can eat and does not make him sick. It helps his joints a lot also. February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weight loss tool Our 10 year old labrador has had a weight problem due to steriodal use due to his severe allergies. With that being said, we put Scooter on Nutro Senior and saw his weight come down in a timely manner. I would say he has been on Nutro Senior for about 1 year and has he lost 11 pounds! I go into the vet and am suprised to hear that his weight continues to drop little by little, giving my family back a playful and healthy family friend. February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I only wanted the best........ We have 3 dogs that are senior pets.A black lab, pekingees and a mixed terrior breed. I wanted to find a dog food that would accomadate all of them, since they all have different issues. I really thought I would have to feed them all something different ! Thru careful research and talking to others, I decided to try the adult senior dog food. I loved the fact that there were no chicken by products in the food,and much needed joint and extra glucosamine.To my suprise, they all ate it, liked it, and all seem to be feeling better ! More energy,less shedding ! Thank you so much ! We will be a customer forever, please keep up the good work and continue to make new products ! February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by happier lab on Nutro Senior Lucy, my yello lab, will be 9 years old in June. We live in the high desert next to Joshua Tree National Park where she has plenty of opportunities to chase rabbits and quail, but her favorite passion is food. I've never seen another dog who is so single minded about her next treat or meal. As she reached 5 or 6 years of age she began to get broader around the middle and a bit more reserved in her physical activities. We decided to switch her food to Natural Choice Senior and have seen a remarkable change in weight and activity. She is much more inclided to play with her little sister and friends and now has a well definded waistline. The switch to NCS seems to have revived her youthful personality. We are very pleased. February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best for the one's that's given their best! Our 13 year old dog looks forward to his morning feeding with the vivaciousness of a spry young puppy. We often get asked his age because he doesn't show nearly the signs of an older dog because of his healthy coat, teeth, and playful demeanor. We largely attribute his health status to the nutritious diet from the natural choice line that has evolved with his changing needs. February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Naturally, the best! As a puppy, our golden retriever, Shadow (who is a happy, healthy 12 yr old now), had many skin allergy problems. He was on antibiotics on and off a lot of his first year. Our vet was helpful, but confused. We happen to run into a Nutro rep at the pet store, and she mentioned 'allergies' as being a good reason to try Nutro. We gave it a try, not expecting much. He has never had an allergy problem since we switched to Nutro! Shadow has a corn allergy, which we now know is in most all other dog food brands. We will never give him anything else! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improved digestive health Our dog was experiencing problems with diarrhea when I decided to switch her food. I did some research and decided to try natural choice senior. In a very short time her problems cleared up. I am very pleased with the results. Thank You February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 14 year customer I have used your product for the past 14 years. We started out using chicken meal, rice and oatmeal. My 10 year old, a lab mix, has a sensitive stomack & skin,he use to scratch until his fur fell out. Now that he is 10 the senior formula keeps his coat shiny & soft. My 14 year old shih tzue is very active. No one believes he is 14. Thanks NUTRO. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kept my senior in great weight! My long-haired chihuahua (now almost 12 years) always gained weight over the winter prior to using Natural Choice Senior; because of bad weather his exercise was always reduced, resulting in weight gain every winter.After switching to Natural Choice Senior for the past 5 years, Cujo keeps his weight steady all year long. I free-feed him, and he hasn't gained nor lost a pound in all that time. Natural Choice is great for seniors! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surpassed expectations While searching for a different food for our 9 year old lab, we were helped by a Nutro associate at Petsmart. We told her what symptoms our dog was experiencing and she pointed out 3 or 4 different brands and explained how to read the ingredient list, what ingredients to look for, etc. We chose the Nutro product and she assured us that it was one of the best and that we should see a difference in about two weeks with how our dog was acting. It took less than a week to see her start acting like a much younger dog. She is more active, alert and a much happier acting dog. Would not have believed that such a simple change would make such a remarkable difference! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is perfect for older dogs My dog Penny is now 11. She was on Nutro Lite for many years and when she reached "senior" status I didn't hesitate to try this food for her. She is actually now on Nutro's holistic food but this product is perfect for older dogs that may have conditions such as arthritis. Penny ruptured a disk when she was three and was paralyzed temporarily. She had a microlamenectomy and even though she moves a little stiffer and slower than she did before she is doing great! She also tore her ACL several years ago and the chondritin and glucosomine that is in Nutro senior has made her comfortable as the arthritis has set into her back and joints. She gets along great! Her coat is shiny and her eyes are bright! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My picky eater loves this product I like being able to pair the dry and wet versions of this food in that the flavors are the same. My dog is picky and always having the same flavor of whatever she likes is important. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product My Border Collie joined my family when she was 5 years of age. I feed her Nutro Natural Choice, Senior. Now, at 10 years of age she is as active as ever! Each day she takes ME for walks, generally 5 miles per day. Plus she runs and plays when we return home! She also helps with the cattle, working in places that we are not able to get ... all and all a super athlete! Additionally she has a beautiful hair coat! I give Natural Choice, Senior a lot of credit for her good health! February 18, 2011
<<prev 2 34 5 6next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®