For Dogs

WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Dog FoodChicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

Older dogs can experience some of the same challenges as aging humans, including mobility issues, memory loss and sensitivity to certain foods. NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Dog Food with our SENIOR SUPPORT SYSTEM® Formula helps replenish antioxidants older dogs need as they age. It also contains omega-3 fatty acids, ALA and DHA for brain and cellular health. Our premium senior dog food is made with real chicken, whole brown rice and oatmeal, so it’s delicious and easy to digest. Plus, the added benefit of naturally sourced glucosamine and chondroitin will help keep your pet’s joints strong and healthy.

Package Sizes Available: 5 lbs., 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Great Taste With Real Chicken
    Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Great tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken delivers the amino acids that senior dogs need to maintain a healthy metabolism.
  • Rich in Antioxidants
    SENIOR SUPPORT SYSTEM® Formula
    Our formula delivers antioxidants and omega-3 fatty acids — ALA and DHA — to promote brain, joint and cellular health.
  • Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole brown rice and oatmeal improve nutrient absorption and digestive concerns.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Our patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.
  • Healthy Joints for Life
    Healthy Joints
    Naturally sourced glucosamine and chondroitin help build healthy cartilage, which means healthy joints.
  • no corn
    Natural Ingredients
    Our dog food is made without corn gluten, corn, wheat or soy protein.

** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

chxrceoat kibble
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for senior breed dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
15 lbs. 1 1/3 1 1/2 1 3/4
25 lbs. 2 2 1/4 2 1/2
35 lbs. 2 1/2 2 3/4 3 1/4
45 lbs. 3 3 1/2 4
55 lbs. 3 1/2 4 4 1/2
65 lbs. 4 4 1/2 5 1/4
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.99 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3614 kcal/kg, 307 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 157reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have always trusted my pets to Nutro I have always trusted my dogs (2) health to Nutro. Good (they love it) & healthy nutrition w/no fillers & odd chicken parts. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Adds years to a dog's life I started my Cockapoo on Nutro Natural Choice when she was just a few years old, when she reached the age of 7 I started using the Senior formula, when the Nutro Ultra for senior dogs came out, I switched to that. She was a healthy, happy active dog for all but the last two months of her life, and she lived to be a bit over 17 years old. The average age at death of a dog her size is about 15, so I truly believe this food gave me two years with her that I would not have otherwise had. I just lost her in Nov. of 2010, so it is still a raw wound, I miss her terribly.I now have a Chihuahua pup and I immediately started her on Nutro Ultra for puppies, I will feed her Nutro for her entire life. I expect I will have her for about 20 years thanks to this high quality food. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeping her young Our Black Lab Mix, Carolina, is 7 years old. We have always used Nutro and been very happy, but we switched her to the Senior when she was 5. She's had a few joint issues, even surgery. But with the help of Nutro, she still gets around like a much younger pup - running, jumping all over the place. It is very important to us to keep her healthy, as we have 2 young sons that love Carolina like crazy. Thanks to Nutro for helping keep our dog young, happy, healthy. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Product From Nutro! I have always used Nutro for my dog's nutritional needs. He always got the lamb and rice formula and now that he is in his senior years I recently switched to the Senior formula. He loves the food, and is extremely healthy for his age, which I credit in part to the greatness of all nutro pet products! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! My chihuahua pug mix has been sharing food with my brother dog, who is a slightly overweight Yorkie. His food is the expensive one, $30 some dollars for 12 pounds.... My dog just got her yearly exam and her bloodwork said she had low protein levels. I immediately stopped her from eating the other food and switched her to Senior. She loves it and I know she'll get the nutrients she needs without me having to sell an arm and a leg for her food. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST IN WV MY JACK RUSSELL TERRIER IS NOW 13 YEARS OLD AND HAS EATEN NUTRO BRANDS FOR MUCH OF HER LIFE March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stinky Bostons I have 3 Boston Terriers and for years we had some terrible gas issues in our house with them. A couple years ago I heard about Nutro and that it is gentle on digestive systems so gave it a try. No more stinky house for us! Andy time they get something other than Nutro the problem is back. It has also really helped their coat as well. They are not as dry as they used to be. Love this food. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy face My day is brightened by Natural Choice, thank youFenris, The Wolf March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my elderly dog loves this product my dog is 18 years old and in wonderful shape. he is a large dog and his name is nuffy. my vet says he cant believe how healthy he is and i really do attribute a large part of this to the food he eats. he gets a balanced meal that includes nutro food and treets. i have read and looked and checked out all products on the market and besides the fact he seems to love the taste the best, he gets nothing but nutro products. i know it seems if i am writing a commercial but i am serious. i do depend on your products to help me keep him healthy and with me as long as possible. i love him so much for being part of my life for so long and i want to be selfish and keep him as long as i possibly can. thanks for helping me keep him with me...........daryl March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Dog is like a puppy again. My dog is 15 1/2 years old and she gets around like a puppy. She has her health issues. Her sight is almost gone as well as her hearing. She has a heart murmur. She has a wetting problem and takes medication for it. Her teeth are detoriating and she takes antibiotics every 6 weeks for this. This food though she eats it hard is really been great for her. She gets around well and is playful. Her coat is very soft and feel great to pet her. I am very pleased to say this has been a very good choice of dog food. Thanks to the person at Pets Mart who refered me to by this product. We love it. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Harley's favorite food! My friends are amazed that my dog Harley is so active and healthy at 14 (human years!) She still runs around and plays like she's still a puppy! When they ask me "WHAT do you feed her?" I say it must be the Natural Choice Senior formula! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buddy Loves I Buddy our 8 year old Golden loves this food. He seems to do very well with it and it has less calories than some of the others. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dog and Natural Choice Senior Two years ago our 11 year old lab mix, Sasha, collapsed and could not walk. We rushed her to the vet who told us she had osteoarthritis and sensed that she may have taken a fall sometime during the day which aggrevated her condition. She had been alright up to this time. He immediately put her on msm, condroitin, and glucosamine supplements. As she improved and, with our aid, began walking again, she was switched to the Natural Choice Senior Dog Food which has supplements to aid with bone and joint problems. Since then, she has not had anything like the episode I described. She is slower, of course, now being almost 13 years old. But we know for a fact that the dog food has helped her so much. She enjoys her mealtime. We are so grateful that this particular line of dog food has done so much for her and extended her life. She is our joy and we thank Nutro Natural Choice for keeping our pet alive and well. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this dog food is great. We have 2 big labradors and they love their Natural Choice Senior. It is good for their coats and weight. The only complaint that they have is that they wish we fed them more...... March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by five star pet food mmmmmwwoof Since my senior dogs eat Natural Choice Senior dogfood, their energy level has increased, and they are happier. My dogs, BB and T-Bone are grinning from ear to ear, they run and jump, and play like puppies, even though they are 6 and 12 years of age. I would encourage this product, it even smells great,unlike some that have a musty smell. My dogs woof it up! :) GOOD TASTE,LESS WASTE I am so happy. Woof it up and feel ruff and ready!!!!! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by For a healthy beautiful pet Natural Choice has been our collie, Bonnie's only diet for the last 6 1/2 years. We tried other brands before, but her coat became brittle and dry. Once we switched to Nutro Natural Choice there was a dramatic improvement. Bonnie was healthier, happy and developed a beautiful "Collie" coat. She is now over 10 years old and is still gorgeous. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a wonderful product This product is great for my older dog and she loves it. She is very picky and as she got older I decided to try something that would be better for her as she ages and I bought this product and she absolutely loves it to my surprise. I want to thank you for letting me give her the best as she ages. With a great taste that she loves. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Senior The senior food is great like all the others I have show dogs the vet says their health and coat are beautiful March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent my dog is a 10 year old short hair red dachshund. He loves nutro senior. we have to put a little warm water in it because he doesn't like hard food. Then he eats it quickly/ thank you for such a good product. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best product ingredients for Seniors! I had adopted our dog Miller from the animal shelter when he was 6 months old. I fed him Nutros puppy food, then graduated him up to Nutros Chicken and Rice and Oatmeal. He ate that his whole adult life and now he is an 11 year old healthy, shiny coat, active senior dog eatring Nutros Natural Choice Senior food. I would never feed anything else to any animal I have. This food has kept my dog healthy, happy, and energetic through his whole life with the quality ingredients in the food. I tell everyone I can about Nutros products. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great throughout a dog's life! Murphy, my 7 year old Vizsla, has eaten Nutro for his entire life. Starting with puppy, then to High Energy and now Senior. He loves the taste and once in a while gets a "special" treat of the Nutro Slices dog food mixed in to his regular dinner! The biscuits have also been a staple in his diet.Murphy's coat, eyes and skin have always looked great and he gets daily compliments on how handsome he is.I would highly recommend Nutro to any dog owner! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for our senior dog We adopted a ten year old dog and started her on another brand. She did not tolerate it well, and at the advice of our vet, switched her to Nutro Senior. She has been on it for over two years and acts like a puppy. She is happy, healthy and full of energy-I will never feed her anything else. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 15 and Still strong! I started my now oldest dog Dixie on Natural Choice products when we first rescued her from the pound 13 years ago, and switched her to the senior product 6 or 7 years ago. Dixie is a border collie, and has always loved to run. When she was diagnosed with arthritis we decided it was time to move her to the senior food. Here we are with her at 15 and, while she doesn't run as much as she used to, she has plenty of energy to have fun with the younger members of our pack. She's in better health that anyone could expect for her age, still has all of her teeth, and I owe it to Natural Choice pet foods. I won't feed anything else to any of my dogs! Thanks for making such a great product! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Our lab is 11 and has never been on any other diet. Great coat, and very healthy. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for older large dogs I have 3 black labs who love Natural Choice dog food for seniors. It has glucosamine for their old joints, and seems to keep their weight in check. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love it! I have two small Shih Tzu mixes that love your Senior dog food. I have noticed over the past three months that Spot and Charlie have been on the food they have become much livelier and more active. They have never had any problems before because they have been Nutro dogs since day one. As they get older, I want to make sure that they have the best things in life, including the best dog food.Thanks Nutro! March 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Missing my friend This product was loved by my best friend (besides my wife). He passed away not to long ago. His name was Dar-Garo. Dar as we called his was my First Military Service Explosive Detector Dog. He retired at the Age of * years old. My wife and I adopted him and loved him as if he were our child. He was so playful and loving. Once my daughter was born he watched over her where ever she went. My daughter loved him so much. For being a 115 lb former attack dog, he was as gentle as a kitten and had a heart as big as texas. He took great care of our family and gave us the best 3 years of our lives. I do miss him very much. He really enjoyed Nutro Senior. It was great especially on his joints and stomach. Thank you Nutro for the great food you made for our dog. February 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great for older dogs. I have a 17 year old bird dog. So far he is still somewhat active. Nutro senior dog food has been great with keeping him healthy. He does not sick since I have started feeding him the senior food. February 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This gave my dog an extra soft coat. Just switched my dog to Senior food and her coat looks so healthy and feels so soft. February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is dog approved. This product is dog approved by our very fussy 15 year old canine family member. Not only does he love it, but the other young members of our pack will wait and watch for just the right moment to sneak over and steal a bite. February 24, 2011
<<prev 23 4 5 6next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®