For Dogs

WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Dog FoodChicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

Older dogs can experience some of the same challenges as aging humans, including mobility issues, memory loss and sensitivity to certain foods. NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Dog Food with our SENIOR SUPPORT SYSTEM® Formula helps replenish antioxidants older dogs need as they age. It also contains omega-3 fatty acids, ALA and DHA for brain and cellular health. Our premium senior dog food is made with real chicken, whole brown rice and oatmeal, so it’s delicious and easy to digest. Plus, the added benefit of naturally sourced glucosamine and chondroitin will help keep your pet’s joints strong and healthy.

Package Sizes Available: 5 lbs., 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Great Taste With Real Chicken
    Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Great tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken delivers the amino acids that senior dogs need to maintain a healthy metabolism.
  • Rich in Antioxidants
    SENIOR SUPPORT SYSTEM® Formula
    Our formula delivers antioxidants and omega-3 fatty acids — ALA and DHA — to promote brain, joint and cellular health.
  • Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole brown rice and oatmeal improve nutrient absorption and digestive concerns.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Our patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.
  • Healthy Joints for Life
    Healthy Joints
    Naturally sourced glucosamine and chondroitin help build healthy cartilage, which means healthy joints.
  • no corn
    Natural Ingredients
    Our dog food is made without corn gluten, corn, wheat or soy protein.

** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

chxrceoat kibble
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for senior breed dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
15 lbs. 1 1/3 1 1/2 1 3/4
25 lbs. 2 2 1/4 2 1/2
35 lbs. 2 1/2 2 3/4 3 1/4
45 lbs. 3 3 1/2 4
55 lbs. 3 1/2 4 4 1/2
65 lbs. 4 4 1/2 5 1/4
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.99 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3614 kcal/kg, 307 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 158reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Senior 7+ New Formula I have been using your product for nearly 12 years. The first 9 was with our male English Springer who had a very sensitive stomach as he aged and continued until he reach 16 years of his life span. We are using currently the same food for the last 4 years with our rescued female English Springer. I had noticed that last year that you decided to Improve this formula for seniors during this time. The smell and size and ingredients has changed. The old formula was Natural Sources of Glucosamine &Chondroitin and Add Vitamiins,Minerals & Taurine had help our Mindy to eat and gain weight. She was able to keep her food down, since she has been with us and seems to enjoy eating her food twice a day. How much of the change was made from the old to the new? Mainly, the smell is awful and the bag is smaller and Mindy is starting to have some issues with this new formula. I will also ask my vet to see what is going on with her to fix this problem. I had enjoyed the Old Formula and wished that you had not improve it. January 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get what you pay for :-) I have a 7 year old lab/cattle dog mix. He's been on Iams and Alpo for a few years and when I moved out I took him with me. His poops were huge and loose half the time. I've never had a problem with Iams but with Chester getting older I wanted something a lot healthier. His stools are much better and his coat looks healthier. We just now switched our puppy to the small bites Natural Choice and plan on staying with this brand for a long time. June 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love product My 17 yr old Bichon Frise, Spencer loves this food. Our Vet recommended this product years ago and have followed through all the milestones of his life. Hew loves the food and the Senior food seems very easy for him to chew. May 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best for your dog. Our 11 year old Sheltie has been on Natural Choice since we brought him home as a puppy. He is now on the senior food. His coat is so beautiful and his energy level remains high. And, as our vet told us, better food in means the body burns more of it and, therefore, less 'waste'.Thanks, Natural Choice! February 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my Shepherds!! I have three German Shepherds. Two of them are over 11 years old - and that's old for a German Shepherd!! Their coats are so soft. They pass all their annual examinations at the vet and they are happy and contented. And I owe it all to Nutro Large Breed and Large Breed Senior. Thanks for your good nutritional food for my pets. January 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food My vet told us to change our dogs food and recommended Natural Choice for Seniors. They love the food and I have no problem getting them to eat. January 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great schtuff,, a healthy choice We have a Golden Retriever, and a very tall Chesapeake Bay Retriever, they have both always been fed Nutro Large Breed. They seem to love the food, and are both very healthy, altough the Chessie has been diagnosed with Diabeties, we don't believe this is attrbuted to the food. We will continue to always feed them Nutro, since the ingredience is what is important for their overall health.. November 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by NO....emergency vet bills....what's that cost.... I read the research on pet foods years ago. You couldn't pay me to change back .My family has always had pets. i have small dogs now since i live in the city. I just believe the best proof of a good diet is the health of your pet.My last toy dog was 16 yrs.same as my last cat that i learned about Nutro with. My new cat is 14 3/4,my dog is almost 9 yrs. Other than spaying they only go for their vaccinations. And from a long past of pets i know that you cannot say that from" by products"diets,plus i always had at least one emergency bill each year.My pets are both healthy and happy. November 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by product has no corn of any type in it. Our English mastiff rescue is highly allergic to corn and chicken. I can tell immediately when he's eaten something with these components. Would appreciate coupons just for us, also. November 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Small Bites I have three different sizes - a Jack Russel, a Border Collie and a Shepard Chow cross. The small bites are great for everyone. I can feed less food that the cheap brands, their coats are shiny and healthy. They are just in better health all around. It works out, I believe, to be cheaper in the long run as it means less runs to the vets for sickness. Great stuff! I've been feeding it for about seven or eight years now. The dogs all love it. November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 15 year old chihuahua loves this food!! I have a 15 year old chihuahua who would rather starve himself or beg for table food before eating his regular supermarket brand dog food. His fur was opaque, slept all day & had very hard bowels. Once I started to feed him Nutro, all problems got resolved. His coat is shinny, seems to love the taste, he can chew on it with no problem with his weak teeth. No more bathroom problems and most important HE IS HAPPY & ENERGETIC! November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I give this a 5 Star and A+ Rating!! I have a Golden Retriever/ Corgi mix ( or so we think) that will be 11 in April and I put him on this food about 4 or 5 months ago and not even 3 weeks I noticed a huge difference. He is a little overweight and since he's getting older he doesn't like to walk or play with toys as much. If it weren't for this food I dont think my dog would have the engery he does. He's more alert, he seems to have more energy and has lost almost 12 pounds since he has been on this. When my parents saw him after a few weeks then even noticed!! This food is a little more expensive than i was used to paying; but it's worth it to every penny. Not only is it for my 4 legged baby and im proud to do it for him but this food contains none of the grose meat-by-product that other cheap foods do.I will NOT be feeding my dog any other food than this!! Thank you Nutro!!! November 23, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by he is staying and acting young. My dog is 8 years old. he still likes to play and walks with a youthful bounce Being he's a 90+ pound shepard he is thin, eats all he wants and leaves the rest for later. I notice the more he runs and play the more he may want to eat. he seems to contol it himself . I find giving him the large breed food keeping him healthy and other that a a few healthy bisquits which keep his teeth clean is enough. i wish i could control myself the same way November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Miraculous When I adopted my Rat Terrier, he was 8 years old. His former owner pointed out his yellowed teeth and shared that he was prone to skin rashes. I brought him home and my boyfriend immediately changed his food to Nutro because that's what HIS Rat Terrier ate and she is a beautiful animal. That was 4 years ago and my Buddy looks younger and healthier than the day we met. You can almost see your reflection in the black parts of his coat. No redness on his belly. No scratching. His teeth look whiter. The pair of Rat Terriers turn heads and it's unbelievable that they're senior citizens at 10 and 12. Never anything but Nutro. November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's awesome! I have been using it on my dog for the past 6 months and he has lost 6 lbs which is great! He seems to be full after eating and not starving in between feedings which is great too! His coat seems softer and less hair shedding and his bathroom stuff is less and very regular now! All great news just like the rep said would happen. Now I would like to be able to get some coupons from time to time and so far haven't found any on your website! Can you look into that since the rep said oh yeah sign up and you'll get coupons, but none yetthanks again for the great food November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like a pup again I started my yellow lab on Senior Natural Choice about 3 years ago when she started having digestion problems. She just loves the taste and at age 13 1/2 she is able to keep up with her with her "brother" who is a two year old black lab. They say labs tend to stay "puppies" for a long time but I can't help but feel that my senior dog has a higher level of energy due to her diet.. September 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by noticable difference in dog's fur & pep My chihuahua is 16 and has congestive heart failure, due to this we can not get her teeth fixed at the vet. It is very hard for her to eat and I was having to cook her food for her and puree it... well, her fur began to get dull. So, I started smashing up the natural choice senior dry dog food in a ziplock bag with a hammer and add a bit of water and she LOVES to eat that! She does not prefer the wet food in the can but when I do this with the dry food she eats it up every time! Her fur has returned to its shiny and healthier state and she seems a lot more peppy now too! Hope this helps other's who have senior dogs with teeth problems. THANKS NUTRO!! July 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product for seniors is the best! My two dogs, Mille, a Jack Russell Terrier, and Justice, A Queensland Healer, have been eating Senior Natural Choice for years, before that, they had Natural Choice since they were old enough to eat. I continually tell folks with dogs and puppies how good this product is, and to try it out. Owners usually try it out. June 29, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Put calories per cup on the bags!!!!! good food---------=--but need calories per cup on bag June 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro from the beginning After my sister's untimely death, I became caregiver and "new mom" to nine year old Roxie Marie. Roxie had grown up eating differient varieties of dry and wet Nutro.Off the bat, my sister choose a high quality food. I'm unsure how my sister came to know Nutro, maybe a vet recommended it, but Roxie has a great coat, is very energetic because of it. I would not even think to buy her anything but Nutro. If my sister was still alive, this testomional would have come from her years ago, and if Roxie could type, one from her aswell!!! May 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent senior diet As a veterinarian, I feel nutrition is crucial in the continuing good health of my own pets and my patients. I have been happy with Nutro products since their original inception. May 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best for our old dog with few teeth Over the years, our dog had a number of diseased teeth removed.The Senior Adult food allows for our dog to eat her food much easier than the larger, harder dog food pieces that she would often end up swallowing whole!I think this is definitely the best choice for older dogs. March 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My epileptic dog likes it I put my epileptic dog on this because he was taking so many meds, I knew this would have less preservatives, and he loves it, and it really is not that expensive compared to a lot of other foods. March 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro keeps our senior dog youthful Our Boston Terrier, Woody, has been raised on Nutro food exclusively! He's 9 years old now, but no one believes it. He has a shiny coat, bright eyes and boundless, playful energy. His body is a "lean machine" and he can out-run younger dogs. Woody's daily meal is Natural Choice dry food plus a serving of Ultra canned food. We hate to admit that he's a senior, but we're glad that Nutro provides choices for older pets like him. We know that we're feeding our dog the best pet food on the market. March 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has just the right formula- Our Corgi and Schnauzer love this food. They shed less and now have no GI distress. Now, that's a good thing! We tried other premium foods, but they love this formula the best. We love our pets and also the cleaner yard. We're so happy to have found your brand and just the right formula for both of our dogs. March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good choice Our 11 year old Jack Russell has been on Nutro most of her life. We have gone from puppy, sensative stomach, joint support and now senior. Most people that come across her tell us "what a cute puppy you have", she still has so much energy. March 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product minimizes vet visits I have two Siberian Huskies, one is about 12 years old, the other about 9 years old. They are in excellent health and the older female has been able to jump into our SUV at the back, up to the end of February. Now, she wants to climb in through the passenger door, when we go to the dog park. I attribute their health and vitality to the Nutro Senior Dog Food with glucosimine. Trips to the vet for anything other than vacinations and tabs for heart worm, are non existant. This more than off-sets the cost for a premium dog food. Thank you. March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product, dog loves it. My older dog started developing allergies from the previous food and was advised to switch foods. I was worried about the changing food with an older dog and was told it can be rough after so many years. I never had a problem, withing threee days, he was eating the Nutro full on and my dog has stopped the scratching and licking. Thanks to the food, no more late nights worrying about him. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves you I have a 13 year old Golden named Kasie Rue. She is a beautiful and healthy dog who is still able to enjoy her life to the fullest, and we largely attribute that to your dog food. Her brother from another mother passed away last year due to major health problems. At the end of his life he was having major digestional issues involving blood, pain, etc.. I strongly feel that this was because my parents fed him a much lower grade food that used corn and corn byproducts as filler. Your food on the other hand uses no such ingredients. It is just full of straight goodness and love, and we can tell! Kasie Rue looks and feels amazing and is still going strong. Just last month I was due my free bag from your frequent buyers program. Unfortunatly, I feel there was a large disconnect and miscommunication on my store's end, but they would not honor my free bag, and threw out all my UPCs. We love your food sooooo much that this will not deture us from being a life long customer. Thank you for valuing the quality of your product above all! March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cisco loves his food! My 10 year old Lab, Cisco, just loves this food. It keeps him healthy and trim. I like the added supplements to help with his hip/joint issues that seem to be an issue for older Labs. March 12, 2011
<<prev2 3 4 5 6next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®