For Dogs

WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Puppy FoodChicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

Make sure your puppy gets off to a healthy start with a natural puppy food designed for growth and development. NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Puppy Formula contains real, farm-raised chicken with amino acids necessary for building muscle and maintaining a healthy metabolism. We’ve also added oatmeal for sensitive stomachs, whole brown rice for better nutrient absorption and a precise balance of calcium and phosphorus to help build strong bones and teeth. Our premium puppy food provides the long-term benefits you want and real results you can actually see.

Package Sizes Available: 5 lbs., 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Our #1 ingredient is great-tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken, which delivers the amino acids necessary to build muscle and maintain a healthy metabolism.
  • Omega-3 Fatty Acids for Healthy Growth
    Omega-3 Fatty Acids for Healthy Growth
    Our SMART START® Formula provides omega-3 fatty acids — EPA and DHA — that are essential for early growth and development.
  • Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole grains, such as whole brown rice and oatmeal, improve nutrient absorption and digestion for puppies with sensitive stomachs.
  • Strong Bone Development
    Strong Bone Development
    We include a precise balance of calcium and phosphorus that builds strong bones for life.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat — guaranteed.
** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Nutro Food
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min.) 27.00%
Crude Fat (min.) 16.00%
Crude Fiber (max.) 3.00%
Moisture (max.) 10.00%
Linoleic Acid (min.) 3.50%
Calcium (min.) 1.00%
Phosphorus (min.) 0.90%
Zinc (min.) 250 mg/kg
Vitamin E (min.) 250 IU/kg
Niacin (min.) 250 mg/kg
Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C) (min.)* 50 mg/kg
Biotin (min.)* 2.5 mg/kg
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min.)* 0.10%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min.)* 0.05%
Omega-3 Fatty Acids (min.)* 0.15%
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding ranges for puppies. These guidelines should be adjusted as needed to obtain optimum weight.

Puppies: From 3 to 5 weeks of age, moisten food and feed frequently. From 6 weeks of age, feed the suggested amount in three meals per day until 6 months of age, then twice daily until 12 months.

Pregnant Bitches: During pregnancy, offer 50% more than the amount shown for puppies 29 to 52 weeks of age.

Lactating Bitches: Offer at least two to three times the amount shown for puppies 29 to 52 weeks of age.

If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Puppy Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Puppy Age — Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Puppy
Weight
6 – 11
Weeks
12 – 16
Weeks
17 – 28
Weeks
29 – 52
Weeks
Up to 5 lbs. 1 – 1 1/8 3/4 – 1 3/4 – 1 1/2 – 3/4
10 lbs. 1 2/3 – 1 3/4 1 1/2 – 1 2/3 1 1/4 – 1 1/2 1 – 1 1/4
15 lbs. 2 1/4 – 2 1/3 2 – 2 1/4 1 2/3 – 2 1 1/3 – 1 2/3
25 lbs. 3 1/4 – 3 1/2 2 3/4 – 3 1/4 2 1/2 – 2 3/4 2 – 2 1/2
35 lbs. 3 2/3 – 4 3 1/4 – 3 2/3 2 1/2 – 3 1/4
45 lbs. 3 3/4 – 4 1/3 3 – 3 3/4
55 lbs. 3 1/2 – 4 1/2
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.64 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Puppy Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food. Moisten the food until the puppy no longer has sore gums and has sufficient teeth to chew the kibble.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current level.
Decrease the feeding amount to the lower range of target weight within the age category.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3729 kcal/kg, 384 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Puppy Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth, gestation and lactation.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 88reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Start Let me begin by telling you how I got my puppy, a female pug we named Cinnamon, Cupcake, Cocoa, Ceviche and, finally, Donut. We just could not decide on a name for her! When I first held her, I didn't want her. I told the owner I wanted the runt of the litter, because I know how biased people are when choosing puppies. He puts the puppy back into the pen and after a few seconds I jump up and down with excitement, for I have spotted my 'runt'. He gives me an odd look, shakes his head, and picks up the pup. The moment I look into her expressive chocolate eyes I realize.... it's the same pup!!! I gave the owner my most embarrassed look and apologized to both him and my new baby... and the moment I held her to my chest and she placed her little head close to my heart, I knew it was meant to be, this puppy right here, she was the One!Like I mentioned above, little Pug had many names to go by for a couple of days- we just couldn't decide on one!!! We wanted it to be perfect... and finally chose Donut. So while the name might have been a tough call, choosing the right food for her was not. I was prepared with information regarding nutrition for puppies and Pugs, asking questions to my local pet store and reading reviews online. It just seemed so obvious that Nutro was the way to go, and to my delight, my local petstore carried the brand AND the type of food(Nutro's Small Bites Puppy Chicken Meal, Rice, and Oatmeal Formula) we wanted for our little Donut to grow on! Fast forward a year later. Donut is growing as much as a runt can, and even though she's tiny for a Pug, she's healthier than most. She can outrun the neighbor's Chihuahas, and when we take her to the vet, he always comments on how strong and muscular she is, and especially on her shiny, soft coat. That coat of hers is something we are proud of, because we realize that with the right food and ingredients our Donut was growing to be the healthiest and smartest(she knows quite a handful of tricks!) pup she could ever be! Thank you Nutro, for making the best dog food there is. I have had other dogs with other dry food brands, but nothing ever comes close to Nutro! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My puppies love it! We adopted two pound puppies a few weeks ago. They are Australian Shepard/Blue Heeler/Lab crosses who love small bites puppy formula so much so that they eat three full cups a day (1 for breakfast, 1 for lunch and 1 for dinner) in about 5 minutes flat! I have to slow them down so they don't inhale it and choke. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Puppy Loves his Nutro Our Puppy Toby loves his Nutro puppy food. He gets so excited when it is time to eat. He has never had diarrhea or any problem while on this food. It keeps him regular and is gentle on his stomach. He will soon be moving onto adult food and I expect a smooth transition according to the lady at the pet store, who also uses Nutro for her dog. We also use this puppy food for treats while training him. I'm so glad it has fish oil in it. I've read alot about how healthy it is for canines and adults alike for their brain development and heart health. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Penny Lane Loves it! Our little yellow lab was such a gift from day one! Rescued from a puppy mill by a local agency with her siblings, she was the last one standing on adoption day, tiny with huge paws and simply adorable. We saw her and fell in love!On our way home we stopped at the pet store and the helpful clerk recommended Nutro small bites. I've never heard of it, afterall most commercial or "big box stores" don't carry it. We gave her chicken formula (small bites for her tiny mouth) a try.The result: Our little gal is "regular", happy, energetic, smart and has soft, shiny, light yellow fur that always draws a lot of attention! This food helped give our girl the vital nutrients she was lacking from her sad situation, making our once undernourished Penny Lane the healthy, yellow lab puppy she deserves to be.I do want to say that we ran out of dog food and in desperate need, I stopped by a retailer near my work and picked up some mid-priced puppy chow. we used it for 3 days and noticed her "Potty" was hard, black and entailed an almost painful process for our Penny.My husband and I knew it was the food and were seriously shocked how dog food could make such a difference in not only the well-being and health, but the attitude of our pup. We threw the old food away.For us, Nutro is the only dog food going forward. I'm excited to know that I am feeding her the best and love the way the food will grow WITH her.I would recommend it to absolutely anyone and everyone! Oh and I just wanted to add, if your puppy is a finicky eater - TRY THIS! We never had to water it down, add gravy or beg her to eat - SHE LOVES IT! February 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product saved us alot of money!! last years vet bills were 469.00 with them wanting to do more testing for another 250.00. After visiting the pet store and this was recommended, our Oscar is fine and has not been to the vet at all. What an awesome product. February 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Bostons look and act great My wife and I were looking for a Boston for company for the one that we already have. We found one that was located near where we live. He was cute but had a dull coat and though he was playful was lacking some of the energy that healthy pups have. We brought him home and purchased the brand of puppy food the people that had the litter was using and I also brought Nutro small bites and started to wean him off the food the that he was previously given. Now that he has only used the Nutro, his energy has improved and his coat shines beautifully. He loves the food so much that I give it to him as a training treat as well. I also have been using Nutro for my older dog and did the same with him. They love the Nutro and both look and act like healthy pups. ( My older dog has been on Nutro for a few years and has a puppy's energy and receives good health reports from our Vet . February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped save my dogs life I got Leonidus (Leo) from a pet store in Long Island and after 3 days, he went straight to the hospital and was admitted for 2 weeks for Parvo.The vet called me daily to let me know my puppy would likely not make it through the whole day, but after 2 weeks on IV's, they called me to bring him home. He struggled with diarrea and dehydration for weeks afterwards and would barely eat. If he did eat, he would either have fits of vomiting or diareah. I switched foods several times until I found the Nutro puppy formula.FINALLY, a food he could keep down. I am happy to say he is now on Nutro adult sensitive formula and is a healthy happy 3 year old Cavapoo. February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by small bites My dog usually grazes all day with other food, when she eets this, she eats it at one feeding, loves it February 24, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by well balanced and tasty for all ages I have German shepherds and I foster for Moms and pups and Nutro has been a overall safety food for all my dogs pups and mom alike. They enjoy the taste and Nutrition is good for there growth and skin and fur. I never have had to worry about the pups stomachs being upset with Nutro. I also use nutro for my inside cats and they enjoy it very much and they are really pickey.Thank you for making my shopping for my pets easier. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great features My pom babies would gobble it up and they seem to love the taste. I love the fact that they can eat it with no problem because of the tiny size morsels. They have done very well on this puppy food. Very healthy babies! Thank you so much for a great product. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect size and consistency for a puppy I think that the size of the morsels as well as the firmness is the right combination for a puppy. My puppy never seems to struggle at all with eating it. It is not like they are too big and he has to try and break them down into smaller pieces. He also does not seem to have any trouble crunching them up. I also think that the smaller bites appear to keep him from putting too much in his mouth at a time. Because they are so small, some fall back out and it keeps him from having a full mouth. We all know that puppies, until trained, act like they must consume everything in seconds. This food prevents this behavior from becoming a choking situation. And by the way, he also seems to really like the taste. Thanks Nutro! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yorkie loves it I have a Yorkie with a sensitive tummy who is just turning 1 ... Switched him from Max to this food and he has no more tummy problems! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! Small Bites Puppy was given to our puppy at the pet store that we got her from and we don't plan on changing! It seems to work well with her digestive system and she loves it. Its nince since she is smaller because it is easier for her to eat. Also her coat looks fantastic and she has no health problems. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my puppy digests this well She is growing well and the food agrees with her,never any upset tummy. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous, shiny coat! I had my old dog on store brand dog food...he had a dull coat, dandruff, ear problems and itchy skin. I switched him to Nutro Natural Choice adult dog food and his skin allergies cleared up, his coat became think and shiny and no more dandruff. So, when we got our black lab puppy, Nutro Natural Choice puppy food was the first thing we turned to. His coat is beautiful and shiny (no dandruff) and his skin is healthy. He gobbles up his Nutro every day with his tail wagging the whole time! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sleek and Shiny Shortly after I adopted Max, a loving and energetic chiweenie, I immediately switched him to Natural Choice dry food. Within 3 days I could tell a difference in his appearance and energy levels. His coat went from a dull, dusty black to a sleek and shiny black that always gets him compliments. He also became even more alert and full of energy and his attention and focus improved. He digests the food well and waste is minimal. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this food and highly recommend it to every dog lover I know. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my puppies love it. i have 2 6 month old cockapoos and they just love the small bites puppy food. they jump all over when they hear the lid open. we love meal time with beau and bailey. thanks for making meal time very easy. February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product Our 6 month old doxie/chi loves his food. We feed him twice a day and he is growing healthy, sharp, and happy. The chicken bone biscuit are a nice treat and gives him variety. February 19, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not for teathing puppies The food overall was good, my other dogs like sneaking into it, but my puppy didn't like it because it required alot of chewing. I was getting her ultra puppy food before. The larger bites are harder for her. Also she didn't seem to want to eat the food unless she did not eat anything else all day. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Puppy Food We rescued a puppy from our local animal shelter. We named him Lucky. He is just a good mix of different greeds. He is so much fun and full of a lot of energy. This food was introduced to us by the local feed store as one of the best. i will have to agree with the guy on this one. This food gave our puppy every thing he needed to grow big and strong with out all the "fillers." I would recommend this food for anyone rasing a puppy. We have now moved him to the adult food but Lucky still loves his Chicken and Oatmeal February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This porduct has great benefits I have been feeding my dogs Small Bites Puppy Chicken Meal, Rice & Oatmeal Formula Puppy Food for a year and they love it and wont do anything else. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Naturally Nutricious Puppy Nibbles We recently acquired a Havanese and my husband was overjoyed because the breeder was using Nutro Natural Choice. He had wanted a larger dog but would settle because this one had at least started it life's journey eating an amazing food. Roscoe is now almost four months old and is a very happy, healthy energetic puppy with a beautiful coat. His agile muscles and ability to learn difficult tasks at such a young age are do in part to the ingredients that are found in the Nutro Natural Choice Small Bites Puppy Food. The Small Bites Puppy Food from Nutro Natural Choice also provide for easy clean up because he is able to keep it in his smaller mouth easily. We hope to convince our PX to carry the Small Breed Puppy as he gets older, as we live on an Army base. Thank-you Nutro for providing such wonderful products, also the coupons, and I am glad that my husband was aware of your company beforehand. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by it is a great product When I try this product it was a great experience because I did see a big improvement on my dog's skin and coat. It is a product that I would recommend for sure for those who loves and care about their pets skin and coat. February 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dog loves it My puppy loves this food. I never had any trouble switching him from the food of the breader. If there was any criticism it might be that it is a little too thick for when my puppy was teething. I just moistened it, however and he was fine. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have used Natural Choice and would never change I have fed my Yorkies Natural Choice for all of their years. They love it, digest it well. They also love the Natural Choice biscuits as treats. My pups are always excited to see that biscuit box of Natural Choice Dog Biscuits. I would never change to any other food. I would recommend it to anyone who asked me my thoughts about dog food. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product It is a great product for small dogs and mainly for dogs that have stomach problems. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by ~ 23 Years ~ Hello,I have used Nutro's for 23 years. It all started long ago when I wanted my Chihuahua to have the very best food out there. Over the years we have had other family pets join our family and they have lived their lives out with us. After losing our Black Lab of 16 yrs. last year, we decided on a baby Boxer to join our family, I am using the Chicken Meal, Rice, Oatmeal, Small Bites for now. I have recommended Nutro's many times over the years to others. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect size. Happy healthy dogs. I loved giving my dogs this food during their first couple of years. I feel like it set them up for a healthy beginning. Their coats always are shiny and smooth and my dogs do not have any health problems. Now that they are older we have upgraded them to the adult version and they are still healthy and happy! We love Nutro! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product My australian shepard puppy has been eating natural choice puppy since I got him at 9 weeks old. He loves it and best of all its great for him. I was looking for a quality dog food without all the useless things in many dog foods such as ground yellow corn and animal digest. He is growing like a weed and his coat is beautiful. If you are looking for a quality dog food you can't go wrong with natural choice I will never feed my dog anything else. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product for puppies Since our last dog was also a Basset Hound, we immediately knew that we would be introducting our newest family member, Maggie, the Basset Hound to Nutro Puppy food. With Nutro, I always see a significant improvement with the puppy's coat. A Basset Hound typically sheds a LOT, but this is decreased by feeding them Nutro. I have tried grocery store brand dog foods in the past, but the coats are not shiny and the shedding is unbelievable! I'll stick to Nutro!! Our dogs have always shown great strength and good health by eating Nutro puppy food as well. Maggie will be raised solely on Nutro! February 17, 2011
<<prev 23 4next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®