For Dogs

WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Dog FoodChicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

It’s a fact. Full-grown adult dogs need high-quality protein to maintain their energy and overall health. That’s why great-tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken is the first ingredient in our WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Dry Dog Food. Real chicken delivers the amino acids adult dogs need to build muscle and maintain a healthy metabolism. Our premium, natural dog food also contains whole grains to nourish a healthy digestive system for proper nutrient absorption, whole oatmeal that’s high in soluble fiber for sensitive stomachs, and antioxidants, such as vitamin C and vitamin E, for a healthy immune system and overall cellular health. We never use artificial flavors, colors or preservatives; only the best ingredients nature has to offer. Not only will your dog enjoy the taste, but you’ll love the results. We guarantee it or your money back.

Package Sizes Available: 5 lbs., 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Real Chicken
    Real Chicken
    Our #1 ingredient is great-tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken, which delivers the amino acids necessary to build muscle and maintain a healthy metabolism.
  • Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole Grains
    Whole grains are nutrient-dense foods that nourish a healthy digestive system for proper nutrient absorption.
  • Great for Sensitive Stomachs
    Great for Sensitive Stomachs
    Oatmeal is high in soluble fiber, which helps ease digestion. This makes it an ideal ingredient for dogs with sensitive stomachs.
  • Promotes a Healthy Immune System
    Promotes a Healthy Immune System
    We include antioxidants, such as vitamin C and vitamin E, for a healthy immune system and overall cellular health.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    We guarantee healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat with our patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins.
** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
15 lbs. 1 1/2 1 2/3 2
25 lbs. 2 2 1/2 2 3/4
35 lbs. 2 3/4 3 1/4 3 1/2
45 lbs. 3 1/4 3 3/4 4 1/3
55 lbs. 3 3/4 4 1/2 5
65 lbs. 4 1/3 5 5 2/3
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.73 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3592 kcal/kg, 278 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 238reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy Coats and no more picky eater When there was a shortage of our regular dog food, this brand was recommened to us by my pet supply store. We were not sure if our dogs would like it, but out of options, we thought we'd give it a try. We're so glad we did. Our dogs coats are the shiniest they've ever been. While our younger dog would eat anything, our older one is a bit more picky. He LOVES this food so no more worries on whether or not he's eating enough. Thanks Nutro for a great product. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's the perfect bite size for my shih tzu. I started my shih tzu on Natural Choice the very day I brought her home. She has always loved it. Now that she's a year old I've moved her to the adult small breed Natural Choice. The bite size morsels are perfect for her and I even use them as her treats! In the morning I give her the canned food and the rest of the day she munches like it's an all-day buffet. She loves the stuff! And I love it knowing that it's so healthy for her, it's a nice peace of mind. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saves the day! Our Great Dane has terrible tummy troubles! We tried everything, including the really spendy stuff the vet reccomended. No luck. I promise you, there is nothing worse than a Great Dane with perpetual diarreha! We finally tried the Natural Choice dog food, and...ta-da! Success! Don't get me wrong, we still have some issues (mostly car related or stress) but for the normal day to day stuff it was a miracle cure! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lifetime Feed! I've always fed my dogs Nutro since a recommendation from a PetsMart employee, even after going back and doing some more research, I'm still a loyal Nutro Natural Choice feeder! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for sensative dogs. Our Pixie is a Rat Terrier. Rat Terriers are notorious for sensative stomachs and skin. When we fist got her 5 years ago, we tried a few other dog foods but she couldn't keep them down and she itched. I don't remember how we came across Natural Choice, but thankfully, we did not too long after a few failed attempts at the other brands. Since there isn't any wheat in the formula Pixie doesn't itch and keeps her food down. Plus, she loves it! We've fed her Natural Choice for the past five years and won't even consider another food for her. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only the best for my pups I've been feeding my dogs Nutro dog food for the past 10 years. I switched to the Oatmeal formula because one of my dogs has a sensitive stomach and he does really well on this food. He can be a really picky eater, but he loves this food. I like that it contains quality ingredients and no cheap fillers like other so called premium foods. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps them happy and healthy. We tried so many different kinds of food from store brands to "just available from the vet". Nutro was the only product that kept our Lab and Shepherd/ Chow-mix satisfied and not sick to their stomachs. It is the only food we have used for almost 7 years now. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Dogs love it! My Pomeranian was a rescue and used to have really dry skin. It was so bad that it would flake and get all over everything. I tried feeding him Science diet food but he would get a really upset stomach and have irregular bowel movements. As soon as I switched him to the Nutro he stopped having skin problems and his bowel movements started being regular again. I also have a rescued Catahoula and he was significantly underweight when I got him. I tried everything to get weight on him but this is the only food he could keep down. I just love the fact that Nutro natural choice dog food is nutritious and has no fillers. I would definitely recommend this food to any pet parent! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves this product! I have a 2 1/2 year old female Puggle and she was eating Purina puppy food before I did some research on by-products in dog food. I only wanted the best food for my little pup, and wanted to make sure that I was providing HEALTHY food for her. I discovered NUTRO Natural Choice Chicken Meal, Rice, and Oatmeal dry adult dog food at a local pet store. I did some research on the product and was impressed. I was even more impressed when my puggle devoured the food when I put it in her bowl. My parents dogs even loved it when I let them tried it (German Short-haired Pointers - ages 4 and 10). My parents switched to NUTRO Natural Choice as well and we now have very happy dogs. Thank you, NUTRO, for providing a healthy, delicious food for our pets. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs will not eat anything else Bailey now 11 years old has been raised on nutro poducts and now mitzi 1.5 years old is getting the same treatment. Even at the age of 11 Bailey is in perfect health and acts like one giant puppy. He loves his food and will not try anything else. I find it funny that when we go to the pet stores he knows exactly where his Nutro food is and will take me to the correct aisle. This is the best dog food product and will never think of changing it. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product My golden retriever Bailey ate this since he was weaned. The breeder gave me this recommendation. He is now almost 4 years old and is the healthiest, smartest, most beautiful golden you have ever seen. Never a stomach problem,his weight is perfect. Can't say enough about this food. February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by She actually likes it! My dog, Molly, had this terrible habit of "burying" her food. She would take the towel we used as her placemat and flip it over her food dish and then proceed to scoot the dish under our cabinet. This is what I came home to everyday. After switching to Nutro's chicken, rice & oatmeal formula, I'm happy to say this has stopped. She now gets excited when we fill her dish and eats it all right away! February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A life saver for a sensitive stomach I have a Lab mix breed, male named Desmond. He is six years old now, and since the day we brought him home from the Humane Society about six years ago ( he was six weeks when we got him) food has been a MAJOR issue with him. He was sent home with Wellness, HORRIBLE gas, I mean hard to ever be in the same room as him. We then switched to Eukanuba, which he tolerated ok, but he did not care for the flavor. He would usually only eat once a day or when he was starving. We would try to jazz it up with gravies and other things and then he would eat it good, but straight up he had no interest in it other then sustaining his life. We felt bad, his only food was something he hated the taste of, so lets try another one. Earthborn was next, he liked the flavor would eat twice a day, his coat was good, but back to the gas...tried three different varieties of this brand, all gas and very soft stool. Then it was time for the next attempt, Nutro Natural Choice Chicken Meal, Rice, and Oatmeal,... sounds like a lot of stuff I was nervous. The first time I feed him it it was like I was feeding him treats instead of food, he loved it. After the weaning process when he was fully on the Nutro his gas completely went away ( you have NO idea how happy we were ), he loves the flavor, he actually runs downstairs as soon as he hears it hit his bowl in the morning, this NEVER happened before with anything. His energy level is excellent and his coat is awesome, very good sheen as he is a black dog. Four months later he still loves the flavor and gas and soft stools are a thing of the past. He seems happier and healthier, and we are happy he finally likes something that does not make him sick. I will not consider going to a different brand than this. I never knew dog food could make this much of a difference. What more could you want from a dog food, other than maybe the winning lottery numbers on the bag. THANK YOU NUTRO...YOU ROCK!!! February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is amazing Its the only thing I've found that has helped with my dog sensative stomach. Not tomention he eats it better that any other dog food I've tried. February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by i'm a small dog rescue & use only this is the best food for the small breed dogs I get into my rescue and my personal pets. I wouldn't feed them anything else. There is no bi product or corn which is irritating to most dogs but smaller breeds esp Shih Tzu's can not tolerate other foods well due to sensitive stomachs. Great food for reasonable prices! February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved us on vet bills! My poor beagle had horrible skin issues. Trip after trip to the vet cost us several hundred dollars and we still didn't have a solution. I suggested that it may be a food allergy but my vet recommended that we explore other (expensive) causes first.I decided to put our dog on Nutro and within three weeks his skin problems began to heal. Three months later and he's 100% better, no more scratching or licking, no more redness!! Looks to me like he was allergic to all the junk in his other dog food. I don't mind paying a little more for Nutro now that I know how much it's saving me in vet bills!! February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taste, Product, Service = Excellent! I work at a feed store, and I love the fact that we carry Nutro dog food! I adopted my dog and when we got her she was suppose to be a picky eater. I mixed her old food with Nutro and she loved it! I didn't have to worry about finding a food she liked! This one worked! I would recommend it to anyone looking for a dog food that doesn't have fillers and for those dogs with picky taste buds! Thanks Nutro! February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only one with chicken but without corn My dog Bocephus (Bo-see-fuss) has had skin irritation issues since he was about 9 months old. When we brought him home we were feeding him Pedigree. Then I noticed his hair started falling out and he was developing a rash on his stomach. Our veterinarian wanted to switch his food. Said that Bo could be allergic to corn. So I started reading ingredients on dog food bags. Every one of them has some sort of corn or corn meal in them. Until I came across your Chicken Meal, Rice & Oatmeal Formula Adult Dog Food. We have been feeding with this food exclusively for over 4 years. His coat was never soft & shiny..now it is! It is not easy for me to purchase this food. I drive at least an hour from my home to get to the store that carries it. Hope you don't mess with the formula or "improve" it. It's great the way it is & my dog loves it! February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eliminated my dog's skin allergy! I have two large breed dogs that had been on a diet of Purina Dog Food. A couple of years ago, one of them developed bad skin allergies, that caused him to constantly scratch and gnaw at his skin. His groomer suggested I try Natural Choice, and within a week, his allergies had cleared up, and have never returned. It does cost more than what I used to pay, but it's definitely worth it! February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I originally had both of my babies on Eukanuba which I thought was the best food on the market. Their breath was very bad and couldn't figure out was making it smell so bad. I took them to the vet and they had no idea what caused it. Finally after 5 yrs I decided to change their food to Nutro Natural Choice Sensitive Stomach and it went away. Apparently they weren't digesting their food well ...needless to say, thank goodness for Nutro February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product This is a great product. I have three dogs, a 15 year old medium size, a 6 year old 100 pound dog, and a 3 year old 15 pound dog! I feed all three of them this food. I have tried to switch them to "save" money, but ended up having to go to the vet because of ear infections and stomach issues! And the amount of waste generated from the "cheaper" food is not worth it! I won't switch again. My senior dog is doing great and has so much energy, it really helps his joints. And my large dog has bad knees, but this has helped her a lot too. I would highly recommend this product to anyone. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gentle on her stomach I really like the nutro natural choice food. When I got my dog , as a puppy, 3 yrs ago, I fed her a "grocery store" brand. She really got constipated with that brand. I also tried another "grocery store" brand. I went to the pet store and a employee told me about Nutro and I tried it, and me and my dog have been happy every since. I mix some of the tray food with the dry and she really likes it that way. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product is great for sensitive tummies We originally changed to this food because other brands and formulas were too rich for our dog. A pet store employee recommended the Nutro sensitive stomach food, and our Zoey has done very well on it. Our vet is pleased with the results, as well. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paws down best dog food We are the proud parents of 3 dogs of 3 different sizes. Small, medium and large and they all agree that they love Nutro Choice Chicken Meal, Rice & Oatmeal Formula.They also like to live it up by having a little fish flavor with their dry food, in the form of the Nutro Herring & Sweet Potato formula. They make sure that we don't forget to feed them as they remind us every night it's time for supper!! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for dogs with sensitive stomachs! When I first got my pure bred yellow lab, I tried all of the "best" foods out there, regardless of cost. I had to watch the protein content b/c labs are so high strung. More importantly though, my dog would eat the food for about a week and then get sick to her stomach. NOT a good thing for little puppy bowels! She seemed to like the taste of every food I gave her, but it didn't agree with her. After 6 months of trial & error, it was getting frustrating, messy, and EXPENSIVE! Finally, I went to my local pet store & told the clerk what was going on. He happened to have some 'samples' of Nutro that he gave me to try. A few of them were of the 'Sensitive Stomach' formula (chicken & oatmeal). I wasn't even aware that such food existed, so I was eager to try it. Well, FINALLY, we'd found the magic potion! My dog loves the taste, has had no bowel problems since, and everyone is happy!!! And, when she was older, we were able to graduate to the adult formula from the puppy bites, so I was thrilled. If Nutro ever stops making this, I'll die! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product helped my two dogs sensitive stomachs My dogs are the most pickiest dogs-they do not eat a lot of food, and after trying many different brands of dog food, we tried their can food and then discovered their dry food. Thank goodness we found it! Our dogs LOVE the food! They cannot get enough of it! It has helped them greatly because before they always puked and had upset tummies, now they are the two healthiest dogs in the world!, not to mention that they are so happy they get great food! Thanks Nutro Company! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dillie and Sophie love it Dillie and Sophie, our four year old cocker spaniels love Natural Choice! Sophie has a sensitive stomach, and we have found Natural Choice works well with her system. Dillie loves it, too. Both are healthy, active, happy, very social dogs. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yummy After going through many well-known brands and my poor puppy throwing everything up, I choose Nutro for the quality ingredients. No problems since, and my dog has been eating this (mixed with the canned chicken and oatmeal food) for over 2 years. He loves it! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product has no corn meal this product is great for dogs that are allergic to corn meal. all three of my dogs have sensitive stomachs and are allergic to corn meal. this product has none and my dogs love it. it is the perfect blend of food for my little pups. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Miracle Mix Nutro saved our dogs severe upset stomach. After trying many different dog foods and spending an insane amount on expensive foods with no results, the pet store recommended Nutro Natural Choice and it was truly a miracle. Nutro not only had affordable prices, our dog no longer has stomach problems and couldn't be happier. Getting him to eat is no longer a problem either, he scarfs down his food. He is happy and healthy, which is all we could ask for. Thank you Nutro for making such a wonderful and nutritious pet food! February 18, 2011
<<prev 3 45 6 7... 9next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®