For Dogs

WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Dog FoodChicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

It’s a fact. Full-grown adult dogs need high-quality protein to maintain their energy and overall health. That’s why great-tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken is the first ingredient in our WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Dry Dog Food. Real chicken delivers the amino acids adult dogs need to build muscle and maintain a healthy metabolism. Our premium, natural dog food also contains whole grains to nourish a healthy digestive system for proper nutrient absorption, whole oatmeal that’s high in soluble fiber for sensitive stomachs, and antioxidants, such as vitamin C and vitamin E, for a healthy immune system and overall cellular health. We never use artificial flavors, colors or preservatives; only the best ingredients nature has to offer. Not only will your dog enjoy the taste, but you’ll love the results. We guarantee it or your money back.

Package Sizes Available: 5 lbs., 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Real Chicken
    Real Chicken
    Our #1 ingredient is great-tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken, which delivers the amino acids necessary to build muscle and maintain a healthy metabolism.
  • Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole Grains
    Whole grains are nutrient-dense foods that nourish a healthy digestive system for proper nutrient absorption.
  • Great for Sensitive Stomachs
    Great for Sensitive Stomachs
    Oatmeal is high in soluble fiber, which helps ease digestion. This makes it an ideal ingredient for dogs with sensitive stomachs.
  • Promotes a Healthy Immune System
    Promotes a Healthy Immune System
    We include antioxidants, such as vitamin C and vitamin E, for a healthy immune system and overall cellular health.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    We guarantee healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat with our patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins.
** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
15 lbs. 1 1/2 1 2/3 2
25 lbs. 2 2 1/2 2 3/4
35 lbs. 2 3/4 3 1/4 3 1/2
45 lbs. 3 1/4 3 3/4 4 1/3
55 lbs. 3 3/4 4 1/2 5
65 lbs. 4 1/3 5 5 2/3
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.73 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3592 kcal/kg, 278 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 238reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful! This is a wonderful dog food! my dog loves it! and i love the design of the bag! don't change the design, it looks fabulous and the colors are gorgeous! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Faithful consumer since 2000 I have fed my Rottweilers Nutro products exclusively since 2000. First there was Oso and Einstein, now I have Bully and Bandit and man do they eat a lot ( 70lbs a month approx). They are happy beautiful dogs and love their Nutro. I will never stray from this amazing product. Thank you for being a company that truly cares about pets and their owners. February 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for dogs with energy, but sensitive tummy I have had my dog on this type of food for about a year now. This is a great food for active dogs that also have sensitive stomachs. She loves this food and I love that she's not pooping out everything that she is eating which means she doesn't have to eat a whole bunch and that saves me money! February 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great choice for sensitive stomachs! After getting our German Shepherd we tried several dog foods until Nurto was recommended to us. It was the only one that didn't give him diarrhea. So needless to say it was worth its weight in gold! During the recent supply shortage we tried another Nutro that brought back the diarrhea. I was relieved when I saw the light green bag back on the shelves! It's been 4 years and I wouldn't even think of trying something else, although I wish Nutro would send coupons out to loyal customers. February 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Product Saved Me From Vet Bill! Since I have had Charlie, now 18 months, he has been eating Nutro dog brand food. He started out on Nutro Ultra for Puppies and then Adults. About three months ago he began having digestive issues and I tried multiple prescriptions and lots of vet visits. I took it upon myself to switch his food and being so loyal to Nutro I switched to Natural Choice. Charlie LOVES the new food. He eats it as soon as it is put in his bowl and it doesn't upset his stomach at all. We have gone a month vet free. I would recommend this product to ANYONE...especially those with dogs who have sensitive bellies! February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Dogs are BIG fans of this brand! We have to very loving and energetic American Pti Bull Terriers. Our Female, Harley is 11 years old and our Male, Dutch is only 3 years old. They are both very different and very opinionated when it comes to food, so for us to find something they both LOVE and we feel good giving to them was a huge relief. They are so dear to us that we want to be able to provide the best we can for them and with Natural Choice Chicken, Rice, and Oatmeal Formula we feel we are doing just that! February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs eat it out of the bag We have two larger breed dogs. They are very picky about food and treats. Before we started feeding them Natural Choice, we would add some wet food to help make their dry food more appitizing. We store their dry food in a bin. When we started bringing home Nature Choice, they would push their way into the bag and start eating as I poured the food into the bin. They never did that with the brand we used to purchase. As stated above, our dogs are very picky and they only eat when they are hungry. They are not the type that will just eat whenever food is available. It is nice to know that we are feeding them a quality food that is healthy and a that it is a food they enjoy. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by sensitive stomach My Jack Russell will eat anything, but he has a very sensitive stomach. I've been feeding him Nutro for his entire 8 years of life and he stays healthy & happy. His little buddy with an iron gut eats it too. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for touchy tummies My four year old miniature schnauzer has a very sensitive belly. When I first got Rocky, he would throw-up all the time. When I switched to the chicken meal, rice and oatmeal formula, he stopped throwing-up his dinner. Great food! February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for Sensitive Tummys I have been using this product for over 5 years when I adopted my first retired racing greyhound. I now have 5 greyhounds who all do well on Nutro Natural Choice for Sensitive Stomachs. Excellent shine to their fur and good stool productivity. Nutro Natural Choice for Sensitive Stomachs works well in this household & is an excellent premium kibble. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by No Corn We purchased this product because it didn't have corn. First of all corn is so hard on an animal's system. All of my dogs smelled like Corn Dogs! That's fine if your at the local fair! But the smell was so overpowering. I first found out about from a Representative at our local Pet Store. It was really educational hearing about how your product is superior to the competition. There is no comparison as far as I'm concerned. All someone has to do is look at the label and see for themselves. Whenever I am in the store I promote your product to people as I believe in the product so much! So many use a product that is well advertised and they think it's great. But when you look at the difference it changes their mind. I do like when there are coupons in the bag as it takes a bite out of the price. I also try to buy it on sale and the biggest bag that's available. I have 3 dogs so I try to take advantage of getting a good deal. They love your product & even have it as a midnight snack. Which is annoying when I'm trying to go to bed and they are crunching it like popcorn. I just don't let them know it's good for them! lol! February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love this product My two dogs ate this food as soon as I put it down.One dog- Shepherd mix lived to almost 15 February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this dog food I love this dog food my SHIH TZU has done so well with it.My breeder recommend it to me at the very first and have gotten the treats as well. Her coat is beautiful black and just shines.My girl loves it and eats it up. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous for sensitive stomachs Our Aussie mix had problems with other food and once we tried Nutro, her problems disappeared. She loves the food and it also gives her a healthy coat and no bad breath. We have recently switched our cat food to Nutro, too! February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for a dog with a sensitive stomach I adopted Gracie (shepherd/husky/golden mix) in June 2010 when she was around 2 years old. She had been eating this food at the rescue. I already had a Lab who was eating another brand of food; However, Gracie got sick when I tried to switch her. So, I went back to the Natural Choice sensitive stomach formula. Subsequently she is doing very well on this food still after many months. I ended up switching my Lab to the Natural Choice large breed formula and he is doing very well on it. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tummy Troubles Terminated! This is the ONLY dog food I will use for my dog. :) February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent food for dogs with sensitive stomachs. My dog was vomiting quite frequently on the food I had her on. When I switched to Nutro Natural Choice Chicken meal, rice, & Oatmeal food she no longer vomits. I will keep her on this formula for the rest of her life. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chicken Meal Rice & Oatmeal I have two large breed dogs who have enjoyed Nutro Lamb & Rice formula for many years. As they are getting older we have made the switch to Nutro's Chicken Rice & Oatmeal formula for its easy digestion and the extra glucosamine/chondroitin to support their joints & keep them active. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Coat! I have a male Schnauzer and a female Schnoodle. They have been on Chicken, Rice & Oatmeal for 1 1/2 years, since switching from another name brand that had corn as a main ingredient. My Schnoodle is allergic to corn. Since switching, her coat is thick and soft! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog's digestive problems cured! I tried maybe a dozen dog foods to find one that would not bother my dog's stomach before finding this one and now my dog's digestive problems are cured, which means no more smelly nights! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for my dog When we first brought my Rottweiler puppy home, we started feeding her another brand of dog food. She became sick and threw up every time she ate. We did not realize at first that the problem was with her food. We thought she was really sick. After many tests our vet came to the conclusion that she has a very sensitive stomach. After a suggestion from a family member we switched her food to Nutro. For the past three years she has ate Nutro Natural Choice, and we have had a great experience. She loves it and hasn't gotten sick from it at all, like the other food. Every time we bring a new bag of food in she gets very excited. I love Nutro and will never use another brand of dog food again. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality ingredients with great results for our dog We switched to the Chicken, Oatmeal, Rice food when our Vizsla was about a year old. We had been feeding her the puppy food that the breeder had recommended. She had crazy bad gas as a puppy. Once we switched her to the Nutro food her digestive issues and gas problems disappeared! We will be using this food until our vet tells us that she needs a senior diet. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tasty Morsels I have two Tibetan Spaniels who love to hate their food (unless it's freshly baked organic chicken). I was shocked when they immediately took to this product. I have spent hundreds on dog food they would not eat, or would eat only reluctantly. This is the first dog food they enjoy, and that does not upset their sensitive stomachs. Yeah Natural Choice! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best for sensitive stomachs We recently retired and our first ever dog is a pure breed Scottish Border Collie. We got Nudge as a nine week old puppy and she's part of the family. She certainly keeps us active with multiple walks and games of catch each day. She weighs about 35 lbs. We noticed she has a sensitive stomach. We tried several different brands of dry dog food until we discovered Nutro Chicken Meal, Rice & Oatmeal Formula at our local feed store. Nudge loves the Chicken Meal, Rice & Oatmeal Formula and has no problem digesting the food. She always looks forward to chow-time...three times a day to keep fuel her enthusiasm. We recommend Chicken Meal, Rice & Oatmeal Formula without hesitation. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 0 intestinal problems & beautiful coat Our dog Casey came to us from the local SPCA. She was a shy but sweet pup with two loving eyes fixed on mine saying, "Take me home and I'll do anything you want." She ended up with infection from her spay, and still looked a bit sickly when we brought her home. We started to treat her infection, and decided to start her on Natural Choice for Pups, Chicken Rice and Oatmeal Formula since her constitution was so weak. Little did we know that six months later she would turn out to be a beautiful, golden/white adult Border Collie! She looks fantastic, and her poops tells us that her insides are working just as well. We will not feed her anything else but Natural Choice Chicken Meal, Rice, & Oatmeal Adult Formula. She has self-regulated to a healthy 37pounds of furry, energetic happiness who makes us happy every single day, and she has had no health problems since. Thank you, Natural Choice, for remaining to be a brand we can trust. Casey says thanks too, although she prefers her Natural Choice best with an occasional orange slice or two. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Natural Choice is THE best choice Once you try this product, you won't buy another. I spoke to my dog trainer about my dog's digestive problem. She quickly recommended Natural Choice, she explained it will not only improve his digestive system but will improve his coat and overall health. I had nothing to lose and after a month I noticed all the improvements! A year later I got another mini schnauzer and he has eaten nothing but Natural Choice. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product One of my two labs has a stomach condition and was originally on a product recommended by a vet. After doing some research into ingredients, I found this product to be much healthier than the vet recommendation. My dog loves it and hasn't had any issues since. I also feed it to my other lab who loves it as well. I feel strongly that pet food should be as holistic as people food, and Nutro does a great job. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for sensitive hounds When I first brought my greyhound, Rex, home over a year ago I had expected some diarrhea 'till he got situated. Only the big D went of for months. We checked for worms and then I'd try different foods. It took about 6 months for me to find Nutro Chicken Meal, Rice & Oatmeal Formula for sensitive stomachs and finally the big D's were gone. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Soothing to even the pickiest dog My dog is an english pointer and lab mix and weighed around 35 lbs when i got him. I tried all of the brands that are readily available at the grocery stores, my dog just would not hold any of them down, even after several weeks of "getting used to them". Even when he was able to hold them down, the results were never pretty. I asked the local pet store owner what I should do and he recommended the Nutro brand, specifically their formula designed to deal with sensitive stomachs. I was in college at the time and was short on cash, but decided to give it a try.Best decision of my life!!My dog loved it!! He was able to hold down his food and rarely had any digestive problems.In short, because of this dog food, my buddy's quality of life, and probably his lifespan, increased exponentially.I now have three dogs, a silky terrier weighing around 11 lbs, my pointer mix who weighs around 75 lbs, and a female great dane weighing 115 lbs. All three ate the same dog food until recently and all three are in perfect health. We go through a 35 lbs bag per week and the bill stacks up quickly, but I would go hungry myself before daring to switch their food to another brand. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful for food sensitivities We rescued a sweet boxer from the pound three years ago. Shortly after bringing her home we noticed that she threw up frequently and would have bouts of diarrhea. After taking her to the vet we learned that she has food sensitivities and that her intestines do not absorb nutrients normally. The vet recommended that we place her on a very specific, and expensive, dry dog food. Because my husband is in the military and we had a limited budget we could not afford the food recommended, but we refused to give up on the newest member of our family. During a trip to a pet mart I happened to see the Nutro products and noticed this particular dry food. It has been the only thing my girl has been able to tolerate, with all her diarrhea and vomiting gone. It's been a life saver for us and I know our boxer feels so much better! Thanks Nutro, for making such wonderful products! February 22, 2011
<<prev 2 34 5 6... 9next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®