For Dogs

WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Dog FoodChicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

It’s a fact. Full-grown adult dogs need high-quality protein to maintain their energy and overall health. That’s why great-tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken is the first ingredient in our WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Dry Dog Food. Real chicken delivers the amino acids adult dogs need to build muscle and maintain a healthy metabolism. Our premium, natural dog food also contains whole grains to nourish a healthy digestive system for proper nutrient absorption, whole oatmeal that’s high in soluble fiber for sensitive stomachs, and antioxidants, such as vitamin C and vitamin E, for a healthy immune system and overall cellular health. We never use artificial flavors, colors or preservatives; only the best ingredients nature has to offer. Not only will your dog enjoy the taste, but you’ll love the results. We guarantee it or your money back.

Package Sizes Available: 5 lbs., 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Real Chicken
    Real Chicken
    Our #1 ingredient is great-tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken, which delivers the amino acids necessary to build muscle and maintain a healthy metabolism.
  • Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole Grains
    Whole grains are nutrient-dense foods that nourish a healthy digestive system for proper nutrient absorption.
  • Great for Sensitive Stomachs
    Great for Sensitive Stomachs
    Oatmeal is high in soluble fiber, which helps ease digestion. This makes it an ideal ingredient for dogs with sensitive stomachs.
  • Promotes a Healthy Immune System
    Promotes a Healthy Immune System
    We include antioxidants, such as vitamin C and vitamin E, for a healthy immune system and overall cellular health.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    We guarantee healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat with our patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins.
** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
15 lbs. 1 1/2 1 2/3 2
25 lbs. 2 2 1/2 2 3/4
35 lbs. 2 3/4 3 1/4 3 1/2
45 lbs. 3 1/4 3 3/4 4 1/3
55 lbs. 3 3/4 4 1/2 5
65 lbs. 4 1/3 5 5 2/3
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.73 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3592 kcal/kg, 278 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Adult Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 239reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog was in a "corn coma" for years After reading that what I was feeding my dogs was made mostly of fillers (like corn) I decided to try Nutro. What an amazing difference!! My pit bull mix's fur is thicker, we just thought his coat was thin, and he has so much more energy!!! I honestly believe the other brand put him in a "corn coma.". My dogs love this food. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for my dog's sensitive stomach Finally found a food that my dog loves. When I open a new bag of dog food and pour it into the food keeper, my dog can't wait and she starts to eat it while it'sfalling out of the bag. Would not use anything else but Natural Choice. February 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Bostons Love it I have 4 Bostons so Gas in my house is toxic. I talked to some people about it and a few recommend the sensitive stomach food. Me being the skeptic I always am said no way., but it wont hurt to try. I bought a bag this go around and in the little time they have been on it we have seen no diarrhea and the gas is down to a livable level. The only thing is the cost is high. I would love to see coupons or sales for this. At almost 50 bucks a bag in KC is kinda unreachable for alot of people. January 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by IS VERY. GOOD FOR MY BULLDOG I started giving this food to my english bulldog and is very good for anice diet. I really. Recommend for bulldog puppy'sand older dogs. December 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product We started our dog on the small bites puppy food for sensitive stomachs and recently made the swith to this adult food. She has always been a picky eater and was never very excited about meal time, but she gobbles this food up without even adding her usual bit of canned food! We are thrilled with this product and so is our dog. It definitely makes a difference in her coat, which is shiny and silky smooth! November 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is the best I've been using this food for several years. I had and have several dogs with senitive stomachs and this product is great and they love it.I feed them nothing else. October 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product for our lil mini dachs We had Boomer, our border collie, on this food his whole life, he had a beautiful coat and was so healthy. Now Hercules and Tinker, our lil' weinies, are being raised on this same food. They are also doing very well. We can't say enough about the food being oatmeal based and the no by products! We will always feed them this food. They look forward to their meals and are not fed anything else but Nutro Choice, Chicken, RIce and Oatmeal! September 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy on the tummy This is a really gentle food for my sensitive dog. There must be something in this particular food that dogs adore, because they love eating it. Awesome! September 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Choice Its really the only food my dog will eat and can handle without an upset stomach and its absolutely great for her coat. Shes a Pom so thats super important! September 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by no more itchy ears One of my dogs had very itchy ears due to her allergy to beef products. Nutro Chicken rice and oatmeal formula has worked fantastic to solving the allergy problem. Thank you for making my dog happy ! August 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food for a Great Friend! I'm always very pleased to buy all my Pug's food and treat products from NutroMax. Right now he is on this flavor and each time we buy a large bag we switch flavors! I'm so pleased there are no bi-products. Something I've learned is that bi-products are in basically everything for pets except NutroMax! My puppy who is 2 and a half years old now and has been on this produst his whole life. He is very healthy, handsome and of perfect weight. Something rare these days with dogs I've noticed. Thanks NutroMax! August 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product does what it states! I came across Nutro about 4yrs. when my Chico (Boxer) was about 1yr old. This food is awesome because it's given him a wonderful shiny coat that other dog people complement him on!! The Stool clean up is made easy by this product!! July 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Dog Food When I walked into Petsmart the day after I got my Pit Bull puppy (Monster; 8weeks)I didn't know which dog food to choose because they're where so many different kinds. I was in school to become a veterinarian technician so I knew somewhat of what I was looking for. Luckily there was a woman in the store promoting Nutro Max, So i started him on that. It was ok and I knew I wanted to stick with the brand but when I asked a Petsmart employee about it he said that just Nutro was better, so I switched him on that and he loves it. He eats earlier in the day and more food than he did before. I'm very satisfied with Nutro dry and wet dog food. Sometimes I mix them for my dog and he loves that! July 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Less unpleasant gas and waste! My wife and I started feeding our dog Turtle the Nutro for sensitive stomachs about 6 months after she joined our family. She was about 2 then. She's 7 now and loves your food. But we humans sometimes make mistakes and during a recent time of financial difficulty we traded down in cost for what we thought was a food with near equal nutrition--one with a popular name and lots of tv commercials touting its excellence. We could not have been more wrong!! Nutro foods give our dog great energy but with this other food she was like a slug, laying around all the time and not her usual happy self. We have found that the sensitive stomachs line gives her less of the unpleasant flatulence as other brands of dog food. Even better, she doesn't go outside 5 times a day to drop waste! After only a week we realized that our hard earned money was going right through our dog and onto the ground, and she didn't like it any more than we did! Nutro is totally different from other brands. It balances nutrition with cost and we happily gave up our less expensive trade and upgraded back to Nutro Sensitive. I left for work early this afternoon so that I could stop to buy some at the pet store. We're sticking with Nutro from now on. Turtle licked her bowl tonight after dinner--something she only does with your food. I guess it's her seal of approval. July 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by best for my dog's sensitive stomach Smaller and compact stools and no upset stomach since going on this formula.He loves it. June 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food! I have 2 beagles. Both of whom would often times throw up at random times throughout the day. I've been feeding them Nutro food for a long time, but recently switched to this sensitive stomach formula. Their coats were always shiny and they always looked great because of the Nutro food, but now they very rarely throw up since they've been on this food. They're doing great and I no longer have to clean up vomit!! :) Great food! April 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for my shepard with digestive issues My German Shepard, Riley, has a condition called mega-esophagus, which is a condition that makes it very difficult for her to deliver food to her stomach. Additionally, when it does make it to her stomach, she has had issues with acid/tummy upset and would often vomit everything she ate. Anyway, we have been feeding our dogs NUTRO, since being referred to it by my sister, because of the natural products. It is also a food that is noted by our vets as being a good food for dogs. We specifically feed Riley the Oatmeal mix, because it is for dogs with sensitive stomachs and easier for her to digest. As well as provides her with the nutrition she needs. Right now, with the proper mix of meds and this food brand, Riley is actually finally doing well and is able to keep her food down. She has more energy, and although still on the slender side, she acts like a happy, healthy dog. March 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for sensitive stomachs my dog would get an upset stomach on her other food and periodically throw up. that has completely stopped since i've switched her onto this food plus she seems to like it more March 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable results On Feb. 17, 2011, I adopted a 3 yr old male Schnauzer from the local animal shelter. I fed him using the sample of dog food they gave me, but my vet did not recommend that brand. So I got another brand and notice that he got gas and was always going after his hind end. Vet found nothing wrong with him, so I got wondering if he had a sensitive stomach issue. I went and bought the Natural Choice for Sensitive Stomach. As I was introducing the new food, I noticed that as I increased the Natural Choice and decreased the other brand that the gas was decreasing and when I was totally switched over, it was gone. I am so very happy with the results, he loves the food and I know it was driving me crazy, imagine what it was doing to him. Hasbro and I are so very pleased with Natural Choice for Sensitive Stomachs. March 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sensitive Stomach I have been feeding my dog this food for approximately 7 years now...as a puppy he was malnourished and is unable to digest rich dog foods that contain ingredients that are difficult to digest. By default my other 2 dogs also eat this food. All of them are very healthy with very shiny coats and well formed musculature. I think this product is very good, high quality food for dogs. March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for my sensitive tummy dog After my new puppy started rejecting his original puppy food, I switched to Natural Choice dog food and it made all the difference! He hasn't had any problems since and loves his food. One of the first times I brought home the new bag he from the pet store, he had tore open the bag in the backseat of the car so needless to say, he was excited about the switch too. March 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dogs love this food. My husband and I have 11 rescue dogs. Many have come to us in very poor condition - emaciated, dull coat, starving. We give them Nutro - many question us for giving strays such high price food. In just a few weeks their coats are shiny and they are on their way to a healthy weight. We also continue to feed Nutro to all of our dogs. We have 4 small dogs and 7 medium to large - one which came to us 3 weeks ago. We wouldn't feed anything else March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy on the stomach My 1 year old dog is still very much a puppy and as much as I superviser her, she still manages to each things she should not, she loves paper towels, so I like being able to consistantly give her food that is easy on her stomach. I also like that the adult formula is similar to the puppy formula so the transition was smooth. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chicken,RiceAndOatmeal I own a Medical Alert Service Dog. He used to eat Iams. I was told about Neutro Natural, Chicken, Rice, and Oatmeal. He loves this food. It seems like he can't get enough of it. He has trouble with his stomach and urinary tract infections. This dog food is the best food. It makes his coat so shiny! He doesn't have the stomach problems he once had and I can't say enough about this product, other than it is truely a wonderful product and would recommend to anyone! March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! My chocolate lab loves this food, as do I! He likes it for the taste, and I like it because of all the healthy ingredients and vitamins that it has. We are incredibly pleased with this product and have been for several years now. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can you say Awesome? When my wife wanted me to buy this dog food I told her dog food is dog food. Boy was I wrong. Well I didn't want to sleep in the dogs house so I bought it. After takeing the time to research this product and many other products like it I can say on paper it is awesome. I can also say that after switching my German Shepherd and Rottweiler mix 90lb lap dog has stopped that annoying scratching that would bug me in the middle of the night. Not to forget he really has a shinny coat. It feels good to know I am giving him a heathy product that will help him to keep jumping in our laps for years to come! March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Stars from 6 Shih Tzu's Healthy and Happy FurBabies is a Number One Priority in our family; the Nutros Chicken Meal, Rice & Oatmeal Formula Adult Dog Food helps everyone be both!! March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is healthy My 10 year old chocolate lab Koda has been on Nutro for only 2 years. It has made a huge difference in her sensitive stomach issues. It not only made her healthier but gave her a beautiful coat.I'm hooked, any future dogs in our house will start out with the Nutro puppy food.Thanks for a great product for our pets we love so dearly. March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Nutro Natural Choice Story My Golden Retriever Teddy Bear, has a sensitive stomach. I have been feeding him this special formula for 8 years now and it keeps him happy and balanced. not to mention a very soft and beautiful coat. I would recommend this to anyone with a dog with a sentitive stomach March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Husky loves this. This is the only food we have found that our 13 year old finicky Husky will eat that is specially formulated for sensitive stomachs and that actually doesn't upset her stomach. We buy the dry, canned and treats and she loves them all. March 12, 2011
<<prev2 3 4 5... 9next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®