For Dogs

Small Breed Puppy FoodChicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

Small breed puppies have higher metabolisms, sensitive skin, developing teeth and are often finicky eaters. They require the right energy and nutrients from their food in order to support rapid growth. Because finding the right food is crucial to their overall development, we’ve formulated a natural diet for their specific needs. Made with real, farm-raised chicken, this healthy, natural small breed puppy food contains targeted levels of protein, DHA, minerals, and the right balance of calcium and phosphorus. Its unique kibble shape is designed to reduce tartar and plaque buildup. Plus, our premium puppy food never uses artificial colors, flavors or preservatives and is packed with a taste your small breed puppy will enjoy.

Package Sizes Available: 4 lbs., 8 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Great Taste for Finicky Eaters
    We include real chicken as our #1 ingredient, as well as other whole, natural ingredients, such as whole brown rice and sunflower oil, to please even the most selective palates, guaranteed.
  • Minerals to Support Puppy Growth
    Minerals to Support Puppy Growth
    Small breed puppies have high requirements for energy and nutrients from food in order to support their rapid growth rate. Our SMART START® Formula with DHA and balanced minerals supports a small breed puppy’s growth and development.
  • Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole grains are nutrient-dense foods that nourish a healthy digestive system for proper nutrient absorption.
  • Targeted Nutrition for a Higher Metabolism
    Targeted Nutrition for a Higher Metabolism
    Our formula has targeted levels of protein and fat to keep up with the higher energy levels of a small breed puppy.
  • Healthy Teeth and Oral Care
    Healthy Teeth and Oral Care
    Puppies need the right balance of calcium and phosphorus to build strong teeth for life.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Small breed puppies not only spend the majority of their time indoors, but are also groomed more frequently. This lifestyle lends itself to skin sensitivity. Our patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins provide a moisture barrier for skin and coat nourishment.
** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Guaranteed Analysis
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding ranges for puppies. These guidelines should be adjusted as needed to obtain optimum weight.

Puppies: From 3 to 5 weeks of age, moisten food and feed frequently. From 6 weeks of age, feed the suggested amount in three meals per day until 6 months of age, then twice daily until 12 months.

Pregnant Bitches: During pregnancy, offer 50% more than the amount shown for puppies 29 to 52 weeks of age.

Lactating Bitches: Offer at least two to three times the amount shown for puppies 29 to 52 weeks of age.

If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® WHOLESOME ESSENTIALS® Puppy Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Puppy Age — Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Puppy
Weight
6 – 11
Weeks
12 – 16
Weeks
17 – 28
Weeks
29 – 52
Weeks
Up to 2 lbs. 1/2 – 2/3 1/3 – 1/2 1/3 – 1/2 1/4 – 1/3
3 lbs. 2/3 – 3/4 1/2 – 2/3  1/2 – 2/3  1/3 – 1/2 
5 lbs. 1 – 1 1/4 3/4 – 1 3/4 – 1 1/2 – 3/4
10 lbs. ----- 1 1/3 – 1 1/2 1 1/4 – 1 1/3 1 – 1 1/4
15 lbs. ----- ----- 1 2/3 – 2 1 1/3 – 1 2/3
20 lbs. ----- ----- ----- 1 2/3 – 2
25 lbs. ----- ----- ----- 2 – 2 1/3
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.64 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Puppy Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food. Moisten the food until the puppy no longer has sore gums and has sufficient teeth to chew the kibble.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current level.
Decrease the feeding amount to the lower range of target weight within the age category.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3821 kcal/kg, 394 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Puppy Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth, gestation and lactation.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 89reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product We recently got a 8 week old yorkiepoo who weighed 1LB 8 ou . We researched puppy food and decided to go with the Natural choice puppy food for small breed. The puppy loves it and when we took him to the vet after 2 weeks his coat was shiny, he was active healthy and had gained one lb 4 ou. The Vet told us we had picked an excellent source of protein for the puppy in your food. We recently reccomended it to our daughter whos yorkie poo is having some coat and digestive issues and she went with the adult brand of the same small breed food. Her dog is doing better already. The piece size is perfect for the little dogs and they love it. Thanks for such a great product....We plan to continue to use it. February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Totally satisfied My puppy, Coacoa Belle, absolutely loves her food. I have had several dogs throughout my life and bought what ever was cheap. After going to my local pet store, I was informed about all the benefits of a natural dog food. I only wish I knew better earlier, otherwise, I would have fed my dogs natural. I can see a difference in her stool consistency and frequency and she overall is a happy, healthy, little girl. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my new puppy and my older dog Well we adopted a small breed puppy from a farm and started him on our old brand we were already feeding our older dog. Our new puppy needed a puppy formula and so I looked into our old brands puppy formula. Well found out the old brand started using corn as their main ingredient and so we definatly felt the need to change when we looked at all their formulas had corn. We checked so many different brands and your dog food was the only one that had the highest quality of ingredients while still maintaining the best price. My puppy came home a 12lb 9 mo old and is now a 15lb 12 mo old! Thank you Nutro! Oh and my 3 year old now eats her food every meal! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nika LOVES it! My Pomeranian, Nika, is 5 months old. The breeder sent her home with another brand of food that she just would not eat. I purchased the Nutro Natural Choice Puppy Food with my daughter-in-law's recommendation. She told me that it was guaranteed to be tasty. From the moment I gave her the first serving she has been a champion eater and is looking and acting healthy and beautiful! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my puppies love it wet or dry I like that the first ingredents. is meat not corn dogs need meatin there lives/ February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Puppy Loves this Food! I rescued Jax this month and have had him on Natural Choice Small Breed Puppy Food and he absolutely loves it! His coat has improved markedly and he is full of life and energy. My vet was very pleased with my choice of food for Jax and remarked that the Nutro brand was an excellent source for all of my puppy's needs. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro cares about my puppy I AM DELIGHTED TO TELL YOU ABOUT MY HAPPY EXPERIENCE AND REVIEW OF NUTRO DOG FOOD. IT BEGAN ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO WHEN i GOT A PUPPY FOR OUR FAMILY. UNFORTUNATELY, IMMEDIATELY AFTERWARDS I WAS WITHOUT A JOB DUE TO THE ECONOMY DOWNFALL. MY RESOURCES WERE VERY LIMITED AND SOMETHING SIMPLE AS BUYING DOG FOOD BECAME A CONCERN. FORTUNATELY, I CAME ACROSS A LOCAL PROMOTION FROM NUTRO COMPANY OFFERING 'FREE DOG FOOD' TO HELP OUT IN THIS TIME OF ECONOMIC NEED. I WAS SURPRISED AND RELIEVED TO LEARN THAT A COMPANY ACTUALLY CARED ABOUT PEOPLE'S ABILITY TO BUY DOG FOOD IN THESE TOUGH TIMES. AND OF ALL COMPANIES, IT WAS A DOG FOOD COMPANY. I TOOK ADVANTAGE OF THE OFFER AND RECIEVED A 5 POUND BAG MAILED TO MY HOUSE. HOW MORE CONVENIENT COULD IT HAVE BEEN? WELL, THIS 5 POUND BAG TOOK ME THOUGH A MONTH OR SO UNTIL I GOT RE-EMPLOYED AND WAS ON MY FEET. I AM SURE THAT I WAS NOT THE ONLY ONE IN THIS SITUATION THAT MANY MORE PEOPLE WERE GRACIOUSLY HELPED OUT BY THE NUTRO COMPANY DURING THAT TOUGH ECONOMIC TIME THROUGH THE 'FREE DOG FOOD OFFER'. IT IS GOOD TO KNOW THAT NUTRO DID CARE AND GOT ME STARTED ON THE ROAD TO PET OWNERSHIP AND BECAUSE OF THAT, I AM A FAITHFUL CUSTOMER AND WILL USE THEIR PRODUCT. THAT ONE TIME 5 POUND BAG OF FREE DOG FOOD WAS WELL INVESTED IN THE LONG RUN. GOOD JOB NUTRO! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by small breed puppy we adopted two puppies from the south....having no clue what they would like to eat. Our puppies have been loving the natural choice small breed puppy food. We tried one other brand and their small breed puppy food was too big for our dogs to eat. Natural choice comes in the perfect size for my puppies. They enjoy it a few times a day......thank you Nutro. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for puppies! Our Dachshunds had puppies and this food was great. The puppies loved it -- we soaked it in a bit of water and they were able to eat it fine. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our new puppy has thrived! We started feeding our Boston Terrier puppy Nutro's Natural Choice Small Breed Puppy food as soon as we brought our dog home on Dec 4 2010. At the time he weighed 4 lbs. In the two months since, he has grown to 13 lbs and and is thriving! He is an energetic bundle of joy that certainly keeps us on the go. He loves the taste, gobbles it up right away and we love the fact that it has all natural ingredients. His coat is shiny and he has received great check-ups at each of his vet appointments. It's great that we can feed our puppy an all natural product as we prefer to eat natural and organic as well. We researched several brands and Nutro seemed to come highly recommended every where we looked! Keep up the great work! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Real Chicken for puppies I have a chihuahua puppy and it was difficult and expensive to find the right food for her until we found Natural Choice for puppies! We have tried 10 or more different dog foods from Petsmart and my pup Bella loves it! Most dog food stinks real bad, and this Natural Choice Food smells good! Leaves my dog with fresh breath which is a bonus! I hope this helps someone out! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our mini-Schnauzer loves it! I wanted to find a nutritious dog food without breaking the bank, and when I asked at our nearby feed supply store, they recommended Nutro, which also happened to be on sale. They also told me how to get coupons for them. My daughter who is quite the reader and researcher, told me that this dog food has the ingredients that you should look for in healthy dog food. Our dog loves it, and I feel like he's getting a healthy food without spending a fortune. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saw a difference in coat in 1 week I have a boston terrier/pug mix and this food was the perfect size for her! The other brands were too large and I can hear her trying to hard to chew them up! This was much easier for her. Also I saw and felt a difference in her coat within 1 week. Her coat was shinier and softer. Her digestion also improved and didn't have any trouble switching to this brand. She will be a Nutro Dog for life!!! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally! My dogs are happy and healthy! Back in September of 2009, I got my first dog(Pekingese). No matter what I did, he would not eat dog food. I was beginning to lose hope! I tried all kinds of dog food and he just would not eat it. Then a few months later, in July 2010, I got another Pekingese. He would eat dog food, but would constantly have loose stool. We were feeling hopeless. In December of 2010, I got a little Pug with horrible skin, so we were told to try Nutro Natural Choice. He thrived and his skin was BEAUTIFUL! We decided to also try to see if my two other Pekingese would like it. My older one LOVED it! Finally, a dog food that he LIKES! We were so excited. We also quickly realized that my younger Pekingese was no longer having loose stools and his coat was looking very shiny!Nutro Natural Choice dog food was the best choice I ever made and I would highly recommend it to everyone! All 3 of my dogs are now happy and healthy! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My puppy loves this food! This is very easy on puppies little tummies.My puppy went on this right after she was weaned and did great with this product!! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bentley loves Nutro Natural Choice Our cockapoo Bentley BD 5-4-10 loves the small breed puppy food. We even gave him a choice at the beginning and he never left the Nutro bowl and wouldnt eat the other foods given the choice. If he could read, he would see that real meat is the first ingredient! Thank you and my son likes the smaller pick-ups if you know what I mean. February 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Puppy eats this no problem! My new puppy munches on this all day. I had no problem getting her to eat dry food only so I am ecstatic! But 2 weeks ago, I couldn't get the pink bag so I upgraded to the Holistic Superfood for a dollar more per bag and she loves it more! I switched! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves it as much as it is good for him!! I have a French Bulldog puppy and this particular breed have sensative stomachs so finding a well balanced food that's good for him as well as tasty to him was very difficult. Having the small kibbles also made it very easy for him since he has small teeth. This food has never upset his setup, keeps his joints healthy, also keeps his fur coat nice and shiny and he never fails to finish up his meals! Thank you so much for this this great formula! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My puppy loves this product My 7 month old Boston Terrier "Brody" loves Nutro Puppy food. Since starting him on this product his fur has been healthy looking, much less gas which has been a big problem for such a little dog. He has tons of energy and with such a healthy diet it is one I will stick with for a long time. Prices are reasonable as well. Glad to have found this Natural Choice dog food. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by We're off to a great start - he loves it! I did a lot of comparison shopping for my 10wk old chihuahua puppy - He is just over 2 lbs.! I need to provide the best nutrition possible in the smallest amount of food! He only needs 1 oz per pound right now SO the Nutra has all the amazing ingredients and natural preservatives, without all the fillers! Very pleased- would love for you to package small breed food in smaller packaging! I have enough here to last me a year! (Since the dog will only be 8-9 pounds fully grown!)...maybe call it "EXTRA-SMALL BREED FORMULA! Again thanks very much! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Starter for Your Small Breed Puppy I started a new litter of Mini-Dachshund puppies on this food a few monthes ago, not only was it much easier for them to handle because of its size, they loved the taste, and it satisfied them. February 17, 2011
<<prev 2 34
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®