For Dogs

Sensitive Skin and Stomach Adult Dog FoodFish Meal, Whole Brown Rice & Potato Formula

Dogs with sensitive skin and sensitive stomachs can benefit from foods rich in omega-3 fatty acids. That’s why NATURAL CHOICE® Sensitive Skin and Stomach Adult Dog Food is made with seasonally caught fish. Our delicious, healthy blend, made with whole brown rice and potatoes, has patented vitamin levels for skin hydration and a soft, shiny coat. Plus, it’s made without corn gluten meal, wheat or soy protein, which means there’s less chance of aggravating food sensitivity. It’s a difference you’ll notice. We guarantee your dog will enjoy the taste, and you’ll love the real results or your money back.

Package Sizes Available: 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Single Fish Protein
    Single Fish Protein
    Dogs with sensitive systems benefit from unique fish-protein sources, such as our seasonally caught fish.
  • Limited Ingredient Diet
    Limited Ingredient Diet
    By limiting the number of ingredients, our nutritionally complete formula helps promote optimal digestive health in dogs with sensitive stomachs.
  • Targeted Nutrition for a Higher Metabolism
    Healthy Metabolism
    Our formula is rich in vitamins, minerals and antioxidants that are vital for healthy metabolism.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat — guaranteed.
  • Less Ingredients for Better Digestion
    Less Ingredients for Better Digestion
    Because it’s made without corn gluten meal, wheat or soy protein, there is less chance of aggravating food sensitivities.

** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Kibble Image
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Sensitive Skin and Stomach Adult Fish Meal, Whole Brown Rice & Potato Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
15 lbs. 1 1/4 1 1/3 1 1/2
25 lbs. 1 2/3 2 2 1/4
35 lbs. 2 1/4 2 1/2 2 3/4
45 lbs. 2 2/3 3 3 1/3
55 lbs. 3 3 1/2 4
65 lbs. 3 1/2 4 4 1/2
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.37 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Sensitive Skin and Stomach Adult Fish Meal, Whole Brown Rice & Potato Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3681 kcal/kg, 352 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Sensitive Skin and Stomach Adult Fish Meal, Whole Brown Rice & Potato Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 50reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by constant vomiting :( My Schnauzers both LOVE the Herring. One is 86lbs the other is 26lbs so the food size is important. They both have issues with eating "on time" or when we are home. They turn their nose up at other Nutro dog flavors that I have tried so I just keep going back tot he Herring ~ tho the thought process is lets change the flavors up for them... learning to not fix whats not broke. The only disadvantage about the Herring is it does smell fishy and they dogs facial fur gets smelly ~ but its a small price to pay for them to like what they eat and wont bother their stomachs~ ! THANK YOU NUTRO! June 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Picky Eater My dog is a very picky eater AND has allergies. She had just suffered several bouts of allergic conjunctivitis followed by colitis, and refused to eat any of the foods we tried to feed her.She LOVES this Herring formula. Its the only limited ingredient food she will eat. The added bonus is that my other dog loves it too. I also appreciate the fact that the Nutro Naturals are reasonably priced - actually a bit cheaper than the others at my local pet store. May 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog really likes the flavor My Eskimo has alwas done better on the sensitive stomach formulas. He has always tring to eat my old dogs food, but her food had medicine in it. The herring flavor was good enough he would eat his dinner. By the time he was done so was the old dog no more feeding problems. April 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Our Bloodhound had several sensitivities that were difficult to diagnose. He loves the Herring and Potato formula, eats well, skin looks great. I'm glad that the company truly produces a product that makes a difference in our dog's life- THANKS!! March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finicky greyhound makes a connection My 10-year-old greyhound has an extremely sensitive stomach and has gone through many a product. I cannot put into words how ecstatic and relieved I was when I decided, as a last resort, to try the new flavor limited ingredient diet herring meal, rice, and potato formula for sensitive stomachs and skin. The moment I placed the dried food in Pupp's bowl and mixed it with a tablespoonful of the same variety of canned product, my greyhound guarded her eating station until I gave her another round. Wow! I was so excited to find an answer to my almost 6 month-long problem. The wholesome products are a wonderfully healthy choice. When Pupp is happy , so am I. Thank you Nutro. Please continue to have this product readily available. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My two dogs eat eagerly. This product is providing excellent nutrition and weight control. My dogs are energetic and have no health problems. We use it exclusively. Fred & Judie , Jupiter, FL March 12, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of pro's only one con My dog loves this flavor the best, the only problem is that it gives her fish breath. But just like the venison and chicken flavors, it makes her coat shiny, there's much less shedding, she's never itchy, and her stomach isn't upset by it. The best thing is that her stools have no odor. We just make sure to have breath-freshening treats on hand when she's having this flavor. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rescued Romeo Our rescued Romeo terrier mix has a sensitive stomach & this formula of dog food has been the answer! He has been a playful, happy pup for the last 3 year on this diet. Thank you Nutro for developing such a dog food :) March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food is excellent for a nice healthy coat We started the Nutro line of dry dog food when we took our puppy home from the breeder almost 5 years ago, and have been feeding different varieties of this line ever since. Our dogs coat is always so shiney and full looking that we often get compliments on it. He has also maintained a healthy weight throught his life, and I also like that his stools are healthy. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Limited ingredient food with good taste Our senior dog developed an itchy coat & was alreay eating a Nutro Natural Choice food. We decided to try The Herring & Potato fromula to see if the limited ingredient food would help. We noticed improvement within a couple of weeks & Sydney really looks forward to her feeding time! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best dog food we have found. Our mini-schnauzer is allergic to corn & wheat. She was a finicky eater. Natural choice is very much liked by our King Charles Spaniel as well.1 cup/day works wonders for both dogs. No more breakouts from allergies. We have also achieved great weight control on both dogs. February 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog thanks you! Our 7 year old sheperd-husky mix has gluten intolerance and other food allergies. We have tried every food on the market, a BARF Diet, and this is the ONLY food he can eat. He loves it. We think it's the fish, and that he thinks he's getting away with eating his beloved sneaky treat of cat food!The price is equal to the quality and we consider it an investment in our best friend's longevity. We recommend Nutro to all of dog loving friends.He was a Nutro Pup, he is a Nutro Dog, and he will be a Nutro Senior. February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by So natural, so nice Ever since I rescued my black lab as a pup, I have fed her nutro. Everyone always says what a great coat she has, so shiny and soft. Also, what great pearly white teeth she has. I ALWAYS reply, its Nutro! It's an all natural food with no by products and is so affordable for a working single woman in her 20's. A $45-55 bag lasts her a month. That 15-20 dollars extra a month to spend on her food rather than the foods with By-products and cause hearing loss and other health problems is SOOO worth it. Now I feed her this food and most the time its either on sale or the big bag that gives a couple extra pounds of food. It's a great incentive to keep buying without hurting my wallet. Her coat is still shiny and her teeth as white as can be. Also, her being a high energy dog, this really fills her up with tons of nutrients and never hurts her stomach to keep her just as happy and energetic. Bottom line, I LOVE Nurto! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is unique This product has a unique protein which has benefited our dog greatly. She is a very picky eater with a very sensitive stomach and skin. She loves this food, when we were mixing in her old food to transition her onto this she only ate this food picking out her old food and dropping it onto the floor. It has been very good for her stomach, not a single upset tummy since we switched and her skin has improved drastically, it isn't dry anymore and she doesn't need to itch it all the time. When we take her with us to get another bag she finds it right away and starts licking her chops and trying to lick the bag. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved our carpets! We have an old dog who has always had a sensitive stomach. We couldn't get thru more then a few meals without her refusing to eat and that was with us augmenting it with wet food. She had been on one kind of dog food for years and years and she would often throw up. It was a good quality, expensive dog food but we noticed it had corn as an early ingredient. We decided to change her food and that is when we found Nutro: Herring and Potato, it was a sensitive stomach, limited ingredient food it also had a good dose of glucosamine. We changed her over and by and by she not only would eat her whole meal without any wet food but we were no longer finding vomit everywhere. We loved it so much we have recently changed over the other three dogs to the same kind and everyone seems to love it. It has not only saved our carpet but it has also made our meal times so much easier! February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This has been a superb product for our dogs. We searched many months for the right dog food for Buster our oldest dog. He was part border collie coyote. He was extremely sensitive to all dog food and would constantly scratch because his coat was special. We found your product the herring in particular was his favorite as well as the other four dogs we have. Even though Buster has passed now we thank you for the excellent product you provided us and Buster so he could sleep through many nights.. With no wheat or corn Buster never scratched again. All my dogs love this product ! They are all very happy, healthy, and have excellent coats February 20, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helped My Dog's Digestion We have fed our dog Nutro since we adopted her from the county animal shelter. However, she would occasionally vomit randomly during the day. Eventually we switched her to the herring meal. Since switching, her instances of vomiting were greatly reduced. With the addition of a slow feed dish, she seems to digest her food completly and the vomiting seems to have stopped! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five Dogs- ONE food!? With four dogs with a mix of ages, breeds, sizes and needs we were quite used to having at least two different kinds of dogs foods to meet those various needs. Adding a fifth dog to that mix (a high energy lab/beagle rescue) we found ourselves reevaluating what foods we were feeding. After trying many different combinations of brands and formulas, we finally found ONE food that seemed to work for all of them.Nutro Natural Choice Herring Meal, Rice and Potato Formula Dry Dog Food addresses all of our dogs' needs. Our 4 year old lab/beagle has a very sensitive stomach which can result in some very noxious gas, but has 0 problems digesting this food. Our 14 yr old dalmatian with her incredibly picky appetite no longer leaves us scrounging for ways to tempt her to eat. Our 13 year old lab/shepherd/husky is maintaining a healthy weight and no longer resembles a very cushy ottoman. Our 11 year old husky mix is more active and also carrying less of that extra weight around. And our 11 year old husky mix with his skin allergies and picky appetite has a healthy coat AND weight.We still give our older dogs nutritional supplements (mostly for their joints), but they are all healthy, active and healthy. And we are so thankful for one food to feed them all. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great For A Sensitive Tum-Tum! My "Zip" - A 4-year-old German Shorthaired Puppy is an affecionado of human-food. He's stolen a chicken enchilada casserole from my boyfriend, and I've caught him licking my plate more times than I can count. Unfortunately, he pays the consequences. His stomach is terribly sensitive, and he has diarrhea whenever he gets into my food or any one of the several dog foods that I've attempted over the years. I have a pretty limited selection because I only feed him what he deserves (i.e. the number one ingredient is never corn meal), so the selection of sensitive-stomach foods is pretty slim. Ever since I've had him on herring meal, rice and potato formula - he's done great. Maintaining weight, great coat, healthy amount of energy (as if GSP's ever slow down), and best of all - he doesn't make a mess!! Happy dog and happy owner!!I should also mention that I have a "Raz" - another GSP...and he eats just about anything. Fortunately, he has a stomach of steel, and he CAN put down just about everything. Despite his wishes, I'm fairly certain that he's much happier (and healthier) eating something that was actually made for him. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great We have two beagles, one is 7 years old and the other still a puppy. Our puppy was scratching a lot and just seemd to have dry skin. After one week of this food her skin problems were no more.The only complaint is the smell. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! My eight year old Golden Retriver suddenly developed itchy skin and was constantly scratching and grooming herself to the point where it was keeping my wife and I up at night. I knew she has sensitivities to wheat so I switched to Nutro Natural Choice which has limited ingredients (Herring Meal, Rice & Potato) and in a matter of weeks not only did she stop scratching and licking but her energy level is way up also! I take her for long walks (up to 3 hours) and even some runs and the whole house is sleeping better! She loves the herring flavor and gobbles it down every day like it was the first time she tried it. Highly recommended. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by best dog food I have tried other dogs foods for my 4 little dogs and they would always itch. tried this food and it is wonderful. the itching stopped and my little dogs are so much happier. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST FOOD EVER! i have two girls both have sensetive tummys and are very picky eaters and one has food allergies. I always had to change their food or add gravy but since i have started them on this food 6 months ago the one with allergies stoped losing hair and they love the taste of it they cant wait to eat every time February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Natural Choice really is the natural choice ! We had tried everything we could find for our beagle, Sandy's, itchy skin - flea treatments, creams, ointments, shampoos, etc., & nothing provided any lasting benefit. She was in the vet's office several times a year for medication. It was pretty clear that she was allergic to something, but the vet informed us allergy testing for dogs was expensive & often not conclusive. After having her teeth cleaned a couple of years ago she wouldn't eat for a few days & we noticed her skin cleared up & she wasn't scratching, so we now at least knew something in her food was the culprit. I dreaded going through the process of elimination to determine what ingredient was the troublemaker, but lucky for me, I asked a clerk in the pet store for a recommendation and she said she personally used Nutro Natural Choice Herring, Rice, & Potato and was very satisfied. I purchased a small bag that day & have been buying the jumbo bags ever since. We were first a little concerned because the Nutro is a bit more expensive than the food we were using, but taking into consideration what we save on vet bills & medications, we are probably actually saving money in the end. And most importantly, Sandy is itch-free & has beautiful, healthy skin. Plus, she LOVES the food ! We are SO GLAD we discovered Nutro Natural Choice Herring, Rice, & Potato & would recommend it to anyone with a furry family member. : ) February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for picky eaters My Weimaraner was the pickiest of eaters until I tried a few sample bags of Nutro from my local pet store. She LOVED it! I now feed her a mix of the Lite Adult and the Herring and Potato (which gives her a beautiful shiny coat) and she cannot wait for me to put her food bowl down at each meal!!! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Amazing! My dogs love the food, have great coats and our oldest with hip dysplasia does really well with the high concentration of glucosamine. Would never change their food to any other company! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5��by Wouldn't use anything else! We have three... yes, three... Australian Shepherds. Our older two LOVE this stuff! The youngest is still on puppy food, but he will be switching to this in no time. They love it! It always gives them a beautiful coat, and the glucosamine levels are high, which is also great because our oldest has hip dysplasia.The only downfall... is that it is never in the "10% MORE FREE" bags, and is never on sale. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the only food my dog can eat. My shepherd, Ruby, has a sensitive stomach. She had bad reactions to every recommended food we tried for her. This changed when we fed her Natural Choice Herring Meal, Rice and Potato dog food. Her digestive system was able to handle it and bowel problems stopped. It has been a miracle. She gained weight and is a big, healthy girl now. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves this food! I adopted my dog, Blondie, a year ago. At first, she wouldn't eat dry dog food, so I would cook for her. I mixed in dry food for her teeth and to make sure she got all the nutrition she needed. When she still seemed hungry after eating what I had prepared for her, I would put down some plain kibble for her. She never took me up on eating the dry food until I tried this formula. She just loves it so much that she'll eat it plain. And she looks great and is healthy too. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for sensitive stomachs and allergies I started our Cocker Spaniel on this formula about 9 mos. ago. We abandoned Hills Science ZD Ultra which had skyrocketed in price. I'm happy to say that Nutro's Herring Meal, Rice, and Potato has been a wonderful transition. Our dog loves it and has had no adverse effects. She is very healthy and happy on this food. We highly recommend! February 17, 2011
<<prev2 3next>>
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®