For Dogs

Large Breed Senior Dog FoodChicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

Larger, heavier dogs need a premium dog food that supports a healthy heart and strong bones. For older, large breed dogs, NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Dog Food features our SENIOR SUPPORT SYSTEM® Formula. It contains antioxidants to maintain immunity, omega-3 fatty acids for joint health and natural sources of amino acids to support heart health. Our natural senior dog food uses U.S.-farm-raised chicken for a great taste and natural whole grains to help nourish a healthy digestive system in mature large dogs. And even though your dog is older, our natural ingredients help maintain a healthy, shiny coat. So no matter the age of your senior dog, they can enjoy life to the fullest.

Package Sizes Available: 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  •  Great Taste for Finicky Eaters
    Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Great-tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken delivers the amino acids that senior large breed dogs need to maintain a healthy metabolism and support healthy heart function.
  • Strong, Healthy Joints
    Strong, Healthy Joints
    Naturally sourced glucosamine and chondroitin help build healthy cartilage, which means healthy joints.
  • Rich in Antioxidants
    SENIOR SUPPORT SYSTEM® Formula
    Our SENOR SUPPORT SYSTEM® Formula delivers antioxidants and omega-3 fatty acids, ALA and DHA, to promote brain and cellular health.
  • Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole grains, such as whole brown rice and oatmeal, are nutrient-dense foods that nourish a healthy digestive system for proper nutrient absorption.
  •  Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.

** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

chxrceoat kibble
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min.) 22.00%
Crude Fat (min.) 12.00%
Crude Fiber (max.) 4.00%
Moisture (max.) 10.00%
Linoleic Acid (min.) 3.50%
Zinc (min.) 250 mg/kg
Vitamin E (min.) 250 IU/kg
Niacin (min.) 250 mg/kg
Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C) (min.)* 50 mg/kg
Alpha Linolenic Acid (ALA) (min.)* 0.10%
Biotin (min.)* 2.5 mg/kg
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min.)* 0.10%
DGlucosamine (min.)* 150 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate (min.)* 350 mg/kg
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for large breed senior dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
50 lbs.
3 1/3 3 3/4 4 1/3
60 lbs. 3 3/4 4 1/2 5
80 lbs. 4 3/4 5 1/2 6 1/4
100 lbs. 5 2/3 6 1/2 7 1/3
120 lbs. 6 1/2 7 1/2 8 1/2
160 lbs. 8 9 1/4 10 1/2
200 lbs. 9 1/2 11 12 1/3
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.89 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 73reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product we have a beautiful german shepherd she is about 9 years now. She has beenon Nutro for many years. I like the product because it keeps her regular.I had to get a cheaper product on time and she left a huge pile and didn't look healthy. My only complaint is that when I bought a bag of nutro last time I've noticed that the 40lbs bag was only 30lbs and just as expensive. May 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Nutro Reward My two beautiful Labradors have been fed Nutro since they were a year old. They both lived 15 healthy playful years and just recently passed away within two months of each other. Thank you Nutro for giving me the many healthy years with my sweet girls! April 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded our expectations. Our rescue Airedale has been on this product for nine years. Within just a few months of the Ultra Large Breed Senior Adult Dog Food diet, we noticed a great improvement in her coat, her weight, and her energy. Our other 'dales have also done well on Nutro products. November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by From puppy to senior My black labrador has been on Nutro since the day I picked him up from the breeders. I knew he was going to be a large dog so I knew that he needed to be fed the best food for his growing joints and muscles. From Nutro Puppy, Adult & Senior, I couldn't have asked for a better dog food (and he would agree)! He will celebrate 10 years young this July with many more to come! March 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Forever Nutro We have a 10 year old black lab/golden retriever mix. We have always given her Nutro. From puppy to large breed adult to senior. She loves it! We get so many compilment on her shiny coat, and every visit to the vet is a good one. She's always been in good health. We stick to the feeding guidelines and she's never had problems with being overweight. We will always stay true to our Nutro! March 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Quality, Expensive, They eat it I have fed Nutro Large Breed Senior to our Irish Wolfhound, Aussie, and various mixed-breed dogs over the years. I like the quality (no recalls) and the nutritional content. I've stuck with it , even as the price went through the roof, because they will all eat it. March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by a great product for a great dog! when we rescued our "mister" he was an eight scrawny pounds and very malnourished lab mix. we immediately put him on nutro puppy food and he began to grow like a weed! six months later, after surgery to repair his knee, the vet recommended we skip the adult food and go right to the senior food because of the glucosamine for his knee. five years later, after some other health issues, we were advised to put him on the nutro ultra holistic super food, but he didn't like it as much, so we now feed him half senior and half ultra. he knows when it's feeding time and will stand in front of his bowl until we put food in it. he's now six years old and everyone we meet thinks he's a a 100lb puppy! we have to watch his weight so he doesn't reinjure his knee, and the senior food keeps him at his ideal weight. what a great food for our great big boy! March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best food for everyones' pet! My Neapolitan Mastiff has been eating Natural Chioce for 8yrs! Well, almost 8 yrs! His first 6 months he ate another brand of dog food that the vet's push because they are dealers of this dog food, which I won't mention! At six months I was at the dog park and started talking to pet owners and 9 out of 10 were feeding there large breed dogs Natural Choice! I told them what I was feeding my best best friend and they said no way! At first I was a little insulted by the reaction, but after all the great benefits I heard from these pet owners, I thougt, why not let me give it a shot. After about a month, I noticed a shinnier coat and healthier dog! He is 175lbs, will be 8 and is a healty dog on senior nuetro. March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthiest Choice for my dog, Sammi The Natural Nutro line has been fed to my dog from birth. She has been the picture of health for the past 9 years, and I am sure it is due to the food that she is being fed. We started her on the puppy formula and as she grew she changed to adult formulas and now she eats the Senior Large Breed. She really loves it and always finishes her meals. We don't give her table food, so all her nutrition is from Nutro. It really has kept her healthy, with a beautiful shiny black coat as well. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro can give longevity. I have used Nutro Large Breed & Large Breed Senior for my two rescued black Great Danes over the past 11+ years and I have to say that I recommend Nutro to everyone who asks me how I kept my dogs so healthy and to live such a long happy life.Molly my female was from western Wisconsin and severely under weight at about 68 pounds at the age of 2 years old. With Nutro Large Breed Adult she was able to get to her target weight of 122 pounds in about 24 months. She passed on October 2009 at the age of 13 years and 2 months. My male Brewser I rescued from Salt Lake City, Utah at the age of 2 years old and 191 pounds due to a diet of table scraps and poor quality dog food. With a Nutro diet (no exercise because he had heartworms) I was able to get him to his target weight of 168 pounds in about 11 months. He passed away in February of 2011 at the age of 11 years and 7 months. With a warm loving home, regular Veterinaryian care and a balanced diet of Nutro Max Large Breed and Large Breed Senior my two dogs lived amazingly long happy lives. From what I have read and been told a Dane life expectancy is about 7 to 9 years.Thank you Nutro for making a truly superior product. I also foster a 8 year old (from our local no-kill animal shelter) a Golden Retriever / Springer Spaniel mix for the last 7 + months and he has gained some pep in his step from being on Nutro too. I also have 4 cats and 1 foster cat which are all on Nutro Cat Food.TonyManito, IL March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! I have been feeding my 7 1/2 year old boxer/pit mix dog, Bianca, your food since I got her from a friend 3 years ago. Her coat is like silk, she has TONS of energy and doesn't have any joint problems. And she LOVES the food.I brought her to an outdoor gathering where many others had their dogs. She ended up "pairing up" with a 5 month old English Bulldog. They were running around like crazy, and Bianca was not only keeping up with the puppy, she was tuckering the poor thing out! She had a "smile" on her face as she raced around the yard - in the snow. Everyone complimented me on how soft her coat is and how healthy she is for a 7 1/2 year old dog. I think your product has a lot to do with her good health.Thanks for producing such a great dog food! March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dobie loves this This product is perfect for my 10 year old doberman March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Golden Oldie I have a golden retriever, aprpoximately 13 now, that I got from Homeward Bound Golden Retriever Rescue. Gunner is my 3rd golden senior rescue dog. I have feed all my golden oldies Natural choice large breed senior. I love that it's gentle on their stomachs and gives all the nutrition they need. Nutro food helps me give these beautiful animals the best quality life that I can for the time I've had with them. Gets tons more love back in return from these terrific dogs! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dogs are living proof to the quality of Nutro We have 4 large dogs in our household. Three are Labs and two are seniors. Our other is a rottweiler/aussie mix and he too is a senior. All of our dogs have been on Nutro food since they were puppies and now they are in the Large Breed Senior category. All of our dogs have shiny coats, are full of vim and vigor - just a little slower. Our youngest girl is 7 now and is on LG Breed Natural Choice and is beautiful, entergetic and healthy. We really believe that the food has been a big part of their long healthy lives. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to chew and digest Maggie is a Black Lab that will 13 in May of 2011. She is about 65 lbs. and gets around quite well for her age. Loves long walks with lots of places along the way for smelling.We switched to Large Breed Senior Adult Dog Food about 3 years back on the advice of our Vet. After weaning her off the old food, we could see she was much better off with the new food. Her coat look great, she likes the food, and her stomach tolerates it much better than the old stuff. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great coat We adopted an 8 year old pit bull mix from the county shelter a few months ago. Her coat was dull and she even had a few bare spots. Obviously we have no clue what she was being fed at her previous home, but it must have been low quality food. Since we've had her and have been feeding her your large breed senior food her fur has grown in and she has a beautiful coat! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Nutro Dog for Life My Old English Sheep Dog, Lacey (Queens Anns Lace), has been a Nutro dog since birth and she is very happy and healthy. She is ten now and still runs the full three acres of my property surrounded by an invisible fence. We play ball an hour a day and she is just as agile as she was a puppy. I attribute this to a healthy life style the superior ingredients in the Nutro product line. I'd like to thank Nutro for a great product and my Veterinarian for recommending it.thx aw March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Cares As our dog continues to grow older we found it important to really pay attention to certain ingredients that could help our dog as she ages. That is why we love to give her the senior formula that has glucosamine for her joints. We love our dog and know what is best for her. That is why we feed her Nutro! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is working nicely. We switched our dogs' food at the end of January. Since then our large Rotweiller/Lab mix has decreased shedding immensely! Her coat has even changed in color from a darker black overcoat to a redder over and undercoat. Our English Bulldog (with a sensitive stomach) seems to also have adjusted well. He actually enjoys eating this food as opposed to some others he has had in the past. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for my older dane We have an eight year old great dane (Skye) who was starting to put on a little extra weight. I started her on the Natural Choice Large Breed Senior about 6 months ago & she's lost ~ 8 lbs. She loves the food & she looks fantastic. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love the O's I have two great dogs, one a senior Dalmatian mix and the other a picky eater Weimaraner. I have tried many different dry foods, including many different kinds of Nutro products. I finally picked Nutro natural choice large breed senior for several reasons. Most importantly both my senior and my picky eater both agree on this food. They excitedly "dance" when ever they hear the clang of there food bowls. In fact, some mornings they wake me up for their morning feeding because they can't wait to eat! Secondly, I love the idea that it is fortified with nutrients good for senior and large breed dogs. Finally, price vs quality was a consideration. I wanted to feed high quality stuff with a great price and both of these considerations are met. Both I and my dogs are thrilled with this food! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I would not feed my beloved pet any other food. This is about my Katy. She came into our lives on 6/6/2000 and she has been apart of this family since. For the first year of her life, we looked for a food that would be good and healthy for our little baby booboo. One day we went to the local pet store chain and was greeted by a friendly Nutro representative. We were informed all about the product, given written information, samples and was told, if we do not like the product or, it does agree with our pet...we can bring it back for a full refund. With these options, we brought the Nutro product home and needless to say, our little girl has been happy, healthy and still runs around like a 2 year old. I am not saying the Nutro brand is a doggy fountain of youth...but, I believe this product has helped us to have a youthfully beautiful part of the family.I will not feed any of my pets...now or in the future, any other food but, Nutro-Natural Choice.I hope, I don't get a bird in the future...unless, you guys do make bird food! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My life savior. I must admit that my dog is my child. My baby girl, Nina Kinta, is a Siberian Husky who turned 9 on December 18th. Nina was always small for her breed; she only weighed 45 lbs & looked like a pup. After her 2nd litter of pups, I had to move to an apartment. She had always had land to run on & I didn't think she would be happy. I let a friend take her. I thought she would be ok since it was someone she knew & he also had just taken one of her new pups as well.After crying & missing her for days, my friend called to tell me he had taken her to the vet 3 times already within a week. She wouldn't eat, wouldn't have anything to do with her pup, & cried nonstop. The vet thought she was homesick. So needless to say I ran to get her. She came home looking horrible. Only weighing 35 lbs by now, my mother gave her some Nutro dog food & poured some gravy on top. She was hooked.Years later, Nina is a very healthy 68 lbs, with a beautiful coat, & couldn't care less where we live as long as were together. We are inseparable & our personalities are the perfect match. Nina has been by my side through the toughest times of my life. I lost everything in my life, except for her. I changed her food from the Large Breed Adult dog food to the Large Breed Senior dog food so that Nina can have a long & full life. Even though she doesn't have all the energy she had 7 years ago, I'm blessed every day I get to come home to those big beautiful blue eyes.It’s so nice to go home to my moms & be able to take Nina with me. My mom & dad have 2 of Nina’s pup from her 1st litter. No one can believe that Nina is the mother. Nina’s pups, Roxy & Reggie, are massive. Reggie is 97 lbs, & looks like a small pony, & Roxy is 75 lbs. I truly believe that Nutro has made all the difference in making them such healthy, beautiful, & loving dogs.. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Senior dog acts like a 2 year old My Portugese Water Dog has been using the Natural Choice and now Senior Large Breed since he was 4 months old. He runs around like a two year old, maintains his weight (wish I could) and the vet said he is in unbelievable shape. Hips and coat are great and best of all he loves it. He even knows the bag and when I bring it in from the car he flips! Listen up you PWD owners- you don't need a raw diet- believe me. This is easy and a great nutritional product for your dog. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 13 years and still going Our Golden Retriever, Boomer is 13 years old. He is still energetic and playful.We are very happy that he is not suffering from joint or hip pain so he can continue to accompany our family. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dogs love it and thrive on it Our dogs love Nutro Senior Large Breed dog food. They eat it all and are very healthy dogs with few issues. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for my labrador I have a 12 year old Labrador Retriever and a few years ago we started giving her the Large Breed Senior food. She looks great for an "old girl" and her yellow coat looks great too. Some times older dogs' hips can start to go, but our vet told us that she looked great for her age! March 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My pickey eater.. I have a long haired german shepard that doesn't know she is a dog.(Goes by the name of Sheba.. & a few other choice names: "dummy", "mouth", "shee-bee", fuzz ball" "cookie monster" ect.. more but too many to list here.) I never thought I would be the type to truely spoil a dog but she has learned just what to do to push daddie's buttons. SO now she's got me wrapped around her little paw.. She just bats those eyes & if that doesn't work, she'll claw ya with her paw to get your attention. Okay say you can ignore that.. she has a surefire meathod to get your attention. Sheba will sometimes not so gently take your hand / fingers in her mouth and "pull" you in the direction she wants you to go.Our queen used to eat Kibbles and Bits dry with Mighty Dog canned. My vet suggested I get a better food for her. I caved in and tried.. Oh how I tried.. Science Diet.. nope.. wouldn't eat that.. Eukanuba... nope.. didn't like that either.. (Man this is getting expensive, me throwing away food)! There were others to, this is to give you the idea. we tried about 5 kinds before we hit on one that worked. The Pet Smart clerk suggested Nutro..Guess what? Hey "Mikey.. she likes it"! haha. Well, almost all of the Nutro, she for some reason won't eat anything in gravy.. She will eat the chopped (whew).. So our daughter is happy as can be going on 3 years now. (She is 8 going on 9 Y/O) All the canned food is fine with her. There is ONE flavor that I cannot handle.. Where did you guys get the recipe for that Herring and whatnot! That stuff smells way too much like the real thing. Take it from a guy born and raised around the ocean & seafood! That's one can you don't have to read the ingrediants to know there's herring in them thar cans.Good job Nutro, you tamed my spoiled brat. I thought for a min. there that I was going to become one of "those" people that buy human type hamburger, steak, chicken, pasta, & veggies..ect for their dog... now you guys have it all in a can @ a much cheaper price.Thakks! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE LOVE LOVE what this does for my Akita! I have had my Akita on this Sr. food since she was 5 yrs. old and she is now 12 yrs. old and still runs around like she did when she was 5!! Amazing! The Vet can't believe how great of shape she is in! I recommend this food for all large breed Sr. dogs :O) Thank you NUTRO for keeping my big baby girl in such great nutritional health!! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Choice...Naturally I have been feeding my 13 year old German Shepherd Nutro Natural Choice since he was 9 weeks old! I switched him to the "Large Breed Senior" when he turned six because of the natural health benefits it provides for him with the added Glucosamine and Chondroitin. He still jogs, snowshoes, and skis with me almost everyday (in fact he did 6 miles just yesterday). He loves meal time almost as much as playing outside and reminds me daily, on the minute when it's time for breakfast and dinner. Even during a surgery recovery he went almost immediately back into his Nutro diet. Thanks Nutro for helping keep his body running great and his tummy happy! February 23, 2011
<<prev2 3 4next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®