For Dogs

Limited Ingredient Diet Small Bites Adult Dog FoodLamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula

Some adult dogs prefer smaller kibble for easier chewing. That’s why we designed NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Small Bites Adult Dog Food. Using limited ingredients, such as premium Australian and New Zealand lamb and whole brown rice, this formula helps reduce the likelihood of food sensitivity and digestive problems. Natural ingredients, such as linoleic acid, zinc, B vitamins and antioxidants, also help give your dog a healthy immune system and a soft, shiny coat. Plus, our limited ingredient diet formula is made without corn gluten, corn, wheat or soy protein. It’s a small bite with a big taste your dog will enjoy, guaranteed.

Package Sizes Available: 5 lbs., 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Small Bites Make Everything Easier
    Small Bites Make Everything Easier
    Small bites mean easier chewing for breeds that prefer a smaller kibble.
  • Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Lamb Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Australian and New Zealand lamb is our #1 ingredient. Along with whole brown rice, it provides optimal nutrition and easier digestion.
  • Great for Sensitive Stomachs
    Limited Ingredient Diet
    By limiting the number of ingredients, this nutritionally complete formula helps promote optimal digestive health in dogs with sensitive stomachs.
  • Promotes a Healthy Immune System
    Rich in Antioxidants
    Our formula is rich in the vitamins, minerals and antioxidants that are vital for healthy metabolism.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Optimal levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat — guaranteed.
  • Simple Formula for Food Sensitivities
    Simple Formula for Food Sensitivities
    Our formula is made without corn gluten meal, wheat or soy protein to reduce the likelihood of aggravating food sensitivities.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Small Bites Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
15 lbs. 1 1 1/4 1 1/2
25 lbs. 1 2/3 1 3/4 2
35 lbs. 2 2 1/3 2 3/4
45 lbs. 2 1/2 3 3 1/3
55 lbs. 3 3 1/3 3 3/4
65 lbs. 3 1/3 3 3/4 4 1/3
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.42 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Small Bites Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3754 kcal/kg, 364 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Small Bites Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 290reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by He loves the taste! When we got our Havanese last year from a breeder he was on another dog food brand (a mixed colored dog food...aka TRASH!) since it was all he knew at the time we had a tough time getting him to eat anything else or different initially. We got Wellness puppy brand at the time for him but he was not happy with it. Then we did some reading and found Nutro Small Bites and decided to try it. We began by blending it together with the Wellness and he was smart enough to pick out the Wellness from the bowl (even putting it to the side of the bowl!) and only eat the Nutro small bites. After a number of weeks of blending both foods we then put him completely on Nutro. We also sometimes add some natural meats to his Nutro and he absolutely loves it!!! His coat is sleek and has a nice sheen to it. His stools are solid and makes pickup in the backyard a breeze. Thanks Nutro for making such a great product for smaller-medium sized dogs. September 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product My 5 year old Welsh Corgi has been eating this for 3 years. He gets compliments all the time on his shiny coat. He loves the food and we've never had any digestion problems or other issues. August 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finicky Dog My dog is a terribly finicky eater - there's even some people food he just won't do!When I first adopted him, he wouldn't eat, and no matter what I tried, the poor little pup just wouldn't do it - eventually I found out he just hated the large sized dog food, and when I found Nutro and figured it out it was the BEST since it's not only small, but it's incredibly nutritious and it's not made of complete junk like so many other brands!Gambit is my best friend and such a great pup - he deserves the very best and this is it! This dog food pleases the finicky boy AND it smells great!!!Thanks Nutro for making my dachshund/corgi mix SUPER happy!!! August 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this dog food! All our dogs get this food - from puppy to senior! August 5, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2 yays 1 nay my two older dogs love this but they are on a diet of the senior food...they love this too; however, my younger 2 yr old dog hates the small bites lamb and loves the senior food as well. I call the senior food cheerios because of their shape.the young dog has enjoyed other lamb brands but would starve himself rather than eat this..very odd. p.s. the glucosamine treats worked wonderfully. August 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great nutrition I always had problems with my doberman's coat until a friend recommended the Nutro Lamb and Rice. Her coat came back gorgeous! Nowadays, with one miniature dachshund and 2 rescue dachshunds, the small bites keeps them healthy and their coats full & vibrant. The proof was switching them to something else for a short time and seeing the difference the Nutro makes. It won't happen again! June 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT SHOWS A GOOD COAT. NO SIDE AFFECTS. OVER ALL SEEMS TO WORK WELL. June 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. We have four dogs and buy the small bites because we have two chinese crested hairless and they have very few teeth. The food makes their energy level soar and the dachshund Miniature and dachshund mix we have love it as well. June 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great healthy results We have 2 rescued Greyhounds and 2 retired show Whippets. Have fed small bites Lamb and rice for 2 years. Coats are gorgeous and ou 12 and 10 year oldGreyhounds are trying the keep the younger Whippets in line by showing them who runs the fastest in the yard "track" It's amzing how ell they do for their ages.We have recommended this food to the Dobie friends who are convinced - the best food for them all! June 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by PetSmart Recommendation A couple of years ago we got our rescue dog Puck who was noticeably underweight when we got him. It was our first day with Puck and wanted to take him out to the local PetSmart for a friendly outing experience and to get the necessities. When we went in the manager who also worked with rescue dogs in the past recommended this formula and it was fantastic. Puck soon put on weight and looked better within a short period of time. It's the perfect size for him and it's healthy which is of most importance for us.I will continue to purchase this product and hope that more flavours come out in the Natural Choice Small Bites selection :)!. May 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product makes my dogs coats beautiful! I have been using this product since we adopted our sweet "Lady". She had some bloches in her coat and didn't care for most dog foods. I had heard that corn was not good for yeast in our other dog (Paw's) ears. So, I tried the lamb and rice natural choice. My dogs love this food and their coats are beautiful and shine! I highly recommend this product! It is so great that it comes in small bites for my medium dogs who prefer small bits. Try it, you won't ever try anything else! May 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My vet asked what I was feeding my dog My almost 12 yr old Tibetan Spaniel has been eating Small bites Lamb meal and rice since she was a young adult (mixed with pedigree cuts in sauce). My vet was amazed at how healthy she is, and how shiny her coat is for her age. May 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Agree - great for all - big and small Noticed the previous review and couldn't agree more. We also have, currently, a 4 dog pack. The larger two, a German Shephard and a loveable old "Goldie" share our home with two smaller, one Shih tzu(?) and another Poodle/something(?) mix. We have to question the breed(s) since all of our dogs and two cats are rescue saves. We have applied to occasionally help by fostering for the local shelter as well. The small bites are great for all and the formula keeps all healthy and happy. March 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Dog Food My mom found our greyhound mix, Heidi, 3 years ago; and with stray dogs, it's so hard to figure out which dog food is appropriate to give. After trying all different sorts, we noticed blotches in Heidi's coat. She has very short hair as is, so the blotches were much more noticeable than dogs with medium coats. A close friend recommended this specific food and in about a week, all the blotches disappeared. Now we feed both Heidi and our other dog, Aki (a shiba inu) this dog food and have highly recommended it to our friends and even strangers who have asked for my opinion in pet stores. Thank you Nutro! March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great For Our Sick Puppy Our poor dog was allergic to pountry and was constantly itching. For months, she was losing her hair while my wife and I tried to figure out what was wrong. When we got the diagnosis from the Vet, we switched her to Nutro Lamb Meal & Rice and now she's a happy and healthy dog! March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Kids love it~ I have 4 dogs - 3 pugs and a larger beagle basset mix. They have always been fed with Nutro and I love it. It keeps their coats nice and I never have that funky dog smell going on. It keep sthe amount of poo down becasue of the natural ingridients. People think I am crazed but no matter where I go I take our food becasue even a day of some other food does a number on their systems. I am and always will be a fan! March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved by all, Big and Small! We have four members of our permanent pack: three Brussels Griffons and a 60 lb Boxer/Lab mix; and from time-to-time we foster a dog or two on their way to their forever home. Of all, only the Boxer/Lab mix seems to have a sensitive stomach and, while not picky about what he eats, he’d suffer ‘gastric distress’ if something didn’t agree with him. We’d tried many, many different types and brands of dog food and most would start to bother him after a couple of days. Once we tried Natural Choice Lamb Meal and Rice Formula he no longer got sick. The addition of the three Griffs over the past two years, along with several fosters have moved us to the Natural Choice Small Bites Lamb Meal and Rice Formula and everyone loves it. They are all healthy with shiny, generally shed-free coats and our occasional fosters take to it right away – even the alleged ‘picky eaters’! Thanks Nutro for a great dog food that is truly loved by all – big and small! March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by natural key word! I have a Rat Terrier that from the start as a pup was very picky about what he eats. I tried all kinds of foods.Even Bill Jack which I kept hearing was very good food.NOT! After 2 days Domino would not touch it.So I tried your Lamb and Rice small bites and it's been love every since. All I have to say is Time to Eat! To he's food bowl he goes.I wanted to feed him a high quality food that doesn't have alot of byproducts in it.Thank you Nutro for making such a high quality dog food.Oh and Domino thanks you too.I have recommended your food to all my friends which now have their babies eatting Nutro Natural Choice.Domino is now 2 yrs old.Has a healthy ,shiny coat,and muscular body.Thank you! From a happy mom with a very happy lil boy. March 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by wish all your varieties had small bites My dogs have always loved this brand. I wish I could give them a little more variety if you also made the other flavors in small bites. I have 2 chihuahuas so the small bites works really well.. March 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Big Dogs who like little crunchy treats The Small Bites Lamb Meal & Rice Formula Dog Food is the favorite for my two large adult dogs. They get very excited around mealtime, naturally but really seem to enjoy these tasty little crunchies. I have tried other varieties of natural choice with larger bites but strangely, almost every time I put the food bowls down they look up at me once as if to say "Are you sure we can't have the little kibble???" I use this small kibble for training and treats as well since they find it fun to catch the tiny treats in mid-air - a favorite game of ours! Thanks Nutro, for catering to my picky dogs! March 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Small Bites Lamb & meal This is the only dog food that is for my dog. It provides a wholesome and nutrious meal at every meal. She just loves this stuff and will not eat any other dog food. March 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs love it. I have two medium size dogs. They both seem to prefer lamb to other Natural Choice flavors. My beagle tends to swallow without chewing, so I think the small bites allow him to digest his food better. Also, he has a sensitive digestive system, but has had no problems with any of the Natural Choice products. March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome food!! I adopted my Italian greyhound a little over a year ago from an animal shelter that I work at. She was 10 weeks when I brought her home. I had her on another brand that she had been eating in her foster home and I noticed she wasn't quite eating as much as she should have been. I decided to switch her to Nutro Natural Choice after my neighbor told me she loves the Nutro Venison for her dog with food allergies. I printed off a coupon and tried it and my puppy LOVED it!! She seems much for lively and happy. Also, her coat is so soft and shiny! Once she reached one year of age, I switched her to the Nutro Small Breed Adult and also the Nutro Lamb small bites because she loves the Lamb taste. I would definitely recommend this brand over any other! March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Perfect Bite for Little Dogs! The kibble size in this food is perfect for my two terriers. I have a Toy Fox Terrier and Jack Russell Terrier mix - both are girls! They are also both rescues, which makes me want to give them the best food that I can since I don't know what kind of nutrition they had before they came to my family. I am confident that Natural Choice and Nutro Brand products are the healthiest choice for my girls and a great value for my budget. Both of the girls also have corn allergies and I love the fact that Natural Choice Small Bites Lamb Meal & Rice Dog Food is corn-free! March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breeder recommended I am a breeder of small dogs and they eat nothing but Nutro products. We use Natural Choice Puppy food for our pups as early as 4 weeks old. At first, we grind it up into powder and mix it with warm water. They lap it up like momma's milk! We send them to their forever homes with a bag full of puppy food and strongly recommend Nutro all the way through their adult lives. After trying several other name brand dog foods (one recommended by our vet!), we all of our adults on Small Bites Lamb & Rice. What a difference! Their bellies weren't constantly upset, their stools aren't runny anymore, their eyes are bright, their coats are shiny and they are healthy, happy dogs. I wouldn't feed or recommend any other kind of dogfood besides Nutro products. Thanks for the chance to toot YOUR horn! March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love it! I have two dachshunds that are quite picky about their food. The brand I had been feeding changed the bite size and flavor so my girls refused to eat it. (Not to mention I could no longer buy a 30+ lb bag.) When I went to the feed store, they recommended the Nutro Natural Choice Small Bites. My girls love, love, love it! They are happy and so am I...plus I can buy the big bag = less trips to the store! March 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small bites a win The small bite product is the perfect size food for my little guy. March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for dogs with skin problems. Our seven year old Dachsund has done great on small bites for her entire life. We had previous Doxies and switched to this because of skin problems. . The breed tends to have sensitive skin .Their skin problems cleared right up. So our new Doxie has never had anything else. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My rescues love Nutro small bites I originally started feeding Nutro Natural years ago with my Lab. After having tried numerous other pet store foods I found Nutro Natural made her coat shiny and helped with the incessant shedding. She passed away last year, but I have since rescued 3 small dogs and have them on Nutro Natural small bites. I believe in this food and what it does for their coats and they like the small size. March 13, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great food I have two Pomeranians and they love this food. I like the fact that Nutro provides wholesome ingredients. My dogs coat is shiny and healthy, they also have lots of energy. I would recommend this dog food. I am currently using the lamb and rice formula but am considering the small breed formula. I also like the fact that this is a quality food at an affordable price March 13, 2011
<<prev 23 4 5... 11next>>
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®