For Dogs

Limited Ingredient Diet Small Bites Adult Dog FoodLamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula

Some adult dogs prefer smaller kibble for easier chewing. That’s why we designed NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Small Bites Adult Dog Food. Using limited ingredients, such as premium Australian and New Zealand lamb and whole brown rice, this formula helps reduce the likelihood of food sensitivity and digestive problems. Natural ingredients, such as linoleic acid, zinc, B vitamins and antioxidants, also help give your dog a healthy immune system and a soft, shiny coat. Plus, our limited ingredient diet formula is made without corn gluten, corn, wheat or soy protein. It’s a small bite with a big taste your dog will enjoy, guaranteed.

Package Sizes Available: 5 lbs., 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Small Bites Make Everything Easier
    Small Bites Make Everything Easier
    Small bites mean easier chewing for breeds that prefer a smaller kibble.
  • Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Lamb Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Australian and New Zealand lamb is our #1 ingredient. Along with whole brown rice, it provides optimal nutrition and easier digestion.
  • Great for Sensitive Stomachs
    Limited Ingredient Diet
    By limiting the number of ingredients, this nutritionally complete formula helps promote optimal digestive health in dogs with sensitive stomachs.
  • Promotes a Healthy Immune System
    Rich in Antioxidants
    Our formula is rich in the vitamins, minerals and antioxidants that are vital for healthy metabolism.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Optimal levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat — guaranteed.
  • Simple Formula for Food Sensitivities
    Simple Formula for Food Sensitivities
    Our formula is made without corn gluten meal, wheat or soy protein to reduce the likelihood of aggravating food sensitivities.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Small Bites Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
15 lbs. 1 1 1/4 1 1/2
25 lbs. 1 2/3 1 3/4 2
35 lbs. 2 2 1/3 2 3/4
45 lbs. 2 1/2 3 3 1/3
55 lbs. 3 3 1/3 3 3/4
65 lbs. 3 1/3 3 3/4 4 1/3
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.42 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Small Bites Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3754 kcal/kg, 364 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Small Bites Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 290reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by My three dogs don't like New formula My three dogs have always been on Nutro small bites. With the new formula they are leaving half of their food in the bowls. I am concerned and worried. Two dogs are 12 yrs old and the youngest five. May need to switch. Yes I did the slow introduction of the new formula. July 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Formula Change Not Appetizing I fed my 3 dogs Natural Choice Small Bites for years, and they loved it. Suddenly, that food has disappeared from the stores, and in its place is this "Limited Ingredient" variety. None of my dogs will eat it. Unfortunately, we will be switching to another brand of dog food. Please consider bringing back the old formulation. May 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Stuff! Have been using it on my rescued Cocker Spaniels for years because of skin issues. Kept on it for overall health and dependability. Never seen a recall on Nutro Natural...trustworthy. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My "kids" love it I switched to Nutro dry food several years ago; my beagles are now eating Nutro Max and couldn't be happier. Thanks Nutro! March 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this dog food! We have a 7 year old male Yorkshire terrier and a 1 year old female Yorkshire terrier. Our male dog was abused and fed table scraps before we adopted him at age 3. We tried Iams and every dog food available; They either made him have diarrhea or become very sick. This is the only food he will touch or want to eat. We also started feeding our female dog this after she continuously tried eating her stool while feeding her the Wellness brand. She has been on this food for around 4 months and loves it. She wouldn't go back to the Wellness brand of food and she hasn't tried eating her stool since eating this food. I definitely recommend giving this dog food a try! February 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love My Dogs I been feeding my two dogs, lab and brittney this food for well over 2years now, my dogs have been healthy, there coats are shiny! They are like my kids, I love them and want the best for them! Thank you for making this product , I will continue to purchase...... happy dog owner! February 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well worth the price Tristan has been on Royal Canine, Iams and even Nutro Max. I tried him on Blue Buffalo- wouldn't eat it at all. He'd been on the Nutro Max for awhile but his coat was still lacking shine and he was still itching quite a bit although improved over Iams. The first time I brought the Natural Choice home and opened the bag, he literally dived in and was eating it out of the bag. He's never been that excited about his dog food. If his coat and itching improved on one bag, then that was his new food. Three months later, his coat is shiny, soft, and thick like it's supposed to be- it had been dull, dry and thin. His itching is only once in a while. Love that his stools are small and compact too. I've been lucky with getting sales and in-store coupons as it is expensive. But I have to say that even without coupons, Natural Choice will be Tristan's food for years to come. February 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by New & improved? We've been feeding our dog Nutro for a year and a half now, and I just wanted to know why you changed the formula? Ever since we bought the "New & improved" version, our dog will no longer touch her food. I think she would rather starve. We've tried giving it to her everyday for a week and she would not touch it. We then switched to a different brand, and she gobbled it down. We then tried to reintroduce the Nutro dog food again, and once again she smelled it and walked away. What a waste to throw away a new bag. January 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sorry to see change in size and formula I have used the Lamb and Rice for years abd was surprised and disappointed with new change to very small size kibbles. My beagle no longer chews his food but sucks it down and his teeth get no chewing effect. I don't think this willl be good for his teeth or digestion. It is horrible they spring changes on you like this. I am going to return the remains of a new 30 lb bag andd search for another pet food. Nutro you lost a loyal long term customer. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm a believer in Natural Choice Lamb and Rice I have three dogs with slightly differnent needs but Natural Choices covers them all. First our Chihuahua Holly who is 8 is not pick but has had weight problems in the past and almost had to have hip surgery due to this but when we started using the food when we got my picky Maltipoo Maya who gets sick from just about everything on the market both of them did well on the Lamb and Rice formula. Our real proof of the food came just 4 months ago when we adopted a mix from the pound. Trixie is a Shina Ibu mix and was on a lower quality food when we got her, she was shedding like crazy and was always hungery. Since we have had her I can tell the difference in her coat, her shedding has gone way down, and her coat is shiny and soft. Recently someone asked me what I give my dogs because their coats are all so soft. My answer is Naural choice Lamb and Rice small bites and I would recommend you try this if you are looking for a better dog food for overall health or if you have a pick eater. January 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food All my dogs have eaten this product for years. My Minpins love the small bites. My oldest dog lived to be 16 1/2 eating this food and my second oldest who is still alive is 15 1/2. I have a diabetic dog with Cushing's disease that is almost 14 and been diabetic for about 4 years. I love this dog food, I believe it has added to the longevity of my pets lives. My others are 11 and 8. December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Daschund Approved My mini daschund LOVES this food. She's had two back teeth removed, so finds larger food morsels hard to chew. She devours this, and my Shiba Inu loves it as well! This is the only food we have to actually portion, because they love it so much. December 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sad to see formula change, though Small, senior dogs need glucosamine and chondroitin for healthy joints, too. Last bag I purchased still had it.Why did you remove it? September 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by No complaints for 9 years Joey, our Basenji has been eating lamb and rice small bites his whole life. His coat is beautiful and always gets compliments. His weight is never an issue, and despite getting older (he is nine now) he is as fit and trim as ever. Stool quality is very consistent and is easy to clean up. As he won't eat any other kind of dry kibble, I am hoping that it will continue to serve his needs well as he ages. I was considering trying the new Ultra small breed kibble for senior dogs, for its bone and joint benefits, but I am hesitant to mess with perfection. June 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great item My Peachie Pie loves this dog food. She loves this food. June 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for sensitive stomachs... I have to agree with a prior post that the food is expensive (thank God I have a Pom to feed and not a Mastiff), HOWEVER, you do pay for quality. I admit, due to trying to cut costs I have tried switching my Pom's food a couple times and I always come back to Nutro. This is the only product I haven't had issues with. I have even changed his food within the Nutro line and he has been fine. I would love to put my boyfriend's Lab on this brand, but his dog eats A LOT more than mine ever will and that could get expensive. A rewards program, or more coupons/sales would be a great incentive for me to make the switch though! May 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best food on the market I have a 5 year old blue heeler. She has eaten Nutro Natural Choice Lamb & Rice (small bites) her entire life. Everyone who meets her says "What a beautiful dog!" Then they bend over to pet her, and they say "Oh my god, her fur is so SOFT!" My dog has always had incredible muscle tone, energy, digestion, and stools, and I think that the food contributes toward the naturally sound constitution of the blue heeler breed. In addition, it is reasonably priced, smells good, and is shelf-stable for for ages. I recommend this brand to every dog owner I meet. April 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big Difference We saw a marked improvement in our dogs' coats and skin right away, and they both really enjoy the Small Bites; our large breed dog prefers the Small Bites when he has a choice. We have even caught him sneaking in to the little one's kennel to grab a few when his is gone! March 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product has great nutrition I love this food alot & my two dogs love it too. The product really does what it say's. It give's my dogs the great nutrition that they really need. February 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Food But... I have 2 adult female Vizslas and this food works very well for them. My only complaint is that the bags keep getting smaller and the price keeps going up. Also I go through 15-20 bags per year and I wish there was a rewards program for customer loyalty... Bottom line great food but expensive! February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing else compares I've been buying the Nutro small bites for my dog Bruiser since I adopted him from the shelter 2 years ago. Everyone is always commenting on his shiny coat! When I adopted my other dog Tessie a few months ago, she gets the same food (her foster home fed her puppy chow.. yuck) and theres been a dramatic change in the condition of her coat, weight and general health. I wouldn't feed my dogs anything else! February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe, Nutritious and Delicious! When my husband and I adopted our first dog from a shelter back in 2008 we did a lot of research on what to feed him. A 28lb beagle/pug mix (our best guess) deserved something nutritious and delicious and from a company that we felt good about supporting. After reading some disturbing reviews about other retailers and their harmful testing on animals, we sought a safe, conscious brand that did not fill their food with corn and other fillers and did only happy, yummy testing with animals.We found the Nutro brand dog foods on a "safe" list someone shared with us and were very pleased to see their ingredient list did not include the harmful fillers. What sealed the deal for us with this food were the following:- reasonably priced- can buy large bags (bulk)- small bites and large bites available- promotes "good stool quality" (I know, I know, this is weird to talk about but I have to say that for someone who doesn't like picking up poo, the solidity of the poo is fantastic! Easy, quick clean ups every time.)- skin and coat benefits (After adopting 2 more dogs and transitioning them to our food, we can tell the difference!)- our dogs LOVE it!I would love to submit some images of our pups enjoying their food if Nutro would appreciate them. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by They always want more!! We recently acquired the brother of our 2 year old Boston Terrier...these dogs often do better with small bites due to their short snouts and a tendency (mine, anyway) to regurgitate food undigested if it is too big to chew OR if they have difficulty digesting it. NutroMax Small Bites meets all the needs of my Bostons and I am so thankful for your great product! It is affordable as well as healthy and, best of all, they always want more!! (Although they do perfect on the recommended amount).We also have our adorable 140# Rottie and he ONLY eats NutroMax... January 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the dogs skin!! My dog loves this food! He has food allergies and since he's been on Natural Choice he has not had any issues with his allergies! January 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by it does work we just got Jozi from a shiba inu rescue . her coat was a bit wirey and stiff, my wife said to keep her on the nutro that we feed our other shiba,Maji, he is so soft and fuzzy but i just though that was good grooming. well after a month of nutro small bites for skin and coat, Jozi"s coat has changed so much . i would have bet the claims were just that . but this stuff really WORKS . It's great and i fully recommend it. December 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Nutrition and They Like IT! I found that Nutro's Natural Choice (small bites for us) has the best blend of nutrition in a food that costs less than my house. Times are hard and money's tight, but I still can give my dogs the best food that I can afford. With Nutro's Natural Choice, I don't have to worry about strange additives and very bad dyes (Red40, Blue Lake 3, Yellow 3). I just give them the food that they like without draining my checkbook. I highly recommend this food for any dog. They'll love it. December 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for all ages My babies eat it and they love it, I wasted so much of their other food. December 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great food for my cairn with food allergy! after bad allergic outbreaks, my vet diagnosed my cairn terrier, Bailey with a chicken allergy :/ finding a food that a) did not contain chicken byproducts & b) she would eat consistently was a challenge that lasted several months. I tried a couple different brands similar to nutro, but she would only eat them for a little while. I noticed she preferred smaller bites of food, and liked the lamb or venicin-types. returning to petsmart hoping to find one we could stick with, a very nice nutro rep was there & took the time to ask what I was looking for & after showing me the different adult foods, I bought the small bites lamb & rice. Bailey loves it! and has been eating it for about 4 months now. its a great product that's in a good price range & would reccomend it to anyone looking for high quality healthy food especially for pets with specific needs. November 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Proved em wrong Ok, so Pumpkin isn't my dog, but my grandma's. My grandma and uncle didn't even have dog food for Pumpkin because they said they've bought expensive brands in the past and she'd turn her nose up to them. Back in VA, everyone I know who owned a dog was feeding their dog Nutro, even my parents. So I kept telling my grandma about this dog food and she was starting to get mad at me because I wanted to drive 15 miles just to buy Pumpkin some good dog food. She told me to just get from Winn Dixie and I told her I'd have none of that, and I went on my journey.The closest supplier is Tractor Supply Company, and although they didn't have the kind I wanted, (Small Breed Adult) they did have the Small Bites so I took my chance. I brought it home and put it in a bowl and she wouldn't even try it. So I took a pellet and stuck it in her mouth and she started to chew it and then took to the food by herself. My grandma was even a witness to seeing her eat it by herself, but when I tried to get her to do it for my uncle she wouldn't. However I did put some in my hand and she ate it. I don't understand this dog...she is very peculiar, but the habit of feeding dogs human food every day is NOT good at all and that's what I'm trying to get them to understand. But I think we have a winner! October 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Both of my dogs love this stuff! My dog is more a medium/large breed but she loves this stuff! We've had trouble finding her dog food that she enjoys eating and when we ran out of food one day, I decided to give her my other dog's food (which is this one) and she wouldn't stop eating it. best thing is that she normally has digestive issues when switching food but she didn't have any issues when we switched to this.If Pi and Chloe love eating this, I don't have any problems. :) September 21, 2011
<<prev2 3 4 5... 11next>>
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®