For Dogs

Limited Ingredient Diet Large Breed Puppy FoodLamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula

NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Large Breed Puppy Food is designed to help provide healthy, balanced growth for large breed puppies. Made with premium Australian and New Zealand lamb and whole brown rice, your puppy will get the natural nutrition they need without added ingredients that could cause digestive problems or aggravate food sensitivity. Our limited ingredient diet formula is a careful blend of proteins, fats, vitamins and minerals that promotes proper skeletal development. Plus, its naturally sourced glucosamine and chondroitin help to develop strong and healthy joints, and it has a delicious taste your large breed puppy will enjoy again and again.

Package Sizes Available: 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Lamb Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Australian and New Zealand lamb is our #1 ingredient. Along with whole brown rice, it provides optimal nutrition and easier digestion.
  • Strong, Healthy Joints
    Strong, Healthy Joints
    Our naturally sourced glucosamine and chondroitin deliver the nutritional building blocks of healthy cartilage and help develop strong and healthy joints.
  • Targeted Nutrition for a Healthy Growth
    Balanced Growth
    Our proper levels of protein and fat help target healthy and balanced growth, while minerals help promote optimal skeletal development.
  • Minerals to Support Puppy Growth
    Development With Omega-3 Fatty Acids
    Our exclusive SMART START® Formula provides omega-3 fatty acids – EPA and DHA – that are essential for healthy growth and development.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Optimal levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat — guaranteed.
** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Puppy Food with Chicken, Brown Rice, and Oatmeal
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min.) 26.00%
Crude Fat (min.) 15.00%
Crude Fiber (max.) 3.00%
Moisture (max.) 10.00%
Linoleic Acid (min.) 3.50%
Calcium (min.) 1.00%
Calcium (max.) 1.50%
Phosphorus (min.) 0.90%
Phosphorus (max.) 1.30%
Zinc (min.) 250 mg/kg
Niacin (min.) 250 mg/kg
Biotin (min.)* 2.5 mg/kg
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min.)* 0.05%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min.)* 0.05%
Glucosamine (min.)* 100 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate (min.)* 350 mg/kg
Omega-3 Fatty Acids (min.)* 0.15%
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding ranges for puppies. These guidelines should be adjusted as needed to obtain optimum weight.

Puppies: From 3 to 5 weeks of age, moisten food and feed frequently. From 6 weeks of age, feed the suggested amount in three meals per day until 6 months of age, then twice daily.

Pregnant Bitches: During pregnancy, offer 50% more than the amount shown for puppies over 12 months of age.

Lactating Bitches: Offer at least two to three times the amount shown for puppies over 12 months of age.

If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Large Breed Puppy Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Puppy Age — Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Puppy
Weight
6 – 11
Weeks
3 – 5
Months
6 – 8
Months
9 – 12
Months
Over 12
Months
Up to 10 lbs. 1 2/3 – 1 3/4  1 1/3 – 1 2/3  ----- ----- -----
20 lbs. 2 3/4 – 3 2 1/3 – 2 3/4  2 – 2 1/3 ----- -----
30 lbs.  3 3/4 – 4 1/4  3 1/4 – 3 3/4 2 2/3 – 3 1/4  2 1/2 – 2 3/4
-----
40 lbs.  4 2/3 – 5 1/4 4 –  4 2/3 3 1/4 – 4 3 – 3 1/3 -----
60 lbs. ----- 5 1/4 – 6 1/3 4 1/2 – 5 1/4 4 1/4 – 4 1/2 3 1/2
80 lbs. ----- 6 1/2 – 7 3/4 5 2/3 – 6 1/2 5 1/4 – 5 2/3 4 1/3
100 lbs. ----- ----- 6 2/3 – 7 3/4 6 1/4 – 6 2/3 5 1/4
120 lbs. ----- ----- 7 2/3 – 8 3/4 7 – 7 2/3 6
140 lbs. ----- ----- 8 2/3 – 10 8  – 8 2/3 6 2/3
160 lbs. ----- ----- ----- 8 3/4 – 9 1/2 7 1/3
180 lbs. ----- ----- ----- 9 2/3 – 10 1/2 8
200 lbs. ----- ----- ----- ----- 8 2/3
†Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.53 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Large Breed Puppy Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food. Moisten the food until the puppy no longer has sore gums and has sufficient teeth to chew the kibble.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current level.
Decrease the feeding amount to the lower range of target weight within the age category.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3724 kcal/kg, 373 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Large Breed Puppy Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth, gestation and lactation.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 88reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Paws I have show dogs and have relied on the Nutro Natural Large Breed Lamb and Rice products for years. And recommend the products to all of my puppy homes.Having show dogs it is important that they are healthy and fit with coats that shine and this product meets all of these standards. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by good food my puppys luv it and there mom does to .give dogs a shiney coat .has all vitamines dogs need i rate nutro a 10 March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Because they are worth it!!!! In June we had to put our 11 year old Siberian Husky down due to joint problems and a daignosis of bone cancer. It was a very difficult day to say the least. We even debated ever getting another dog again due to our grief. Then came Wisdom. We found Wisdom from a private breeder. He is a beautiful black and white Husky. As loving dog owners we researched the best dog food formulas in prevention in bone and joint disease and also in skin and coat health. Nutro blew the competition out of the water. On top of, not just the best choice for your dogs health, Wisdom also loves it!! If only I could get my kids to love vegetables while at the same time keeping them healthy the way Wisdom loves his lamb meal and rice formula, that would be something!! Hey Nutro, you ever think about making healthy food for kids? Keep up the committment to keeping our four legged kids healthy. March 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product I started my puppy on this because when I got her at 9 weeks she had a bald stripe going down her back. We did not give any vitamins but started her on this food as within weeks her coat was thicker and her skin less flakey! At 13 weeks you cannot even tell she have had an issue with her coat! March 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Won Me Over A few months ago we brought home a beautiful baby Weimaraner boy that we got from a local breeder. The pup was already eating this food so we went out and purchased a large bag to feed him. Sadly when we took the puppy to the vet we found he had a congenital heart condition and was not going to live without costly surgery...we made the tough decision to return him.Last week we got a healthy baby girl weimaraner from a breeder out of state who was feeding her another brand. Even though the breeder recommended the other brand after seeing how the 1st pup did on Nutro and researching brands we decided to stick with Nutro and switch her over to maintain a healthy show quality pup!Bella loves her new food and did not experience any side effects with the switch over - I used the method described here on the web! Great job Nutro for not only providing awesome products but also great articles and information on how to care for our family members!Thanks! March 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Livin' La Vida Loca My name is Brando.I hail from the island of Puerto Rico, where at the age of 4 weeks I was taken from my mother and left with an elderly couple across the island.They did all they could to care for me, but I was a handful. We, yellow lab mixes are sweethearts; however we do tend to get into all sorts of trouble.One day after I had turned 2 months old, the couple’s daughter came to visit. It was love at first site for both of us. She convinced the couple that I needed a home that would be able to give me lots of attention and care. Namely hers.There was talk of being fed the right choice in food and on a schedule would do wonders for my digestive system. There was also some talk of "less p**p", but I'm not sure what all that stink was about.A week later, I took my first plane ride to Chicago.When I arrived at the airport I was greeted by my new human family and a bowl of Nutro Natural Choice Dog food, large puppy breed. "Yum".The elderly lady that had cared for me on the island had told me that I would be "going to the states to live the crazy life".By the fact that my new family feeds me and my two fellow adopted brothers only Nutro products, I'd say she is correct. My vet has been impressed with my growth this past month and how healthy I am.Me and my 5 month old puppy brother, a black lab mix share food, biscuits and treats, while our 16 year old Dalmatian/lab mix swears by his Senior food.If sleeping indoors, having my own bed, weekly bath time, being awarded Nutro treats and served Nutro canned and dry food is "Livin' La Vida Loca", then I'll take it.Livin' the crazy good life,Brando March 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pacman Approved! We recently got a new addition to our family, a golden retriver puppy we named Riley "Pacman" Martin. Riley is just adorable and full of crazy puppy energy but he he is at his most energetic right at meal time. He know that laundry room is where his food dish is and it will patiently sit and wait at his meal times outside the door. But when I open the door, the patient, calm puppy is gone and on comes Riley's crazy Pacman mode! He usually does about 5 to 6 spin jumps on the way from his food bin in the garage to the point of delivering his food dish to him. (although he does know he has to sit and wait before eating). Then Pacman goes into full mode! I have never seen a dog just love to eat so much and he just loves his Nutro Puppy Lamb and Rice food! About twice a week he also gets one scoop of the Nutro Lamb and Rice Puppy wet food mixed in as well and he goes crazy for it! He is such an avid pacman eater, I just recently purchased a slow feed bowl, so he can slow down and really enjoy his Nutro dinner now . Totally Pacman approved! March 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! My 8 week old puppy came down with Parvo the day after I brought him home. His test for the virus was a very strong positive and the prognosis was dismal at best. Thankfully, he recovered. When he returned home from the vet I started him on Nutro Large Breed Puppy food. He loved the food and made the transition to it from the prescription issue vet food without issue. Now, 9 months later he is totally healthy and growing just like he should. The vet was floored at how quickly he bounced back to a normal weight and size. The nutrition and quality in nutro was the best thing he could have had to nurse him back to health.The nutro customer support line is very helpful with any questions. February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Chew for the Buck! Have a new female chocolate lab puppy named Alby Rae, that was born on July 29, 2011 and this is all she has had to eat. Her weight and coat is awesome. February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by So good for my dog! I got a beautiful black lab when he was 8 weeks old and started out with Nutro products. His coat is so shiny and he goes to the restroom regularly with no digestive problems. He is very strong and healthy and I am very happy with this product and would definitely recommend it to anyone. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This foods really makes a healthy puppy! My 10 month old Chocolate Lab has been eating Nurto Natural Choice Large Breed Puppy Lamb & Rice since the day we brought him home. He is beautiful, strong, shiny, and active. He thrives on this food. People (including at the vet's) always ask what I feed him and I proudly tell them and reccomend it to everyone. My big beautiful puppy thanks you and so do I! February 24, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Puppy love My 5 month old lab/shepherd mix loves this food. We are also using it as treats to train her. whne she hers the clicker she comes runnig for her treats or dinner. So glad she has a healthy, tastey dog food to grown up on. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! I am a foster mom for a local dog rescue. I only feed my dogs Nutro products and highly recommend Nutro products to their adopters. Every Nutro product we have tried has proven to be excellent- not only just for nutrition but it also leaves less waste to clean up in the yard because of the natural ingredients. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by So natural, so nice Ever since I rescued my black lab as a pup, I have fed her nutro. Everyone always says what a great coat she has, so shiny and soft. Also, what great pearly white teeth she has. I ALWAYS reply, its Nutro! It's an all natural food with no by products and is so affordable for a working single woman in her 20's. A $45 bag lasts her a month. that 15-20 dollars extra to spend on her food rather than the foods with my products and cause hearing loss and other health problems is SOOO worth it. Her coat is still shiny and her teeth as white as can be. Also, her being a high energy dog, this really fills her up with tons of nutrients to keep her just as happy and energetic. Bottom line, I LOVE Nurto! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs say "YUM!" I have been a Nutro user for about 4 years now and when i recently got my Lab mix puppy, it was a no-brainer. The large breed puppy food has kept her growing strong and her coat is SO SHINY! The only trouble I have with this food is getting the adult dogs to stop eating it! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Dog Food When I got my puppy I naturally wanted to make sure she was on the best food. I went to Petsmart and picked up a bag of "another brand" dog food. A Nutro employee saw me carrying the food. We went over the label and she explained to me how unhealthy this brand of food was for an animal. After comparing brands there was no decision to be made, I went with Nutro Natural Choice, Large Puppy formula and it has been a great. My lab is now a year old and has a great coat, defined muscle, and a healthy weight. She is doing so well, I even switched my cats from the "other brand" to Nutro. They have lost weight and have become healthier since the switch. I would definitely recommend Nutro to anyone! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Food. I've raised conformation dogs for many years, I've always had a hard time finding the perfect food for my puppies. After trying Nutros Large Breed puppy formula I was sold. I've never had a puppy that didn't like this product, they all love it. They have healthy shiny coats. Great product! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for skin & coat When we brought Smokey & Bandit home from the shelter, they were constantly scratching themselves. I switched their food to Natural Choice Lamb and Rice Puppy and not only did the itching stop but their coats were much shinier and bright! I would recommend this product for anyone concerned about food allergies. Plus, they love it!(Photos available) February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality ingredients After years of feeding our dogs what we thought was quality food, our vet mentioned to us the importance of reading the ingredient labels and the difference in the listed ingredients. We selected nutro for our large breed puppy because of the high quality ingredients that are listed first! They're not filled with byproducts and low quality ingredients like other name brands that purport to be "high quality." We realize now the importance of reading labels for our dog, just like to we take the time to read the labels for our own food. Now we pay attention to the ingredients for everything we feed our dog so that she's eating healthy, quality foods just like us. February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Product Layla my five month old great dane mastiff mix has been eating Nutro large breed puppy formula for about 3 months. Since then her coat has a much deeper sheen, she is eating with more gusto, and her growth is right on track. I would highly recommend this product any large breed puppy owner. February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LasVegas's Best I have a Mastiff that is 9 months old and already 150+ lbs so I need something to help him grow at the right speed and keep the weight on. This food has done the trick. There is very little waste in the yard with this food. He has a beautifull/soft coat and there is no dog smell or nasty residue when you pet him. Thank you Nutro!! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy transistion Our puppy was using another brand of food (puppy chow). During puppy class the instructor challenged everyone to review the first three ingredients of the foods we were feeding our puppies. She advised us to stay away from corn and imatation ingredients. It was astounding how many brands had corn as one of their main ingredients.When we introduced the Natural Choice our puppy took to it very quickly, did not have any reactions and we found she filled up faster with this premium product. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only feed our Field Champion line pups get! We have use just about the entire line of NUTRO Brand dog foods over the yrs having Mini Doxies and also Field Champion Yellow Labs!Our first litter of Yellow Lab pups came this last summer when we bred our 4 yr old fantastic FC/hunting dog! She comes from the best FC lines in the country and she was bred to the best! Her pups were gorgeous and healthy and we attribute that of course to great genetics, but also from her only receving NUTRO Brand feeds her entire life. We fed her and her pups NUTRO Natural Choice Large Breed Puppie food and they truly are in fantastic shape! They look like the cover picture of one of the hunting supply catologues! LOL!NUTRO Large Breed Puppy kept our female strong and healthy while she was lactating, feeding those 6 healthy hungry pups not to mention how fantastic they pups have done! EVERY one of these pups were purchased by top level pro trainers and or field trial competitors and believe me, they all asked what brand of feed we used as every new puppy owner raved over their looks and overall physical condition! Of course we told every one of them that the only feed our dogs get is NUTRO and they either laughed and said " I figured that much by looking at them!" or they asked us to write down the NUTRO name and the type of food as they were going to keep the pup on it themselves!This is no overzealous fluff to get a couple coupons from NUTRO, its the honest truth!We have used NUTRO Brand foods for the last ten yrs or so and we will stay with NUTRO as we will only feed our K9 family members the best ingredients available! That is what you get in NUTRO Brand dog foods....THE BEST INGREDIENTS AVAILABLE! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nurto makes healthy dogs After a long time decision we decided to get a pure breed puppy. We got a chocolate lab we named Dexter. It was a rough begining. We knew to feed him dry dog food but he kept breaking out in rashes and our vet was no help. We got a new vet and she told us about nutro lamb and rice. ahhh, that did it! All the other lamb and rice products didnt work, the poor dog would scratch like crazy with other dog foods but Nutro Lamb and Rice fixed that and he loves it. Now our dog is a very healthy and in great shape 95lb dog, ya thats right 95lbs and in shape. So now we decided to get another dog, this time it was a rescue- she is lab and border collie mix we named Daphne. We immediately put her on Nutro puppy food so she could get all the nutrients she needed. She's now a healthy 50 lbs and in great shape and she now shares the adult brand with Dexter. I could never feed these dogs any thing but your product, these dogs are amazingly strong, they run and swim and hike with us almost daily and with this being said I know , and I mean, I absolutely know, that there getting all the nutrients they need. Its a no brainer. I would also like to thank you for creating such a great product,you really did your research. Give your self a pat on the back, your product is the the real thing. The way i look at it, you just might have saved Dexter's life where your compiatition couldn't. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good product When I started feeding my dog this food she had more energy and healthy coat February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent I really love this dog food and the nutro ultra for my puppies becaues they really love this brand of dog food and no other brand. I also love this brand because it gives my dogs energy and there coat looks great, really shiny and healthy. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! Our puppy loves this stuff! We started her out on another "premium" dog food, but after doing some research, we found out how horrible cornmeal is for your dog, and it was the 3rd ingredient in the other brand. In order to prevent tummy upset, we started her out by feeding half Nutro and half the other brand, and she would get a mouthful, drop it on the floor and pick out the Nutro and leave the other :) We also noticed a HUGE difference in the amount that she has to go outside! It's so much less now. Can't tell you how nice that is! Nutro is more expensive, but it's so worth it to know that you're feeding your dog a good diet! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great way to start life off When you invite a new member of your family to live with you for the duration of their life, you feel compelled to feed and nurture your guest to the highest standards. When I was directed to use Nutro Large Breed Puppy food, I was sure that my professional trainer had the background and training to give such advice. WOW!!! The food has exceeded my expectations of what good quality food does for a puppy!! My good friend purchased my puppy's litter mate and has fed him run of the mill dog food. The difference was in their coats, energy level and the ease of clean up of their waste. I am sold on Nutro’s quality.Being a responsible pet owner is also ensuring a preventative maintenance program for your pet’s health. The best start in a puppy’s life is serving Nutro’s line of high quality dog formula. My dog is and will always be cared for by Nutro!! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for our growing puppy We have had our adult dog, Maverick, on Large Breed Lamb & Rice, so it only seemed natural that when we got our new puppy Goose over the summer that we'd start him on Large Breed Puppy Lamb & Rice. Maverick has some sensitivities to chicken proteins, so we were delighted to know that our new dog Goose would be able to eat Lamb & Rice food as well. Goose is almost a year old and once he reaches that birthday we will start switching him over to the adult formula. Great product! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by She's a quick learner! When we brought our puppy home from the "pound adoption center" she could not wait or get enough to eat, we were sure it was that she had shared everything with five other hungry pups. For the past month and a half every morning it's out the back door to start the morning and then out the garage door to eat breakfast. We've fed Nutro from the start and she is growing, looking healthy and ready to play hard throughout the day. "When she's not sound asleep getting her puppy rest"! February 18, 2011
<<prev 23 4next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®