For Dogs

Large Breed Weight Management Adult Dog FoodChicken Meal, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

Help large breed dogs that are prone to weight gain maintain their ideal body condition. Our NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Adult Dog Food features natural fibers and whole grains. It’s specifically designed to help dogs feel full and help maintain their ideal body condition. Made with real chicken protein, this premium weight management dog food tastes great and is easy to digest. A unique blend of amino acids, vitamins, minerals and naturally sourced nutrients, such as glucosamine and chondroitin, also ensure a soft, shiny coat and strong, healthy joints. It’s the best way to provide complete nutrition without sacrificing great taste.

Package Sizes Available: 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • U.S.-Farm-Raised Chicken
    U.S.-Farm-Raised Chicken
    Great tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken delivers the amino acids necessary for large breed dogs to build lean muscle and maintain a healthy metabolism.
  • Healthy Weight Management
    Healthy Weight Management
    A blend of high fiber and the right protein level helps overweight, large breed dogs feel full, which can reduce their overall food intake.
  • High Fiber and Quality Protein
    Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole grains, such as whole brown rice and oatmeal, are nutrient-dense foods that nourish a healthy digestive system for proper nutrient absorption.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.
  • Healthy Joints for Life
    Strong, Healthy Joints
    Naturally sourced glucosamine and chondroitin help build healthy cartilage. And healthy cartilage means healthy joints.

** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

chxbrwnoat kibble
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Adult Chicken Meal, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times. See your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location..
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Ideal Dog Weight Weight Reduction Weight Control
50 lbs. 3 1/4 3 2/3
60 lbs. 3 2/3 4
80 lbs. 4 1/2 5
100 lbs. 5 1/4 6
120 lbs. 6 7
160 lbs. 7 1/2 8 1/2
200 lbs. 9 10 1/4
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.79 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Adult Chicken Meal, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Adult Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current level.
Feed at the weight reduction level to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3310 kcal/kg, 261 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Adult Chicken Meal, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 71reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Our 6 year old lab is a little on the lazy side, so when he started getting too heavy, we switched to the Weight Mangement for large breeds. He's looking great!! February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food I have had my adult aussie on the weight management food for the last three years. Although he is pretty active, living in town doesnt come close to the farm he was living on before i rescused him. He keeps a healthy weight and has a beautiful coat to top it off!!! I would recommend any nutro dog food!!! They have great products and most important- it is all around good for your dogs!! We adopted a puppy last year and fed the Nutro Puppy food. Needless to say, a great diet of puppy food helped her grow from 20 pounds to a tall healthy 65 pound dog!!! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must to keep your family dog healthy Lex started on Nutro puppy formula and then graduated to Nutro adult formula for large breeds. Although he's larger than the norm for a German Shepherd, the vet said to get him below 100 pounds when we had him in for his annual checkup, so we switched to Nutro Large Breed Weight Management. After a year on this diet, the vet says he is in perfect condition, healthy, and at the right weight. His coat is thick, his eyes are bright, and our grandkids are amazed at how many words he knows! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grits has LOST weight !! My rescued Golden Retriever, GRITS ( Golden Retriever Raised in the South ) was getting too lazy and too fat..we were walking each day--well, he was "waddling'.I got Grits the Nutro and we now walk since the weather has been nicer--if the weather is bad, we just walk up and down the stairs in the house--and play fetch--his coat is so soft--not 'nappy' or 'tangled' like it once was....brushing him is a pleasure to the both of us..........I thank you for this formula--Grits says WOOF--that, I think is 'dog speak' for thank you NUTRO--he does get a few of the Nutro treats for being a greater doggoe too !!! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Manages weight and satisfies! After raising both my dogs on Nutro's large breed formula, I put Chloe, a lab mix, on the weight management formula because thyroid issues caused her to bloom to a hefty 115lb (she should weigh 80-90). To keep things simple, Ricco, my 130lb Great Dane/lab mix went on this too. Both of them are chow hounds and so I prepared myself to be the big mean-y, "starving" them while they adjusted to a lower calorie food. The adjustment was wonderfully quick. Chloe's weight hasn't dropped to where it needs to be yet, but that's my fault for not exercising her enough. But at least she's stopped gaining. Ricco's weight is perfect for the moose he is. Both dogs have beautiful coats, sparkly teeth, bright eyes, and energy to spare. And, outside clean up is much less and neater to boot! Nutro is much spendier than store brands, but the benefits are so worth it. Most importantly, they make all their food here in the US with US ingredients. So there is no worry about bad food with substandard, foreign gluten harming or killing your animals! My pets are my furry kids and they are worth every extra penny. If you love yours like I do mine, feed them Nutro! A great food from a reputable USA company. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent ingredients with great results I own two eight year old boxers that are not as active as they used to be. Cami has been with us since weaned and Suzi was rescued from the pound three years ago; already chunky. When both dogs started gaining weight on regular Natural Choice, I decided to make the switch over to weight management formula. When the vet's scales said Suzi had gained, I was shocked. I had been feeding her on the low end of the recommended daily amount...then I caught her in action...Cami is a piece eater whereas Suzi is a gobbler. Suzi was eating Cami's food! I started adding just a bit of low salt broth to their food (so both would eat at the same time) and the pounds started coming off! Both dogs are doing great, Cami is where se needs to be and Suzi is on her way! Nutro and Natural Choice are premium products and I always recommend them to others. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doggie Diet With fruit trees in our backyard, our dog gains weight every summer because she eats so much fruit. Her fruit snacking does not effect her desire for dry dog food and won't stand for smaller servings of it either. So, we switch her food in the summer to the Large Breed Weight Management and she is able to keep her girlish figure. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lab Lover Madeline, who is a 8 1/2 year old yellow lab, has been eating Nutro brand dog food most of her life. I got her when she was just 8 weeks old. We tried a few brands of dog food,but she was not getting enough nutrients out of the food. It was very evident in her stool and frequency of how often she was going. I wondered into my local pet store and ran into a Nutro Rep. She began talking to me about what dog food I was currently using and then told me of the benefits of Nutro. I really was sold when I heard Nutro used all natural products (no biproducts) and if I tried it and didn't like it, I would be refunded my money. So I figured, what do I have to loose. Well ever since that day, Madeline has been eating notrhing but Nutro Brand Dog food. Strangers that run into her can't believe she is as old as she is and comment on her beautiful, soft coat and what great shape she is in. All of these things I contribute to what she eats. It's just like humans. If your going to eat unhealthy, you will be unhealthy. However, if you eat healthy, the healthier you will be.Thank You Nutro for such great products. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product must be very good. We have a 6 yr old Rott. She is very healthy and still active. She has a beautiful coat and is the picture of health. We have fed her this since we got her from the humane society at age 13 months. This product must be doing something right. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lose weight without going hungry I got my dog Rusty, an Irish Setter, when he was 11 months old. He weighed 102 pounds!!! When I saw him for the first time he looked like a barrel with an Irish Setter head. I truly couldn't believe my eyes. I knew he had to come home with me. I put him on Natural Choice Weight Management dog food and the pounds came off. He lost 20 pounds and I had the confidence of knowing that he was on a healthy diet. He is now eight years old and is on Natural Choice Large Breed Senior dog food. After having such success with Natural Choice dog food it is the only food I will give Rusty. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not just for large dogs! I learned the value of good pet food, after we lost a basset hound.When we adopted him, he was over 100 pounds!I tried everything--literally--to try to get the weight off---I knew there was a lot of excess stress on his legs, back and heart due to the weight.At that time, I knew nothing of how to find a good food. I went by the picture of the happy, smiling dog, or the healthy sounding name of the food,and if the picture was pretty it must have been a sign it was good stuff inside! Or so I thought.We lost him to bone cancer----it was heart breaking.A few months later, we got Jack, our Cocker Spaniel.I started him on what I thought was the best of the many foods I tried with my previous dog- Jack was scratching and shedding like crazy! He was having upset stomach quite often-I wandered through a pet specialty store, and saw a company I never heard of before---NUTRO---no happy dogs on front, no bright colors...but what I did, was to actually turn the bag over--their claim was less shedding, and how it was better for sensitive stomach---so, I gave it a try- Jack ran to it, ate every morsel---so, although going to the specialty shop was not as easy for me, Jack, my little buddy, seemed to like it--so, I made the effort- within a few weeks, I noticed the scratching and shedding had just about stopped! Jack had not had an upset stomach since he had this! I was sold-about 2 years later, we adopted another basset--AJ.I immediately switched him to Nutro Large Breed weight management, fearing overweight, may be a trend in this breed-Again, after a few weeks, I was petting AJ, and noticed the once wirey feel of his coat, was now soft--and the sheen was beautiful!Well, I ran out of Jacks food, and he had AJs weight management---I felt confident it was good, nutrionally, but what I noticed was, the excess weight Jack had, after a winter of not getting out to run and play as often as before, had begun to drop! QuicklyI now feed both Jack and AJ large breed weight managemet--and I still get stopped by strangers, asking me what do I do, to make my guys look so good ad healthy! I love this stiuff! I wish you'd make it in HUMAN formula! Haha, but, from what I hear, the ingredients are so good and natural, I could eat it myself!I will never go elsewhere--I am sold! I will always be a nutro ciustomer---my big orange cat, Magellan loves the Senior Indoor formula as well! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Success Story Four years ago, I took my dogs into the vet for their annual checkup. The vet recommended that my female lab loose close to 20 pounds. He recommended that I switch their food to Nutro Large Breed Weight Management. In less than a year, Abbey was to her recommended weight. Four years late, she is still looking slim and trim! My dogs (although they can't speak for themselves) love this food. They won't ever miss a meal! I highly recommend this product if your pet is in need of loosing or maintaining their weight! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding quality and benefits Our girls are 1/2 American Bull Dog and one of them tends to gain weight easily, as she is less active than her sister. Due to other health problems, we must have her maintain a reasonable weight. We have used this formula exclusively since they were a year old. The dogs have beautiful, shiny, and soft coats. They enjoy the food and have never had food alergy or digestive problems. I am very pleased with the quality of this product. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best dog food ever! My Cali, who is now 9 years young has been eating the Nutro audult weight management for 4 - 5 years, which is basically when I first discovered it. As far as I remember, I received a coupon for a small bag free. After I slowly changed her over to it, she never wanted anything else! She is a very healthy, happy German Shepherd. With your wonderful food, I'm sure she'll stay that way!! Thanks, for a great product. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product truly works!! Phoebe had put on a few pounds about six years ago, and I was told that she needed to get the weight off. After trying severely products that was for weight loss and or management of weight loss, none seemed to hold to its claim until I used Nutro weight management for large dogs. This was the first one that my dog actually liked to eat and it did help her to lose her weight and keep it off. We are still using it today as a control for her. I even have babysat another friends dog and that dog liked our dog food better than his own. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved by Scooter and his "Mom" As a "rescue Mom" for dalmatians, Nutro's Natural Choice is the only brand for my Scooter and our favorite foster-of-the-moment. All 26 rescues who have spent time in our home are sent to their "forever homes" with instructions to only feed Natural Choice. Compared to other dog foods of its quality, it is reasonably priced. In addition, it does not use fillers or scrap meats filled with hormones. The protein content is perfect for dalmatians and other breeds prone to build up of uric acid. Stools are small and well formed and constipation and diarrhea have never been an issue. But, the most important thing of all is the taste. Scooter and every other Dal I've fostered LOVE Natural Choice. One such foster, Hope, loved Natural Choice so much that she learned how to knock over the dog bin and "pop" the lid off, using her paws and chin!In my household, Natural Choice is our ONLY choice. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only dog food my dog has ever eaten! We started with the puppy food and then moved to large breed and unfortunately, moved to large breed weight management. My 7 year old black lab is on medication for seizures. She already can't control her appetite and the medication makes it worse. Otherwise she is very healthy and has never eaten any other brand of dog food. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A True Quality Product We have the pleasure of owning three Labrador Retrievers. We used to feed them Iams dog food, until on three seperate occasions we got food bags that were RANCID. Bear in mind that up to 66 percent of Labs brain is devoted to smell, so if I could smell it then they certainly could. They would smell it and walk away and only eat when they had no choice. After contacting the company several times I got the "brush-off" and coupons for MORE OF THE SAME!So we did some research and discovred Nutro Natural Choice Dog Food. Imediatley they cleaned the bowl! Since that time they eat every bite first thing every morning. Their coats are SHIMMERING and eyes are fully bright. They even have more energy. Runnig around the yard like nuts!Thank you Nutro for renewing my faith in a Dog Food Company! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ms Pancreatitis requires I feed my dog LOW FAT food for life. He was on Science diet Hill's ID but didn't like the taste and I didn't like the cost. He was getting very skinny. Finally I called the help line for a food that was best for his allergies. They suggested Nutro Natural because it has less allergins in it. I was happy to see it was low in fat too. THIS IS THE ONLY FOOD THAT HELPED HIM! LOW FAT and Allergies free. I used to give him the lite in the brown bag but he likes this food better. He gobbles it. Which is something for him!THANK YOU NUTRO for fixing my baby! hugs February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by it works I've tried several professional dog foods to keep the weight down on my large breed dog that would also please by dog's taste. Your rep was at a Petco and gave me sample of this food. He gulped it down and I've had him on it. The other dog foods tended to give him dandruff. This one cleared it up and he has a mirror shine. I would highly recommend it. Rating: 5 paws February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great for our dog We put our American Mastiff on this as she was beginning to put the weight on. She is not an active dog and is more of a rug then anything. She loves it and doesn't even know she is on diet food. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food does what it's said it will do We have 2 labs. Our yellow girl is 4 yrs. old. We also have a black lab that turns 14 yrs. old in May. We have struggled to keep the weight off the girls. We do feed them green beans with their Nutro Weight Management dog food. Previously they had always gotten the beans to give them bulk but we tried several other brands of food and they still gained weight. We switched to Nutro weight Management food and they lost the extra weight. Now we are happy to report that they are maintaining a perfect weight. Nutro food does what it says it will do. February 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy, healthy dogs! We have 2 dogs, a medium sized lab (Penny) & a mini dachshund (Lola). Penny has been a Nutro-dog all her 9 years and we switched her to Large Breed Weight Management to keep her at a healthy weight and so she could also benefit from the glucosamine as well as the other nutrition benefits of L.B.W.M. Naturally the master of the den, Lola wanted to eat Penny's food, so we just feed them the same and they are both happy & healthy dogs that run & play. They are living a great life with no food-related complications thanks to Nutro.Our previous pet, Abbey lived a long happy 16 years because we found Nutro food in 1987 after we discovered the horrible additives in another PopUlar brand dog food.THANKS NUTRO!! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by less shedding beautiful coat, must taste great I was introduced to nutro when i bought my first rhodesian ridgeback by the breeder. It came with her and i have used it ever since. My 2nd ridgeback is only 1 year old and as the first, people always remark about her coat glistening, even my vet.I buy nutro ultra dog food dry, large breed puppy at first and now adult mixed with enough of the can to keep it from being too dry. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great beneifts for our dog This product has helped maintain our dogs weight. It also helps make his coat soft and very easy to clean come bath time. You have to look close to see if he is actually dirty. He has been very healthy except that he blew his ACL and had to have surgery and the progress of healing has been better than the vet expected and I think that his food has felped make that difference. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food Both of my dogs, 5 year old Lab and 9 year old German Shorthair have been on this food for about 2 years now. We first started this food when my Lab was having some glad problems and our vet recommended us to try a weight management food. We are very please with this food and our Lab is doing great with it and even our German Shorthair has lost some weight and is now maintaing the lose. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product makes her tail wag! I have bought many different types of dog food for my dog Lola. Often I have to flavor the kibble that I put in her bowl with a little broth or a little something extra to make her get excited about suppertime...Well, not with your products! She loves the taste...and you have her tail wagging like never before! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by So many great features Not only does this wonderful product help me control my dogs weight, ( he loves quantity and I need quality!), but because of the added ingredients that many people are not aware that certain breeds of dogs are lacking such as Boxers which I have always owned need like L-carnatine and taurine they are more prone to heart problems. This last Thanksgiving my beloved Hurricane was diagnosed with an arrhythmia, fortunately we caught in time to treat and it was implied that all the years of having food with the added nutrients had helped him out!! All my pets through the years have been Nutro pets and no doubt about will always be. Thanks Nutro!!Fran and Hurricane February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product We have an 80 pound, 3-legged flat coated retriever who is now 8 1/2 years old. We have been feeding him this weight management food for over five years with great success in keeping his weight at the ideal 80 pounds. We recently changed to the older pet dog food for the additional glucosamine and, when I remember to buy the red bag instead of the yello wbag, he enjoys this new food equally well. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you from Abby and Me My dog Abby has always had severe hip dysplasia and now also terrible osteoarthritis. It is imperative that she keeps her weight down and energy up. Your Large Breed Weight Management food has helped her reach 9 happy years, keeping her full and happy (important for a labrador retriever!!)--while making me feel good knowing that I'm helping keep her healthy. Not only that, but pound for pound your food offers health at a great value -- especially when part of the rewards program.Thank you so much for helping me help my bff Abby! February 17, 2011
<<prev 23 4next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®