For Dogs

Large Breed Puppy FoodChicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

Large breed puppies have unique needs. Whether it’s developing strong and healthy joints or ensuring overall balanced growth, they need proper nutrition to help keep them strong and active. That’s why NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Puppy Food uses naturally sourced glucosamine and chondroitin to promote the development of healthy cartilage. With balanced protein and fat for optimal growth, this great-tasting, natural puppy food also features U.S.-farm-raised chicken for strong muscles and a healthy metabolism. Plus, whole brown rice and oatmeal provide easy digestion for large breed puppies with sensitive stomachs. They’ll enjoy the taste, and you’ll love seeing them mature into the happy, healthy dogs they were meant to be.

Package Sizes Available: 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Great-tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken delivers the amino acids that large breed puppies need to build muscles and maintain a healthy metabolism.
  • Strong, Healthy Joints
    Strong, Healthy Joints
    Our naturally-sourced glucosamine and chondroitin are the nutritional building blocks of healthy cartilage to help in developing strong and healthy joints.
  • Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole Grains for Better Digestion
    Whole grains are nutrient-dense foods that nourish a healthy digestive system for proper nutrient absorption.
  • Targeted Nutrition for a Healthy Growth
    Targeted Nutrition for a Healthy Growth
    It’s precisely formulated with targeted levels of protein and fat to support the high energy levels of large breed puppies.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat — guaranteed.
  • Quality, Natural Nutrition
    Quality, Natural Nutrition
    Our formula is made without corn gluten, corn, wheat or soy protein.
** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Pack Content
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min.) 26.00%
Crude Fat (min.) 15.00%
Crude Fiber (max.) 3.00%
Moisture (max.) 10.00%
Linoleic Acid (min.) 3.50%
Calcium (min.) 1.00%
Calcium (max.) 1.50%
Phosphorus (min.) 0.90%
Phosphorus (max.) 1.30%
Zinc (min.) 250 mg/kg
Vitamin E (min.) 250 IU/kg
Niacin (min.) 250 mg/kg
Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C) (min.)* 50 mg/kg
Biotin (min.)* 2.5 mg/kg
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min.)* 0.05%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min.)*
0.05%
Glucosamine (min.)* 150 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate (min.)* 350 mg/kg
Omega-3 Fatty Acids (min.)* 0.15%
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding ranges for puppies. These guidelines should be adjusted as needed to obtain optimum weight.

Puppies: From 3 to 5 weeks of age, moisten food and feed frequently. From 6 weeks of age, feed the suggested amount in three meals per day until 6 months of age, then twice daily.

Pregnant Bitches: During pregnancy, offer 50% more than the amount shown for puppies over 12 months of age.

Lactating Bitches: Offer at least two to three times the amount shown for puppies over 12 months of age.

If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Puppy Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Puppy Age — Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Puppy
Weight
6 – 11
Weeks
3 – 5
Months
6 – 8
Months
9 – 12
Months
Over 12
Months
Up to 10 lbs. 1 3/4 – 2 1 1/2 – 1 3/4 ----- ----- -----
20 lbs. 3 – 3 1/4 2 1/2 – 3 2 – 2 1/2– ----- -----
30 lbs. 4 – 4 1/3 3 1/3 – 4 2 3/4 – 3 1/3 2 2/3 – 2 3/4
-----
40 lbs. 5 – 5 1/2 4 – 5 3 1/2 – 4 3 1/4 – 3 1/2 -----
60 lbs. ----- 5 1/2 – 6 2/3 4 3/4 – 5 1/2 4 1/2 – 4 3/4 3 2/3
80 lbs. ----- 7 – 8 1/4 6 – 7 5 1/2 – 6 4 2/3
100 lbs. ----- ----- 7 – 8 1/4 6 1/2 – 7 5 1/2
120 lbs. ----- ----- 8 – 9 1/3 7 1/2 – 8 6 1/4
140 lbs. ----- ----- 9 – 10 1/2 8 1/3 – 9 7
160 lbs. ----- ----- ----- 9 1/3 – 10 7 3/4
180 lbs. ----- ----- ----- 10 1/4 – 11 8 1/2
200 lbs. ----- ----- ----- ----- 9 1/4
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.37 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Puppy Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food. Moisten the food until the puppy no longer has sore gums and has sufficient teeth to chew the kibble.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current level.
Decrease the feeding amount to the lower range of target weight within the age category.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3701 kcal/kg, 353 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Puppy Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth, gestation and lactation.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 79reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Who could ask for more for their pet!!! We have 3 dogs, Brutus 10yrs, Juno 9mnths and Maya 6mnths. Juno had a stroke(FCE) which effected his hind legs. We knew he needed the best nutrition fora full recovery. Not being sure he would walk again, we knew the value of Nutro and how well our 10yrs old was...being on Nutro since he was a puppy. To date Juno is not fully recovered, but is now running, jumping and almost back to himself. Just knowing his nutritional needs were being met...eased our minds. Nutro will stay our dog food of choice...thank you Nutro! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best large puppy food available I was introduced to Nutro by a friend and am so thankful for her. Since I started my GSD puppy on this food, her coat is very shinny and her growth has been steady and not too rapid. Her eyes are bright and she is full of energy. I have had GSD for many years and never have had so good a experience as with Nutro. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by luxturious coat I breed high quality show Labrador Retrievers. I have always recommended your Large Breed Puppy because of the awesome results I have seen in their coat, excellent bone structure, controlled growth, and health. A luxturious coat is very important in the show ring and you are only going to get it with an excellent diet. Thank you Natural Choice. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My big boy loves it! We did a lot of research when deciding what to feed our new Neapolitan Mastiff puppy, and always came back to Nutro's Natural Choice line as the perfect mix of natural and fully digestible ingredients, extra vitamins and supplements to promote health, and fairly priced. It was an added bonus that he made the transition to his new food very quickly and painlessly. We have noticed a decreased size in his 'business', which is a great thing with a 35 pound 10 week old puppy! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Nutrition Recently, my husband and I got a german shepherd puppy. She was 12 weeks old and eating a store brand dog food. Our adult dog eats Nutro Large Breed Adult, so we knew exactly what to buy for our puppy. She absolutely loves her Nutro puppy food and even tries to eat the adult dog food. She is a little piglet. We've had her for a week and a half now and I've noticed a difference in her coat and digestive system. I would highly recommend Nutro to anyone with a dog or cat. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My puppy loves it. The day we brought our Bernese puppy home, we stopped at Pet Smart to buy supplies for him. We met a Nutro representative and she talked to us about Nutro Large Breed Puppy Food. We were impressed by the ingredients and decided to give it a try. Our puppy, Bogart, loves it. We are so happy that we tried it. Once he doesn't require the puppy food, we will switch to the regular Nutro dog food. February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excelent food for growing puppies I have Rottweilers and only the best is good enough for them. Nutro Large Breed Puppy food is not full of fillers or animal parts that no dog should be eating. I've researched many dog foods and have even talked to many dog food company reps, and I can say we get the best results with Nutro. The first thing you notice when you open any bag of Nutro pet food, is it doesn't smell like grease or have that strong dog food odor. That's because it's not full of fillers & parts. My dogs have beautiful coats and happy digestive systems. Nutro is 5 start! February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My puppy loves it My puppy is almost 11 weeks now and loves her Nutro large breed puppy food. She sadly contracted the parvo virus 2 weeks ago but after treatment she was back to her old active self and gained her weight back very quickly while eating the Nutro. We even went back to the Nutro earlier then recomended because she rather eat that then the yummy wet dog food the vet gave us. I am thankful to have my puppy back and glad Nutro is keeping her happy and healthy and beautiful :) February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by So natural, so nice Ever since I rescued my black lab as a pup, I have fed her nutro. Everyone always says what a great coat she has, so shiny and soft. Also, what great pearly white teeth she has. I ALWAYS reply, its Nutro! It's an all natural food with no by products and is so affordable for a working single woman in her 20's. A $45 bag lasts her a month. that 15-20 dollars extra to spend on her food rather than the foods with my products and cause hearing loss and other health problems is SOOO worth it. Her coat is still shiny and her teeth as white as can be. Also, her being a high energy dog, this really fills her up with tons of nutrients to keep her just as happy and energetic. Bottom line, I LOVE Nurto! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 3 Generations of Berners We have 2 generations of Bernese Mountain Dogs under our roof, 3 dogs, so we've seen the results and this food grows strong, healthy dogs with very nice coats. Our first dog's breeder had our boy on this food as was his mother and we put our two puppies on it as well. Other littemates who were fed inferior product by the breeder we bred our boy with developed stomach/potty issues after they got to their forever homes. We never did once we got them home and on Nutro Large Breed Puppy. I owe that to this product. Thanks for helping us grow strong, beautiful dogs. Everywhere we go we get compliments, and we weren't looking for any as we like to keep to ourselves. Our dogs have really opened us up as well as the people they meet. They spread joy everywhere they go! Thanks, Nutro. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love Nutro We have been feeding our pack Nutro for years (Natural Choice Large Breed Adult, Large Breed Puppy, Small Breed Adult, and Small Breed Puppy). We have three pitbulls ages 4, 1, and 6 months, as well as, 2 Miniature Schnauzers ages 1 and 4 months. It has kept our dog's coats beautiful and shiny. We recently rescued a 10 month old pitbull who was kept as an outside dog in the Arizona weather. Two months later she has a wonderful coat, not shedding nearly as bad, and is very healthy. We will never use another brand of dog food. I would recommend this dog food to anyone that wants their pet to be healthy and beautiful. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderfull dog food!!! Our black lab mix was having issues with his stomach and loosing his hair BAD. We had been feeding him Purina One, which I thought was supposed to be a really good dog food. After doing some research online my husband went to PetSmart and picked up a big back of this and after only about 1 - 2 weeks no more stomach problems and no more hair loss, well back to normal. Would highly recommend any of the Nutro foods but this is my dogs favorite!!! February 22, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Allegeries We tried different foods, Blue Buffalo and Sciences diet, but Nurto is the only one that doesn't bother Riley's skin or get her hot spots. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for managing the big babies!! My Bernefie (3/4 Bernese Mountain Dog, 1/4 Newfoundland) was growing too rapidly. Nutro has helped her to slow down her growth so she can do it in a healthy time period. We don't want her to be called "BIG Bridie" just yet!! With the concerns surrounding the health of BMDs, your food is the way to go! February 21, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by too expensive for the ingredients i started my litter of 10 puppies on the nutro natural choice large breed puppy but ended up switching after doing research on dog food. There are several good sites out there that explain what you should be looking for in dry dog food and that meat should be the 1st few ingredients which your brand didn't have and on a rating of 1-5 stars with 5 being the best yours rated only a 3 so I switched to a higher rated. I am not saying that Nurto is bad, it is defintely better than supermarket brands and does have some good ingredients but for the ingredients you do have I find there are better foods out there for the same or lower price. For the ratings and ingredients of your food I found it to be very expensive February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our puppy loves this product! Every since we switched our Lab puppy, Mudge, to Nutro he has gotten taller and bigger! He really likes the taste and runs to his bowl first thing in the morning to eat even before he goes outside! It has kept his weight very managable. We love this product February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful coat Our puppy has become a gorgeous girl with a gleaming coat since putting her on Nutro Puppy for Large breeds February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a winner! I recently acquired a 7 wk old husky/german shepard mix. I researched dog food online because I knew I didn't want to feed "supermarket" dog food. I read several reviews that named Nutro as a quality brand of dog food, so it was on my list. I went to Petsmart to buy puppy food and asked the sales associate there what her best selling dog food was. She replied, "Let me tell you what my best quality food is" and we talked several minutes about Nutro (Natural Choice, Ultra, and Max). I came home with a 35 lb white bag of food for Large Breed Puppies. My puppy enjoys the food, she's gaining weight like crazy (which is a good thing), and her coat shines as if I coated her with glitter. I couldn't be more pleased. We've tried the Ultra also, and like it as well. Nutro will be our long term choice for food and she likes the crunchy treats as well. I feel confident that I'm feeding her a healthy dry dog food and knowing she's eating a healthy diet means a lot to me. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my puppy loves this food! it's great & healthy! We have a pittbull/australian shepard mix who has been eating nutro natural choice large breed puppy (chicken & rice) since she was a baby. We adopted her at two months and had trouble finding a food she liked and didn't upset her stomach. We put her on natural choice around 4 months and she hasn't eaten anything else since. We chose this food because we wanted something that would help her body and muscles develop properly and was also healthy and good for her. This was the perfect food for her it didn't hurt her sensitive stomach and had all natural ingredients. She just turned 1 and is 70lbs and will now be switched to nutro natural choice large adult breed food. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Layla's first food The shelter that we adopted Layla from in 2007 was feeding her a different brand name food. We asked our vet for her recommendation and she said Nutro. So we switched to Nutro Large Breed Puppy and haven't looked back since. This food was easy on her stomach and she digested it very well. She gained the appropriate weight for a puppy also. We love Nutro. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Puppy Loves It...and So Do I! I feel safe and happy knowing my puppy loves this food and he is getting the very best nutrition! I love the controled growth formula-it helps control how fast they grow so that they do not have problems with joints later on! My older dog was fed the same Nutro puppy when he was a puppy 5 years ago! I only feed them the best!*King-5 years, Red Nose Pit Bull, Lifetime Nutro Lover*Tank-12 weeks, Blue Nose Pit Bull, Newbie Nutro Lover February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love this food. My previous dogs all ate Nutro, they were show dogs and all the show dogs ate Nutro. So my handler had me hooked on Nutro. When I got my English Mastiff my little boy has been eating Nutro Large Breed Puppy from the day we got him and his coat is beautiful. He doesn't have as many stools as with a cheaper less nutritious dog food, so i know he is getting the things he needs. He eats a large bag every 3 weeks, I expect him to eat more but regardless we will not be changing to a different brand. We even found him a little girlfriend so now I have two English Mastiff's. I tell everyone about Nutro. I hate seeing pet owners buying cheap dog food then crying about how much they use the bathroom. If they knew anything about nutrition then they would not be feeding their dogs a bunch of fillers and none edible food. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best food on the market I have used Nutro dry dog food for many years. I currently have to dogs (boxer and Pit Bull). The large breed food contains all the nutrions that a large dog needs. The name says it all Natural Choice. If you want the full potential out of your dog. Nutro is a company that stands by there product and has been around along time that I trust. This is a great food a reasonable price. Thanks Nutro. February 18, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not good long term This dog food was great for awhile, but then it stopped showing signs of healthy skin, hair, breath, and other things. The moment my dog was 'used' to the food, his bowel movements and gas were horrible. I had to change because it was so bad. Now, my dog is happier, healthier, and more energetic. This may work for your dog, but it didn't work for mine. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant food for Labradors I have a yellow labrador with white markings, he is a AKC and when I first meet the breeder, she advised me and gave me paperwork of your puppy food for large breed. His name is Sterling and with this food his poos are extreamly reasonablity sized and there are not a lot of waste to it. I live in a apt complex and the food makes it very easy to pick up with the poopy bags. His health is very lively and spunky..and his coat is soft and very healty looking. He gets comments on how he looks. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by read the bag it has it all this food has all the stuff for building a strong frame,coat and mind.some food is full of unneeded filler that your pet might not like or even can not digest.some food has a disgusting smell that stays in the room or entire house but not nutro. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love it! I have been feeding both of my Vizslas Nutro Natural Choice Large Breed Puppy food since I got them and they love it! They are a very healthy weight and have very nice muscle tone. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone whose dog is of a large breed. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by yes I am a breeder and I have been using Natural Choice Lg Breed Puppy for years. I recommend it to all my buyers. I don't have diarrhea to deal with in my puppies even if they test positive for a parasite. I have been asked to change by many feed stores and I won't do it. Thank you Nutro for a good quality puppy food! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cooper Loves It!! Best dog food for my Golden Retriever puppy. He loves the taste and we love the benefits. Large breed dogs are prone to hip problems and after reading up on different brands of dog food, my family and I chose Natural Choice and are extremely satisfied. We care very much about our dog and want to make sure he is around as long as possible and that is why we chose Natural Choice. I would HIGHLY recommend this dog food to pet owners who are most concerned with their pets health. Representatives from Natural Choice are always at the pet stores updating my family on products and making suggestions. VERY helpful and we always swap stories about our dogs. They feel like family to us. When buying Natural Choice we know we are buying the best dog food available for our pet and only buy the Natural Choice brand. Thank you Natural Choice!!!! (Also, try out the Natural Choice Crunchy Treats with Real Berries. My dog goes crazy over them and they provide a lot of vitamins and minerals for your dog!) February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my dog love this one he try other food but this is the one he love the best he try 3 others, he pick's this one. February 17, 2011
<<prev 23 4next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®