For Dogs

Large Breed Puppy FoodChicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

Large breed puppies have unique needs. Whether it’s developing strong and healthy joints or ensuring overall balanced growth, they need proper nutrition to help keep them strong and active. That’s why NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Puppy Food uses naturally sourced glucosamine and chondroitin to promote the development of healthy cartilage. With balanced protein and fat for optimal growth, this great-tasting, natural puppy food also features U.S.-farm-raised chicken for strong muscles and a healthy metabolism. Plus, whole brown rice and oatmeal provide easy digestion for large breed puppies with sensitive stomachs. They’ll enjoy the taste, and you’ll love seeing them mature into the happy, healthy dogs they were meant to be.

Package Sizes Available: 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Great-tasting, U.S.-farm-raised chicken delivers the amino acids that large breed puppies need to build muscles and maintain a healthy metabolism.
  • Strong, Healthy Joints
    Strong, Healthy Joints
    Our naturally-sourced glucosamine and chondroitin are the nutritional building blocks of healthy cartilage to help in developing strong and healthy joints.
  • Whole Grains for Better Nutrient Absorption
    Whole Grains for Better Digestion
    Whole grains are nutrient-dense foods that nourish a healthy digestive system for proper nutrient absorption.
  • Targeted Nutrition for a Healthy Growth
    Targeted Nutrition for a Healthy Growth
    It’s precisely formulated with targeted levels of protein and fat to support the high energy levels of large breed puppies.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat — guaranteed.
  • Quality, Natural Nutrition
    Quality, Natural Nutrition
    Our formula is made without corn gluten, corn, wheat or soy protein.
** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Pack Content
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min.) 26.00%
Crude Fat (min.) 15.00%
Crude Fiber (max.) 3.00%
Moisture (max.) 10.00%
Linoleic Acid (min.) 3.50%
Calcium (min.) 1.00%
Calcium (max.) 1.50%
Phosphorus (min.) 0.90%
Phosphorus (max.) 1.30%
Zinc (min.) 250 mg/kg
Vitamin E (min.) 250 IU/kg
Niacin (min.) 250 mg/kg
Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C) (min.)* 50 mg/kg
Biotin (min.)* 2.5 mg/kg
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min.)* 0.05%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min.)*
0.05%
Glucosamine (min.)* 150 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate (min.)* 350 mg/kg
Omega-3 Fatty Acids (min.)* 0.15%
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding ranges for puppies. These guidelines should be adjusted as needed to obtain optimum weight.

Puppies: From 3 to 5 weeks of age, moisten food and feed frequently. From 6 weeks of age, feed the suggested amount in three meals per day until 6 months of age, then twice daily.

Pregnant Bitches: During pregnancy, offer 50% more than the amount shown for puppies over 12 months of age.

Lactating Bitches: Offer at least two to three times the amount shown for puppies over 12 months of age.

If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Puppy Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Puppy Age — Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Puppy
Weight
6 – 11
Weeks
3 – 5
Months
6 – 8
Months
9 – 12
Months
Over 12
Months
Up to 10 lbs. 1 3/4 – 2 1 1/2 – 1 3/4 ----- ----- -----
20 lbs. 3 – 3 1/4 2 1/2 – 3 2 – 2 1/2– ----- -----
30 lbs. 4 – 4 1/3 3 1/3 – 4 2 3/4 – 3 1/3 2 2/3 – 2 3/4
-----
40 lbs. 5 – 5 1/2 4 – 5 3 1/2 – 4 3 1/4 – 3 1/2 -----
60 lbs. ----- 5 1/2 – 6 2/3 4 3/4 – 5 1/2 4 1/2 – 4 3/4 3 2/3
80 lbs. ----- 7 – 8 1/4 6 – 7 5 1/2 – 6 4 2/3
100 lbs. ----- ----- 7 – 8 1/4 6 1/2 – 7 5 1/2
120 lbs. ----- ----- 8 – 9 1/3 7 1/2 – 8 6 1/4
140 lbs. ----- ----- 9 – 10 1/2 8 1/3 – 9 7
160 lbs. ----- ----- ----- 9 1/3 – 10 7 3/4
180 lbs. ----- ----- ----- 10 1/4 – 11 8 1/2
200 lbs. ----- ----- ----- ----- 9 1/4
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.37 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Puppy Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food. Moisten the food until the puppy no longer has sore gums and has sufficient teeth to chew the kibble.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current level.
Decrease the feeding amount to the lower range of target weight within the age category.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3701 kcal/kg, 353 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Puppy Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth, gestation and lactation.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 79reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro large breed puppy This is a great product! Shortly after I got my bullmastiff puppy a friend recommended Nutro to me. I switched him right away! He is now 6 months old and has lots of energy and a beautiful coat! Not to mention he loves his food :) January 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thunder We have a 15 week old golden and just switched him to large breed food and he has had diarrhea with all the other foods we have tried so hoping this food works for him i love this food have always used Nutro food with my other animals just wish that they would develope a grain free large breed puppy formula January 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Laura I love love love this food! I have tried other foods and they upset my puppy's tummy, Blue was too much protein for him and his stools were not formed. Other foods make him sick to his stomach. Nutro is just right for him! I won't switch him to anything else! He is about 5 months old now and he is healthy and happy! My other foster dog wants to eat it too instead of his own food! December 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love, Love, Love it! I changed my American Pitbull Terrier (now 6 month female) and two German Shepherds (5 month male and 4 month female) to this from AvoDerm Puppy a couple months ago, because it was getting harder and harder to find the AvoDerm, and they love it! I am very satisfied with this food and the pups love it. I also mix a small amount of the large breed puppy can food in their dry everymorning and they eat only the dry in the evenings. Their stools are normal, they are full of energy, their coats are beautiful, their skin is healthy, and their weights are perfect. The cost isn't bad at Petsmart and I get the biggest bag (I believe its 35lbs for like $43) for my gentle giants. I really like the controlled growth formula for the shepherds as they are known for hip and joint problems! (: April 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for my Great Dane! (Tallest breed) It's a diet food, lets be honest... and my dane loves it! His weight is kept amazing, and I think the pricing for what you get is great. Not a bunch of fatty food, great ingredients., my dog's health is going to remain great as I am loyal to Nutro, one company that actually spends money not on advertising but on researching for better formulas all the time. That's why I respect this company, unlike others. March 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy pups fed this to my pregnant lab. Just had 11 puppies and everyone was full and plump. They were 2 days early. I feed nutro to my other dog too and great results, more energy and beautiful shiny soft coat. Thanks for great products. February 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Digestion I have a 12 week old Labrador puppy who had very dry skin and dandruff and was having digestive issues. After my vet suggested switching, we saw results in a week. His coat is soft and shiny and he has more regular digestive patterns. I can tell he loves it too. When we were mixing it with the old food to switch it over he would knock over the bowl and pick out all the Natural Choice food to eat first. February 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great! I have a Pitt Bull and man I seen results in 3 to 4 days. He looks good and only 5 months but people thinks he years old. November 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Puppy Food We have an Alaskan Malamute hybrid 13 weeks, she loves this food, she has already adjusted to her new diet, the only question I had was,being a food activist I was looking to see if this product has any Gentecially Modified Genes /Organisms in here? (G.M.O.s) (fish genes, e-coli bacteria, ?) Was any of the food grown with sythetic pesticides, growth hormones, (Anything to do with Monsanto, Dupont....... November 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for your giant puppy! My German Shepherd puppy, Trooper, has been on this food since weaning - and he's doing fantastically! He's 6 months now (and already 70lbs!). I wouldn't think of switching foods. Everyone at the dog park always says how handsome his coat is and how muscular he is getting. His eyes are always bright and he's always ready to play! This food is such a great way to guarantee a healthy start for your new best friend. September 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food! I have a Rottie pup who has very sensitive skin, I tried a few didferent foods before arriving at this one and now I'm hooked! (and so is she!) This food has not only made her coat shiner and brighter but I can also see a difference in her body weight, she has now lost that 'puppy fat' & is a lean, healthy dog who is full of energy! I would recommend this food to anyone with a large breed puppy! September 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dry or Wet, Alone or With! Our dog will eat this kibble any way it's given. Large breed puppy kibble is important for lower protein/steady growth, and this is the only kibble we give him. The coupons don't hurt either! July 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 stars!!!! We love this product and our gentle giants do too! July 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Large Breed Puppy Our Malinois puppy loves this food. We wanted to start her out right to give her the best chances to grow healthy! June 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shiny Coats and Healthy Puppies We have always fed our first puppy this food. She loves the food, has lots of energy and very healthy poops. Most noticeable is how shiny her coat is. She gets compliments at the dog park all the time.We adopted a second puppy three weeks ago who was extremely malnourished after being left in a dumpster during the winter. He loves the food and has put on lots of weight since we started feeding him this food. When we got him, he had a very rough, wispy coat. In only three weeks of eating this food, his coat has gotten noticeably softer, shinier and thicker.We recommend this food to people all the time. April 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food We have a what we think is a great dane mix and at 4 months already around 40 lbs. When we adopted him he was skin and bones with a dull dry coat. After a month of being on the food he has grown by leaps and bounds. His black coat is no longer dandruffy and glistens in the sun! I've also used Nutro large breed as well for my 10 year old lab and believe that the whole/natural ingredients have given us this time!Definitely worth every penny! April 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Dog Food!!! We tried many dog foods before getting this one and it made a huge difference. Won't feed our dog anything but this food now. We have a Great Dane. April 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Dog Food! I have two five month old GSD that love this food! Their coats are nice and shiny, and they have the energy to conquer anything. March 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Food! I have a 5 month old Lab/Heeler mix that is doing GREAT on this food. His coat is amazing and he loves it. I have to watch it or he would over eat. March 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my dog loves it because of all the vitaminsin the large puppy food my dog does better and his fur is so much softer.he has been kept on it ever since a pup.as far as i am concerned why change to something else when he is doing so great on this.he loves it.he can open his container where i keep it and feed himself whenever he takes a mind to it.which is often.he is 5 years old now and doing very well on it. March 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by FANTASTIC PRODUCT I have purchased this product for my fiance's cousins two 4 month old pups, and they are growing like weeds. The male at 4 months is already 28 pounds and the female, the same age is already 21 pounds. They are a mixed breed, of Husky, Lab and maybe some Shepherd. They just love this food, and eat it quite well. Their eyes and coats are just awesome, and their last vet check was outstanding. I recommend this to anyone with pups. March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love Natur Choice my GSD is 5 mo and is doing much better since i put her on Natural Choice large breed . I love it.and so dose she ! March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great coat... solid stool! i have 6 month rottweiler. have fed blue buffallo, wellness and nutro natural choice in the past. I first started him on natural choice but then tried blue and then wellness because people said they were "better" than nutro. he was doing well on blue and wellness but his stool just would not become solid.... it was always messy. i put him back on natural choice and he is doing well. of course every dog is different so what might be good for some might not be for others but for my dog it has been great. i always get asked "how do you make his coat so soft and shiney?".... but best of all... SOLID STOOL AGAIN!. March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for our puppy!! Since feeding this dog food to our Golden Retriever pup, Toby, his coat is healthy, shiny and he does not shed as much as our previous Goldens have. We are extremely happy with the results - previously we had been feeding our dogs Royal Canin and Science Diet - we will continue with the Nutro as he grows into adulthood. March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I would not feed my pet anything but NUTRO product I have been purchasing NUTRO products for years (12 plus), for my previous pets. My current pet Bear, a German Rottweiler has been on Nutro Natural Large Breed Puppy food from the beginning. He is currently one and a half years old and he is the picture of perfect health. He recently went to our Vet for his annual check up and they were VERY impressed with his health, and appearance (shiny coat). The Dr. asked what we were feeding him and we told him NUTRO, Dr. Cooper went out of the exam room for a moment and you could hear him say "Thats a NUTRO Dog"! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My puppy loves it! When we brought home our boxer, Rome, we tried to keep him on the same brand of food he had already been eating. We had a hard time getting him to eat for over a month, no matter what we added to his food. He was a rescue and wasn't in top health to being with but his fussyness made matters worse. His ribs were showing and his coat was ruff. One trip to the pet store I began speaking to the Nutro specialist and she made the product sound great. We decided to try it and Rome loves it! Now as soon as he hears you scoop his food he stays at your side until you serve him and he chows down in one sitting! His coat has improved tremendously and he is now a healthy weight. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great tasting My dog loves Natural Choice and so do I. I feed her this brand since I first got her. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great to start puppy on! We have been feeding our dogs Nutro for the last 6 years or so. Our overweight chocolate lab lost weight using the reduced calorie dog food and we started our new yellow lab puppy on the puppy food. We love Nutro March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent Last year I started breeding Labradoodles. It was our first litter and the puppies that where bred and born turned out phenominal. Raising a litter of puppies is a lot of work especially when your a full time mom with 4 kids, 2 dogs, 2 cats, 2 fish tanks and 3 birds. Everything has to be organized and clean and run smoothly. Well........ when we started weaning the puppies some of them would have diarrhea. Puppy diarrhea is a disaster. they get it all over themselsves and it is a mess. You just can't have puppy diarrhea in a litter. Its a nightmare. We went through three brands of dog food, really good top selling brands recommended by store managers and vets and still there would be puppy with a problem. Finally after working with a salesman at petsmart we decided to try Nutro Max Large breed puppy. It was wonderful. All puppies did fantastic. not one puppy had a problem. yeah. My busy life was back to normal with healthy clean puppies not covered in well you know, ewe. Thanks you so much Nutro Max. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My boxer loves the taste rocky loves this food and knowing that the food is good for him and his growing needs is a plus. March 10, 2011
<<prev2 3 4next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®