For Dogs

High Endurance Adult Dog FoodChicken Meal, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

If your dog is physically active, a 30/20 protein-to-fat ratio will help ensure balanced energy and accelerated muscle recovery. This high-energy dog food is designed to fuel your adult dog and help them perform and stay healthy. It’s proven with our ongoing support of the National Disaster Search Dog Foundation. As their exclusive dog food partner, we provide rescue dogs with NATURAL CHOICE® High Endurance Adult Dog Food while at home, during training and while deployed to a disaster site. Our high-protein dog food provides the natural nutrition these dogs need for endurance and health in the face of disaster. Feed your active dog the same nutrition to fuel performance.

Package Sizes Available: 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • High Protein and Fat Diet
    High Protein and Fat Diet
    A 30/20 ratio of protein to fat provides the fuel necessary to bolster aerobic capacity while ensuring long-term energy.
  • Optimal Muscle Recovery
    Optimal Muscle Recovery
    A high protein and fat diet helps provide the nutrition hardworking muscles need to recover from strenuous exercise.
  • Whole Grains for Sustained Energy
    Whole Grains for Sustained Energy
    Blending whole grains, such as whole brown rice and oatmeal, provides sustained energy for physically active dogs.
  • Promotes a Healthy Immune System
    Antioxidants for a Healthy Immune System
    Antioxidants, such as vitamin C and vitamin E, help support a healthy immune system and overall cellular health.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat — guaranteed.
** Complete satisfaction or your money back
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight.

Puppies: Under 6 weeks, moisten food and feed frequently. From 6 to 11 weeks, feed at Activity Level IV. From 12 to 16 weeks, feed 25% less than Activity Level IV. From 17 to 28 weeks, feed at Activity Level III. From 29 to 52 weeks, feed at Activity Level II. Feed the suggested amounts in three meals per day until 6 months of age, then twice daily until 12 months.

Pregnant Bitches: Offer 25 to 50% more than the amount shown for Activity Level IV.

Lactating Bitches: Offer at least two to three times the amount shown for Activity Level IV.

If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® High Endurance Adult Chicken Meal, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.

Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
Activity Level IV
4+ Hours/Day
Intense Training
10 lbs. 1 1 1/4 1 2/3
15 lbs. 1 1/3 1 1/2 2 1/4
25 lbs. 2 2 1/4 3 1/4
35 lbs. 2 2/3 3 4
45 lbs. 3 3 1/2 5
55 lbs. 3 2/3 4 5 3/4
65 lbs. 4 4 2/3 6 1/2
75 lbs. 4 1/2 5 1/4 7 1/4
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.99 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® High Endurance Adult Chicken Meal, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed another life-stage-appropriate NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Formula to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3988 kcal/kg, 339 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® High Endurance Adult Chicken Meal, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for all life stages.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 61reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by this food is great I have a pair of 5 year old male vizslas... they have been on this food since adulthood. Great for their high energy lifestyle, and they are so shiny and healthy. They weigh 60-65 pounds each and eat 4-4.5 cups each a day.... just right! August 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding for large dogs I have a 155lb great dane that is 9 1/2 years old and a 5 year old 70lb greyhound. The great dane has been on this food since about 2 years old. Even my vet asked me what I feed her because she is so healthy at such an old age! I recommend this to everyone who stops me and stays my dogs are beautiful. They are healthy, happy, and have shiny coats. This food is worth every penny! May 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my dog's fav! He will eat nothing else! This has been the greatest food for our super-high energy dog; it keeps him going all day and we even struggle to get him to tire out after a day of hiking and playing on the beach!!! April 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Weight Management... I adopted a Siberian Husky 4 years ago that was about 20 pounds underweight. The shelter suggested this food to help her body be able to balance weight gain with the exercise that a Siberian needs to stay happy. It worked and in less than a year she was back up to her suggested weight, her coat is beautiful and she's a very healthy dog. It really is a great product for maintaining and gaining weight in active breeds! April 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic. I have a 70lb Pit bull I get so many compliments on his coat and how shiny he is. His performance outside is great too! March 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by lots of energy We have two german shorthair females. They are great bird dogs, chucker, dove, quail, or anything else that flies. Natural high energy dog food keeps them in top shape! March 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my dogs drool for this food. I have been feeding this product to my dog every since he was eight weeks old and he still loves it. Since then I have adopted three other dogs that people could no longer provide for and they love this food and can wait to have more. My dogs drool for this food as if it was a T-bone steak, I love it because of the energy and shiny coats that it provides from the nutrients, their stools are always solid for easy clean up.Thank You Nutro for a great product. March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Dogs are Happy & Healthier with Natural Choice I have 2 German Shepherds and a Whippet. The shepherds shed terrible and the whippet although his hair is very short sheds too. All 3 dogs are very very active so thats why I feed them the high energy food. They all love the food but a funny thing is when we got the Whippet I put him on the food for small breeds because he is small and I thought I was doing him a favor.....wrong. He will eat the big dogs food every time, even if I put it in his bowl. Any way their shedding has gotten sooo much better, their coats are shiney and they just look happier. I love my dogs and I want the best for them. I wouln't eat just any dog food and I don't give them just any food. I want the best for them. They look happy and I know they are healthier dogs and I believe their food have everything to do with that. I switch from one flavor to another to give them something different every few weeks. They love them all and it shows. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has helped us My husband and I rescued a Malamute/Husky from an abused home in 2002. When we brought him home he was 15 lbs underweight. My husband and I tried over 6 different brands of dog food in 1 year to help him gain weight. We finally talked to a friend of ours who uses this brand and after 2 months of using it, we seen a big difference in his weight. He could eat as much as he wanted and ran laps around our yard and still keep his weight on. It has been 9 years and we still continue to use this product. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful dog food, my dogs love it! My dogs love this food! they are very active dogs, outdoor and always come running for dinner time!! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog are not longer skinny The last two times I had gone to the vet, they were concerned that both our dogs were underweight and loosing weight. Since switching to Nutro High Energy they not only weigh the right amount but they look good too. The coat is soft and they are so happy. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This great dog food helps our dog keep weight on. Our high energy short hair Border Collie cannot stop moving during waking hours. When he was 7 months old we noticed he was getting significantly underweight despite feeding him cottage cheese with eggs with his food. Our local feed store helped us research a brand that would help us. Ultimately, we finally ended up finding NATURAL CHOICE® High Energy Dog Food. Our feed store now carries a large selection of NATURAL CHOICE® pet food. And, Johann is still very active and at a healthy weight. Thank you NATURAL CHOICE® . March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Product is a Lifesaver I adopted a Siberian Husky from the pound 3 years ago. Sissy had a very compromised immune system from being in the pound and soon after I brought her home she had reached the point that she was to sick to eat . This is a dog who should have weighed 45 pounds and she was barely hanging onto life at 23 pounds. Our wonderful vet called everyday to check on her and every day I had to say that she was still not eating. Our brother in law told us to try a high protein dog food and we went to the Pet Store and chose the Nutro High Energy dog food. The next day as the vet was talking to me on the phone, Sissy got up and went to the food bowl and ate a few pieces of the Nutro. From that day forward she began to eat more and more and gradually gained weight and got her strength back. We have now switched her to the Large Breed Adult Nutro and she continues to thrive! When Sissy started to eat again, she needed a dog food that gave her wasted body the necessary nutrients to recover and I believe Nutro saved her life. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Energy Britts We have 18month old sibling Brittany Spaniels whom I still allow to self feed. They constantly burn off what they eat and are really in shape. We have been feeding them Nutro since they were puppies and the Nutro rep at PetSmart recommended that I switch to the high energy product when I told her about our dogs. We have been very pleased with the protein content and how shiny their orange/white coats are. Beauitiful! They love their Nutro and eat it all day long. It gives them the energy they need to do what they love~chase one another!! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mrs We have 3 rescued big black labs that were so sick from malnutrition and had to be wormed 3 times! nutro dog food helped them immediatly bounce back with thick shiny coats and an abundance of energy! thank you NUTRO for saving our furry-friends! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Octane fuel for High Performing Working Dogs I am a former USAF K-9 handler and have owned and trained several excellent Police patrol and Ring Sport dogs over many years. For the past several years I have had 2 extremely powerful Belgian Malinois, both with extremely high drive and intensity. Like all great athletes, they can't function at peak without excellent nutrition and I have relied on Nutro Natural Choice High Energy and it's never let me down. My boys love it and, powered by Nutro High Energy, they have done demonstrations for military and civilians alike and together have raised more than $ 5,000.00 for the Fisher House, a national Veteran's organization which takes care of wounded and very sick military veterans and their families during extended hospital stays and rehabilitation. My dogs scale 8' walls, broad jump 15' long jumps over obstacles, and climb virtually anything in their way to chase down and apprehend the bad guys. And they both hit like middle linebackers ! When bad guys meet my Mals, they go through a 'career altering experience" and have a "moment of clarity" about the consequences of a criminal career. After a day of fighting crime, my Mals love to chase their frisbees in the Hawaii surf and never get tired.Over the years I have tried many different foods including Eukanuba, Science Diet, Taste of the Wild and more, and in my opinion, Nutro Natural Choice High Energy stands head and shoulders above the "other guys food". And, best of all, the price is OUTSTANDING ! Using Nutro's High Energy is like driving a Mercedes for the cost of a VW Bug. And I should know... we've had a VW Beetle in our family for 32 years and it's taken 3 generations of women to school, work and more.ALOHA and MAHALO NUI LOA TO NUTRO NATURAL CHOICE HIGH ENERGY !!! As we say in Hawaii.... IT'S DA BES KINE, BRADDAH !!!! March 10, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks appealing, pleasent aroma. Nutro has a very good selection of dry dog food at an affordable priceCompares well to very expensive brands. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by its great!!! my dog loves his food~! its totally worth every penny. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a good source of nutrition. We have fed our German Shorthair your Nutrro Natural Choice High Entergy Formula since she was 6 months old. Shadow will be 5 yrs old on April 1st. Our vet always compliments my wife and I on her heathly looking coat and her excellent health.We also feed Nutro to our Yorkie and cat.Thank you. February 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food for Active Dogs My lab was having trouble keeping on weight during the cold winter months. I was feeding him more and he continued to lose weight. I switched from large breed to the high energy hoping that the increased protein would cause him to maintain his weight better. He started gaining his weight back almost instantly. I am feeding him less which helps my pocket book. February 23, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Healthy and Happy I have three collies and they do great on this stuff. I will say that I wish the first ingredient was a meat and not chicken meal. As this leaves more poo to pick up. Overall, I would recommend it definitely compared to some other dog foods February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect For MY Wallet and My Dog When we first got our Boxer puppy, we started her on the Nutro puppy food. As she turned one, we switched to big girl food and gave her Nutro for large dogs until we discovered that Nutro had a High Energy dog food that would fit her active lifestyle as she has a ton of energy! I can honestly credit this food for giving her coat that beautiful shine, strong muscles and a healthy, happy life! Turning 3 this year, she loves every bit of her Nutro High Energy food and we recommend this brand to so many other Boxer owners that we meet through our local rescue!Thank you Nutro! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My border collies look fantastic! I have 2 border collies, "Wadio" (a service dog/working dog) and "Katie" (a full-time cowhand assistant). Both of our fuzzy friends travel many miles a day and burn a lot of calories. With this food, I can feed less of it to maintain a healthy muscle-mass, glowing coat and perfect body weight/condition for my two very active working dogs. Other foods, I would have to feed twice as much to get nearly the same results with a much larger dent in my pocket book. I am a vet tech, and I reccomend all Nutro products to our clients and I have had 100%positive feedback from them. Wadio and Katie say thanks for helping them to stay in tip-top shape. Licks and Wags, The Tarpley family. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs won't eat anything else! I adopted a cattledog three years ago, when she was just a pup. She's ALWAYS been a picky eater when it comes to dog food. My boyfriend and I picked up a bag of Nutro by chance one day, and we've never turned back! It's the only type of dog food she'll eat nowadays, and we're thankful that it's a nutritious brand like nutro. It's kept her illness-free and her running legs strong through all of these years. Thank you, Nutro! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent source of quality protein I have been using Nutro dry dog food for years with my service dogs. My dogs have all been large breed dogs and have been very active. They have been used to help pulll me in my wheelchair, balance me when I transfer and hold me and the chair on ramps. My dogs need high protein, good non-artificial ingredients and a food that is balanced. I have found that with the Nutro products.I have recommended Nutro to people who ask me how I get my dog's coat so silky, thick and lush. My dog now, a German Shepherd loves the food and wants some after I get the bag opened. I trust the Nutro brand and am faithful to it. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by HELPED MY FILAS TO A HEALTHY WEIGHT I HAVE TWO MASTIFF SISTERS FROM THE SAME LITTER THAT ARE 1 1/2 NOW. ZIMA & ONYX ARE THERE NAMES WITH ZIMA BEING THE RUNT OF THE GANG.SHE WOULD NOT GAIN ANY WEIGHT AT ALL AND WE TRIED SEVERAL DIFFERENT HOLISTIC TOP BRAND DOG FOODS, ALL EXCEPT NUTRO.A YOUNG MAN AT A PETCO STORE RECOMMENDED THE HIGH ENERGY FOR HER..... WELL THEY BOTH LOVE IT, THEIR COATS ARE VERY SHINY, EYES ARE VERY BRIGHT, THEY ARE VERY ALERT, AGILE AND ZIMA HAS GAINED A HEALTHY WEIGHT WITH ONYX AT A HEALTHY WEIGHT AS WELL SO THANK YOU NUTRO FOR HELPING MY BABIES..... February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by For dogs on the move, nothing is better! My awesome aussie is a no-stop kind of dog, Chase, a name well earned, will chase anything and his high energy demands a food that will fuel his system, maintain his incredible stamina and make him the "bossy aussie" on his flyball team. Nutro keeps him at peak performance and he really loves it, no calling this dog twice for dinner when Nutro High Energy is being offered. February 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love the high energy option The price is good and love the bonus the company offers. we have been using this food for many years on our two dogs. Boxer and german short hair. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tiptop Shape This food was the only food that kept weight on my high energy dog. Her coat is very healthy and she has lean muscle mass. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by High quality product I have used this product for 15 years for Tasha my Miniture American Eskimo. It is the only product that has been able to keep her coat shiney and soft. I beleive that this product has kept my dog young, no one beleives me when I tell them my dog is 16 years old. She still has the energy of a young dog. I would recommend this product to anyone who has a dog. February 18, 2011
<<prev2 3next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®