For Dogs

Small Breed Adult Dog FoodChicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula

Small breed dogs require the right balance of proteins and fats to keep up with their higher energy levels. To meet their unique needs, NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food contains real chicken, whole brown rice and oatmeal along with increased natural antioxidant support. Our kibble is appropriately sized for smaller dogs to grasp and chew. Not only will your dog enjoy the great taste of our premium small breed dog food, but they’ll also benefit from increased immune system support and a healthy solution for their higher metabolism. We also guarantee healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat with omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins to help small dogs look as good as they feel.

Package Sizes Available: 4 lbs., 8 lbs., 15 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Chicken Is Our #1 Ingredient
    We include real chicken as our #1 ingredient, as well as other whole, natural ingredients, such as whole brown rice and sunflower oil, to please even the most selective palates — guaranteed.
  • Unique Kibble Shape for Oral Care
    Unique Kibble Shape for Oral Care
    Due to their smaller mouths, small breed dogs’ teeth are more prone to overcrowding, which can lead to oral health concerns. Our unique kibble shape is designed to naturally reduce plaque and tartar buildup.
  • Antioxidants for a Long Life
    Antioxidants for Immune Systems
    Since many small dogs live up to 20 years, they need increased antioxidant support. Our DNADVANTAGE BLEND® Formula includes a unique blend of antioxidants that nutritionally rejuvenate your dog’s immune system.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Small dogs not only spend the majority of their time indoors, but they also are groomed more frequently. This lifestyle lends itself to skin sensitivity. We guarantee a healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat with our patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins.
  • Higher Energy Needs
    Targeted Nutrition for a Higher Metabolism
    Our formula has been precisely formulated with targeted levels of protein and fat to keep up with the higher energy needs of a small breed adult dog.

** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

chxbrwnoat kibble
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for small breed adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
10 lbs. 1 1 1/4 1 1/3
15 lbs. 1 1/3 1 1/2 1 3/4
20 lbs. 1 2/3 2 2 1/4
25 lbs. 2 2 1/4 2 1/2
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.89 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3674 kcal/kg, 300 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 186reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love it My dogs eat both wet and dry food but they did not care much for the other flavors I have tried of Nutro dry food. I saw this new kind for small breed adults and decided to try it. They love it! They ate it right away without coaxing. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent, My dog loves it! My Mini Eskimo loves her Nutro food. She is happy, healthy and playful. Nutro makes it easy to keep her at a healthy weight March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Dog Food EVER I have been using Nutro Natural Choice dog food for my small mix breed dog for two years. She loves it and I love that it is so healty for her. It came highly recommended to me by a friend and now I recommend it to my friends. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improves coat, easy on the stomach My husband and I adopted two little terrier mixed breeds who absolutely LOVE this food. It is easy on their stomachs and we think it has greatly improved their coat. It's very shiny and they definitely are shedding less. Would definitely reccomend this food to anybody looking for a change in their small dog's diet. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dog food. No wheat or corn! Our dog is very sensitive to wheat and corn and I try my best to avoid those things in her food and treats. This food is perfect. She is healthy, her coat is shiny and soft and I know that we aren't feeding her anything that's going to bother her sensitive stomach. She LOVES the taste too! :) March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My poodles(2) will not eat anything else. Someone gave me another brand of food and it sat for a day without being eaten.The dogs smelled it and never touched it.I replaced with the Natural Choice and it was eaten within 30 minutes. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 stars from 5 happy Doxies Since, we've started our long haireddachshunds on this formula we've noticed a HUGE difference in their coats. They're longer, glossier, and much more managable! And what a noticable difference in yard clean up as well, we don't hae nearly as much waste as we use to! Our vet is very impressed with the overall difference in our dogs and our groomers were very shocked when told the difference in coat was simply switching to Nutro Natural Choice! What a wonderful product! The rewards alone make this worth while! Thank you so much on behalf of our four legged family!Regards,Designer Dachsunds March 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by dogs love it My 3 dogs just loved small bites. They always want more. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves this food! We adopted a miniature Dachshund a few months ago and were told that the Natural Choice for small breeds would be a good choice. Our dog loves this food and hasn't had any problems adjusting to it from what she was getting at the shelter. We love it and wouldn't change to anything else. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, bubba jay approved My min pin bubba jay, absolutely loves this food. His coat is shining, he is happy and healthy. He loves the small bites, even though he thinks that throwing pieces on the floor tastes better! I really love Nutro foods, treats and products. I have been a faithful customer for 12 years. After 5 dogs and 4 cats over those 12 years, I am a true believer in the health benefits and dog approved flavor! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Choosing a good dog food for my 2 dachshunds I adopted 2 miniture long haired dachshunds last summer. Oscar and Meyer. Oscar is like a little vacuum and will eat anything. However, Meyer is much pickier. He would only eat at night and hardly ever finished his food. I went to Pet Smart to look for a dog food that would give decent nutrition and that they would both love. The previous owner had the boys on a very expensive formula. When I started looking a rep from Nutro was there to help. She guided me to the natural food for small breeds. Low and behold Meyer began to eat. He has gained weight and has a shinier coat than before, Oscar snarfs it down and his coat which was dull, dry and matted is now shiny and healthy. The most fun part about all this is Meyer actual licks his bowl after eating the last morsel. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My doxies love the taste of this food! I have gone through many brands and types of food , especially since I run a rescue. I was at an event at Petsmart and a Nutro rep was there and started talking about this food, at that time I had my personal pets ( all dachshunds) on Blue Buffalo and I had my foster dogs on GO. The rep told me all about your food and I was interested, so I took a look well then I saw the Dachshund on the front and I was sold. Great picture, great food! Thanks. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kept my girl going. I started using Max Puppy in 1993,when my beloved Minnie came into my life. I feel it kept her going all the 17 years of her life,right up to the end. We have used it for all our pets and I would recommend it to anyone. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good choice for dog's that can't handle flax I tried all of the top nongrain dog foods until I finally realized that my dog was allergic/sensitive to the flax seed that each of these foods contained. I love the idea of including Omega 3s in my dog's food, but alas, my dog cannot tolerate the flax. None of the upper end food stores had any kibble that did not contain flax, so I went to Petco and similar stores to look at what other options I might have. I came across the Nutro Small Breed Adult. My dog loves it and her system likes it also. I do think that veggies (steamed) are important in small quantities, so I do give my dog these in addition to the Nutro kibble and some fresh chopped chicken livers (organic). So far, so good with your food. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Small Breed I was introduced to Nutro about a year ago while shopping for dog food for my little dog family. I have 4 small dogs and at the time two were puppies.With the money back guarantee I agreed to try the Nutro for puppies which has now grown into Nurto for small breeds.My dogs are very picky and with the natural ingredients my dogs very much enjoy their meal time now. I couldn't imagine trying any other brand. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy dogs! The flavor must be good! My three liitle guys LOVE it. I have two Yorkies and one Westie and all three of the can't wait to eat. We have tried several dogs foods before we found the Nutro. They were walking away with out taking a bite with some of the other food. Thanks Nutro! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peanut Approved I was very excited when i saw that Nutro was starting to make a food designed for small breeds in their Natural Choice line. I have a 3 year old Chihuahua named Peanut who can be a picky eater at times so i was very happy to see that he liked the food. And i can rest easy knowing that along with his Greenies, the small breed formula helps clean his teeth. And to top it off it's Peanut's favorite flavor,chicken, and makes his fluffy coat really soft! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doxie Approved, OVER puppy food! In preparation to switch from puppy food (Science Diet) to adult food, I bought a bag of the small breed adult chicken and brown rice Nutro food. Out of curiosity, I opened the Nutro bag at home, and immediately had a whining, spinning, over-excited 11th month old Dachshund at my feet. Now, I know hounds have a nose, but Reese was going crazy for her new food. I mixed a couple of pieces in with her puppy food, not wanting to give her stomach something to be upset about. All of a sudden, I heard chomp chomp, clink clink... she was chewing on the Nutro kibble and spitting out the puppy food! And who said puppy food tastes better? Apparently not Reese!I also decided to play our favorite game - pick the hand. I slid a piece of puppy kibble in one hand and the Nutro kibble in the other, and let her choose. Without hesitation, she picked the Nutro kibble. I am WAY impressed. I have a very, very picky eater. Having Reese so excited about dry dog kibble makes me one happy Doxie mom! Thank you, Nutro! February 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped with my dogs coat! I had my dogs on a commericial brand since they were born and at 4 yrs old the momma started to have skin issues. Well, I was in the pet store and I asked a man who was picking up some Nutro food why he liked it. He went on to tell me that his dogs had allergies to certain foods and he had tried several in the store (one I currently was feeding mine) and finally did some research on what dog foods didn't have what his animals were allergic to and found Nutro. He swore by the brand and encouraged me to look at the ingredients label of a couple of brands in the store. Long story short, I've been a loyal customer for almost a year and will continue to be for as long as I own pets. My females skin is looking much better and the pets LOVE the food. February 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Nutro Winner!! Our dog, Rumi Emerson, absolutely loves this food! He has a pretty picky palate and is accustomed to having the Lamb and Rice Small Bites (another great Nutro dry food), so I was hesitant to try another flavor combination. I am so glad I did because he loves it and it gives me another quality option for him. Rumi has eaten Nutro products since he was a baby puppy (he's four now!), and I consistently get compliments on how healthy and shiny his coat is.... even from his groomer who sees many, many dogs each week! You owe it to your little one to try it ---you won't be disappointed!!! February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Marketing Assistant I have 2 miniature dachshunds and my girls love this food. They aren't finicky eaters, but I know they enjoy the small bites and I'm sure they were tired of the same lamb and rice formula they had gotten for so long. February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't tell my dogs this is dog food! I have two Mini Schnauzers and a Cairn that refused to eat dog food. I tried many brands but they refused. Now, instead of begging for table food, they happily sit down to Small Breed Adult while our family eats dinner. Thank you Nutro! February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the perfect Kibble I tried this product for my tea cup Maltese and she has little teeth and with other dog food it was impossible for her to chew considering she had to get some teeth pulled. I found this product and I was amazed at the shape of the kibble and decided to try it. When I fed it too her she actually was chewing the hard food and it was not wasted. Every other dry food she would leave it and pick through to the wet food that I mixed in the kibble. The products at Nutro are natural and would not feed my dog anything else. I recommend this product to keep your older dogs teeth healthy. When you look at the hard kibble it has a groove in it so that it is easier for your dog to chew it. Amazing idea and Nutro is all about the health of your dog. Thanks Nutro, awesome discovery! February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for my Dog I love this product. The ingredients help keep my 13 year old Cocker Spaniel "Rooco" in tip top shape. He has been eating this brand of dog food since he was young and has never had any problems. He coat is shinny and healthy and he has alot of spunk ! February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by delicious I know this food tastes good cause my sheltie was getting fat until I started regulating how much he eats. In fact it tastes so good they all started eating each others poo... what the heck?!! Now I have to watch to make sure they don't overeat and watch to make sure they don't eat poo. Oh well.. at least they are healthy. Good value... I just have weird dogs. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Dog Food for my Rat Terrier I like this food because it is small, and easy for Rat Terrier to eat. I have noticed she has less waste, and it tends to disinegrate in the yard which makes for easier removal. My dog tends to have more energy also when on this product. Will buy again. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by No more runny poos My dog Tobi is about the cutest 15 lb cockapoo in the world. When he was ready for adult food, we asked our vet what he recommended, and he told us about Nutro. Tobi loves it and is excited daily to eat his feast of chicken and rice. We are glad to see him happy and healthy and with good, solid poos. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Product Rocks!! I was glad that Nutro had another flavor of dog food for small adults dogs to pick from. My little Yorkie loves this food. She is a picky eater and was happy when she dug into her food when I gave it to her. She was a happy puppy dog. Thank you for making another flavor in small breeds. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pedro and Jitterbug: Instant FANS! THEY LOVE IT! I have fed this brand to my 2 chihuahuas since they were little! I feed it to them because it is a food with actual meat as the 1st ingredient! I was feeding them the Nutro Lamb Meal and Rice, but when Nutro came out with, Little Bites for Small Adult Breeds, I was so EXCITED! That fits my babies to a "T"! They love this food and always make sure that the cat doesn't get it, so when the food is put down they guard it with their lives! LOL February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product We feed this variety to our Bichon/Shih Tzu mix and she loves it. She is in excellent health and I'm sure it has alot to do with Nutro. It's funny..we have a large breed mix that also eats Nutro and the two of them try to eat each others food. I'm afraid my small breed will become large because she likes the large breed food too! We are very happy with our Nutro products. February 23, 2011
<<prev 2 34 5 6 7next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®