For Dogs

Lite Adult Dog FoodLamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula

Less active dogs often carry extra weight. An overweight dog can benefit from a diet that blends high fiber and proper protein levels. NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Adult Formulas can help adult dogs feel full and reduce their overall food intake, which can help with weight loss. Our nutritionally complete, low-calorie formula is made with two primary ingredients: real Australian and New Zealand lamb and whole brown rice, which helps promote easier digestion. Omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins also support healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat. We use premium ingredients and no artificial colors or flavors so it has a natural flavor dogs will enjoy, guaranteed.

Package Sizes Available: 5 lbs., 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Low-Calorie, High-Fiber Formula
    Low-Calorie, High-Fiber Formula
    This low-calorie, high-fiber formula provides all of the nutrients overweight or less active dogs need — without the extra calories.
  • Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Lamb Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Australian and New Zealand lamb is our #1 ingredient. Along with whole brown rice, it provides optimal nutrition and easier digestion.
  • Healthy Skin and Coat
    Healthy Skin and Coat
    Formulated with omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins for healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.
  • Targeted Levels of Fiber and Protein
    Targeted Levels of Fiber and Protein
    The blend of high fiber and the right protein level helps dogs feel full, which can reduce overall food intake to aid in weight loss.
  • Promotes a Healthy Immune System
    Healthy Weight Maintenance
    Our reduced feeding guidelines provide optimal nutrition to help your dog lose weight for a lean body condition.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Ideal Dog Weight Weight Reduction Weight Control
15 lbs. 1 1/3 1 1/2
25 lbs. 2 2 1/4
35 lbs. 2 1/2 3
45 lbs. 3 1/8 3 1/2
55 lbs. 3 2/3 4
65 lbs. 4 4 2/3
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.78 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current level.
Feed at the weight reduction level to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3100 kcal/kg, 244 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 167reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps my pups healthy I have 2 dogs, Hooch an 11-1/2 year old 120lb mastiff (average lifespan of a mastiff is <10 years) and Blanca an 8 year old 80lb pit bull. Before this I had 3 other dogs, a 12 yo pit bull mix, a 17 yo rat terrier and a setter mix. All these dogs were raised on Nutro Natural Choice.5 years ago Hooch was diagnosed with arthritis, because he's not as active as he was he put on a few pounds, last year his doctor suggested putting him on lite food. Since then he has lost about 15 pounds and now can run around like he was a puppy again.My dogs have all started their lives with us eating Nutro Natural Choice puppy food and progressed to adult or large breed. None of my dogs have ever had any chronic medical conditions and I believe this is due to the quality of food they have grown up with.I am now on a fixed budget and have been considering how to minimize my expenses. It costs $100/mo to feed my 2 remaining dogs and I gave some thought to purchasing a store brand which might reduce dog food expense by $30-60/mo. I decided it was not worth it. I believe their good health is worth the extra expense since in the long run it will save me a considerable amount on extra vet bills.Thank you for helping me keep my babies healthy and living long productive lives. February 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dog loves it This formula really helps maintain my dog's weight February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product does what it says! I am happy to say my Springer Spaniel, Bella is maintaining a healthy weight thanks to Nutro Lite Adult Dog Food! We recently moved to a home in the city with not much of a yard from a home on 10+ acres and this dog food has helped Bella transition into a little less active lifestyle. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great product Since I put my Dog on this product, she is the sexiest Beagl in all naghborhood.Beagl's owners are asking me about my secret to keep my Dog skinny with soft coat and healthy look. The answer is Natural Choice Lite Adult... Even my Dog's Vet. tolled me:"I don't know what you do, but keep doing it, your dog looks just great." February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps our dog healthy At six years old, Sasha suddenly found herself going through one change after another, with no family of her own and in pain from bladder stones.A wonderful rescue group and foster home saw that she got the expensive surgery she needed and she was put on Nutro Lite, to prevent further problems.Sasha Sunshine's been with us for over three years now and thanks to Nutro Lite, she is healthy and thriving and her troubles are behind her. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product I have tried many other weight reduction products with very little results. But with this product have had some success. I hope to see more reduction in weight over the next months. But I would defintely recommend this product February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great for my dogs! Khloe, my red-nose pitbull, loves to eat and this food is great for her. She is on the overweigh side and this food provides the complete and balanced nutrition. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Doggies Lost Weight w/out even trying! We have two black labs that are a year and a half old. We took them to the vet for their yearly check-up. Our girl Sophie was perfect on her weight, but still was not small for being 75 lbs. Then Rocky went on the scale and was over 95 lbs. The vet told us to maybe put him on a low cal diet because as he gets older he will gain more weight and it will be hard to shed the pounds off then. So we went to the store and got 1 bag Lamb and 1 bag Lite Adult dry food. We mix the two and give each dog the mixture twice a day. We went back to the vet about a month later and Rockie is now 85 pounds and Sophie is 69 pounds! Rocky seems to have more energy and looks pretty fit! We made a very small change and they both lost weight without changing the amount of food that we give them! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food and all my dogs love it. I have used Nutro dog food for 20 years. I have used the lite for 10 years for different dogs I have had. From a Yorkie to a Grayhound to an Afghan hound it has done a wonderful job. My Afghan hound just recently left this world at the age of 18 years. I adopted him at 11years old and from the beginning put him on nutro lite. He did wonderful on it and flourished. Thanks for a great product. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Lite keeps my dog happy My dog loves this food and I find that she is maintaining her weight. She has no problems digesting this food and she is completely satsified. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful product I have a slightly overweight, older Schipperke who I have fed Nutro Lite for years. She loves the taste, it keeps her satisfied and her weight in check. She has a beautiful coat, which can be a problem with Schipperke's but no dry skin with the Nurto Lite. Thanks for keeping my dog healthy and satisfied. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best food for my dog I started using this versus regular Nutro when my chocolate lab reached 9 yrs old. It changed his energy level almost immediately. I have fed him Nutro products exclusively since he was a pup. Very impressed with this company and their products. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for weight management and sensitive stomach. My Yorkie has always had a sensitive stomach. But, the reason that we tried Nutro Lite is because of his weight gain after being neutered. He was not being fed more or more often but continued to gain weight. I asked an employee at a local Veterinarian's office and was told to try the Nutro product. After feeding him the Lite can food for a week, we could tell a difference. He had started to lose weight and gain definition to his little body, instead of looking like a log with legs. It did not upset his stomach and now when he feels the urge, it is a much quicker process and the consistency is firmer. We have been very pleased with the Nutro product and would recommend it to others. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Golden wants this before a treat My 6 yr old Golden Retriever (Allison) also known as my 4 legged hairy child, Allison was at 85-90 lbs. After using Natural she maintains 75 lbs. I have tried many different foods over the years with my dogs putting up their noses to them. Allison would prefer the Lite Natural Choice before any treat. In my opinion Natural Choice is the best product out there.Randy February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped get our dog back to a healthy weight! Our dog Max was overweight by about 5 lbs, which doesn't sound like a lot, but he is supposed to be around 20 lbs. After doing some research into quality weight management dog foods, we switched him to Natural Choice Lite and now he is back to a healthy weight of 19 lbs. He loves the food and we love the quality he is getting. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has helped my lab maintain his weight My Lab, Alf, short and stocky, loves this food. I have been able to maintain his weight at 90 to 95 lbs. It's great. Gives him plenty of energy for his hunting trips retreiving ducks, phesant and quail. February 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth every penny We have always fed Nutro Natural Choice to our dog Norman. We first began with Chicken, Rice and Oatmeal as it was for sesitive stomachs. As Norman grew, we discovered that - due to living in a townhome with no yard - he was also "growing". We began spliting his meal with 1/2 Nutro Oatmeal and 1/2 Lite. As time progresses we could see a slight change in his body weight. After a few months, we switch to 100% Lite and 9 years later, Norman is near his normal weight and he looks forward to breakfast and dinner each day (as a matter of fact, he knows how to get us out of bed so we will feed him). We love our Norman and we love Nutro Natural Choice Lite Adult Food.PS - we also enjoy when you place retail coupons in the Sunday paper. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bullies love of Nutro Our olde english bulldogges have been on Nutro Lite for 4 and 5 years respectfully. Although they live to eat, Nutro Lite has allowed them to maintain the perfect weight for their breed. Without reservation we would recommend this product. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product provides great nutrition My now 8 year old border collie loves his Frisbee , but 3 years ago was 20 lbs. overweight with a non-healing shoulder injury. After a successful , intense weight loss program at Cornell Veterinary School, he lost that 20 lbs Cornell recommended Nutro Natural Lite for maintenance . He has kept his weight down, his shoulder is fine, is coat is beautiful, and he is still chasing Frisbees! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything he needs... I tried several different natural foods ( not to be named) for my Bichon Frise. He has a mildly sensitive stomach, and it was a lot of trial and error. A friend mentioned Nutro, so I thought, why not? I was so happy with his taking a liking to the taste, and even happier when his digestive system agreed with it! On top of that, he was turning into my little "Chunky Monkey" from switching from brand to brand. Nutro's Natural Choice Lite is IT for me and my little furry friend, Hank! Thank you Nutro! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost 9 yr old Golden Retriever I switched over to the natural choice lite for my baby Roman. As he has got older he is not as active and also has mild hip dysplasia. This brand is great for him. He lost the little weight he had gained and loves the taste of it. Thank you Nutro for thinking of all dogs! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product helped takes some pounds off my pugs I have 3 pugs. My oldest, Starr, was overweight and suffering from hip dysplasia. I started her on this along with green beans. In about 6 months, I was able to take 3 pounds off her. My other 2 pugs, Matthew and Dallas, maintain their weights with the same regime.Thanks February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is a must. Our 6yr old Lab is the love of our life and Natural Choice Lite helps us keep herhealthy. Our Vet actually recommended the brand and Aunt Baby never leavesan empty dish, so we think she likes it too...! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 2 Chihuahuas I have noticed a gret change in my 2 Chihuahus since I started feeding them this dog food a couple of weeks ago. They are picky and I woas concerned they wouldn't eat it, but when I set the bowl down they both came running over and began eating. They are gradually losing the extra weight I was concerned about. In my opinion, this is an excellent dog food and I will continue to feed it to my 2 dogs as well as to suggest it to other pet owners. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Dog Loves It My dog has been on Nutro for almost 5 years, and he eats every meal with more enthusiasm than any dog I have ever seen. He licks the bowl for at least 5 minutes every time he is finished. In addition, this food has never caused any stomach issues whatsoever. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I find this product to perform as it claims to.. Chelsea , our seven year old yellow lab, has been eating Nutro products since day one. As you claim, Chelsea's "stool quality" is excellent....always a formed stool...NEVER has she had diarrhea. But what truly impresses me is Chelsea's coat. Friends and strangers have commented with surprise at how soft and glossy she is. And her vet has repeatedly commented, "Her coat is just...GLORIOUS!!"Thank you Nutro. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect food for a picky eater My Weimaraner was the pickiest of eaters until I tried a few sample bags of Nutro from my local pet store. She LOVED it! I now feed her a mix of the Lite Adult and the Herring and Sweet Potato (which gives her a beautiful shiny coat) and she cannot wait for me to put her food bowl down at each meal!!! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by She Loves it!! I have a 6 year old Chocolate 93lb Lab. She has had both of her ACL's and Miniscus repaired and replaced, She also has alot sensitivities and allergies. This food is economical and doesn't have all the junk the other foods have and compared to other foods rates very high plus she loves it!! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for dogs with sensitive stomachs I used this brand for my old scotties =the 2 lived for 14 years. They always loved this food. When I got my new 2 scotties I naturally chose your brand of Lite. My vet recommended lite for the scotties sensitive stomachs. They don't like too much fat. It makes them throw up. But the Lite brand has less fat - I don't have any problem with my 2 new scotties. They love the taste. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for the great dog food I was looking for a product that didn't contain certain animal products. When I found this one I wasn't sure how my dogs were going to react since it was "lite" but they love it. The product works great for both my dogs. Thanks February 17, 2011
<<prev 3 45 6 7next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®