For Dogs

Lite Adult Dog FoodLamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula

Less active dogs often carry extra weight. An overweight dog can benefit from a diet that blends high fiber and proper protein levels. NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Adult Formulas can help adult dogs feel full and reduce their overall food intake, which can help with weight loss. Our nutritionally complete, low-calorie formula is made with two primary ingredients: real Australian and New Zealand lamb and whole brown rice, which helps promote easier digestion. Omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins also support healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat. We use premium ingredients and no artificial colors or flavors so it has a natural flavor dogs will enjoy, guaranteed.

Package Sizes Available: 5 lbs., 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Low-Calorie, High-Fiber Formula
    Low-Calorie, High-Fiber Formula
    This low-calorie, high-fiber formula provides all of the nutrients overweight or less active dogs need — without the extra calories.
  • Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Lamb Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Australian and New Zealand lamb is our #1 ingredient. Along with whole brown rice, it provides optimal nutrition and easier digestion.
  • Healthy Skin and Coat
    Healthy Skin and Coat
    Formulated with omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins for healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.
  • Targeted Levels of Fiber and Protein
    Targeted Levels of Fiber and Protein
    The blend of high fiber and the right protein level helps dogs feel full, which can reduce overall food intake to aid in weight loss.
  • Promotes a Healthy Immune System
    Healthy Weight Maintenance
    Our reduced feeding guidelines provide optimal nutrition to help your dog lose weight for a lean body condition.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Ideal Dog Weight Weight Reduction Weight Control
15 lbs. 1 1/3 1 1/2
25 lbs. 2 2 1/4
35 lbs. 2 1/2 3
45 lbs. 3 1/8 3 1/2
55 lbs. 3 2/3 4
65 lbs. 4 4 2/3
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.78 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current level.
Feed at the weight reduction level to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3100 kcal/kg, 244 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 168reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Three Ways Good! My friends are a Yorkie, Pomeranian and Min Pin. All are adult, and I don't get to walk them as I should. They all seem to enjoy the food equally, and Vet visits have been without incident for years. For a special treat, their breakfasts will contain an egg divided amongst them and mixed in with the light, and I rarely have any left behind. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by No problems after all this time. I was given a small bag of Nutro puppy food when I purchased my Greater SwissMountain dog about seven years ago. When she became an adult I switched to the blue bag. Over the years we've aquired five more dogs, and they're all sizes. When a couple became overweight on the regular I switched to the Lite and feed it to all six. These six are healthy, and their coats are shiny, and they have lots of energy. The only complaint I have is the price. Your Frequent Buyer Program does help, and I thank you for it every time I get a free bag. I'm thankful for the apparent quality. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! We have 5 boston terriers (which have been show dogs) but are now couch potatoes. Due to financial situations, we went to a cheaper dog food. After 3 months, their coats were dry and dull, and they were constantly scratching dry skin. It was not worth the difference in money for the outcome. We have now gone back to Nutro and the coat results are outstanding - and no more scratching. We have learned our lesson - we won't be switching again! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Weight Management Food! This has been a great weight management food for our lab. She's been on it for about 2 months now & we can already see a difference in her overall apperance & activity level. Highly recommend. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing results I recommend this food to everyone I know that has a dog that needs to lose weight. My Lab had been on every diet food I could find- with very little results. We even had him down to 3/4 of a cup of food twice a day and he wasn't losing anything.Then I happened to be in Petsmart and there was a Nutro rep there. He told me about Natural Choice Lite and I was skeptical. When he told me I could return it for a full refund if it didn't work, I decided to give it a try- still very skeptical.The first thing I loved was that my 104 pound lab was able to eat enough that he was satisfied and he loved the taste. Then came the results- just amazing!! He is now at a great weight according to my Vet- 84.4 (he is a larger lab body wise). I LOVE this food!If you have a dog with weight issues like I did- give it a shot. This stuff works miracles! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product, my dogs love it I love this food and my dogs do too. It has great ingredients my dogs have lost weight and love the taste. Their coats look great and their stools are smaller which is a big plus! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by dog loves dog does a "food dance" whenever the Nutro lite is brought out March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food has helped my overweigh dog to not gain I started my dogs on Nutro Sensitive Stomach with Oatmeal. As they aged, I switched them to the senior because of the glucosamine/chondroitin. With them now being elderly and not able to exercise like they used to, I have switched them over to the Lite formula. Being able to keep them on Nutro throughout their lifecycle, I never had to worry about stomach upset with switching foods. I can focus on their quality of life and feed them without the worry of them gaining too much weight. For treats, I supplement with the Lite Biscuits. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for weight loss My dog has elbow displasia and needed to lose weight. I used to feed her Nutro large breed kibble, so switching to the lite kibble was not an issue. Her coat remains soft and shiny, she loves the food, and has lost 15 pounds. This food is terrific. March 10, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our dog is no longer obese Our yellow lab Bailey was close to 100 lbs when we adopted her. She was so big that when she laid down on her side, her legs wouldn't even touch the ground. She truly looked uncomfortable with all her fur looking like it was stretched to accommodate her large figure. But we put her on this Lite dog food and started getting her out on more walks than she was use to and WOW what a difference. In less than a year she lost and has kept off 20 unnecessary lbs. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by He loves it1 Dinner time was always a stressful time for us ... we'd put dry food in Spot's bowl and he'd turn his nose up at it. He opted for canned food. I was in a pet store one day and met a customer service person who was giving out samples of Nutro. She asked what we were feeding Spot and explained the benefits of Nutro over what we were then giving him. I bought a small bag of Nutro Natural Choice, and that night Spot ate every morsel out of his bowl. He's been eating Nutro daily ever since then, his checkups have been excellent, and our stress levels went way down. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro is the only brand I have tried many different brands of food, but Nutro products are the only ones that my dog can tolerate. He was not able to keep food down with 15 other products. Nutro Natural Ultra Weight Management is the food we use. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for stomach This product is great for our dog Troy. He just turned 6 years old and has been eating this for years. It agrees with him (sometimes he use to throw up after eating). He is a lab mix rescue dog. He recieves many treats throughout the day that is way we by the weight control. He does get a least two walks a day but the kids love to feed him treats. This is keeping him look and feel good. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is better than all the rest! Kolohe is a beagle and does she ever have the perfect name! Kolohe in Hawaiian means "mischievious" or a rascal. If I let "Kloe" eat as much as she wanted to, she would literally eat until she exploded! Once, she got into my cupboard and ate three whole packages of top ramen, those dry horrible wheat filled noodles. She's even climbed onto our bar height table and devoured our entire dinner of fish tacos. Yikes! I know how bad that is for our Kolohe. It takes days for her to recover from these binges. I don't know what her problem is. I think her body lacks that trigger that tells her she's full. She eats anything and everything! So, when I give her the Lite Nutro, I feel good that she's getting all the nutrition, but none of the excess fatty stuff or bad things that she's allergic to that would make her heavy, sluggish or even sick. I want Kolohe to live a long healthy life and I know that when she stays trim and fit, and eats the right diet, she will do just that! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for keeping weight in balance We have 2 peer bread beagles, Bailey and Max, we all know how beagles are prone to weight problems, but with ours they are in perfect weight! We've had them on this type of dog food since they became adult dogs, and its been working great for the past 3yrs! They always come back from the vet with excellent comments on how they look! Now if only Nutro could only help them from chasing squirrels we would be all set!! just kidding...AWESOME PRODUCT! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this product Natural choice Lite keeps my dog from gaining weight and thus keeps her very healthy! Also, it makes my dogs have less stool--thats a blessing!Thanks Nutro! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Popular food at my house We have three rescued dogs, and for the past 7 years have only fed them this dry food. I remember once my spouse accidentally bought the wrong kind, and our dogs would have none of it. Not only do they love eating it, but I can rest easy knowing that it is a healthy food choice. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love this one! I had tried other natural and upscale dog foods for my Brittany and Basset Hound, but couldn't seem to find the best one they both enjoyed. Most of the foods had too much fat which upset my Brittany and chubbed up my Basset. I decided to try this food and it has been the only food I buy for them for the last 2 years! I add carrots and warm water and they lap it right up! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great We have used this product exclusively for several years with several dogs. It is a great product. keeps their coat shiny. They potty less. keeps weight in check for less active dogs. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great report from the Vet! Bailey just had a wonderful report from the vet. We've been working to have him lose weight and have tried a few different kinds of diet food. He really likes this kind and I can tell it fills him up (otherwise he lays by his bowl asking for more). I highly recommend this for dogs who need help keeping their weight under control without leaving them hungry. Let's face it none of us like to diet, so at least the dogs get to eat something they really like. March 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome results! I have a an 8 yr. old golden mix that needed a dog food with low protein. I was pleased to find that not only has the Nutro Lite formula kept his protein levels in good check, but his weight as well.In addition, I can't say enough in how great his coat looks and feels and with this hairy guy. LOW shedding and no hot spots!I recommend this and all Nutro products to my friends! February 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Money Saver I have 3 labradors and one of my labradors had a new hip put in due to her growing to fast and she was only one at the time. I chose not to put her down as I just had a yellow lab put down after 14 1/2 years. I spent the money on the new hip and was looking for a dog food that had glucosamine, keep the weight down due to the new hip, and a good quality dog food. I save money by buying Natural Choice as it has the supplement in it and I don't have to spend money on dog food and glucosamine. It's great because I never forget to feed my dog, but I sometimes forget to give her the supplement this way I'm covered. Thanks Natural Choice! February 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by lose weight. go lite Two of my dogs were getting a little chunky. They loved their natural choice lamb formula. So I switched to nutro natural choice lite and it has done wonders. As with the other natural choice lite has also seen an improvement in their skin and coat especially for My Boston who is prone to dander. February 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blissful Pound Puppies We are the proud owners of two wonderful pound puppies. Our older dog Sadie spends a lot of time with my disabled husband and doesn't get enough exercise to offset her "chowhound" ways. We started feeding her Nutro Lite Adult food several years ago and it has helped to keep her weight close to what it should be although she has lost her "girlish" figure over the years. Haven't many of us done the same? Our younger dog Cu Rua (hound with the red hair) is our pickyest eater but he loves Nutro Ultra Holistic Superfood. It is the one brand we can count on him to eat. Our kittens eat Natural Choice Indoor Healthy Growth. I guess we are a Nutro family. February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by MY DOG LOVES THIS FOOD We began feeding the Lite dog food to our Luci girl about 1 year ago. It is kind of a long story, but as they say some things work out for the best! She loves it. I use to be able to put her food in her dish in the morning and she would nibble on it throughout the day. Now if I do that she gobbles it up straight away! I have to give her some in the morning and then I give her more @ dinner time. Although she is still a bit on the husky side I can tell she has slimmed down a bit. She is way more energetic! February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by SHE LOVES IT. My Cloe is 12years old. She has always eaten Nutro. She is not over weight, or less active but she was VERY high strung in her younger years. This food is wonderful because of the low protein. She does not need all that high protein. My vet explaines it like giving a child too much sugar.She has done wonderfully on this food. 12 yeasr strong.Would never change. February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product We have 2 pugs that are not able to get exercise outside in the Summer since we live in the South and their bodies can't adjust to excessive heat. By giving them Nutro's Lite dog food, it gives them a great balance of all the nutrients they need without the added fat. They able to maintain a healthy weight all year long. We are pleased ti have this product on the market for our "fur-babies". February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got my football with legs in shape! My poor little Miniature Pinscher was shaped like a football with legs. Our vet recommended Nutro Lite and it shrunk his little waist down to what it should be. Everyone compliments me on how bold his colors are (black/tan) and how great his coat feels. I would not feed him any other dog food. The size is small enough for miniatures and big enough for larger breeds. It makes my little dog slow down to chew instead of inhale. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food! I recently took my 12 year old dog to the vet for her checkup. It wasn't the vet we normally see. She could not believe that my dog is 12 years old and in this great shape. Her healthy weight is do to this wonderful product. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product works! I had 2 yellow labs that lived until they were 15 years old and I have 2 almost 9 year old German Shepards. We feed them all Natural Choice Lite and I firmly believe this dog food contributed to my labs long healthy life and I know my Shepards will live a long life also. February 24, 2011
<<prev 23 4 5... 7next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®