For Dogs

Lite Adult Dog FoodLamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula

Less active dogs often carry extra weight. An overweight dog can benefit from a diet that blends high fiber and proper protein levels. NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Adult Formulas can help adult dogs feel full and reduce their overall food intake, which can help with weight loss. Our nutritionally complete, low-calorie formula is made with two primary ingredients: real Australian and New Zealand lamb and whole brown rice, which helps promote easier digestion. Omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins also support healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat. We use premium ingredients and no artificial colors or flavors so it has a natural flavor dogs will enjoy, guaranteed.

Package Sizes Available: 5 lbs., 15 lbs., 30 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Low-Calorie, High-Fiber Formula
    Low-Calorie, High-Fiber Formula
    This low-calorie, high-fiber formula provides all of the nutrients overweight or less active dogs need — without the extra calories.
  • Real Chicken Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Lamb Is the #1 Ingredient
    Real Australian and New Zealand lamb is our #1 ingredient. Along with whole brown rice, it provides optimal nutrition and easier digestion.
  • Healthy Skin and Coat
    Healthy Skin and Coat
    Formulated with omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins for healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.
  • Targeted Levels of Fiber and Protein
    Targeted Levels of Fiber and Protein
    The blend of high fiber and the right protein level helps dogs feel full, which can reduce overall food intake to aid in weight loss.
  • Promotes a Healthy Immune System
    Healthy Weight Maintenance
    Our reduced feeding guidelines provide optimal nutrition to help your dog lose weight for a lean body condition.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Ideal Dog Weight Weight Reduction Weight Control
15 lbs. 1 1/3 1 1/2
25 lbs. 2 2 1/4
35 lbs. 2 1/2 3
45 lbs. 3 1/8 3 1/2
55 lbs. 3 2/3 4
65 lbs. 4 4 2/3
† Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.78 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Limited Ingredient Diet Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current level.
Feed at the weight reduction level to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3100 kcal/kg, 244 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Lite Adult Lamb & Whole Brown Rice Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 166reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by unbelievably & suspiciously amazing :) i have a 10 yr old american cocker spaniel that has ALWAYS been overweight. When purchasing his food I could never decide which issue was the most important. I would normally purchase Royal Canin hypo allergenic formula and then I switched to the breed specific Royal Canin for cocker spaniels. The pet store that I frequent was closed so I ended up at a competitor. I wanted to get something healthy so I picked up the Nutro Lite. When I purchased it I chuckled to myself that I was going to have a hard time getting Lennox to eat his "diet" food. I could not have been any further from the truth. Normally, Lennox will grudgingly eat once maybe twice a day.Sometimes to make him eat I would pour canned food onto the Royal Canin.Lennox is so determined that He would pick through each individual morsel to make sure that he only ate the ones that were covered in wet food.( <----- thats bananas, right?) Now Lennox's new problem is that he wants to eat ALL of the Nutro ALL of the time. Ive also noticed that his poos are a better consistancy and he has more energy. The dog actually played fetch with me!!! Under normal circumstances unless its in regards to a treat or to go potty I am simply ignored. AMAZING! You all should make food for the hubby and the kiddo and my life would be perfect :) June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great! I purchased this for my old boxer, Margaret Thatcher. She'll be 13 in September and is in great health (thank God :) Her weight has also grown with her age. She was never more than 42-44 lbs, very petite, always has been. But last time we went to get a check up she was 54 lbs!! Not ok. So having fed Nutro her whole life I switched to the Lite. She can eat more, which makes her happy, and it's helped her lose 4 lbs so far, we're still going till we get to 45.She's happy & healthy so momma's definitely happy!If you have a baby that's struggling with weight I'd definitely recommend this food. Margaret can have 1.5-2 cups for each meal IF SHE WANTED IT. I always start w/ one cup, which was her usual amount before diet food. If she WANTS more then I can feel free to give her more, sometimes she does sometimes she doesn't, depends on how sleepy she is :)Good luck! May 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by wow! what a great product! We own 2 labs and anyone who owns one knows it takes an effort to keep their weight in check. they love to eat! The 10 year old started out in the beginning of Sept at 92 lbs. In 10 weeks she is at 75 lbs. The only thing I changed was switching to Nutro lite. Her coat is just beautiful! The amount I give her is the same as before. My 5 year old dropped 7 lbs, from 56 to 49 lbs. No shedding either! When we have friends drop over the comment we hear most is how beautiful their coats are! November 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product i have 2 rottweilers and got it for the 10 year old.But, the 3 year old loves it just as much . It also helps with clean up in the yard if used properly and not mixed with table scraps . all natural provides low odor and easy clean up . i highly recommend to all large breeds ! October 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this product!!! My dog needed to lose some weight due to hip problems. He is a picky eater so I was concerned that he wouldn't take to another food easily, especially one designed for weight loss. But he loves it and lost the needed weight. He looks awesome and is so much more active than he has been in a long time. I still have him on this for weight management. I "supplement" the dry food with a very small amount of the Lite canned food and he loves that too! September 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The quality makes a difference I have always fed my 100 lbs of love a quality food. I tried another quality weight loss food for a while. But, he didn't really like it and would eat my skinny dog's food instead. He really likes this food and I saw a difference in his energy level almost immediately. He is 8 and plays like a puppy again. I think he just feels better. September 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stuff We love this food because of it's high fiber content and the 14 year old mut loves it.we also have a half dane and lab that weighs 130lbs. and he needs the fiber.he is 4 years old and still growing.we get the 35lb. bags all the time. September 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Dogs that need to lose weight I was looking in PetSmart for a 'good' dog food for my tall (through back) Jack Russell, Ranger. A Represenative from Natural Choice was in the store and we got to talking. She told me that Natural Choice had 'all' natural ingredients in it. I definately did not want anything with gluten in it. I read the label and decided to try it. She told me that if Ranger didn't like or eat it to bring it back, I would be refunded. Really? Yep! That was a couple years ago. Then this past winter I decided to try him on another brand that was also 'all natural', and it is. Only he picked up weight, too much. So I switched him back to the Lite Natural Choice, 30 lb. bag, and bought a small bag of the other, mixed it up real good. He has lost his weight, loves his dog food and looking great. So I will keep him on Natural Choice Lite from now on. I don't even feed my horses Commercial horse feed because of the 'junk' they put into it. I am a very particular person when it comes to the welfare of my animal family. I also liked it because it has beet pulp in it and that is good for him. September 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product-Unlike Any Other! My vet advised me that my Border Collie needed to lose weight to help with her arthritis and joint problems last fall. It has been almost ten months now since I started using the Lite food from Nutro and my dog has lost fifteen pounds! She is at her goal that the vet wanted her to be. I love this food for my dog and it also seems like she has less digestion problems and gas with it also. And most of all- she LOVES it! Thank you Nutro for helping me achieve my dog's weight goal and optimal health! August 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food My dog Reese Cup is a beagle and very overweight and has joint problems even before being over weight. I put her on Nutro Weight Management for under-active dogs and the weight loss has been remarkable! She is running around and getting up with no problem where before it was difficult for her . It is worth the price. April 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by best product ever This product works great and my dogs could not be healthier, March 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the ONLY food I will give my Mario! I used to use Eukanuba when my baby was younger but as he grew older and plumper I was concerned about his weight affecting his physical health for example, his hip dyspalsia and right knee which had surgery. The employee at the pet store explained to me the ingredients and benefits of Nutro Lite and I switched to the dry formula without any problems in fact his skin, coat and health are excellent. I do use the Nutro Lite can (one a day) as a treat with his dry food. I am very happy with this Nutro Lite food and so is my Mario:) March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keep 'em lean I've used Nutro Lite for my dogs for the past 6 years and they've all stayed at a healthy lean weight. I also use Nutro canned and just a little bit will satisfy them. March 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my dog; Love Natural Choice We've been using Natural Choice products for our Chocolate Lab Brandy since we brought her home from a breeder at 8 weeks old. The Natural Choice brand was selected after visiting a big box pet supply store and spoke to a product representative who happen to be promoting the Nutro product that day. We were so impressed with the knowledge the rep shared with us in comparing differences between dog foods that we decided to give Nutro a try. We can not be happier with our selection and will always use Natural Choice for our dog. Brandy is now 9 years old and looks marvelous, we get continous praise on how shiny and soft her coat is. People can't beleive she is 9 especially after seeing her play with younger dogs. We started her on the Lite Adult Dog Food 4 years ago and it's been amazing. Thank you Natural Choice for providing a top quality product for pet lovers! March 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helps keep weight down My vet recommended the Life Nutro food for my dog who is not so active at age 10. Her coat looks beautiful and she is always excited when it's time to eat. March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for underactive large breed dogs! I rescued Gracie, my 5 year old Great Pyrenees 3 year ago and she was extremely underweight. It took us abotu 1.5 years to get her from 75lbs to 90lbs. After she hit 90lbs she continued to gain about 5lbs every six months (each vet visit) The vet warned me that if she didn't stop gaining, it could become an issue. We don't over feed her, or give her too many scraps and could not figure out why she was gaining weight! I cut her food down by 1 cup and still she gained weight. After a year of no success, I finally switched her to the underactive formula/biscuits and for the past year she has not gained any weight! She has capped out at 100lbs exactly. This is a perfect weight for herOverall, I am very happy because I can feed her 3 cups/day and have her feel full and not gain weight! She also is sensitive to wheat so it's great that it doesn't contain it! March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It does what it promises We rescued a very over-weight Chihuahua that had been dumped about 2 1/2 years ago. She weighed 12 pounds when we took her to her first vet visit. We have only fed our little Tootsie Natural Choice Adult Lite. She now weighs 7 1/2 pounds and acts like she's a pup eventhough we're guessing she's about 14 years old. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Dog Food Our dog Sandy is a Springer Spaniel and she has been on this food ever sincewe got her. She is a little overweight and now that she's on this lite food she haslost some weight. She knows when I bring the bag in the house and she can't wait to get fed. I think it's a real healthy dog food. March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 4 dogs are thriving. I have 4 wonderful dogs, all different breeds sharing something in common. They all have a penchant for adding a few extra pounds. So when I went looking for a lite dog food I found Natural Choice. The ingredients were wholesome with no by-products & I was sold. My dogs have the shiniest coats and are in excellent health. My Husky Mix is 14&1/2 years old, my Min Pin is 11, my Poodle is 12 and my 4 lb, finicky eating Yorkie is also 12. She loves her Natural Choice with it's small bites. They all lost the additional weight and have maintained it for years. i would definitely recommend Natural Choice Lite and I do. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Our 8 year old lab had major knee repair last summer and I hunted for a good food for him and found this Nutro Natural lite. It has everything he needs and loves, and he maintained his trim figure for the 4 months it took to get his activity level back to normal, and I have kept him on the diet because he is thriving. I even add green beans to it at the evening meal. He has the energy of a pup and is very happy. Thank you! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tummy has timeclock We had 2 rescue dogs, both needed to lose a little weight. The older one (Bridgette) lost weight faster that the younger one (Cody). We put them on Nutro Light and they loved it. Sadly, Bridgette got ill and was unable to recover. Cody is getting up in years, but occasionaly she can get frisky. Her tummy has a timeclock, so she never lets me forget to feed her. Am thinking of trying the Nutro Senior for her, since she does have the habit of sleeping most of the time (unless she sees a squirrel in the backyard, then she is a pup again). She has been a savior for my husband when he was ill, she never left his side and knows even now when he is having a bad day. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dog, Koda is proof! We have fed 7-year Koda Nutro products since the day we brought him home as a 6 week old puppy from the PSPCA. He is full iof vitality, loves to run, and has a soft shiny coat. He eats it right up and we know he's happy! Thanks Nutro. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It works. Really, it does. My corgi, just over a year ago, was dangerously overweight. After switching to the Lite version of Natural Choice and getting him on a moderate exercise regimen, in the last twelve months, he has lost 16 pounds in a year (almost 25% of his previous weight), and that's even with throwing him the occasional treat..Now he's back down into an acceptable weight range for his breed and size, and he's still healthy, energetic, and looks great. The product does what it says it does. I'm glad I switched and recommend this product for those with dogs that have weight challenges, even squatty bodies like corgis. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food has been a life saver for Rocco! We got Rocco (chocolate lab) as a four month old puppy from a back yard breeder. This is not something I normally do, but we felt he needed to be saved from his current living conditions. The whole family fell in love with his personality. After having him for 2 months, I noticed he was "bunny hopping" when he ran and seemed sore after playing. My vet took x-rays and we were told he had been born with end stage hip dysplasia. Estimates for hip replacement surgery were through the roof and with a family to feed, we had to decide what was best for us and Rocco. We ended up having the femoral head removed from each of his hips in order to give him a happy pain-free life. Although the surgery can shorten his life span, we could have some good years with our beloved pet having a fantastic quality of life. Because this type of disporder can put strain on his other joints (knees, shoulders, etc. ) we knew it was important to keep him fit and trim and to give him a diet with a joint health formula included. We have ALWAYS fed Nutro products to our pets. Ever since my Nutro rep came into the Petco store I was managing and trained us on the product, and then ate some himself, we've believed in this product. (That was back in the 90's!) Feeding Rocco Nutro Lite Adult dog food keeps him at a healthy weight and helps his joints so he can continue being the loveable goof that he is for a long time to come. I would reccommend Nutro products to anyone! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Lite Formila My two golden retrievers are both 6 years old. We adopted one from a rescue when she was 2 months old and started her on Nutro Natural Choice Lamb and Rice puppy formula. When she was a year old, we graduated to the Nutro Natural Choice Lamb and Rice Adult formula. 1 1/2 years later, we adopted our second golden retriever, who was the same age as the first. We had both dogs eating the same formula. . However, on a routine check up, the vet informed us they were both overweight and at risk of developing hip dysplasia in later life. (of course, we can't blame that on the food, but the ice cream treats we sometimes give them!) We immediately switched them to Nutro Lite formula and at our next check up, both of them had dropped 10 pounds! That was 2 years ago and they have maintained a healthy weight ever since. The vet was very happy and the dogs have never suffered any type of GI upset or problems when switching from one Nutro product to another. I am sold on Nutro and have been for the past 6 years! I believe my girls will live a long and healthy life eating Nutro products! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Golden Weight loss My Golden was heading toward 85 pounds and the vet said that was too much for her frame. We put her on this food and she loved it and lost 15 pounds in a few months. it was much easier than I thought it would be. Thanks, Nutro March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great For Weight Management After Pearl started to gain weight we looked for a product that would help. After trying a couple of other foods only to find that Pearl would turn her nose up and not eat we found Nutro Lite at our local pet shop. The fact that Nutro has natural ingredients is very important to us because Pearl is a part of the family and we only want the best for her. We found that Nutro was something Pearl liked, so, it did make us wonder what those other foods actually had in them. Pearl is a pug and she does love to eat, so to snub a food does make one wonder. Needless to say, we haven't bought anything but Nutro since. Not only does Pearl love her food, but her coat looks great and we are constantly being asked what we do to make it look that way. This food definitely deserves a "5 Paw" rating. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by AND MY DOG IS ACTIVE Hi I love this food for my dog! Believe it or not my dog is very high energy - but hates walking on the leash! Let me note he was born completely blind and was also attacked 2ce once while on leash. He runs laps in the house but it just isn't enough for him - so I switched from the High Energy to the Lite and its amazing it keeps him at a perfect weight of 77 (he's a white german shepherd) so I want to tell you that with everything he has been through with the tainted dog food, dog attacks and his $14,000 in medical care - he is quite healthy!!! I attibute it to a healthy diet! Thank you! Karen & Friday! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Three Ways Good! My friends are a Yorkie, Pomeranian and Min Pin. All are adult, and I don't get to walk them as I should. They all seem to enjoy the food equally, and Vet visits have been without incident for years. For a special treat, their breakfasts will contain an egg divided amongst them and mixed in with the light, and I rarely have any left behind. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by No problems after all this time. I was given a small bag of Nutro puppy food when I purchased my Greater SwissMountain dog about seven years ago. When she became an adult I switched to the blue bag. Over the years we've aquired five more dogs, and they're all sizes. When a couple became overweight on the regular I switched to the Lite and feed it to all six. These six are healthy, and their coats are shiny, and they have lots of energy. The only complaint I have is the price. Your Frequent Buyer Program does help, and I thank you for it every time I get a free bag. I'm thankful for the apparent quality. March 11, 2011
<<prev2 3 4 5... 7next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®