For Dogs

Grain Free Adult Dog FoodVenison Meal & Potato Formula

Help reduce the likelihood of aggravating food sensitivity in your dog with this grain free dog food. Some proteins or grains, such as corn or wheat, can cause food sensitivity, skin allergies or dry, itchy skin. NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula contains no corn or wheat, uses 0% grain and has a limited number of ingredients. It features premium New Zealand venison as its single, novel animal protein, and is fortified with beneficial antioxidants to help support your dog’s natural immune system. Plus, you’ll see a real difference in your dog’s appearance. It’s the only grain free brand that guarantees healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.

Package Sizes Available: 4 lbs., 14 lbs., 24 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Unique Animal Protein to Minimize Food Sensitivity
    0% Grain
    Research shows that grains can aggravate food sensitivity in some dogs. NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Dog Food provides a balanced diet with no wheat, rice, corn or other grains.
  • Deer animal
    Venison Is the Single Animal Protein
    To minimize digestive issues, our formula is made with only one source of animal protein. Pasture-fed, New Zealand venison provides the protein needed for strength and overall good health.
  • Limited Ingredient Diet
    Limited Ingredient Diet
    This nutritionally complete formula helps promote optimal digestive health without extra ingredients for dogs with sensitive stomachs.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins guarantee healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.

** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Kibble Image
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on an ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location..
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
15 lbs. 1 1/4 1 1/3 1 1/2
25 lbs. 1 2/3 2 2 1/4
35 lbs. 2 1/4 2 1/2 2 3/4
45 lbs. 2 2/3 3 3 1/2
55 lbs. 3 3 1/2 4
65 lbs. 3 1/2 4 4 1/2
†Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.53 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase feeding amount by one activity level to achieve ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level to achieve ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3466 kcal/kg, 347 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 143reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Boys Love this Food We have two Australian Cattle Dogs. They are super high energy dogs and need a good diet to perform well. Since switching them to the Grain Free Venison, their energy is higher, their coats and skin are better and their poo is so much easier to clean up. I would highly recommend this to any dog owner. It's a bit more expensive, but like they say, you get what you pay for. May 20, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by No more skin problems! My Pit bull mix was constantly licking under his legs causing his skin to be raw. We found out he might be allergic to grain or chicken so we switched to the grain free venison formula. After about 3 weeks he no longer licks and is healing quite nice. Good product – even if it is a bit pricy. May 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Family Dog, Great Food. We recently got a new pet from Petland and he started on the Nutro puppy food. But Since we have a 10 year old dog we have switched to the Adult food. Easy switch and good food for the both of them. May 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like that it improves the skin and coat My dog really likes the Grain Free dog food . He adjusted to the switch very easily. May 16, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's the only one I found that works. I have been trying food after food as my Great Dane/Mastiff mix puppy is allergic to everything. He has been doing really well on this food. The amount of scratching and food chewing has decreased significantly. My only complaint is the expense but as long as I can find coupons, it works out alright. May 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by it's great my dog loves it! I had tried other brands for my cocker spaniel, and when i gave him venison mean and potato he loved it. He can already smell it even before I serve him and his tail cant stop moving! definately recommend! May 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Dog Foood! I have 2 pittbull pups! The vet asked what kind of food do we have them on, because they both have great skin and nice coats. So we told her and she said she is going to recommond this to all her pets parents. May 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yay! Grain-free is the way to go! Thank you Natural Choice! May 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great MY dog loves it. He really likes the sweet potato brand. He eats it for dinner. I tried to get coupons because the food is more expensive. Please send me coupons to my e-mail address. May 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yay Grain Free! When my dog was first diagnosed with grain allergies there weren't any other options besides prescription food from the vet (about $55 for 15lbs)! That was 3 years ago. I have found while I find the smell rather distasteful, my dog salivates waiting for this food! May 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product My wheaten terrier is allergic to wheat and is also going thru chemotherapy for lymphoma and this new product has worked GREAT for her. I have 5 other dogs that I switched to it as well after learning about food allergies. All love it and also their wastes are reduced and much easier to keep yard picked up. Thank you! May 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! My dogs absolutely love this food! I've noticed that they've had a lot more energy lately as well! May 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dog food My dog loves it, and has not thrown up since he started eating. He has more energy too. Good product all around. May 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two Paws up After reading a bad review about the food I had been feeding my dogs I went in search of a better product. I tried several brands with some sucess, and a few that some that got 2 paws down, I tried the Nutro Grain Free with Venison. Two paws way up! Two dogs satisfied now thats a first. My mostly black dog is now a shiny black dog. I am happy with the quality of the food and that it is available at Petsmart so I don't have to search to find it, May 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I have used Nutro Natural products for approximately 10 years now for both my cats and dogs. I did try something different recently (Blue) but was not satisfied so I went back to Nutro. My dogs do not have any food issues but I thought I would try the Grain Free Venison anyway. They love it and eat it like its their last meal. I have noticed a decrease in gas and their stool has less odor as well. This will be my new product for the dogs. The only problem I have with it is that it NEEDS TO COME IN A BIGGER BAG, 24 lbs just isn't enough. Thanks Nutro for the great products you continue to have. April 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! My Dog has a very sensative stomach...and nutro is the only product that does not make his stomach hurt! April 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by your dogs will love it Before starting my dog on the no grain food she was always laying around and not interested in eating playing etc. now she's back to her self playing excited when her food goes down for her and you can tell in not only her play fullness but as well as her coat and bowels. i give this a five star rating. April 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stuff!! I have a 2yr old Siberian Husky. She has been a fussy eater since Ive had her@7wks old. She has been ill for 4 mons w a double whammy of tick disease/ Ehrlicia and Rocky Mnt Spotted Fever. Her already picky eating habits only go worse. All meds she's taking require a full stomach. Hard to do with a fussy eater. I recieved a coupon for the new grain-free Nutro and bought just a 4lb bag to try. Its been 7 days today and there is enough for 1 more feeding!! Its amazing I have never seen her eat like that! Ive already noticed more sheen in her coat and less shedding!! Already in 1 wk! Its amazing! Off to purchase a larger bag today. She needs all the nutrional support as she can get while she's trying to get over her illness. I have already HIGHLY recommended this food to other pet owners I know. I will never feed her anything else again. BTW it was the potato and vension grain free. April 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing This food is amazing. My dog is feeling so great on this and I can not believe how much her stool has changed. Her stools are smaller and firmer. She loves the food. April 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Dog Food Our sweet 10 year old lab has developed allergies. After a two week dose of antibiotics for allergy related yeast - we also had to change her diet. No more products with grain, wheat ,beef, chicken or salmon. Left overs are out, as well as gut bones, biscuits etc. After trying 3 specialty and 1 prescription dog food we finally found NUTRO. Lucky for us she ate it while the others were tried and then avoided. We have been feeding Lucy NUTRO venison for the past two weeks and are very pleased. She has little to no scratching or licking of paws. Thanks for the online / Petsmart coupons we appreciate it !!! April 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Limited Diet Food I have been feeding my 5 dogs (including 3 Boxer girls) another limited, healthy choice in dog food from a specialty holistic dog store but this week when I ran out of food and needed food now for the next morning and the specialty store was closed because of it's limited hours (12-6), I was left with making a run to Petsmart. I was surprised when I walked in to find a grain-free dog food and purchased a small bag to get us through to the weekend when I could go get the other food. After feeding the brood and in particular my finnicky 3 yr. old Boxer, I found that she was devouring the food and would eat right away. The other food she would sometimes only eat once a day!Saturday came and in we went to Petsmart to purchase more and found a Nutro rep there that answered all our questions plus better yet, gave us a coupon to help with the already sale price! The only thing that I wish is that the food came in a larger bag (35 lb. or larger) but we will be continuing to purchase because feeding a limited/grain-free ingredient food is very important to us and our babies. March 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BULLET PROOF FOOD! I was a bit skeptical at first about the palatability for my finicky dogs, but once I poured it in the bowl, they both absolutely LOVED it. Now, I'm a Nutro fan always! This food is bullet proof from all angles--shedding, taste, clean up, and no fillers. I'm going to try the lamb AND turkey grain free in the future to see if they are just as good! Keep up the great work & products, Nutro. March 16, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by My dogs will not eat this food. I have five special needs dogs, two of whom have severe allergies. I had been purchasing another brand of limited ingredient dog food when I saw the Nutro Adult Natural Venison Meal & Potato Formula. I was very enthusiastic about the advertised guarantee for the Nutro brand. None of my dogs have experienced allergies to food (the two who have allergies suffer from allergens in the environment), but I thought it would be prudent to feed them a limited diet so as not to add to their medical problems.My dogs will not eat this food. It is absolutely amazing since they have never been picky eaters! I have even tried mixing in bits of boiled chicken and they still walk away. Only after having missed several feedings will they even attempt to eat it. and then they chew with their mouths open as if it tastes awful. The other thing that is peculiar is it is not one or two of my dogs, but all five of them turn up their noses.My first instinct was that something was wrong with this particular bag of food and, to be fair, it is only one bag of food, but financially I cannot afford to take a chance on another bag. All five of my dogs are large and I have wasted a lot of this dog food because of their aversion to it.I have since tried another brand which they seem to like - at least they are eating it. Thank you for allowing me to express my opinion. March 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE PRODUCT HAS MANY NUTRIONAL VALUES WHEN CHOOSING FOOD FOR A "RESCUED" ANIMAL, IT CAN SOMETIMES BE DIFFICULT; SINCE YOU DO NOT KNOW THE ANIMALS LIKES/DISLIKES. WITH CASSIE, OUR AUSSIE / BORDER IT WAS NOT A MATTER OF TASTE AT ALL, SHE WOULD EAT ANYTHING. IT WAS THE NUTRIONAL VALUE, PLUS WE WANTED IMPROVEMENT IN THE SKIN AND COAT AREA. SHE HAD BEEN ON THE RUN FOR SOMETIME AND WAS A MESS WHEN WE RESCUED HER. SHE BECAME A MUCH STRONGER DOG IN A SHORT AMOUNT OF TIME. HER COAT WAS ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL AND SHOWN LIKE NEW MONEY. SHE WAS SUCH A SMART AND LOVEABLE DOG IT WAS A SHAME TO HAVE TO GIVE HER UP. BUT SHE WAS MUCH TOO LARGE FOR ME, THE FOOD MADE HER STRONGER IN A VERY SHORT TIME AND I COULD NOT HAVE KEPT UP,. SHE HAS A WONDERFUL SUMMER HOME AND A MARVELOUS HOME IN WINTER. THE PEOPLE WHO ADOPTED HER ARE ALSO AGILITY TRAINERS AND HAVE ANIMALS TO HERD. SHE IS IN SEVENTH HEAVEN!!! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anxious to try I have a male westie that has food intolerance and has been on Hills ID for quite a while. I am anxious to try him on this food as my other dogs I have had on Ultra Nutro for a long time and have done great on this wonderful food. Will get my westie this food today to try!! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by no more throwing up his meals Fred eats down his food as soon as I put it in his bowl. My son has resently moved to Idaho from Fla and was too lazy to go to the pet store. He bought a leading store brand dog food, now he regrets it. Yes Fred has an upset stomach. Also the food keeps him from smelling really bad and less time letting him out to go to the bathroom. Thanks to that great rep. at the pet store that Sat. morning that helped buy Fred the right food! Yes Justin will be going to the pet store to buy the right food once again for poor old Fred March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is gooood! I have always used our Nutra natural dog food as I want the best for my dog and she likes it. I tried one bag of Blue but I could tell she liked yours better. Now I have made sure there was always food now for here. She is good and never gains weight or wolfs down her food. And then I tried "no Grain". She really loves this stuff! I am going to have to watch her and make sure there is no weight gain! Otherwise, I will keep giving her as much as she wants because I know it is good for here. Thank you for a great product. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent addition to the NC Line We have two Beagles. Ususally this breed can eat anything and I mean anything and it not affect them. They are both rescuses with no info. One has the most delicate digestive system I have ever seen. We had finally hit on Venison and Rice with NC and were elated, however, she still was having difficulty keeping weight on as we have finally determined she has gluten intolerance..so we have given the new grain free venison a chance and she seems to be tolerating it very well. We have been a Nutro family for well over 20 years and love the products; we also have two cats who are MAX cats. They were feral dumped at 8 wks in our backyard by their mom and through a lot of patience have become our family cats. One almost died after losing her tail in an undetermined accident after she had disappeared for a month, but she knew to get herself home and although the vet didn't give her good odds with good food and TLC she survived. Thank you for putting the needs of pets first! March 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by NO MORE TUMMY ACHES!! Annie LOVES her new venison food! She doesn't get an "icky" stomach and she eats it all! Thank you Nutro - we never knew that venison would be easier to digest for our daughter, Black Lab named Annie Calsetta. February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solved my Westie's skin issues. I have a nine year old White West Highland Terrier named named Lady Hudson. She has had skin issues and allergies most of her life. We have tried various kinds of dog food. Finding a grain free dog food has been such a blessing to our little Westie. Her skin has improved, her coat is now thick, and the constant itching has almost disappeared. We are so happy to find something that works for our dog, has a great price point and is available in most pet centers. Thank you for continuing the research and constantly improving the world for our pets! February 23, 2011
<<prev 2 3 45 6next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®