For Dogs

Grain Free Adult Dog FoodVenison Meal & Potato Formula

Help reduce the likelihood of aggravating food sensitivity in your dog with this grain free dog food. Some proteins or grains, such as corn or wheat, can cause food sensitivity, skin allergies or dry, itchy skin. NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula contains no corn or wheat, uses 0% grain and has a limited number of ingredients. It features premium New Zealand venison as its single, novel animal protein, and is fortified with beneficial antioxidants to help support your dog’s natural immune system. Plus, you’ll see a real difference in your dog’s appearance. It’s the only grain free brand that guarantees healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.

Package Sizes Available: 4 lbs., 14 lbs., 24 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Unique Animal Protein to Minimize Food Sensitivity
    0% Grain
    Research shows that grains can aggravate food sensitivity in some dogs. NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Dog Food provides a balanced diet with no wheat, rice, corn or other grains.
  • Deer animal
    Venison Is the Single Animal Protein
    To minimize digestive issues, our formula is made with only one source of animal protein. Pasture-fed, New Zealand venison provides the protein needed for strength and overall good health.
  • Limited Ingredient Diet
    Limited Ingredient Diet
    This nutritionally complete formula helps promote optimal digestive health without extra ingredients for dogs with sensitive stomachs.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins guarantee healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.

** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Kibble Image
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on an ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location..
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
15 lbs. 1 1/4 1 1/3 1 1/2
25 lbs. 1 2/3 2 2 1/4
35 lbs. 2 1/4 2 1/2 2 3/4
45 lbs. 2 2/3 3 3 1/2
55 lbs. 3 3 1/2 4
65 lbs. 3 1/2 4 4 1/2
†Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.53 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase feeding amount by one activity level to achieve ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level to achieve ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3466 kcal/kg, 347 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 133reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Dog Loves It! Normally, we have a hard time getting our designer dog (lab/beagle mix from the local shelter) to eat anything. Usually we mix it with wet food and still she waits until one of the other dogs tries to sniff at it before she'll eat. But this, she's waiting "patiently" for as we pour it into her bowl. Most days she doesn't even have to take her "gotta run a lap around the yard before I eat" lap before she's lapping it up. I've been impressed that our LBD (little black dog as we affectionately call her) likes it so much. We've tried just about everything out there, from the cheap stuff to the most expensive products. Nutro Grain Free is a winner with "The Soph"! June 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for dogs with allergies I got a bloodhound from the pound who had a terrible skin infection due to food allergies. Since being on the Nutro dog food, he has become a handsome mahogony shiny coated dog and doesn't spend all day itching anymore. June 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog is healthier. Great for the dog and now my sheperd runs and plays more. June 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome kibble! We have tried every high end dry food on the market. We have always ended up mixing it with some type of wet food until now! The venison flavor- they were not thrilled about, but the turkey gets gobbled right up! Nothing on it just served dry. I'm so happy you produced a tasty grain free meal for our Sheltie pups!Thanks so much:-)Going to buy a huge bag now! June 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Itchy skin gone!!! I bought this food for my French Bulldog who developed itchy feet and belly. I tried different grain free foods, but this one is the WINNER!!!! After only two months of feeding the grain free, he no longer chews his feet and his skin is "normal". I have also started my French Mastiff puppy on this as well. They both love it. Hopefuly Nutro will expand this line to include puppy/ Lg. breed puppy food. June 16, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pricey, but good My golden has a fussy tummy and appetite. This changed when we switched to grain free. Good thing we love her because this food is expensive! June 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Food My Shepard mix always licked her legs all of the time. I just found out that it could be a sign of a grain allergy. Well she stopped licking her legs after being on Natural Choice Grain Free for only three days. She absolutely loves it too. June 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great food Dogs love it but I cant print coupon This is crazy June 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT FOOD Both of our dogs love this food! The pieces are just the right size for our big and little dog, and feeding them this food has greatly decreased their skin issues. June 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by dogs luv My two dogs just luv this food. just the right size dog food for all breads June 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love the new formula My Great Dane and Standard Poolde both have tried every brand of food out there. This is the one that they like the best. Seems you left GREAT DANES out of the breed list. oops!!!! June 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by our dog loves his food! since we change his food to this prudact our dog loves his food and cant wait for his next meal June 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by worked better then sensative stomach formula foods My dog Duke started to have stomach issues with his normal food that he had eaten for over 5 yrs. The vet. said that we would have to figure out what ingredient(s) were giving him the problems, and it may take a while to find the right food for him. I tried several different brands that made sensative stomach food, and non worked well. I finally came across Natural Choice Grain Free dog food, and figured it was worth a try. My dog LOVES it and has not had ANY stomach problems. He actually enjoyes eating again, and that makes me very happy. May 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for dogs with allergies! We are proud to share our home with our 3 rescue dogs. In 2009 we adopted Penny Lane a retriever/chow chow mix. At the time she was very healthy and showed no signs of allergies. This past winter she developed severe food allergies which caused her to scratch her snout constantly. Medicines and ointments didn't work so, we looked to make a food change. Walking through our pet food store we came upon Nutro Grain Free products. Within 30 days the constant scratching had subsided and she is a happy healthy girl. Nutro saved her from a life of allergy medicine. Thank you Nutro! May 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our savior We have a 1 year old husky lab mix she is the most wonderful dog but her gas was so terrible we could not stand her. We had tried four other foods and nothing worked, within 24 hours on this food her gas was gone. We truly could not live without it. May 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous -cured my dog's diarrhea Other "sensitive stomach" brands, which contain oatmeal, made him worse. Vet was recommending colonoscopies, but I believed my dog's problem was diet-related.. He is an older dog and can't handle grains anymore - including oatmeal, which every other company puts in its "sensitive stomach" products. May 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helps allergies My dog SAM has bad skin allergies but ever since we put him on your grain-free formula has has done fantastic! He doesn't itch like before and he just looks great! We are so happy with the results we have started our other dog Coco on the same grain-free formula. Thanks for such a great product!!! May 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank Goodness! Thank goodness for this grain-free food! I have a Shi-tzu who has a problem with his skin. He constantly chews and licks his legs, paws, and leg pits to where they were discolored. Our groomer and our vet suggested that this was a food allergy to another well-known name brand food. We switched to Nutro lamb and rice and saw a noticable difference but still occurred often. We are now feeding Tucker the Venison Grain-free diet and he loves it! We also love the fact that his skin condition, caused by food allergy, is improving so much! Thank you for making such a food for our little boy! May 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by we love natural choice! Two of our pitbulls have skin allergies exacerbated by food. We are so glad to come across the Grain Free line of food with Natural Choice! May 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for small breed skin allergies! We have a miniature poodle who started having skin allergy issues around his first birthday. He got leathery allergy related patches on his face from them. We finally realized it was food related and started changing his diet. We tried a variety of brands - and flavors within those - for over a year and a half before finding this at an out of town pet store.Our poodle is allergic to all corn products, rice products, and certain wheat products. They make him itch and have pretty bad dandruff, even with small doses. Even when we found food that didn't contain those, there were issues to be found. Either our dog didn't like the flavor, or the protein content was too high for a small breed to eat on a regular basis.Finding Nutro Natural Choice was a blessing! His coat and skin are in much better shape. He absolutely LOVES the flavor! And for the price, it's hard to beat. The itching he used to do two or three times an hour, even when asleep, has been reduced to only five or six times in a 24 hour period.We still drive out of town to get his food, but we get multiple bags each trip. We couldn't be happier, and neither could our dog! May 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Boys Love this Food We have two Australian Cattle Dogs. They are super high energy dogs and need a good diet to perform well. Since switching them to the Grain Free Venison, their energy is higher, their coats and skin are better and their poo is so much easier to clean up. I would highly recommend this to any dog owner. It's a bit more expensive, but like they say, you get what you pay for. May 20, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by No more skin problems! My Pit bull mix was constantly licking under his legs causing his skin to be raw. We found out he might be allergic to grain or chicken so we switched to the grain free venison formula. After about 3 weeks he no longer licks and is healing quite nice. Good product – even if it is a bit pricy. May 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Family Dog, Great Food. We recently got a new pet from Petland and he started on the Nutro puppy food. But Since we have a 10 year old dog we have switched to the Adult food. Easy switch and good food for the both of them. May 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like that it improves the skin and coat My dog really likes the Grain Free dog food . He adjusted to the switch very easily. May 16, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's the only one I found that works. I have been trying food after food as my Great Dane/Mastiff mix puppy is allergic to everything. He has been doing really well on this food. The amount of scratching and food chewing has decreased significantly. My only complaint is the expense but as long as I can find coupons, it works out alright. May 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by it's great my dog loves it! I had tried other brands for my cocker spaniel, and when i gave him venison mean and potato he loved it. He can already smell it even before I serve him and his tail cant stop moving! definately recommend! May 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Dog Foood! I have 2 pittbull pups! The vet asked what kind of food do we have them on, because they both have great skin and nice coats. So we told her and she said she is going to recommond this to all her pets parents. May 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yay! Grain-free is the way to go! Thank you Natural Choice! May 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great MY dog loves it. He really likes the sweet potato brand. He eats it for dinner. I tried to get coupons because the food is more expensive. Please send me coupons to my e-mail address. May 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yay Grain Free! When my dog was first diagnosed with grain allergies there weren't any other options besides prescription food from the vet (about $55 for 15lbs)! That was 3 years ago. I have found while I find the smell rather distasteful, my dog salivates waiting for this food! May 3, 2011
<<prev 2 34 5 6next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®