For Dogs

Grain Free Adult Dog FoodVenison Meal & Potato Formula

Help reduce the likelihood of aggravating food sensitivity in your dog with this grain free dog food. Some proteins or grains, such as corn or wheat, can cause food sensitivity, skin allergies or dry, itchy skin. NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula contains no corn or wheat, uses 0% grain and has a limited number of ingredients. It features premium New Zealand venison as its single, novel animal protein, and is fortified with beneficial antioxidants to help support your dog’s natural immune system. Plus, you’ll see a real difference in your dog’s appearance. It’s the only grain free brand that guarantees healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.

Package Sizes Available: 4 lbs., 14 lbs., 24 lbs.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Unique Animal Protein to Minimize Food Sensitivity
    0% Grain
    Research shows that grains can aggravate food sensitivity in some dogs. NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Dog Food provides a balanced diet with no wheat, rice, corn or other grains.
  • Deer animal
    Venison Is the Single Animal Protein
    To minimize digestive issues, our formula is made with only one source of animal protein. Pasture-fed, New Zealand venison provides the protein needed for strength and overall good health.
  • Limited Ingredient Diet
    Limited Ingredient Diet
    This nutritionally complete formula helps promote optimal digestive health without extra ingredients for dogs with sensitive stomachs.
  • Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat
    Guaranteed to Improve Skin and Coat**
    Patented levels of omega-6 fatty acid (linoleic acid), zinc and B vitamins guarantee healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.

** Complete satisfaction or your money back
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Kibble Image
See the back of this package in stores for the approximate kibble size.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Transitioning to Our Products
If switching to this formula or feeding NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of the new formula with your old food for six days.
Read Our Transition Article
Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on an ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula Dog Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location..
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 Hour/Day
Walking on Lead
Activity Level II
1 to 2 Hour(s)/Day
Playing Off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 Hours/Day
Intense Training
15 lbs. 1 1/4 1 1/3 1 1/2
25 lbs. 1 2/3 2 2 1/4
35 lbs. 2 1/4 2 1/2 2 3/4
45 lbs. 2 2/3 3 3 1/2
55 lbs. 3 3 1/2 4
65 lbs. 3 1/2 4 4 1/2
†Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.53 oz. of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula Dog Food.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase feeding amount by one activity level to achieve ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level to achieve ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3466 kcal/kg, 347 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 147reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by DISCONTINUED!!!!! Our English bulldog has terrible food allergies resulting in hot spots and extreme loss of hair. The vet recommended venison and potato over two years ago. He's thrived on this brand. His skin cleared up and his coat became thick and shiny. I'd can't recommend it though because Nutro recently discontinued it ......... and lost a customer. August 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Discontinued and possible formula change We've been feeding our dogs Nutro venison & potato for years now. Recently we went to buy another bag at our local Pet Smart and were told The company discontinued it. We found a bag at another pet store and quickly scooped it up. Ever since digging into the new bag our dogs stool has been loose and our 1yr old Yorkie Poo is hesitant to eat. Normally she eats so fast, which is why we bought her a special bowl to eat from to slow her down. I'm beginning to think that there's something different in the formula or it is contaminated. We're immediately switching foods and hope that its not the food thats harmful. I'll be vigorously watching for any recalls. At this point, I would not recommend the food solely based on the fact that it has been discontinued. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why did you get rid of this?! I found a food that my dogs really like and digest easy and now it's gone! I can't believe you just got rid of it. I was told by Pet Smart that you no longer make this blend. I had to go all over town to find a bag so I could mix it now with a new food which happens to be a different brand (Blue Buffalo lamb and potatoe grain free). It looks like you'll be losing a lot of loyal customers. I just wish you would of somehow been able to notify us before we ran out. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Changing Formula Our white lab Bailey has severe allergies. We have tried several different foods trying to find something that doesn't make her itch and get ear infections. We finally narrowed her allergies down to fish and flaxseed in addition to various grains. She has been on Natural Choice since she was a puppy and when they came out with a grain free formula, we switched her to the Venison & Potato formula. She has done very well on it.When I went last week to pick up another bag, Petsmart employees told me that it had been discontinued. I emailed the company and received a prompt response back to inform me that the formula is being changed, and will be back on store shelves in August. I applaud the company for the quick response to a customer inquiry, but I hate that they are changing the formula. If it's not broke don't fix it. For now I have put Bailey on Natural Choice Venison and Brown Rice formula, as she doesn't seem to have a problem with rice. I will keep an open mind on the change in their Grain Free Formula from Potatoes to Chickpeas.Hopefully they will keep the fish oil and flaxseed out of it.Other than that I am very happy with the Nutro brand of products, Bailey even loves their treats, which also doesn't have anything she is allergic to. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Let us know, Please! I can not find this formula anywhere, anymore. I have been told that you are changing the look of the bags. Please don't change the Venison and Potato formula. I have 2 dogs on this and they love it and not sure what I would go to if you drop this! Please don't drop this product and let us know when it will come back and how we can get it and where we can get it. Thanks much! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Where did it go???? I am also trying to find this formula. I have gone to our local PetSmart several times and also tried to order this online with no luck. Please tell us what is going on and what is the best alternative you offer. I had to buy a different brand in Lamb and Potatoe, she hasn't even been on it a month and is breaking out and scratching!!! She was finally doing well for so long and now this!! She is only 7 lbs and is becoming miserable again! We need help! July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A life saver for my dogs I have a mixed breed border collier with intestinal issues and a pure breed White English Bulldog with many allergies and skin problems. After many vet trips and lots of dollars spent...I finally found this food and have been so happy with it. HOWEVER...I just tried to buy another bag and it seems that all of a sudden, it's not available...ANYWHERE. No one seems to know what the major pet food stores have none on the shelves. Does anyone know what is going on when this formula will be available again? This is most upsetting because any dog owner dealing with allergy problems knows how tough it is finding just the right formula. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Complete life changer for my dog! I have a 16 month old Maltese/Poodle mix. For most of her life, she exhibited (what I now understand to be) food allergies. But when I first saw her licking her paw, scratching her neck, and scooting, I attributed those to different causes. Recently, she was getting hotspots, itchy skin, and scooting much more frequently. She also started having rashes all over her belly. I brought her to the vet who ran some skin tests. It turns out she was having food allergies this whole time and her persistent scratching allowed ringworms to get inside her skin, which induced even more scratching. I was so oblivious to it that I felt a lot of guilt for not knowing and letting it get worse. The vet strongly recommended I immediately put her on a venison diet because it's good for dogs with food allergies. I did some research on which is the best brand, and read the reviews here. I went and bought Nutro Natural Choice Venison and Potato dog food and also followed her medication regimen as directed. She took to that food so quickly, I was amazed! Within hours I saw changes in her stool. Within days her skin vastly improved. She no longer bites and scratches her paws or belly, she does not scoot anymore, and her stool is really firming up. I'm really thankful to Nutro for making this food and helping my dog so greatly. I highly recommend this food to any dog owner whose dog is having food allergies. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Results, Comparable Pricing I have a Corgi / Pug mix, and a long haired mini Doxie. They both have allergies that show in the form of skin rashes. Since switching to this brand and specific type over six months ago, neither of them have exhibited allergies once. Their coats are beautiful! They prefer venison to lamb, but that's just my picky mutts!I feel the price is a little easier on the wallet than the other big name brands that offer the same grain free options. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best bet for our Otis Our 12 year old lab suffered from bloat in 2010, he survived thanks to quick surgical intervention. I vowed to buy him the best dog food that I could afford, following that scary time. It actually was not this brand...but after being on the other brand a few months, he started to have gastric issues, after several doses of antibiotics, I picked up Nutro, by chance, and I am happy to say that we have a happy and healthy old guy, that has not suffered with any other problems since being on this food. Well worth it! March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food I have two Boston Terrier's and a Border Collie/Staffordshire Terrier mix...they all do excellent on this food! Shiny coats, healthy bodies, great teeth...no complaints here! One of our dogs is allergic to grain so this is a great, natural, healthy choice! January 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 4myK9 I'm very impressed with this product! I have a German Shepherd who has food allergies and is also on the picky side. Since, she is limited in the meat proteins she can have, I was happy to find a Venison formula she could tolerate. Not only am I happy with the ingredients and the fact that it's grain free but she also likes it as well. Her coat is very shiny and super soft, at her recent annual check-up at the Vet he was very impressed! I'm very pleased with this product and my girl loves it! September 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Yorkie Terrier Toy My dog is very picky , so we went to petsmart to try another brand and hope for the best. Well i fed him ones today and he really went in. I hope that he continues with the same desire of today. I will give you and update after few weeks. That's why i gave 4 stars. April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food This is something I never expected from a dog food, it is wonderful March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food but please.... make in a 10 pound bag. A 4 pound is too small, but a 14 pound is too large for my little dog who LOVES this food!! March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grain Free Food After years of fighting allergies and cooking for my Pugs finally I found a food that they like and is good for them, they still like their veggies but grain free food is the best, they also are allergic to lamb, poultry and Adam can eat the Salmon, Ethel is allergic to fish, her U.T.I's can speak for themselves.Thank You, Nutro, you have made 2 very happy Pugs out of Adam and Ethel. January 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food Allergy with our Bichon Frise Our 2 year old Bichon Frise suddenly started to scratch herself almost constantly at approx. 18 months old. She had severe hair loss and her skin was raw and bleeding where ever she would scratch. She lost weight and we could tell from her eyes that she didn't feel well. After numerous trips to the vet and expensive allergy testing that unfortunately didn't include meat, we took to the internet to learn more and figure it out ourselves. We had a chance encounter at a local non-pet store with a dog nutritionalist. She recommended Natural Choice Grain Free Venison with Sweet Potato dog food. We mixed that with her old food; the dog selectively picked out only the Natural Choice and ate it so fast we immediately knew there was a difference with appeal of the food. She started eating all her food immediately upon offering it at mealtime. She also loves mixing it with water ocassionally. Approx. four weeks later, she had completely stopped scratching, her skin was healed and now at three months later - her hair is fully grown back, she's gained weight and she once again really looks like a Bichon! Her eyes reflect how happy she is and really how well she feels... all thanks to the Natural Choice Vension food! December 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product My Keeshond is a picky eater but loves this blend of venison and potatoes and it's the only dog food I buy him. I would highly recommend this brand of dog food to anyone. It's a product that is natural and healthy for your pet. August 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life saver My young mini aussie reached her second year with full blown allergies, even though my house had used Nutro products for 20 years, it wasn't enough with her. Changed her to Grain free venison meal & potato formula and she looks and feels great. All healed up. Thanks again Nutro August 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product contains healty ingredients My Lab loves the Nutro fish meal and potatoe meal. After trying several different brands of dog food that she refused I'm happy to say this has been the one she likes. Would like to have a coupon once in a while it is expensive. July 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by improved coat and our dog loves it! We got our dog from a pet rescue at 3 years old. Who knows what he had been fed up to that point and it showed. His skin was terribly flaky and scaly. We tried a couple of different brands of food, some were to "rich" for him and it showed in his stool. This dog food has been awesome for our Sammy! It took several months to do the trick, so it doesn't happen overnight but his skin and coat are beautiful now (about 6 months later). NO FLAKES, NO SCALES. And, he loves it. July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The grain free formula solved a long term problem My elderly English Mastiff has had "cow patty" consistency stools for the last few years. She suffers from severe arthritis pain and is on multiple medications which I felt caused the problem. I took her to the vet, tried different foods, but no improvement. You can imagine what it was like cleaning up the yard! Right after I switched her to this product her stools formed up and cleaning up after her is now a breeze. She seems to love the taste as well so it's a win-win for us. Thanks Barb D July 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by an amazing change We rescued our Boxer Zeus over a year ago. He came with chronic ear infections, no shots and he was losing his hair. The vet had recommended we change his dog food to an all natural food, there cost $85. With four kids thats not duable. We tried a few natural ones and he got an upset stomach. I switched him to Nutro 6 months ago and his coat looks great he is healthy and happy and he LOVES this food. Thank you nutro for making your dog food affordable and delicious. June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great change for our dogs! My wife and I have fed our dogs your wonderful foods for years. When our vet said that our older dog might be developing some issues from grains we went to your grain free products. The most recent we tried, starting about six months ago, was your venison meal and potato formula. It has just been a God send for our dogs. They both love it and our older dog acts healthier than he has in over a year. Thanks so much for continuing to create your great products! The male and female both offer their bark of approval too! June 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Skin Problems Gone After reading several articles on food allergies in dogs I decided to switch my 5 year old Pekepoo to a grain free dry food. After just a few weeks, she no longer licked her paws constantly, her ears no longer bothered her, and the dry, flaky skin that was itching her so bad was miraculously cleared up. I am so thankful for this food. I would definitely recommend this to anyone with a pet that is suffering from skin problems caused by food allergies. May 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this food! I really like that Nutro is made in the USA in their own facilities. Safety is important to me. Pepper LOVES the taste! She has been eating Nutro for about 2 years now. Her coat is shiny and soft. I like the limited ingredients, much less likely to cause allergies, thankfully she doesn't have food allergies. May 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 My dogs love this food! I can give this to little miss picky and she will eat it. My other dog will eat some in the morning and have the rest later. It is so good she took the plate off the counter and carried it to my sofa and ate the remainder on the sofa! April 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product works!!!!!!!! I have 3 german shepherds with severe stomach problems . This is the only food that they will eat and it works. They like the canned no-grain as an extra treat. The check up at the vet was the best they ever had. I also love the fact that I don't have to worry about where in the world the ingredients come from; I know everything is from the USA. Great product. Would you think about making a 40 lb. bag? April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful product I have 4 ShihTzu's, 2 of whom have been diagnosed with food allergies. I have had them all on Grain Free for 2 months and they are doing amazing. No more scratching, no more biting their paws, very shiny coats. Recently PetSmart added a larger bag which saves me money as well. Thank you Nutro for this Grain Free kibble. April 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it!` Lil; Bear is a big dog with a sensitive tummy, with the limited ingredient food, the vomiting stopped and she is doing great! April 10, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 6next>>
Buy Online
 
NATURAL CHOICE® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®