For Dogs
Senior Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

Senior RecipeFarm Raised Chicken

Give your senior dog a natural, great-tasting meal they will look forward to with NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food. Our all natural food for mature dogs is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of older dogs. Made with farm-raised chicken, plus added vitamins and minerals, NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Food for Dogs provides complete and balanced nutrition in every bowl. Your dog will love the savory flavors of real chicken and whole grains, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 25lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 25-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Dog Food is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of mature adult dogs
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for senior dogs is made with farm-raised chicken, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX®Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural dog food that keeps your senior dog healthy and happy — at an affordable price
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Ingredients
Chicken Meal (source of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate), Whole Grain Sorghum, Brewers Rice, Peas, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Chicken, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Pea Protein, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Whole Brown Rice, Whole Grain Oatmeal, Fish Oil (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, DL-Methionine, Salt, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Potassium Iodide, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 24.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 14.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.50%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note:  These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
15 lbs. 1 cups 1-1/4 cups 1-1/2 cups
25 lbs. 1-2/3 cups 2 cups 2-1/4 cups
35 lbs. 2 cups 2-1/2 cups 2-3/4 cups
45 lbs. 2-1/2 cups 3 cups 3-1/3 cups
55 lbs. 3 cups 3-1/2 cups 4 cups
65 lbs. 3-1/3 cups 4 cups 4-1/3 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.42 oz. of NUTRO™ MAX® Adult Recipe With Farm-Raised Beef Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3650 kcal/kg, 354 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 95reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product My two beagles have always had Nutro dry food, but I was concerned about switching them from the sensitive stomach formula as they got older. I worried that the senior formula may upset their sensitive stomachs. This has not been the case, and now that they are 9 and 11 years old, they are doing great and I'm so glad that I can give them a product designed for dogs their age!! August 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't ever stop making this..... My chocolate lab is 7, but he's going on 2! He loves the taste. His stools are solid and he is extremely healthy. His coat shines like the sun. And the coupons we recieved from Nutro are truely unbelievable($7 to $10 off a bag, ah hello)! April 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dog loves it Our senior dog is enjoying his food.Getting his nutrition and acting like a pup. March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by IBS FRIENDLY SUGG. NEED LARGE TREAT BISQUITS ETC THIS PROUDUCT WORKS WELL FOR MY 10 YR OLD SRINGER SPANIEL MIX. I WISH THERE WERE GLUTEN FREE LARGE TREAT BISQITS TO COMPLEMENT THIS FOOS March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max is well worth it! I have a 14 year old Cocker Spaniel and an 8 year old Mini-Dachshund who have both been on Nutro Max since they were puppies. Both have gone through each stage of food, from puppy to senior, and both are in excellent health! I would recommend Nutro Max to any pet owner. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I believe Max has made the difference. Two of my dogs are pushing eleven and one is just short of ten. They are very active,and literally do not act their ages. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by No more itchy scratching! We had been feeding our two senior dogs, both adopted from rescue organizations, one of those highly advertised national brands from that large chain whose name I won't mention. Lily, an Australian Shepherd, had been scratching and her skin was quite dry. I stopped by a brand new pet store, Barkansas, on a whim one day. The owners opened my eyes to the fact that the first ingredient of that dept store food was corn, which might be causing all the itching. I bought a bag of Max Senior and within a week Lily stopped scratching. She now has the most beautiful coat, and our other dog is also doing very well on it. We have substituted the Natural Choice Senior when the store was out of Max, and they both do fine with it as well. As a senior retiree myself, it's also wonderful to shop at Barkansas and have those heavy bags carried out to my car! Thanks for making a great product with the nutrition our dogs need to stay healthy and fit! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves it 7 year old springer spaniel keeps a great weight and in shape with this excellent product. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I credit their health to food and exercise. I have two Australian Shepherd’s that just turned 14 (people years). People are drawn to their energy and are often shocked by their age. I am frequently asked what my secret is. I tell them since they were puppies I've considered them my babies. I wanted to give them the best life I could. I exercise them regularly to keep their mind and spirit young. I also share that I have had them on Nutro Max since they were pups. I believe that diet and exercise is the key to keeping people young, and I believe that is the secret to keeping dogs young. Thank you Nutro Max! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro has always been in our dog's life. Stealth, our 9 yr. old black lab has always had Nutro in his life. He started with the puppy food, graduated to the large breed food and is now getting the senior care food. I don't know how much he tastes the food because he devours it in a few seconds, but the food keeps him healthy and active. He still thinks he is a puppy and loves to play and chase his ball. He gets a little stiff after playing and Nutro helps with the stiff joints. He will definitely continue getting Nutro food for the rest of his life. Our 2 cats also eat Nutro food. All three pets are very healthy and happy! Thanks Nutro! February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by grt taste w/out added fat switched over to senior a few years ago (was on weight management) my dog loves the taste, without all the extra fat February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great My dogs coats look great. They seem to feel great at their senior ages. I had tried another brand for a short period of time and noticed the difference in their coats immediately. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my seniors love to eat We have a 15+year old dachshund and a 10year old yellow lab. We feed them Nutro Max Senior and some treats only. Never human food. They love, love, love to eat and practically inhale their food at every meal. Our little red longhair mini will not go outside in the morning or evening until he's eaten his Max. Both boys are very healthy and look much younger than they are. And an added plus, their poops are always solid and easy to pick up! Thank you Nutro Max. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great kibble WE have two active middle aged Australians. They enjoy their Nutro Max for senior. In fact, our male Crosby will use every opportunity to knock the lid off the food bin to sneak a snack in the pantry. We call it his own personal buffet. It provides great nutrition, and keeps their eyes bright and coat shiny. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healing power My mutt is a border collie mix who was hit by a truck about 18 months ago. She had a relatively quick recovery due to a fabulous chiropractor and Nutro Max dogfood. We had to force her to use her dislocated shoulder and get out for some fresh air to help with her doggie depression. She responded best to seeing her bag come out of the closet every mealtime and hobbling over to get a whiff as I filled her bowl. Within three weeks, we had her swimming and enjoying herself. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kept my dog alive As a puppy he thrived and grew into a healthy audult. Now in his golden years it is keeping him alive and maintaining his health so he can enjoy his last months with us. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My finicky Husky actually loves Nutro Max Senior! I have a 9-year-old Siberian Husky who, since she was a puppy, has been one of the most finicky eaters I've ever seen in the dog world. During the first several years of her life, I must have tried at least a dozen or more different brands of dog food, all with limited or no success. I even wound up having to GIVE bags away at times when my dog simply said "No way"! That was until I finally tried the Nutro Brand. I tried several different flavors and kibble sizes, and she liked them ALL! Varying the flavors helped as well, as she seemed to like variety. Now that she's getting older, she seems fine with the Senior Formula, in which I mix a portion of Nutro canned food, to make it a little "meatier". She loves it! She's a big healthy girl, and she just about knocks me down when I come out to feed her! The only change I would ever even consider might be if Nutro offered a second flavor of Senior Formula, just to be able to spoil her with an alternate taste. But in the meantime, she's quite happy. Thanks for a great line of products! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max I love Nutro Max because my dog loves it. He can't wait to sink his teeth into the taste of the little morsels. The food is filled with nutrients that he needs to stay healthy and it keeps his coat nice, shiny and in great condition. He is a happy, healthy dog and I give alot of that credit to the Nutro Max dog food that I feed him. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great ingredients. My dog started out on nutros puppy food and has been on each stage through now his senior years. His coat and overall health for a 15 year old dog is that of a 7 year old. Recommend Nutro any chance I get. Wouldn't use any other dog food. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect for my senior dog My almost 12 year old Clumber Spaniel is doing better now than she was two years ago after switching to Nutro February 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great food for a fair price I have two senior dogs, one 7 and one almost 11. They have been on the Nutro Max Senior for about 4 years now and they are happy and healthy. Their coats are soft and shiny, they have lots of energy and have very little joint soreness which is great since they are labs and 60 and 80 pounds. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for sensitive stomachs I switched over to this because of the value. My dog a 13 year old lab has done well with the transition. He does have sensitivity to food and tolerates this food well. Overall I am pleased with the product. February 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product is very good We have a boxer named Brin and she has been on Nutra Max since being a puppy. It has been great for her - she enjoys it and I feel it has kept her healthy and her coat shiny!! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my dog loves his food My dog is a Husky who loves to run. Since he is getting up there in age, we had to switch him to Senior Max. Although he liked his old food, he LOVES his new food. In the past we would fill his bowl and it would take him a day or two to eat it all. Now his bowl is licked clean each night and he is always ready for more. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Dog Food of all times My dog, Tally loves this food. Ever since she started this food, she felt full of energy and her joint problems got better. Her immune system is great and she got a good bill of health from the Vet. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product at a great price With five dogs, it is hard to find a product of good quality and taste, that is also reasonably priced. Our dogs are all now senors and three are a little overweight. Max Senior variety allows me to meet the needs of all my dogs. Made with no by-products, its a food that is good for my dogs. Max Brand is one I trust. The dogs love the taste. And the price of Max, fits into my budget. So thank you making a product the meets all my needs. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product for our Border Collie We have a Border Collie, getting ready to turn 11 and has been on Nutro Max since a puppy. She started with Max Puppy, then moved on to Max Active and the last two years been on Max Senior. People look at her and can't believe she is almost 11. She is still active, but has slowed some, figured due to her age. She looks good and if we ever get another dog, it will also start out just like Spanky did. Even with our financial struggles, her health is important to us and we have never bought anything but Max dog food for her. We recommend this dog food to anyone who asks and Spanky is proof how great it is and she loves it. Wouldn't use any other dog food brand but Nutro Max. Its the best! February 17, 2011
  • 2016-05-03 T10:27:11.018-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_95, tr_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog76, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 34
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®