For Dogs
Senior Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

Senior RecipeFarm Raised Chicken

Give your senior dog a natural, great-tasting meal they will look forward to with NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food. Our all natural food for mature dogs is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of older dogs. Made with farm-raised chicken, plus added vitamins and minerals, NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Food for Dogs provides complete and balanced nutrition in every bowl. Your dog will love the savory flavors of real chicken and whole grains, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 25lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 25-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Dog Food is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of mature adult dogs
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for senior dogs is made with farm-raised chicken, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX®Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural dog food that keeps your senior dog healthy and happy — at an affordable price
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Ingredients
Chicken Meal (source of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate), Whole Grain Sorghum, Brewers Rice, Peas, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Chicken, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Pea Protein, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Whole Brown Rice, Whole Grain Oatmeal, Fish Oil (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, DL-Methionine, Salt, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Potassium Iodide, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 24.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 14.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.50%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note:  These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
15 lbs. 1 cups 1-1/4 cups 1-1/2 cups
25 lbs. 1-2/3 cups 2 cups 2-1/4 cups
35 lbs. 2 cups 2-1/2 cups 2-3/4 cups
45 lbs. 2-1/2 cups 3 cups 3-1/3 cups
55 lbs. 3 cups 3-1/2 cups 4 cups
65 lbs. 3-1/3 cups 4 cups 4-1/3 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.42 oz. of NUTRO™ MAX® Adult Recipe With Farm-Raised Beef Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3650 kcal/kg, 354 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 95reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ready to roll with Nutro.. Today's the day Frankie will begin chowing Nutro..Nutro has passed the sniff test, big thumbs up!! Frankie (1 year old cockapoo, my baby!)seems excited to have a feast...I will check in after our first meal..#Our1stBzzAgentcampaign March 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty good food We have a 16 year old mixed breed dog that we're trying this food on. First impression when receiving this is that I like the packaging. The dogs showed a lot of interest when laying the bag on the floor. So I served the food up with some warm water and she loves but my dog isn't very picky when it comes to dinner time. Over all pretty good food. The ingredients could be better but this is a middle of the road food, dog chow the cheapest and super premium foods on the top end. FYI my dog eats the super premium stuff, she's kinda spoiled. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max pro I think this is a great dog food. As soon as I got my delivery I opened the bag and gave a handful to my dog Kenzi, she ate it up. It has been about a week since we started using it and she seems to have more energy. Wanting to go out and run around more. The high quality natural ingredients also make me feel good about what I am feeding her. Would definitely continue to use this brand after having given it a try with her. She cleans her bowl which she wasn't doing with our old brand. March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Elsie's sniffer went wild for NUTRO MAX NUTRO MAX has a smell that is tempting to my Elsie, who is a picky eater. At the age of 18 she is almost blind so relies on her sniffer. The 1st day, her sniffer went wild. She was sniffing for the food as I was carrying her to her feeding spot. She gobbled down the NUTRO MAX and left her usual food in the bowl. I was very surprised. For her evening meal I did the same thing and she again gobbled down the NUTRO MAX. She did have trouble with the size of the food bites. She is a tiny dog. On the 2nd day, she tried to eat the NUTRO MAX but decided, I guess, it was too much trouble and ate her usual moist food. By the 3rd and 4th day she didn't touch the NUTRO MAX. I believe if it was softer and smaller she'd still be eating it. The first day said it all. She is towards the end of her life so if it is helping her body from the little bit she did eat, I can't tell. I would have given this brand a 5 star had the pieces come in small bites or for small dogs. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lily loves it! I was so excited when I received Nutro Max in the mail. I have a black lab who is about 9 years old. With her being older we also strive to make sure she is getting as many nutrients as possible from her dog food. I'm really satisfied with all that the dog food has to offer for her. Lily isn't too picky when it comes to food so I'm glad she enjoys eating it and is also getting everything she needs to keep her a healthy and happy dog! March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nuturo max My senior dogs love this food. It's easier for them to eat than the food they were on before. And I've seen a difference in the way their moving a little quicker now! We will definitely buy this again March 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nutro max senior dog food I have a 12 year senior dog and another dog who is 6 years old. Both are small dogs. My senior dog is a picky eater and when given the new food did not like it. She ate a few bites but refused it. My 6 year old loved it and took to it right away. I liked the smaller kibble bits as it makes easier for them to eat. March 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nutro Max Senior dog food Received the package and was excited to see how my dog would like the new dry food.Since this dog food is specially formulated for senior dogs I was looking forward to see howsuch he'd like the food and would there be any benefits. At first he was eager to eat the foodbut by the third day it looked like he was having issues chewing the food. Wasn't sure wether hedidn't like the food or because he's a small dog had issues chewing ? So I decided to share with my other friends who also have senior dogs. Made up five packages (plastic baggies) and asked my friends to see how their dogs liked the food. Four of the five other dogs are mid to larger sizes they totally loved the product. The fifth dog was also having chewing concerns ( also a tiny dog).Would eat a few pieces then left the rest alone? Would I recommend this product with what I've observed, yes for mid to larger dogs. For the tiny dog not quite to sure, for a treat possibility? March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nutro Max- Senior Recipe I have a 9 and a half year old dog and she loves Nutro Max! When I received Nutro- I slowly introduced it to my dog as directed to change her diet. She did well with the switch and loves the taste of Nutro! I immediately noticed an improvement with her energy level and her coat is super shiny! She isnt begging for treats as much after having Nutro like she used to with her previous food. My dog did have a little bit of gas at first and that has gotten better. Overall- Nutro Max Senior Recipe is a great food for my older dog and I am so happy with the positive changes I have seen in my dog! March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Riley loves it! When I opened the bag for the first time it didn't smell like dog food it actually smelled good! My 15-year-old shitzu came running because she heard the bag open. Normally she sniffs her food and sticks her nose in the air and begs for people food, but this time she smelled it and started eating it right away, she loves it!! The small bits are perfect for her to chew. It's so good for her as it has no fillers. For once she actually eats her own food completely! This is a great food for senior dogs! Thank you for such a healthy good product for my girl! March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nutro Max Senior I have a small dog and he loves his food to be very small pieces, but he did try it. I did not like how the food smells in the bag. Outside the bag it was okay. My other small puppy dog also seem to like the food, the kibbles were just a bit big for them both.I did like the packaging. I like how the ingredients were all listed very clearly. They offered a 100% satisfaction guarantee. I was very impressed by that. I am always reading all the sides of the dog food bags when I am at the pet store. Look to for the ingredients and what the manufacturer states the product is good for. Nutro Max did a good job in my opinion on this.I currently give my pups IAMs small breed, but I plan checking to see if Nutro Max has a line for small breeds. Bambam aka Daddi really liked the food. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 7 yr old loves it When I first signed on to try nutro max with my boy fynn I was skeptical as he is very picky. But the very first day I gave it to him he finished an entire serving, (this has never happened). Might I add that the dog food smells like real food, he took one sniff, then one bite, and next thing you know it was gone. I've also noticed since starting nutro max that his dry skin on his back has been clearing up, which is great!! He also has more energy. And his fur is so soft. I no longer here the gas in his belly from the last dog food, and I'm sticking with nutro max for him from now on. I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a healthy food for the dog. #bzzagent March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Duke loves Nutro Max Duke met the UPS man and sniffed out the dog food. Usually a picky eater and eats canned dog food Nutro Max was an immediate hit with him. I like the natural ingredients and no by products.The packaging is sturdy yet easy to open. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs love it!! I think this was a great food for my older dogs. They ate it up. Picked it out before the old stuff. Its made with wholesome ingredients. I will be buying this food for them. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max the bomb I think this product is a great product. Our 3 dogs went right for it! They had no gaseous odors common to switching food. One of our dogs has very sensitive skin but there have been no outbreaks or changes in her skin or coat. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog food surprise The dogs were very excited when the package arrived and were sniffing it. I love that there is natural ingredients. It even has pictures of how to transition to our products. There's no chicken by product meal, no corn, wheat, or soy protein, no added artificial Flavors, colors, or preservatives. They've been around since 1926. I also love that the dog food is small for small or large dogs. I have small dogs and once they hear the pouring of the dog food hit the dog dish they come running and eat it. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutritional Max is great! My senior dogs are very picky. They really liked your food and ate it all. I am very satisfied.I like that the product is made from real ingredients and no preservatives. Great product. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bailey, the taste tester. Bailey is his name and picky is his game! Bailey loves any people food when he can look sad and gets some he comes alive.Dog food is another matter.Nutro senior recipe hits the spot. He eats at his pace but the bowl is clean by the end of the day.Made with no by products no corn wheat or soy and no artificial flavors. Made in the plant. Bailey gives it a paws up. March 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by He seems to like his new food Even tho I have to put water on it to make it soft for him, he likes the Nutro Max and I like it because it's made for older dog's. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by NUTRO MAX Senior Dog Food was a hit with my dogs I have 2 large dogs, Dylan is 10 and Shadow is 9. Shadow has never been much of a picky eater, but Dylan will gladly turn his nose up to food and let Shadow eat it if it doesn't smell appealing to him. He usually gives me a look as if he's asking for something better, but that's not really relevant here.When I gave Dylan and Shadow the NUTRO MAX for the first time they both came directly to the bowl and sniffed it, Dylan dove right in and started to eat, which I have never seen him do. Shadow, of course, didn't wait long after him to start as well. They seemed to really like the food.I like the packaging that it came in, the paper on the outside of the bag was not slick like most dog food bags are, which made it easy to pour into the storage container. It also opened easier than the brands we've had in the past. The food itself felt a little bit oily, and has an odd odor to it. It doesn't smell bad, but not what I would expect from dog food, it almost smells a little like seaweed to me.Wish I could rate the taste, but I'm just not willing to do that for you ;)Overall I'm happy with the dog food and will be looking for it in the store. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max, an old dogs food I think Nutro Max dog food for senior dogs is great, my dog Ben who 10 years old was all over it straight out of the bag, sniffing it and ate it right away. I thought that maybe on the first day he was only getting excited over it because it was new to him, but he's on his fifth day of and still really likes it. The kernels are a small enough size so that it is easy enough to chew, I really like the fact that it is organic and the first ingredients listed are chicken and not corn. I would definitely buy this dog food in the future especially since my picky spoiled dog will actually eat it!! March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by NUTRO MAX US GREAT I THINK NUTRO MAX SO FAR ITS ONE OF THE BEST NATURAL DOG FOODS I HAVE TRIED I AM GOING TO CONTUIE TO USE NUTRO MAX ON MY OLDER DOG SHOOTER EVEN GOT COUPONS FOR MORE FEED. March 29, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by not too sure besides the fact that it smells like rabbit food im not sure my dogs actually like it just yet. seems to be healthier food for them overall. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product My 2 dogs, a rescue Basset Hound who is somewhere between 13-15 years old, and a 12 year old Shih Tzu, have been on this food for about 4 years and look and act much younger than their years. They are still very energetic and in excellent health for dogs of their age. And they absolutely love the food! Several of my friends have switched their dogs to Nutro Max Senior after seeing how well my dogs are doing on this food. February 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jakesmom Switched from Adult to Senior Max for our near 10 year old Brittany Spaniel and he started acting like a puppy again! Very fun to see him so frisky again and still have energy to play after his hour long walk. He loves the taste of this also. February 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My picky dog loves this. I have the pickiest g.shepherd ever ..until i feed her max senior she loves this food so much. January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Dog Loves it BUT..... My Mini Shnzer who will be 11yr next month loves this food..However can NO longer find the 5# bag !!!..uggggg Petsmart and Mernards stopped selling that size, had to switch to another Nutro sr food..:( April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Senior years My beagle just turned 7 in Feb, but I still had some of her old food left (Science Diet), so I'm just now getting something for her Senior years. I was concerned that Science Diet's Senior formula might upset her stomach...there happened to be a Nutro pet nutrition specialist in the store today and she told me all about Nutro! It's better for my baby and costs less than SD. I brought it home to try it out and she loves it! Can't wait to see how eating better makes her even healthier! Thanks for caring about our pets even more than we do! =D July 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by All 3 dogs love it!! We have 3 unique and very different dogs; a 6 lb Italian Greyhound, a 50 lb Lab/Greyhound mix and a 70 lb German Shorthair Pointer. All 3 dogs eat the Senior and LOVE it! We have tried to give the little one different food(i.e., the smaller kibble Nutro carries) and she'll have none of it, must eat what the big dogs eat! Switched over to this Senior version once our GSP hit 6 years old and have had no issues at all. They have never walked away from their bowls like with other foods out there! Have been a Nutro customer for 13 years since the IG was a pup and have never had an issue with any of the products! June 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs love it, Never any left in the bowl I have two german shorthaired pointers. One is 8 the other is 11. They both chase quail and pheasants like they were 5 years old. Never a problem with this food. They have been on it since they were puppies. And yes we have quail pheasants and turkeys in British Columbia Canada. April 29, 2012
  • 2016-06-26 T06:41:54.535-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_95, tr_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog76, prod, sort_default
<<prev 23 4next>>
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®