For Dogs
Senior Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

Senior RecipeFarm Raised Chicken

Give your senior dog a natural, great-tasting meal they will look forward to with NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food. Our all natural food for mature dogs is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of older dogs. Made with farm-raised chicken, plus added vitamins and minerals, NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Food for Dogs provides complete and balanced nutrition in every bowl. Your dog will love the savory flavors of real chicken and whole grains, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 25lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 25-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Dog Food is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of mature adult dogs
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for senior dogs is made with farm-raised chicken, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX®Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural dog food that keeps your senior dog healthy and happy — at an affordable price
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Ingredients
Chicken Meal (source of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate), Whole Grain Sorghum, Brewers Rice, Peas, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Chicken, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Pea Protein, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Whole Brown Rice, Whole Grain Oatmeal, Fish Oil (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, DL-Methionine, Salt, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Potassium Iodide, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 24.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 14.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.50%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note:  These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
15 lbs. 1 cups 1-1/4 cups 1-1/2 cups
25 lbs. 1-2/3 cups 2 cups 2-1/4 cups
35 lbs. 2 cups 2-1/2 cups 2-3/4 cups
45 lbs. 2-1/2 cups 3 cups 3-1/3 cups
55 lbs. 3 cups 3-1/2 cups 4 cups
65 lbs. 3-1/3 cups 4 cups 4-1/3 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.42 oz. of NUTRO™ MAX® Adult Recipe With Farm-Raised Beef Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3650 kcal/kg, 354 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 95reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by No super results Apparently nobody told my dog that this stuff is healthy because she ate it well enough. She didn't run toward it like a perfectly cut T-Bone, but she didn't turn her nose up at it either. Realistically, I haven't seen any difference in her behavior, coat, energy level or stools ( that's right, I went there!) She hasn't yet finished the whole bag, so I will update if anything changes by the end of the bag. April 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My picky dogs love it I have very picky dogs. They have had the same dog food for years. So I was hesitant to make a change. But as they are getting older it was time. They love Nitro Max Senior Dog Food. They clean the bowl up and I like that they are getting better more healthy dog food. April 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did not sit well with my girl I was actually quite excited to start my young (older) lady on this food. I loved that it was specifically for dogs her age and the benefits and nutrition sounded great and exactly what she needed. Although I followed the steps of slowly introducing the food to her, it didn't sit well in her stomach and after time I did have to take her off of it completely.I will say that because we're so dog/pet friendly in our house, we did donate the reaming product to a local dog shelter and they were very excited to receive it. Apparently one of the volunteers there had specific dogs in mind that would benefit greatly from the food. April 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great food This product is way about the "cheaper" dog food found in stores. I compared it to the food I currently feed (higher level) and it compares pretty well. Differences to this wa no fruit listed in the ingredients and while there is no corn, wheat or soy there is oatmeal and while grain items listed. That could make a difference with some animals.I fed this to two of my dogs. They are 11 years old. One will eat anything she thinks might be food and the other is my finicky eater. They both loved it and the finicky one is still loving it after almost 3 weeks. My larger dog who is 4 we have used this food as training treats and he also loves it.The proportions seem the same. I would prefer a range as my dogs are both below 15 lbs. (there lowest) listing and I am not sure about over or under feeding with this food. Since the quality is higher I am erroring I the higher side for portion.I would definitely buy this for my dogs and I currently purchase Earthborn which is a premium food. April 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Pomeranian loves it We got the food in the mail comma and we started out small like the directions stated and my dog absolutely loves the food. He used to pick through his food and would not eat much throughout the day, but with this food he absolutely loves it and it's all the time he eats. I am recommending it to everybody I know. March 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food that Dogs Love but Smells like Fish I received my bag of Nutro Max food, free from bzzagent.com, on my front porch when I arrived home from work. When I brought it into the house, still in it's box, my 2 senior dogs were immediately drown to the box, sniffing wildly. This is because the food has a slightly fishy aroma that their sensitive noses picked right up on. Because of this, puppy breath is a bit overwhelming right after feeding. This is the only negative thing I have to say about this food.Now for the good. My dogs love this food, and switching them to it was super easy. In the past, i have had to take upwards of a week to get my pug fully switched to a new food because the process would upset her stomach in the form of diarrhea if I switched too fast. This being said, I was uneasy about switching her food in only 4 days. It turns out that I was worried for nothing! Neither dog had any form of abdominal distress. When i would mix this food with their former brand ( I do mean former - this is my new favorite), the dogs would scarf this stuff down first and leave a bowl of the old food when they were done.This food is made for senior dogs, so it provides everything my dogs need at this point in their lives. They are both still active, and this food gives them all the energy they need to run and play in the yard.One thing to note about this food, though, is that the amount of food to feed the dogs daily varied significantly from the food I have fed them in the past. For example, my larger dog normally ate 3 cups per day with the old food, but is only supposed to eat 2.5 cups with this food. Not a bad thing, just something to be aware of. March 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed Birthday Girl But Happy Doggie This package came to the house I was to excited it was my birthday n I was like I got a package, I got a package but ooohhhhh No!!!! Cookie got a package. I honestly 4got what was coming so I opened the box n was wtw!!! Ohhhh Cookie I got ya something girl. It couldn't have come at a better time because she just ran out of dog food lastnight. I put some food in her bowl she sniff it n sneezed. Lol she backed up like nawll I'm not eating that. I don't blame it smell horrible but I called her back n feed her a few she still wasn't having it , but by the 5th one she started eating it n then went to the bowl.... I thought maybe she would only eat it because she didn't have any more food but low an behold she ate it all. After a few days I began to take notice of her behavior, she's getting more active n not so cranky due to old age . She still crazy but she enjoy her meals more n is beating me to the bowl. Thanks Max most definitely a brand I can continue to use March 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nutro MAX Senior Dog Food My dog isn't very picky when it is time to eat, but I did notice that when we changed her food it was gone almost immediately, it is to short of time to notice any changes in her hair o energy levels but so far she seems happy. It is an expensive brand (that's why 4 stars) but might well be worth it if she is happy and her energy levels are up for when it is time to play!If you are making the swith in food just make sure you don't do it in 1 day and do it gradually over at least 4 days so your dog doesn't get an upset stomach. March 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remarkable Senior Dog Food At first glance at the packaging, Max dog food looks inviting. Reading the ingredients on the back I was very encouraged that my 9 year dog would be getting the best senior dog food out there on the market. My dog is a little picky but at first sniff he was very excited about what was inside the package. I followed the instructions on how to switch my dog over to the new brand entirely after mixing in some of the old and new food. My dog has food allergies that was making his ear smell and itch. After eating MAX dog food the symptoms went away. I’m guessing we found a new dog food. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Take it to the MAX!! I wanted to wait for a bit before I did a review because of wanted to see if my dog's weight would be affected. The reason for this is that her weight is very sensitive. In the past, she was very underweight for a dog of her size (weight only 49 lbs and she should have been closer to 95-100lbs.) and we couldn't figure it out. The vets didn't find anything wrong with her, but we changed her diet to Blue Buffalo and she was better, but the price is high.I have never heard of NUTRO™ MAX™ before, but thought that we would give it a try. It seems to be a good fit for her and her weight hasn't changed at all. She eats it just fine.I googled the product and saw that the price was cheaper then the brand I currently get for her, which is a big plus and knowing that she eats it and that she hasn't lost any weight from it shows that I would be wiling to buy it in the future. March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bubba and Nutro Max This is my 10 year old Jack Russel, Bubba. As he gets older there are a lot we worry about. My wife and I talk about the nutritional needs of our aging pet. He has been very active since he was a pup and there are always concerns about bone strength and joint deterioration. When I say Nutro Max I was very curious to what it can offer a senior dog. The two biggest draws I had to Nutro Max was that it is made with farm raised chicken (not chicken by-product) and that it has no preservatives. Since my family is health conscience about what we eat it only makes sense that Bubba gets the same consideration with his diet. Since he has started Nutro Max he has shown improvement in spirit and a willingness to run around the park a little bit more. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm surprised... In a very good way! My dog, Rex, is usually a very picky eater so when I started day one to mix this in with his other food, I was surprised to see him actually go out of his way and pretty much pick out the new food and eat it. He eventually ate the rest but he actually loves it! My good boy is 8 years old and it's a perfect time for me to try out new food that will help him with his age. Even the younger dog seems a bit jealous at this point. NUTRO MAX is really awesome dog food. They do a great job at grabbing my dogs attention and giving him some yummy healthy food!I received this product at a discounted rate or for free in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by NUTRO MAX Senior Dog Food AS the owner of 4 dogs all starting to get on in years (all Dachshunds!) the formulation of a senior dog food is appreciated. We have a few cats as well and the struggle to keep the dogs eating their own food has been siginficant as they will frequently pillage the cat's food bowl for their food. While NUTRO MAX hasn't completely solved the problem the rate at which they consume it is much higher than their old dog food which shows that they prefer it. The natural ingredients are beneficial to them and they seem to approve of it. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy dogs I think the nitro Mac dog food is awesome. My dogs love it. They gobble it up So quick and seem to prefer it more than their old food. And it's healthy for them. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Way To His Heart... We have been pretty loyal to a certain brand of dog food since we got our rescued dog, Huck, 5 years ago. He was severely emaciated when we got him and we knew good, quality food is what he needed to get healthy again. I was offered a free trial of Nuto Senior dog food. I like that it is natural food, made with quality ingredients and from farm raised chickens. The number one ingredient is meat, and that is the first thing we look at. My wife has a good friend that is a vet and asked her about Nutro dog food. It is actually what she feeds her dogs! So we let Huck sample the goods! He welcomed the change and snarffed it down and then turned around and looked at us because he wanted more! The food pieces are smaller and easier to chew than his previous brand. I am pleased with the new brand and will be buying Nutro Max large breed for seniors on the next trip to the store. I also like that this brand is easy to find at stores! March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max Senior dog food! Going into this I was unsure of it because my dogs Lowrider and Bella have really sensitive tummies and Lowrider is an old man and he has arthritis in his hips and he doesn't have much evergy. I decided that I was gunna give it a try, how could I not when it is made with all natural ingredients and farm raised chickens! I was surprised to find out that my dogs really liked it not one single kibble was left on the floor or in their dishes! After giving them Nutro Max for 2 weeks I have noticed quit a change in Lowrider he has been more active and he is running to the kitchen at feeding time. Lowrider and Bella are much more lively than they have been in a long time and I am happy that their digestive system is back on track and back to normal! I would highly recommend Nutro Max to everyone with senior dogs. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Maggie absolutely loved it! I was a little skeptical going into this because my Maggie is a very picky eater. She is a 12yr old lab/cocker spaniel mix. Sometimes she will put her nose up to new foods . As soon as the package arrived she was all over the box sniffing it. When I opened the box she was right there wanting some. Sometimes when I change her food she gets the runs. So I mixed it what the package said to gradually mix her old food with new for a few days. Well she went right to her bowl & ate it immediately. She basically ate around the old food to get to the Nutro Max which says alot. She had no issues at all changing over. She absolutely loved it! Thank you for giving me a chance to try this awesome food. I love it because it is all natural ingredients & I think that is why she loved it so much. I feel our fur babies deserve to have all the best foods just like we do. All natural foods are so much better because their are no harmful preservatives that can harm our precious fur babies. They are part of our family & it is our job to protect them! So if you are looking to give your fur baby the best you definitely would have to try this brand. I can't say it taste good because I actually didn't taste it myself but if she ate every morsel it had to be very tasty & delicious! March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves this My 60 pound, 12 year old dog loves this. When I mixed the Nutro Max in her old food, she picked out the Nutro Max first.It is nice to feed her such healthy ingredients as opposed to the grain based old food. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutritious and natural dog food I think this dog food is great. Been feeding my dog the same food for 8 years and switched to senior and tried Nutro Max since it was free. I got a bag of the senior dog food, chicken, to review. My dog loves it! I have a pug, and he doesn't always chew his food, but he chews this one and seems to love it!I had never heard of this brand before but now I look for it at the pet store.It doesn't smell bad. My dog has been eating this food for 2 weeks and seems to be more energetic and comes running when I put the food out.Nutritious, healthy, natural food for a good price. I would definitely recommend to others and will buy again. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max Senior I think Nutro Nutro Max is a great tasting dog food! I say this because I have 4 very picky dachshunds and they love. it! As an example, my one dog, Chomper, is so picky I was having to feed him from a spoon just so he would eat. The first time I fed him Nutro Max he gobbled it up and every feeding since! And I love it because it is 100% natural with whole grains and farm raised chicken. We give it 5 stars. check out Trixie grubbing March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max For Seniors♡The Natural Choice. .. We have used Nutro products in the past. Nutro has always been an exceptional product. I love the small to medium-sized bites. I fed Nutro Max to my Chihuahuas who have been eating Iams for years. They consumed Nutro Max without hesitation. Although it is yummy in their tummy, they might not notice all the quality natural ingredients like, real chicken protein rice, plus vitamins and nutrients. In a day and age when pets are more than pets, we appreciate a company that not only understands this...but strives to make a product that reflects our love. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sparky Loves Nutro Max! To be honest, I had never heard of this brand dog food until asked to participate in this campaign--and I'm sure glad Nutro Maz Senior made it to my door!First off, let me say that my Sparky is an elderly gent, fourteen in human years....and as might be expected, he can be crabby and anti social. Worst of all, though, is that my once robust pooch has become a finicky eater. ...until now.....With its all natural ingredients , with farm raised chicken and no by-products or soy, wheat, or corn protein, I know my old friend is getting the nourishment he needs....as long as he eats the food!From the moment I filled my dog's dish with Nutro Max, I knew I had a winner....he never took his head out of that dish until every morsel was gone!I highly recommend Nutro Max Senior to all owners of senior dogs....and my Sparky proves it! March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rebecca Beach I never realized how so many dog foods are unhealthy until I received the bag of #NutroMax . My dog, Marley, is 7 years old and needs a more balanced and healthy diet and NutroMax has all of that in one bag. I don't try new dog foods anymore but thanks to #BzzAgent, I found a great dog food for Marley and he deserves the best. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max Senior Dog food Going into this I was unsure because my German Shepard is a rather finicky eater. I asked a few neighbors what they feed there dog, and suddenly found out that a few actually feed there pets Nutro Max that they purchase at Tractor Supply. I looked at other reviews of the food online and While most where positive, I was concerned about some of the negative reviews. Going on the positive reviews, I decided to give the food a try for my Shepard. Let me tell you, I was pleasantly surprised and glad that I decided to give it a try and write a review. My Shepard Yukon enjoys the food, and actually waits for it during his feeding times. I have noticed a more lively reaction from him when we are outdoors and he is once again regular when it comes time to do his business.... All in all I am very satisfied with Nutro Senior Max dog food and Will continue to use it on a regular basis. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Dog Happy Mom My little Coco Bear is my fur baby. I'm always looking for good quality food for her especially as she gets older. She's now almost 8-years-old. I love this dog food because it isn't full of fillers. Her energy is up, coat is shiny, and she's a very happy pup. Highly recommend trying it for your senior pup. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Natural Goodness..... Before feeding my dog this food i wanted to the facts natural, preservatives, farm fed animals cruelty free, who made it what the ingredients were? I was really amazed to know that this is great dog food arrived free to try from BzzAgent Nutro Max is just the maximum dog food! the best food i have fed my dog so far. Right from the moment i opened the bag my dog was all over the bag smelling it and could hardly wait to try it out!! I said to myself this has to be something good it really was i could smell the natural ingredients as i opened the bag and see the texture and design is bite size just right for my dog. I started feeding him day on 25% day 2 50% day 3 75% and now day 4 100% Nutro my dog absolutely loves it and i like the fact it has all natural ingredients no artificial colors, preservatives, by-products and the company honestly represents great dog foo and has been around for a while with the experience to back it up i can tell i will be feeding my dog from the time is available in stores this new food very satisfied to know he will be healthier and be around longer my family is happy to know we will be feeding him the best dog food and be healthiest possible March 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dog really enjoys his new food I really enjoy the idea of dog food using farm raised chicken and other natural products. My dog has enjoyed the food and it appears that it has not caused any GI upset. Additionally, I am happy to learn that NutroMax Senior Recipe does not contain any chicken by-products, ground corn, sorghum, rye or any artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives.I deducted two stars because the product does contain wheat, which means, the Senior Recipe is NOT gluten free. I prefer to feed my pets a wheat-free and well-balanced nutritional plan. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Good Switch I am very satisfied with the Nutro Max Senior Recipe with Farm Raised Chicken. I have a 10 year old border collie that is often picky when it comes to his food. Even the current food that he eats, he is known to spit the kibble on the floor if it doesn't meet his satisfaction. With this food i am happy to report that i haven't found one stranded piece of kibble on the floor yet.It pleases me as a pet owner that there are no artificial flavors or preservatives in this food. The fact that i can pronounce and know about all the ingredients is great and its always a plus when it is made in the USA.I know that this company will be at the top of my list when I purchase the next bag of dog food for my friend. I would make the recommendation to any one that is searching for something new to try if they have a picky eater or just want to get better nutrition for their pet to give Nutro Max a try! March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Maxx loves Max Senior Recipe Our dog Maxx is 11 years old. He is lab/retriever. He can't get enough of the Max Senior Recipe. It has a fresh pleasant smell and a crunchy sound. The bites are perfect for him. Our "well behave" dog even found a way to dump the bag just to eat some more. Maxx seems to be more active. I think the information printed on the bag is accurate. It clearly identifies the ingredients. I followed the feeding instructions to shift my dog from his everyday food to Max Senior recipe. There are no digestive incidents to report. Overall, our dog is happy and we are happy too! March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max Senior Dog Food I think this dog food is GREAT! We have a 14 year old Jack Russell Terrier named Flower (kids picked it out...lol) and she is our baby so we always try to do what is best for her. She is normally a VERY picky eater...to the point of taking a dog food with 4 or 5 colors of food, and only eating certain colors. The colors she doesn't like she takes them over to the rug at the kitchen sink and lays them on the mat. Apparently she dislikes those so much that she doesn't even want them in her bowl. Now, on to the Nutro Max Senior Dog Food...she loves it. I was very hesitant about even trying this because of her pickiness...but she eats every bite. And she seems to have felt better and had more energy in the week that she has been eating the Nutro Max. So if my Flower likes, I have to HIGHLY recommend it! March 29, 2016
  • 2016-06-24 T06:35:51.988-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_95, tr_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog76, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4next>>
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®