For Dogs
Puppy Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

Puppy RecipeFarm Raised Chicken

NUTRO™ MAX® Puppy Food is specially formulated to support the development of growing puppies ages 1 to 12 months. Our all natural recipes are made with farm-raised chicken plus added vitamins and minerals to provide complete and balanced nutrition. Your puppy will love the savory flavors of real chicken and whole grains in our natural dog food, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Puppy Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 4lb. 12lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 4-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Puppy Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Puppy Food supports the healthy development of growing puppies ages 1 to 12 months
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for puppies is made with farm-raised chicken, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural puppy food that keeps your dog healthy and happy — at an affordable price
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Ingredients
Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Sorghum, Peas, Whole Grain Oatmeal, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Chicken, Pea Protein, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Whole Brown Rice, Brewers Rice, Chickpeas, Fish Oil (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Chloride, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Potassium Iodide, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 28.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 15.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.00%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Calcium (min.) 1.00%
Phosphorus (min.) 0.90%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min.)* 0.10%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min.)* 0.05%
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding ranges for puppies. These guidelines should be adjusted as needed to obtain optimum weight.

Puppies: From 3 to 5 weeks of age, moisten food and feed frequently. From 6 weeks of age, feed the suggested amount in three meals per day until 6 months of age, then twice daily until 12 months.

Pregnant/Lactating Bitches: During pregnancy, offer 50% more and during lactation offer at least two to three times more than the amount shown for puppies 29 to 52 weeks of age. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Puppy Age 6 – 11 Weeks 12 – 16 Weeks 17 – 28 Weeks 29 – 52 Weeks
5 lbs. 1 to 1-1/4 cups 3/4 to 1 cups 3/4 to 1 cups 2/3 to 3/4 cups
10 lbs. 1-2/3 to 1-3/4 cups 1-1/2 to 1-2/3 cups 1-1/4 to 1-1/2 cups 1 to 1-1/4 cups
15 lbs. 2-1/4 to 2-1/2 cups 2 to 2-1/4 cups 1-2/3 to 2 cups 1-1/3 to 1-2/3 cups
25 lbs. 3-1/4 to 3-1/2 cups 2-3/4 to 3-1/4 cups 2-1/2 to 2-3/4 cups 2 to 2-1/2 cups
35 lbs. - 3-2/3 to 4 cups 3-1/4 to 3-2/3 cups 2-1/2 to 3-1/4 cups
45 lbs. - - 3-3/4 to 4-1/3 cups 3 to 3-3/4 cups
55 lbs. - - 4-1/2 to 5-1/4 cups 3-1/2 to 4-1/2 cups
65 lbs. - - - 4 to 5 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.64 oz. of NUTRO MAX Puppy Recipe With Farm-Raised Chicken Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3,715 kcal/kg, 383 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 106reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Becky My Sheltie's love the Nutro Max puppy food and the peanut butter treats! December 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Dog Food Ever! I have had dogs all of my life and I am 55 years old. I have even owned up to 7 dogs at one time and I wish I had this dog food to feed my puppies when they were all growing up. The dog I have now loves this food, has beautiful shiny teeth and a gorgeous shiny coat. He is happy and healthy and I attribute it all to the wonderful food he eats. He is now 1 and I have decided to keep him on the puppy food for another year because of the quality of the food and his being a large dog. October 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My puppy actually enjoys eating nutro max I have tried three other different dry puppy foods and when saw an advertisement in a magazine about Nutro max I said everything I was looking for but mainly the firm stools in the description had me sold. I went to purchase it and to my surprise it wasn't on the shelf I waited for another week checked the store shelves again and saw only two bags of the puppy food remaining. I gave my 5 month old chihuahua a sample and when I returned after his feeding the bowl was empty I could not believe it and he had no stomach upset later on that day either. I thought it was a joke my puppy dislikes eating dry food but I gave him another serving he loves it I no longer supplement his diet with large amounts of wet food to keep his weight up. Thanks you very much your product is worth the money. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice shiny coat I have a 5 month old lab and his coat is so shiny since I got him at 12 weeks old. He loves the food and chows it right down!! :) August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Food My puppy has been eating this for 8 months now and loves it! I think it has definitely contributed to her excellent health and happiness. Everyone always remarks on the beauty and softness of her coat. She has plenty of energy and is fit in every way. Worth every penny! February 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recomended from feild trial breeder in canada Being of sound mind this referal from Mike regarding Nutro worked out very well for my pup. I am a loyal user of Purina Pro Plan I decided to see how it would work not transfering this pup from food to food and it worked out very well. She has a wonderful coat and very little shedding. The biggest problem I have is the prices of all dog foods have went threw the roof and the bags get smaller, but at least Purina pays me .12 cents a pound to feed and I have signed up with Nutro for coupons but not seen anything. Why don't you folks come up with something as Purina and try to sway me to feed a little more of your product, things out here are tough as you know, thanks 4 D Labs January 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best dog food ever! I always tell my puppy buyers to get this brand, it keeps dogs healthy skin and hair great AND they use more of the nutrients than in other brands. I highly recommend this to anyone! December 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Dog Food My 2 dogs love the Nutro Max dog food, the only problem that i have is with the new look of the bag you also get 5lbs less food. November 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful shiny soft coat I love the puppy Max, my Neapolitan Mastiff has the most beautiful, shiny black coat and it is so soft. Everyone comments on her soft, shiny coat and asks what I feed her. My adult Rottwieler is also on Nutro Max with the same results. My only complaint is that I am currently having a hard time finding the puppy bags in a 30#, my puppy eats alot and 15# just doesn't cut it. I won't switch because it is a wonderful food, but it is very frustrating. October 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love Max puppy food! My puppy is 8 months old multypoo with a sensitive stomach . Puppy Max is great quality dog food July 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by best puppy food that I've found I raise and show Jack Russell terriers and do Russell rescue. All of the puppies start on Nuto Max puppy. They love it and its easily digested . You can see the quality of the food by looking at their beautiful coats and strong bones and teeth.I would never use anything else and highly recommend this food to any one with a new pppy. March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lucky Pup! Adopted my dog from a kill shelter in Arkansas in September '09. Fed him chicken and rice. He could not even walk up a set of stairs. Had never been out of a crate. Did some research. He adjusted to this very quickly. Adopting a dog from a kill shelter presents many problems..he will turn 2 in May! We have now switched to "Big Dog" food. The transition was great....My vet is amazed at how healthy and active he is! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best product I ever used for my dogs. This is a great food for my dogs. They love it and I love it! Their skin and coat is amazing. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Puppy Starter! I have a SHih-Tzu puppy- about seven months old. I have been feeding him- Mikie-Al Max for Puppies since I bought him at the local pet store. He has a great coat and teeth. I have thought of changing him to a cheaper brand a few times, but have not done so as I love the ingredients and he usually gobbles it up!! Great Value!I love the fact that you offer coupons too.Many thanks,Babs March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great, made my puppy strong and he Nutra max for puppies is really great! My puppy loves it and it really has helped with his digestion and hir coat!I have an 8 months husky named lian. For the first 2 months we had him, we could not find a good quality food. After discussing closely with friends and doing extensive research I found Nutro dog, I bought the Nutro Max Puppy dry food. Feeding him for the first time with every food was the same. He enjoyed it he loves this food. Well its now 9 months and he still can't get enough of it. He is still lean and his coat couldn't get any shinier. I would recommend this food to anyone with a dog who is under 12months. Very good product! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE PUPPY MAX! I wish I had used it from the beginning. The pet store was demoing the product and I was reluctant to switch. Another customer came over and raved about how much healthier this food is and how there is less clean up as well. Originally it was the "less clean up" that convinced me, but since we switched we have noticed other benefits too. Our puppy's coat is shinier, he eats less and is more satisfied, he uses the bathroom less because he is getting more nutrition and less filler. We even make it through our evening walks without having to use any bags because he usually only goes in the morning. I really don't think the cost is that overwhelming anymore because he does eat less and he is HEALTHIER...we will NEVER switch to anything else! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great puppy food and they love it. Our Corgi has been on Nutro Max puppy food for the most of her 6 months and she is so shiny and healthly, I switched all of our puppies to this food and the love it and their coats just shine. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by simple is best My Rubie is a rescue dog with a very sensitive stomach. After trying several foods for sensitive dogs, we tried Max and hit the jackpot. She loves the taste, has zero problems with digestion now, and has a beautiful coat that strangers comment on whenever we go for a walk. When i called to ask for help, the customer service woman was so helpful and freindly. She said, "our Max is the gold standard for Nutro." She was RIGHT! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great puppy chow! Nutro Max puppy food has been great for our 8 pups AND their parents before them! They love it and it loves them: they have sharp senses, beautiful coats and plenty of energy! The yard is easy to clean up too and with 8 puppies that says A LOT! My pups eat 24+ cups a day so I go through it rapidly! Thanks for your $10 off coupons; many of my friends have given theirs to me as well! March 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product lives up to its name Nutra max for puppies is really great! My puppy loves it and it really has helped with her digestion and her coat! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great I have a 9 month old Chocolate Lab named Cabella. For the first 6 months we had her, we could not find a good quality food she would eat. After discussing closely with friends and doing extensive research I found Nutro dog food. With little hope left i bought the Nutro Max Puppy dry food. Feeding her for the first time with every food was the same. She enjoyed it and then after a few feeding she wouldn't eat it. Well its now been two months and she still can't get enough of it. She is still lean and her coat couldn't get any shinier. I would recommend this food to any one with a dog who is under 12months. Great product! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made my puppy strong and healthy! I love Nutro Max! I started feeding this food to my 9 week old Bichon Frise/Poodle puppy and he's so strong, fast and active. He's in the best of health and I know that a large part of it is the excellent nutrition he receives in his food. He's almost 9 months old now. He loves the taste of the food too. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Puppy Dog Food I love this dog food for our puppy. We will continue to use this dog food.We were using Natural Choice for our dog until he past away from cancer. Natural Choice is a good dog food too. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best food for your puppy/dog I have been using this product for every dog I have had in the past and currently continue to use it on my Cocker Spaniel that just turned 2. She will not eat any other kind of dog food and loses weight when I try changing her. She loves it and it is keeping her as healthy as my other dogs that have switched to the adult at 1 year. I have also noticed that when using this product my dogs don't chew on "other things" as much as other dogs I have known to use other pet food products. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pro Active for dog's I have NEVER written a review on any product before, but I felt I had to break down and tell me story about Nutro. Our puppy, Sammy, a long-haired miniature dachshund became a part of our lives almost 8 months ago. When we first got him we started him on Puppy Chow dry dog food. After about 3 months, we started noticing a balk spot on his right hip area and took him to the vet because we were concerned and didn't know what the cause was. The vet told us that Sammy had sensitive skin and recommended Nutro. After switching, and 6 months later, I am happy to report that Sammy has completely healed and his skin and fur are radiant! I am so thankful that the vet turned us on to Nutro. It truly is the BEST dog food I have seen and Sammy is a VERY happy puppy with no skin issues. Thanks Nutro!!! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Rounded Nutrition for puppies I have now raised 4 puppies on Nutro Max puppy formula and could not be happier. My puppies have a steady growth rate and maintain good body and coat condition through the growth spurts and I just love how their coats shine! Excellent product! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by We feed the best I am a fotser parent for the Maui Humane Society here in Hawaii. To date, we (my husband and I) have placed, from our home, almost 300 dogs/puppies and a dozen or so cats/kittens. "Tho we could accept the food the shelter buys, we choose to nourish these kids with a quality food. We use Nutro Max Puppy/Kitten. We also give the new adopting families a small bag with each puppy/kitten so that they will continue the diet.We explain the difference between the "bargain food" available in the grocery store and the quality food they can only find at pet and feed stores. We also explain the connection between bargain foods and the quantity of waste matter (stool) that bargain lines will give them as there is less nutritional ingredients. Less useable nutrients, more waste.For us, Nutro Max Pet Food is a no brainer. We will continue to supply it for our fosters at our own expense and we will continue to educate new pet owners as to the benefits of doing the same.Oh, and our own 7 dogs and 2 cats? They are also Nutro pets.,, Holistic for the dogs and Max for the cats. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior Quality and Overall Health Improvement Our new puppy was fed Purina Puppy Chow as soon as he began eating solid foods, so when we adopted him, I chose to stay with the puppy chow in case of belly upset. Benny(our doxie-mix pup) always seemed to have bad breath and his number twos were a big P-U! We decided it wasn't so adorable to get slobbery kisses and cuddles when he wasn't smelling so cute and I called my mom to get some advice. She has bred and raised pups since I was a small child and has been known to feed her dogs better than her own kids! I told her of our smelly woes and she began to rave about Nutro products and how healthy and behaved her malti-poo is because of it. I found the coupon online and went right out and purchased it. My intentions were to wean Benny by mixing the two but ended up just dishing it out for him. My fingers were crossed that he wouldn't get diarrhea. He did not, thank goodness! Now after several weeks of chomping Nutro puppy, he does not smell at all, pays a little bit more attention when teaching him, and seems to stay full longer. I think we have a found a dog food keeper! Thanks Nutro! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing When we got our puppy from a local breeder we had never heard of Nutro food. She explained that's what he was used to. We have always fed him according and he is perfect weight, amazing skin/coat, and is the best looking dog around. I get compliments on him all the time.I've had other dogs in the past and the puppy formula just fell short. They were always needing 2x what they were supposed to get and always stayed skinny.I will never use anything else for my pets. It's the perfect food. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by NutroMax is Dog-gone Maximum Satisfying We got our puppy, Chipmunk, when he was 13 weeks old. The breeder we got him from gave us a starter bag of puppy NutroMax. When it was time to purchase more, we decided to buy another leading brand that happened to be on sale. To our surprise he would not touch this other brand. So of course we went back to NutroMax. We have now just swithced to the active Adult NutroMax because he just turned 1 years old. He loves that also. He chows down on NutroMax. We now have learned not to switch just because something happens to be on special. This dog we have eats just about anything that isn't food, but when it comes to his dog food, he won't touch anything else but his NutroMax. I will never switch again. *****NUTROMAX IS CHIPMUNK APPROVED***** February 17, 2011
  • 2016-07-29 T06:13:29.592-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_106, tr_106
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog72, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 34 5next>>
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®