For Dogs
Puppy Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

Puppy RecipeFarm Raised Chicken

NUTRO™ MAX® Puppy Food is specially formulated to support the development of growing puppies ages 1 to 12 months. Our all natural recipes are made with farm-raised chicken plus added vitamins and minerals to provide complete and balanced nutrition. Your puppy will love the savory flavors of real chicken and whole grains in our natural dog food, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Puppy Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 4lb. 12lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 4-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Puppy Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Puppy Food supports the healthy development of growing puppies ages 1 to 12 months
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for puppies is made with farm-raised chicken, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural puppy food that keeps your dog healthy and happy — at an affordable price
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Ingredients
Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Sorghum, Peas, Whole Grain Oatmeal, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Chicken, Pea Protein, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Whole Brown Rice, Brewers Rice, Chickpeas, Fish Oil (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Chloride, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Potassium Iodide, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 28.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 15.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.00%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Calcium (min.) 1.00%
Phosphorus (min.) 0.90%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min.)* 0.10%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min.)* 0.05%
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding ranges for puppies. These guidelines should be adjusted as needed to obtain optimum weight.

Puppies: From 3 to 5 weeks of age, moisten food and feed frequently. From 6 weeks of age, feed the suggested amount in three meals per day until 6 months of age, then twice daily until 12 months.

Pregnant/Lactating Bitches: During pregnancy, offer 50% more and during lactation offer at least two to three times more than the amount shown for puppies 29 to 52 weeks of age. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Puppy Age 6 – 11 Weeks 12 – 16 Weeks 17 – 28 Weeks 29 – 52 Weeks
5 lbs. 1 to 1-1/4 cups 3/4 to 1 cups 3/4 to 1 cups 2/3 to 3/4 cups
10 lbs. 1-2/3 to 1-3/4 cups 1-1/2 to 1-2/3 cups 1-1/4 to 1-1/2 cups 1 to 1-1/4 cups
15 lbs. 2-1/4 to 2-1/2 cups 2 to 2-1/4 cups 1-2/3 to 2 cups 1-1/3 to 1-2/3 cups
25 lbs. 3-1/4 to 3-1/2 cups 2-3/4 to 3-1/4 cups 2-1/2 to 2-3/4 cups 2 to 2-1/2 cups
35 lbs. - 3-2/3 to 4 cups 3-1/4 to 3-2/3 cups 2-1/2 to 3-1/4 cups
45 lbs. - - 3-3/4 to 4-1/3 cups 3 to 3-3/4 cups
55 lbs. - - 4-1/2 to 5-1/4 cups 3-1/2 to 4-1/2 cups
65 lbs. - - - 4 to 5 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.64 oz. of NUTRO MAX Puppy Recipe With Farm-Raised Chicken Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3,715 kcal/kg, 383 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 106reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love at first bite Got my bag of nutro puppy food and my puppy loved it. Nuto puppy food has a easy open bag, great to reseal to keep fresh. The pieces are good shape and size for puppy teeth to bite. Nutro also has quality ingredients. The only thing I have any question is the price seems little expensive. But then like in people food the food that is good for us is expensive also. The nutro brand food I'm familiar with I also buy for my adult dogs. They have beautiful coats and look great. I do buy nutro almost every week the big bag my dogs do love it. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally found a food my dog likes!! My sweet dog is one of the most picky dogs ever! We have spent tons of money on foods she won't even eat. Needless to say I did not have high hopes for Nutro Max . I followed directions and began splitting her food between old food and Nutro Max. She is so picky she ate the Nutro Max and left her old food behind. I am so happy to have found a healthy food that she will actually eat. and I love Nutro Max packaging that has a Ziploc container to steal in the food and no more flimsy packaging ! A+ nutro max! March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great ingredients, just not for my puppy I was excited to try the Nutro Max Puppy Food! We have a 3 month old miniature dachshund and we have been actively looking for a good, high quality puppy food, with high protein and made in the USA. It's not that easy. Gus was interested in the bag for sure, but once we started mixing it in with his regular food, he was struggling to eat it. I think the pieces were a bit too large for his little mouth? He would take a piece out of his bowl and then make a complete disastrous mess of the one piece on the floor. Now he is just sorting through the pieces to get to the smaller food in his dish. Today was the second day of having 100% Nutro in his bowl, and his bowl remains fairly untouched.We may try the product again when he is a little bigger. It truly has everything else that we are looking for in a puppy chow. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My pup loves it!! My pup loves her new puppy food! Nitro Max has helped her transition from another puppy food smoothly!! Living the experience and the fact that it keeps her healthy and happy! And full of energy! March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by simple and great i think my pup snicker's really enjoyed the puppy food- i received it monday today is friday and he just loves it all-snickers is a fussy eater but with this food-i had no problems- the pup gained a little weight which i am happy about !! March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by my dog's acceptance My Chihuahua puppy loved the dog food and she won't anything else my puppy outside didn't care for it but finally started eating it but still doesn't care for it to much I will purchase it for my little one inside though but I will go back to my other puppy food for my big dog outside and I will recommend this product to all my friends to give to there dogs because every dog is different and mine staid healthy just by eating it I gave a little to my mom's dog and she went after it as well. It is great product especially for Chihuahuas March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Maxed out on Max I am always skeptical when it comes to switching up food on an Animal. You don't want to upset their tummy, or make them uncomfortable. However, I am also always for trying to find the best foods, treats etc. for my animals. I would recommend always reading the packaging thoroughly before giving this or any new food to your pet. After all they are a part of your family and you want the best for them.I will start with the packaging. I thought it was great, Durable material, Loved the resealable bag. All the information you need is right on the package in plain site. I loved the detail given on the bag. Tells you exactly how much food for puppies based on weight. It also included how much to mix with existing food to transition your food over. I found this to be a great thing, and would be especially helpful for newer dog owners.As we transitioned the food for my pup, he loved it. At times before he would slowly eat and was slightly disinterested. With this food added in and eventually given, he loved it! He eats it all up no problem.He has had no issues with an upset stomach, which was my biggest concern. He has been just fine. He really enjoys this new food! The cat was intrigued by the packaging as well as seen in my photos! lolThanks! March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Puppy love I think this is a great puppy food. My puppy ate his bowl clean! This product is 100 percent natural and he loves it! He prefers this now over his old brand of puppy food. I couldn't believe how fast he has been eating this down. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mrs. Abbott My puppy is very picky. I didn't think he would eat the NUTRO Max. But he loved it! And I loved what the food offered. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Max puppy food Max puppy food my puppy look and smell it first then she tried it and she liked it. Now if she will eat it and it's good for her then I'm sold. I want what's best for my puppy and this has everything she needs to grow a healthy life . Thank you ! March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Product! I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to get a new puppy or if you even have one currently. I compared the ingredients in the puppy chow we're using to the MAX Puppy Food I #gotitfree and was I surprised. Pretty much we've been feeding her garbage and I refuse to feed one of my babies that even if she does have fur. So far she gobbles it up quicker then the other stuff we were giving her. She actually tries to pick through her old stuff to find the newer stuff. Just goes to show which product is better. It's got all natural ingredients, the first ingredient is chicken. Big surprise to me. #thanksnutro #wishicouldgiveitmorethen5stars March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max Review At first I wasn't so sure that my husky would want to eat dog food from a bag, because she is used to eating from a can. I poured some of the Nutro Max product and she ate it without a second thought. I am sure there is something good behind Nutro Max's dog food. Perhaps is the fact that their product is made with real ingredients, and is not your usual dog food. I would recommend this product to people who are looking to really reward their dogs with real food, because after all, a dog is a man's best friend. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by NUTRO™ MAX™ Puppy Food This was a big hit with our dog. We didn't give her too much because she is used to another food, but we poured a little into a separate bowl to gauge her reaction. She finished NUTRO MAX first and came back for more. She didn't even finish the brand he usually eats. Definitely a food to consider in the future for our girl.Key points: This food is made with real chicken, no by-products. It's nice knowing she will be getting a real meal and not a filler."No corn, wheat or soy protein" "No added artificial flavors, colors, or preservatives"A dog needs a healthy meal, not something full of chemicals. This brand is natural and real, a must for every dog. March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by puppy food my puppy is 9 months old and is a German rottweiler and he loves this food, i normally feed him pedigree and he eats it just fine but when i gave him this kind he scarfed it down like it was water. Their is no artificial flavors or preservatives, that's what i like most about this dog food!! March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by max dog food i think this could be good for both my dogs, the bigger dog does not really care what kind of dog food he eats but the small chihuahua is picky but he did eat this fro the first day i received it. It would be a big seller my dogs liked it March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really great This puppy food is great. Spike really eats it up. Its the perfect size and smells really good. And the bag size is great because i dont have to buy it very often. It musty have great flavor because my puppy is finicky and he eats this right up. March 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by My dog hated it I fed this to my German Shepherd Puppy and she hated it. I am not sure why, maybe the flavor? I've fed my other 2 dogs Nutro Products and they loved it. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Max Puppy Food My puppy love this food he runs when he made ​​du food on your plate and eat it all.I want to buy this food to my puppy again March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro max puppy food I think this nutro max puppy food is awesome my puppy is loving it and she is very picky .At first she has loose stools getting use to it but now everything normal March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nutro Max Puppy Food My Puppy Belmont thought this was a treat instead of Dog Food , that being said he would not eat as a meal only as a snack I think he has certain taste buds because he is not into a lot of things but chicken . and puproni. I was happy to try a natural dog food for him he is not as eager . March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for my puppy Puppy loved it. It hard to give him new food to try without it upsetting his tummy. But he dove right into this and ate it all up. I will be purchasing more in the future. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro max puppy food I think this food was really good for my puppy! She loved it! I will definitely buy this for her in the future! March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Puppy food We like to see puppies get this because our puppy loves it and our 18 year old puppy loves it too thanks it was hard to find the right one for our 18year old but our 5 month loves it more so thank you March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Max puppy food I think he made of great ingredients and natural too my puppy really likes it it seem to be a great product so far and I plan to buy am glad I go to try with my puppy March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by nutro max puppy food Nutro max puppy food was a huge success with my 10 month old maltese puppy! She quickly ate with no issues. I could tell she really liked it and I think it not only gave her energy but I noticed she wasn't scratching or liching her paws and other areas! She's eating it, great size too for her to chew! March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by picky eater We had a tough time finding something our new puppy would eat. We tried the most expensive and the least expensive... We finally got a bag of Nutro! Finally something this dog will eat!! He really seems to like the taste and gobbles it right up. September 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shedding no more! Our dogs absolutely love your product and have noticed a big change in their skin and coat. Our dog Bebe has always shed a lot and thanks to this product shedding is now not an issue anymore. Thanks for an awesome product. September 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by love Max puppy food we adopted a 5 month old puppy and his food that we were given at the Rescue was not natural. We went to pet store that night to get natural dog food & treats and toys. We used this dog food until it ran out. We went to a pet store, and they were out of that food. We tried Max, puppy food, and our puppy loved it much better. He eats his food, his coat is healthy and he is very alert and happy. Thank you for making your dog food in the U.S.A. and for using only the best natural products. June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for sensitive stomach My puggle pup has had a sensitive stomach since I got him and I struggled to find something that would work. The vet had me try Fortiflora which helped but I wasn't willing to accept that that would be the only thing to help my dog digest properly. The vet even said if it didn't work he could have a condition where he could be missing an enzyme that would allow him to digest, which would require daily shots for the rest of his life. I couldn't accept that. I tried dried cranberry and pet kelp which definitely helped but I finally tried this food and it's been a miracle. He is a puggle so he will literally eat anything I give him so I knew the transition to a new food wouldn't be a problem for him but I was just so pleased to see him finally having a firm stool and his fur is so silky. I don't think I'll ever go to another dog food brand! January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by my babies love it! I have tried several different puply foods for my 5 month old akita and my 6 month old beagle mix. They are very picky. But they love this puppy food. I can not be more greatful that I finally found a puppy food they they will both eat! April 26, 2014
  • 2016-07-29 T06:13:28.726-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_106, tr_106
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog72, prod, sort_default
<<prev 23 4 5next>>
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®