For Dogs
Puppy Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

Puppy RecipeFarm Raised Chicken

NUTRO™ MAX® Puppy Food is specially formulated to support the development of growing puppies ages 1 to 12 months. Our all natural recipes are made with farm-raised chicken plus added vitamins and minerals to provide complete and balanced nutrition. Your puppy will love the savory flavors of real chicken and whole grains in our natural dog food, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Puppy Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 4lb. 12lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 4-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Puppy Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Puppy Food supports the healthy development of growing puppies ages 1 to 12 months
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for puppies is made with farm-raised chicken, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural puppy food that keeps your dog healthy and happy — at an affordable price
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Ingredients
Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Sorghum, Peas, Whole Grain Oatmeal, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Chicken, Pea Protein, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Whole Brown Rice, Brewers Rice, Chickpeas, Fish Oil (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Chloride, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Potassium Iodide, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 28.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 15.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.00%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Calcium (min.) 1.00%
Phosphorus (min.) 0.90%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min.)* 0.10%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min.)* 0.05%
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding ranges for puppies. These guidelines should be adjusted as needed to obtain optimum weight.

Puppies: From 3 to 5 weeks of age, moisten food and feed frequently. From 6 weeks of age, feed the suggested amount in three meals per day until 6 months of age, then twice daily until 12 months.

Pregnant/Lactating Bitches: During pregnancy, offer 50% more and during lactation offer at least two to three times more than the amount shown for puppies 29 to 52 weeks of age. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Puppy Age 6 – 11 Weeks 12 – 16 Weeks 17 – 28 Weeks 29 – 52 Weeks
5 lbs. 1 to 1-1/4 cups 3/4 to 1 cups 3/4 to 1 cups 2/3 to 3/4 cups
10 lbs. 1-2/3 to 1-3/4 cups 1-1/2 to 1-2/3 cups 1-1/4 to 1-1/2 cups 1 to 1-1/4 cups
15 lbs. 2-1/4 to 2-1/2 cups 2 to 2-1/4 cups 1-2/3 to 2 cups 1-1/3 to 1-2/3 cups
25 lbs. 3-1/4 to 3-1/2 cups 2-3/4 to 3-1/4 cups 2-1/2 to 2-3/4 cups 2 to 2-1/2 cups
35 lbs. - 3-2/3 to 4 cups 3-1/4 to 3-2/3 cups 2-1/2 to 3-1/4 cups
45 lbs. - - 3-3/4 to 4-1/3 cups 3 to 3-3/4 cups
55 lbs. - - 4-1/2 to 5-1/4 cups 3-1/2 to 4-1/2 cups
65 lbs. - - - 4 to 5 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.64 oz. of NUTRO MAX Puppy Recipe With Farm-Raised Chicken Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3,715 kcal/kg, 383 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 106reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pros and Cons I found myself strangely excited to give this to my dog after reading the ingredient list. As I was mixing it with my old dog food (a wet homemade food) I found no problems. However after it was 100% dry food I couldn't get my dog to eat it unless I softened it up. I wish I had known ahead of time though for puppies it does not seem to work well for small breeds. If they made an affordable wet food I would not hesitate to try it. Overall it seems to be a great product.P.S. My dogs fur seemed to get shiny and soft. April 10, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by my buzz campaign NUTRO MAX I received NUTRO MAX AND AFTER contacting our vet we began to slowly introduce Nutro Max puppy food to our puppys diet. The pellets are ROCK hard and even after adding water they remained the same way. I was advised to add hot water and olive oil to help softened them. How they can be it also gave our puppy very bad gas along with several days of diarrhea. I don't think the trauma of changing his diet helped with the situation. But he seems to enjoy the taste and is eating it better after its softened. April 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Morgan and Max ...Nutro Max, that is! When I received my Bzz Agent kit containing the Nutro Max dog food, I admit I was a bit worried. My dog, Morgan Elizabeth is not only a bit over weight, already having hip problems but is a very picky as far as her dog food (but has no problem with people food and has even learned to open the refrigerator). So I was worried. But as soon as opened the package she started sniffing around. She was intrigued from the get go. My first try was to put some in my hand and she gobbled that right up. I then mixed it in with her regular dog food. She seemed to love the smell, the taste and flavor.We loved that it was small kibble. Great for breakfast and dinner and even a little snack. She has had no problem chewing. I also love that there is no foul smell to the food.My husband and I have both noticed that Morgan's coat looks a bit shinier since she started the Nutro Max. April 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My doggies loved My puppy loved this food. She was so funny. When ever she really likes a food she rolls in it. She rolled so much. I will def. purchase this food for her. April 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My puppy Loved it Ok so I have a picky puppy she doesnt like alot of dog food but she loved the nutro max for puppy and it helped her use the bathroom a hole lot better I couldnt believe how much she love it this is a must if you want to feed your dog something good for them and something they will love to eat.. i got this for free to try with my puppy April 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogging Good Ever since I brought home my puppy I tried at least 3 different types of food. Honestly Im new to being a dog owner but Im loving it to the fullest. So I notice that he (tony) would take long to eat his food and then I get Nutro Max for puppies and I have never ever seen that the first 1/2 cup of food did not last 5min I was so excited that I gave him a bit more. Yes he ate it all up and its also perfect bite size since my Shi Tzu is small and dosent grow much!!! Just knowing thatvits 100% natural it works for me Tony is part of my family and my daughters say that he is there brother. So feeding him what is good, healthy and natruel makes me happy!! April 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by I got this free from Buzz Agent I think this is a very good brand to try going to gradual Max puppy food to my puppies diet! But I really think this is good brand to try! April 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My puppy Paisley My 6 month old Furbaby Paisley loved the taste of the food and would def recommend it to anyone to try April 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by LITTLE PUG LOVES This is my first time trying Nutro MAX Puppy food. My pug is a bit of a runt, and is so picky about what she eats. I gave her a little on the first day mixed with some soft food to get her adjusted. The next day I tried to do the same thing, and she just ate all of the dry food. I was so shocked. It barely has any smell, and it didn't tear up her stomach. If you're looking for an alternative to your average puppy food that has plenty of nutrients and not a strong smell, THIS is the one for you! I can't wait to order more once she finishes this bag. April 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Max PuppyFood Our puppy absolutely loved the Nutro Max puppy food that we offered her. She could smell it when the bag was opened and didn't think twice about tasting it. She ate her serving and enjoyed every bite. April 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stella Approved My Uncle got a new Puppy Stella just in time to try this yummy Puppy Food. She loved it. Its great to have a all natural puppy food to help her grow and know what she is eating is good for her too. April 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves it! My puppy loves it. She gobbled it up in one sitting. We used it as an emergency food so we didn't have time to integrate it with her normal food. Nonetheless, she didn't have any stomach issues after eating it. We're surprised by the good ingredients compared to other foods out there. Would definitely purchase a larger bag! April 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by good puppy food it s a very good puppy food and my puppy Baylor love it and I tell all my dog lover friend a about it and is going to try it April 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stella Loves It! I was initially skeptical about switching up Stella's food - as a Great Dane puppy she has an EXTREMELY sensitive stomach and has been on the same food since she has been eating solid food. The breeder we had purchased her from had her on a food that I wasn't thrilled with, but I was afraid to change due to the stomach issues.When I saw the opportunity to trial the Nutro Max, I figured this would be a good time to make the move. I followed the weaning instructions very carefully and fortunately there were no stomach issues. The only issue I had was that I had to figure out a way to slow Stella down while eating- she absolutely loves it! I wound up standing up a soup can in the middle of her bowl so she has to eat around it, and that did the trick. She has been on the Nutro Max for a total of about 10 days now, and she is showing no signs of losing interest. I can already see a difference in her fur and especially in her teeth and eyes - she is much more lively, and her poop seems much "healthier" if that's not too gross!We'll definitely be making the move over to Nutro Max - a name I can trust and my puppy loves it! April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Scarlett47 I think this is a great product after trying it with my puppy coffee. I decided to share this product with one of my friends and she was amazed that her puppy are even ate this product. She explained to me that her puppy is very picky about her food. Now she is sold on NUTRO MAX for puppies and so am I. April 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Max Puppy Food Our Great Dane puppy absolutely loved Max Puppy Food. It didn't last long in our house! As a dog owner I felt good about giving this product to Jasper after reading the product label and seeing some positive changes in his behavior. I would recommend this to all my dog lover friends! April 4, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Max Puppy Recipe I was truly excited when I read the ingredients in this puppy dog food. I was truly disappointed when my puppy would not even try it. I also tried getting the neighbors dog to eat it, hoping it would encourage my puppy to want to try it. They both refused to eat it. I feel bad about giving a bad review on my first BzzCampaign qualifier but I also feel it is better to be honest. Thank you for the opportunity, just wish I would have had a better outcome. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pepper loves Nutro Max Puppy Recipe, and so do I! I haven't had the easiest time finding a healthful dog food that my 9 month old pup will eat, and I've tried several high-priced ones. When Pepper started itching a lot, I switched to foods with no corn, wheat or soy, because I read that shih tzu's often suffer from allergies to those. But she hated the foods. I assumed Nutro Max would be the same: after all, it has no corn, wheat or soy protein, no added artificial flavors, colors or preservatives (very important to me!), and no by-product meal. The first time I put it in her bowl, she immediately started eating it, and she continues to do so. I even gave it to her in-between normal feeding times, because I was curious if she really liked the taste or was just hungry, and she ate it all! I am so excited to have found a food that is good for her and tastes good too! The only thing I don't love is the opening of the package...it seals, and I like that, but the cut of it makes it a little awkward for me to close. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied dog owner We adopted a puppy for our sons third birthday in October. Our puppy has been a wonderful addition to our family, but also it has been a bit stressful. To begin with we were unable to find a dog food he would actually eat, never in my previous experiences have I ever seen a dog be so picky. After reading about this brand and it's all natural ingredients and the added vitamins and nutrients it sounded wonderful, but would he eat it? And the answer is yes! He loves this dog food, not only did he eat all of it on the first try he continues to eat it unlike previous brand that he would only eat once or twice. Now I have got to find out where I can buy this brand! April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by max puppy food I wanted to know before I received this free sa, ple of max dog food if my pug pup would like or even try this new dry food. I gave him a small bowl of it thenother day and I can honestly state my dog simply cant get enough of this. Made with real chicken and its good for him! April 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by pups love it! Okay so I tyically try to stay away from kibble, I normally go with all natrual raw food that's been dehydrated. It's just a healthier alternative for my dogs, lately we've been incorporating a little bit of kibble into they're diet to get them to gain a little more weight. I'm happy this product has no wheat or corn, no artifical ingredients or by product in it! My dogs love it with out the other food mixed in, my golden mic has some food allergies and this has not bothered him at all! My dogs have also gained a little weight as well which was nice nothing to bad but a good few pounds to put them at a healthy weight! I like that this kibble is natrual because it's so hard to find a good kibble that's not so artificial. My pups seem to really enjoy this kibble, I will definitely repurchase this to add to their diet! March 31, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by puppy food my dog love it . when i gave it to her it did'nt have a bad smell like others brands.also she eat it with me have to add anything to it. i would buy this food for her again March 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog food I can feel good about feeding to my pup I love how this food is actually food, much better quality and healthier than grocery store brands. My pup seems very happy with the switch, very energetic and gobbles it down. His coat is really shiny too. I love the packaging, everything is so transparent. I can easily see and understand all of the ingredients and feeding guidlines. The resealable bag is great, I don't have to worry about kids, puppies, bugs, etc... getting into it when my back is turned. I would recommend this product to anyone who cares about the quality of food they feed their family pets. March 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves, I love! My puppy means the world to me and to see him eat this food up was a delight! He enjoyed it so much I had to physically make him slow down so that he would chew. The food seemed to be easily digested and never have my pup any issues. He seemed full of energy and full of life! I'm so thankful I was able to get this sample! I think it is important for other customers to know how good my pups coat looks and how happy he seems after he eats! I would purchase for sure! March 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best puppy food I think nutro max dog food is good cause my puppies love it alot better then other puppy foods they just walked up and ate it right up from now on im going to get nutro max dog food for them thank you for letting me this opportunity to try this product out thank you agian March 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max Puppy Food I think this puppy food contain high quality protein for my little dog. My dog always have intestional problems for the others food..you know other brands for food. And this time I give to her Nutro Max Puppy food and she never with the moments I give she dont have problem to eat. She loved this food. And I still very happy for them. I really honestly with I said she loved. The package is good. I tell my friends and family for them. My experience Its satisfactory. Thanks. Peopple go to tried. March 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max Puppy I was honestly very skeptical to have our puppy try this new food. This was the first transition from another food since we have acquired her. The first day, I mixed the food according to the recommendations, and our puppy had ate all of the NutroMax brand, and left the previous brand of food in her bowl. She really seems to enjoy the product, which in turn is beneficial knowing the puppy actually prefers this product over what we had been previously buying. After reading the products ingredients, it is also very pleasing to know that it is 100% all natural and contains the appropriate amount of vitamins and minerals that are necessary for the diet of our puppy. I would highly recommend this product. March 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great nutrients! I gave my pup this food gradually, he normally gets really excited about new food, this one though, he didn't seem to like much.He does eat it, but only when he has no other choice. The food has been good to him, and it hasn't upset his tummy.I also like how great the ingredients are and how good it is for my furry baby to be eating it. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 4 Paws Up from this Puppy! Our dogs are important members of our family, so like my kids it is important to me what they eat. Before receiving my bag of Nutro Max Puppy food I did plenty of research. I wanted to know what was in it and was that combination of ingredients what my puppy needed for healthy growth and development. I’ll sum up many hours of investigation by saying I was able to confirm that this is a good and recommended food for a puppy. So I started feeding it to our puppy. I liked that the bag opened easily but was well sealed. (It’s the little things sometimes) I liked that the kibble didn’t have a strong or stinky odor to it, and I liked the size of the individual pieces. I am able to use the kibble as a reward while training. My dog liked it too! I introduced it to her diet as recommended (25% day 1, 50% day 2…) and had absolutely no problems converting her. I also noticed little to no change in her stool during or after the conversion process. Other things I really like about Nutro Max: The variety of flavors available and different size bags. (We travel a fair amount so it is helpful to be able to just buy a smaller size bag to travel with while having larger size bags to stock up with at home.) Their web site (nutro.com) is full of good information and is easy to navigate. Most of all I appreciate that their quality food is very fairly priced. March 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nurto Puppy food I can't really give that great of a rating because my puppy hasn't gotten use to it yet. I have to wean him off of his old food and onto new. I am thinking about trying it to see if he would like it. Now that's clearly a joke, however, my brother does that for all of his pet's food. Personally, I love the fact that it comes in a resealable bag. I had it on the floor with my puppy and he could not open it - when he pushed it over, all of the food stayed in the bag! I have to incorporate it slowly into his food. I know they suggest 75% old food and 25% new, but I was going to start off by giving him this food as treats then slowly incorporating it into his food. I think he would be more receptive of it and hopefully not make his stomach hurt!I do love that the first ingredients are chicken! I also love that the sample bag is big enough to try incorporating it into his old food for at least 2 weeks depending on how big your dog is and how much he or she eats. March 29, 2016
  • 2016-06-27 T07:09:45.704-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_106, tr_106
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog72, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5next>>
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®