For Dogs
Puppy Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

PuppyNatural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Puppy food is formulated for the specific needs of growing puppies, and Made in the USA using only the finest ingredients that can be traced back to their source — like real chicken protein from farm-raised chickens and whole grain rice and wheat. And because we only use the best ingredients, you'll never find any chicken by-product meal, ground corn, sorghum, rye or any artificial colors, flavors or preservatives. We're committed to provide great tasting, natural nutrition so your dog will live a long, healthy life.

Package Sizes Available: 5lb. 15lb. 35lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Dental Health
    Crunchy kibble scrubs teeth to reduce plaque and tartar build-up, whiten teeth, and freshen your dog's breath.
  • Immune System Health
    Made from natural ingredients fortified with vitamins, minerals and taurine to support a strong immune system.
  • Healthy Heart
    Nutrient rich chicken protein and Vitamin E to help your dog maintain a strong, healthy heart for life.
  • Healthy Muscle Mass and Mobility
    Protein from farm-raised chicken promotes healthy muscle mass and mobility for a long, healthy life.
  • Digestive Health
    A combination of natural fibers for easy digestion and small, firm stools.
  • Healthy Skin & Coat
    Rich in omega-6 fatty acids for healthy skin and a lustrous coat.
  • Vitality
    Whole grain wheat and rice for healthy and balanced energy throughout the day.
  • Healthy Brain
    Natural protein and fatty acids to support healthy brain development.
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Nutro Food
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min.) 26.00%
Crude Fat (min.) 15.00%
Crude Fiber (max.) 4.00%
Moisture (max.) 10.00%
Calcium (min.) 1.00%
Phosphorus (min.) 0.80%
Zinc (min.) 250 mg/kg
Vitamin E (min.) 250 IU/kg
Taurine (min.)* 0.10%
Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C) (min.)* 35 mg/kg
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min.)* 0.10%
Omega-6 Fatty Acids (min.)* 3.00%
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding ranges for puppies. These guidelines should be adjusted as needed to obtain optimum weight.

Puppies: Feed the suggested amount in three meals per day until 6 months of age, then twice daily until 12 months.

Adult Dogs: Feed at least 80% of the amount shown for puppies 29-52 weeks of age.

Pregnant Bitches: During pregnancy, offer 50% more than the amount shown for puppies 29-52 weeks of age.

Lactating Bitches: Offer at least two to three times the amount shown for puppies 29-52 weeks of age. If feeding NUTRO® MAX® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Puppy Food with your old food for 6 days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing in a cool, dry location.

Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Puppy Weight 3 – 5 Weeks 6 – 11 Weeks 12 – 16 Weeks 17 – 28 Weeks 29 – 52 Weeks
3 lbs. Moisten & feed
frequently
2/3 – 3/4 2/3 – 3/4 1/2 – 2/3 2/5 – 1/2
5 lbs. Moisten & feed
frequently
1 – 1 1/4 4/5 – 1 3/4 – 1 1/4 2/3 – 3/4
8 lbs. Moisten & feed
frequently
1 1/2 – 1 2/3 1 1/3 – 1 1/2 1 1/4 – 1 1/3 1 – 1 1/4
10 lbs. Moisten & feed
frequently
1 3/4 – 2 1 1/2 – 1 3/4 1 1/3 – 1 1/2 1 – 1 1/3
20 lbs. 3 – 3 1/4 2 2/3 – 3 2 1/4 – 2 2/3 1 3/4 – 2 1/4
40 lbs. 5 – 5 1/2 4 1/3 – 5 3 3/4 – 4 1/3 3 – 3 3/4
60 lbs. 6 – 6 2/3 5 1/4 – 6 4 – 5 1/4
80 lbs. 6 1/3 – 7 1/3 5 – 6 1/3
100 lbs. 6 – 7 1/2

Use a standard 8 oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.42 oz. of NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Puppy Food. Moisten the food until the puppy no longer has sore gums and has sufficient teeth to chew the kibble.

NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase feeding amount to achieve ideal weight
Maintain feeding at current level
Decrease feeding amount to lower range of target weight within the age category
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3660 kcal/kg, 355 kcal/cup (calculated).
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Puppy Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for all life stages.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 39reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Dog Food My 2 dogs love the Nutro Max dog food, the only problem that i have is with the new look of the bag you also get 5lbs less food. November 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful shiny soft coat I love the puppy Max, my Neapolitan Mastiff has the most beautiful, shiny black coat and it is so soft. Everyone comments on her soft, shiny coat and asks what I feed her. My adult Rottwieler is also on Nutro Max with the same results. My only complaint is that I am currently having a hard time finding the puppy bags in a 30#, my puppy eats alot and 15# just doesn't cut it. I won't switch because it is a wonderful food, but it is very frustrating. October 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love Max puppy food! My puppy is 8 months old multypoo with a sensitive stomach . Puppy Max is great quality dog food July 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by best puppy food that I've found I raise and show Jack Russell terriers and do Russell rescue. All of the puppies start on Nuto Max puppy. They love it and its easily digested . You can see the quality of the food by looking at their beautiful coats and strong bones and teeth.I would never use anything else and highly recommend this food to any one with a new pppy. March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lucky Pup! Adopted my dog from a kill shelter in Arkansas in September '09. Fed him chicken and rice. He could not even walk up a set of stairs. Had never been out of a crate. Did some research. He adjusted to this very quickly. Adopting a dog from a kill shelter presents many problems..he will turn 2 in May! We have now switched to "Big Dog" food. The transition was great....My vet is amazed at how healthy and active he is! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best product I ever used for my dogs. This is a great food for my dogs. They love it and I love it! Their skin and coat is amazing. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Puppy Starter! I have a SHih-Tzu puppy- about seven months old. I have been feeding him- Mikie-Al Max for Puppies since I bought him at the local pet store. He has a great coat and teeth. I have thought of changing him to a cheaper brand a few times, but have not done so as I love the ingredients and he usually gobbles it up!! Great Value!I love the fact that you offer coupons too.Many thanks,Babs March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great, made my puppy strong and he Nutra max for puppies is really great! My puppy loves it and it really has helped with his digestion and hir coat!I have an 8 months husky named lian. For the first 2 months we had him, we could not find a good quality food. After discussing closely with friends and doing extensive research I found Nutro dog, I bought the Nutro Max Puppy dry food. Feeding him for the first time with every food was the same. He enjoyed it he loves this food. Well its now 9 months and he still can't get enough of it. He is still lean and his coat couldn't get any shinier. I would recommend this food to anyone with a dog who is under 12months. Very good product! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE PUPPY MAX! I wish I had used it from the beginning. The pet store was demoing the product and I was reluctant to switch. Another customer came over and raved about how much healthier this food is and how there is less clean up as well. Originally it was the "less clean up" that convinced me, but since we switched we have noticed other benefits too. Our puppy's coat is shinier, he eats less and is more satisfied, he uses the bathroom less because he is getting more nutrition and less filler. We even make it through our evening walks without having to use any bags because he usually only goes in the morning. I really don't think the cost is that overwhelming anymore because he does eat less and he is HEALTHIER...we will NEVER switch to anything else! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great puppy food and they love it. Our Corgi has been on Nutro Max puppy food for the most of her 6 months and she is so shiny and healthly, I switched all of our puppies to this food and the love it and their coats just shine. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by simple is best My Rubie is a rescue dog with a very sensitive stomach. After trying several foods for sensitive dogs, we tried Max and hit the jackpot. She loves the taste, has zero problems with digestion now, and has a beautiful coat that strangers comment on whenever we go for a walk. When i called to ask for help, the customer service woman was so helpful and freindly. She said, "our Max is the gold standard for Nutro." She was RIGHT! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great puppy chow! Nutro Max puppy food has been great for our 8 pups AND their parents before them! They love it and it loves them: they have sharp senses, beautiful coats and plenty of energy! The yard is easy to clean up too and with 8 puppies that says A LOT! My pups eat 24+ cups a day so I go through it rapidly! Thanks for your $10 off coupons; many of my friends have given theirs to me as well! March 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product lives up to its name Nutra max for puppies is really great! My puppy loves it and it really has helped with her digestion and her coat! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great I have a 9 month old Chocolate Lab named Cabella. For the first 6 months we had her, we could not find a good quality food she would eat. After discussing closely with friends and doing extensive research I found Nutro dog food. With little hope left i bought the Nutro Max Puppy dry food. Feeding her for the first time with every food was the same. She enjoyed it and then after a few feeding she wouldn't eat it. Well its now been two months and she still can't get enough of it. She is still lean and her coat couldn't get any shinier. I would recommend this food to any one with a dog who is under 12months. Great product! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made my puppy strong and healthy! I love Nutro Max! I started feeding this food to my 9 week old Bichon Frise/Poodle puppy and he's so strong, fast and active. He's in the best of health and I know that a large part of it is the excellent nutrition he receives in his food. He's almost 9 months old now. He loves the taste of the food too. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Puppy Dog Food I love this dog food for our puppy. We will continue to use this dog food.We were using Natural Choice for our dog until he past away from cancer. Natural Choice is a good dog food too. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best food for your puppy/dog I have been using this product for every dog I have had in the past and currently continue to use it on my Cocker Spaniel that just turned 2. She will not eat any other kind of dog food and loses weight when I try changing her. She loves it and it is keeping her as healthy as my other dogs that have switched to the adult at 1 year. I have also noticed that when using this product my dogs don't chew on "other things" as much as other dogs I have known to use other pet food products. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pro Active for dog's I have NEVER written a review on any product before, but I felt I had to break down and tell me story about Nutro. Our puppy, Sammy, a long-haired miniature dachshund became a part of our lives almost 8 months ago. When we first got him we started him on Puppy Chow dry dog food. After about 3 months, we started noticing a balk spot on his right hip area and took him to the vet because we were concerned and didn't know what the cause was. The vet told us that Sammy had sensitive skin and recommended Nutro. After switching, and 6 months later, I am happy to report that Sammy has completely healed and his skin and fur are radiant! I am so thankful that the vet turned us on to Nutro. It truly is the BEST dog food I have seen and Sammy is a VERY happy puppy with no skin issues. Thanks Nutro!!! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Rounded Nutrition for puppies I have now raised 4 puppies on Nutro Max puppy formula and could not be happier. My puppies have a steady growth rate and maintain good body and coat condition through the growth spurts and I just love how their coats shine! Excellent product! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by We feed the best I am a fotser parent for the Maui Humane Society here in Hawaii. To date, we (my husband and I) have placed, from our home, almost 300 dogs/puppies and a dozen or so cats/kittens. "Tho we could accept the food the shelter buys, we choose to nourish these kids with a quality food. We use Nutro Max Puppy/Kitten. We also give the new adopting families a small bag with each puppy/kitten so that they will continue the diet.We explain the difference between the "bargain food" available in the grocery store and the quality food they can only find at pet and feed stores. We also explain the connection between bargain foods and the quantity of waste matter (stool) that bargain lines will give them as there is less nutritional ingredients. Less useable nutrients, more waste.For us, Nutro Max Pet Food is a no brainer. We will continue to supply it for our fosters at our own expense and we will continue to educate new pet owners as to the benefits of doing the same.Oh, and our own 7 dogs and 2 cats? They are also Nutro pets.,, Holistic for the dogs and Max for the cats. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior Quality and Overall Health Improvement Our new puppy was fed Purina Puppy Chow as soon as he began eating solid foods, so when we adopted him, I chose to stay with the puppy chow in case of belly upset. Benny(our doxie-mix pup) always seemed to have bad breath and his number twos were a big P-U! We decided it wasn't so adorable to get slobbery kisses and cuddles when he wasn't smelling so cute and I called my mom to get some advice. She has bred and raised pups since I was a small child and has been known to feed her dogs better than her own kids! I told her of our smelly woes and she began to rave about Nutro products and how healthy and behaved her malti-poo is because of it. I found the coupon online and went right out and purchased it. My intentions were to wean Benny by mixing the two but ended up just dishing it out for him. My fingers were crossed that he wouldn't get diarrhea. He did not, thank goodness! Now after several weeks of chomping Nutro puppy, he does not smell at all, pays a little bit more attention when teaching him, and seems to stay full longer. I think we have a found a dog food keeper! Thanks Nutro! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing When we got our puppy from a local breeder we had never heard of Nutro food. She explained that's what he was used to. We have always fed him according and he is perfect weight, amazing skin/coat, and is the best looking dog around. I get compliments on him all the time.I've had other dogs in the past and the puppy formula just fell short. They were always needing 2x what they were supposed to get and always stayed skinny.I will never use anything else for my pets. It's the perfect food. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by NutroMax is Dog-gone Maximum Satisfying We got our puppy, Chipmunk, when he was 13 weeks old. The breeder we got him from gave us a starter bag of puppy NutroMax. When it was time to purchase more, we decided to buy another leading brand that happened to be on sale. To our surprise he would not touch this other brand. So of course we went back to NutroMax. We have now just swithced to the active Adult NutroMax because he just turned 1 years old. He loves that also. He chows down on NutroMax. We now have learned not to switch just because something happens to be on special. This dog we have eats just about anything that isn't food, but when it comes to his dog food, he won't touch anything else but his NutroMax. I will never switch again. *****NUTROMAX IS CHIPMUNK APPROVED***** February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My puppy loves it. After trying several other brands, we found this one. Meg, our rescue pup, loves it and we love that it is full of wholesome and nutritious ingredients. Thanks Nurto. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great product! We have recently adopted a dog from a local no kill shelter. When we got her she was rather thin from just having puppies. We started her out on this food and within no time she was back on track! We feed this food to all 3 of our dogs. Great quality, great price! Way to go NUTRO! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My puppy loves this stuff! When we purchased our Siberian Husky from our breeder, she recommended we stay on the same puppy food she was feeding him; Nutro MAX Puppy (not the large breed formula). She said that although some Huskies can be large, the adult Nutro Max was just a little rich for them, so she switched back to the Nutro MAX puppy and Nutro MAX adult. She says it is the best food ever. And I have to agree! My puppy is active and healthy and loves eating his kibble. His coat is shiny and soft and his teeth are healthy. He never gets indigestion from this food. We are a Nutro family and recommend it to anyone we can! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product We chose to this brand because it is what they use at the SPCA where we adopted our puppy. You know that you can trust the SPCA! Paisley loves this food! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic This is THE food. I have a cocker spaniel puppy that is eating this since its early days and has developed good shiny coat. Also, important but often un-noticed fact is that, the puppy doesn't smell bad at all. It does depend on the food. She eats the food easily, is able to chew it and likes it. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by NO NEED TO EVER BUY ANOTHER BRAND! I have a Boston Terrier and she was having issues with ever brand I tried with her. Until I was recommended MAX Puppy food. She loved it, her tummy loved it and her coat started to look very healthy and shinny. her dropping had little to no smell (and being an indoor baby that really helps if I happen to work late) I can honestly say I WILL NEVER EVER EVER USE ANOTHER BRAND! As a matter of fact when I am at Petco I every chance I get convince everyone I can to try Max! I tell them all the great results I have had with Max......can I get on payroll?? haha I honestly love the product and will never change brands. as long as it is around all my baby's/pets will be on but MAX! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Small breed perfect! This product is perfect for my small breed in-door dogs. They will not eat anything else. The flat small bites are perfect for a puppy we have that has a facial deformity. She was born with a cleft pallet. When she was born she had less than 50% chance of survival. We were concerned she may never be able to survive on dry food alone and she is feisty and healthy as any dog without problems. She has no problems eating this brand and will not touch anything else. February 17, 2011
<<prev2 3next>>
Buy Online
 
MAX® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®