For Dogs
Large Breed Adult Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

Large Breed Adult RecipeFarm Raised Chicken

Give your large breed dog a natural, great-tasting meal they will look forward to with NUTRO™ MAX® Large Breed Adult Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food. Our all natural dog food is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of your large dog and satisfy their big appetite. Made with farm-raised chicken and added vitamins and minerals, our NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Large Breed Dogs provides complete and balanced nutrition in every bowl. Your larger dog will love the savory flavors of real chicken and whole grains, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 25lb.

 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 25-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Large Breed Adult Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food
  • NUTRO™ MAX®Large Breed Dog Food is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of large adult dogs
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for adult dogs is made with farm-raised chicken, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural dog food that keeps your large breed healthy and happy — at an affordable price
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Ingredients
Chicken Meal (source of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate), Whole Grain Sorghum, Brewers Rice, Whole Grain Oatmeal, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Chicken, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Whole Brown Rice, Peas, Chickpeas, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Chloride, DL-Methionine, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Potassium Iodide, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 22.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 13.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.50%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Glucosamine (Min.)* 150 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate (Min.)* 350 mg/kg
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
50 lbs. 3 cups 3-1/2 cups 4 cups
60 lbs. 3-1/2 cups 4 cups 4-2/3 cups
80 lbs. 4-1/3 cups 5 cups 5-3/4 cups
100 lbs. 5-1/4 cups 6 cups 6-3/4 cups
120 lbs. 6 cups 6-3/4 cups 7-3/4 cups
160 lbs. 7-1/3 cups 8-1/2 cups 9-2/3 cups
200 lbs. 8-2/3 cups 10 cups 11-1/3 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.15 oz. of NUTRO MAX Large Breed Adult Recipe With Farm-Raised Chicken Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3,619 kcal/kg, 324 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 197reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by ziva's zest ziva is highly energetic and her nutro max for large breeds keeps her healthy and enthusiastic. she loves to run, run, run and investigate everything new. She thinks she is a billy goat as she climbs vertical cuts in the land to 6 feet high. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Puppy Power! My big girls think Nutro is great for their tummy! After having an embarrassing little problem (gassy!)...we made the switch from a grocery store brand to Nutro & it was an instant difference for them! Even better... the cost for the "good stuff", Nutro, was no more than what we were paying at our local grocery store for the "okay stuff".They love to see those big, tasty chunks in their bowls. Lots of tail waggin'! March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a difference!!!! We were trying to save a little money and we had all of our dogs on what we thought was a decent dog food. We finally decided we were going to spend the extra money and try a different food because we just weren't happy with what we were using. We started two of our bullmastiff adults on it and within 3 days we were ready to switch every dog we have to it. The difference in the amount of waste was noticeable in 24 hours! With several bullmastiff's and bulldog's to clean up after the change in food cut down our clean up time tremendously. Not only that but all of our dogs love it, they don't shed nearly as much as before and they don't eat nearly as much as they used to eat of the previous food. So glad we tried it! March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product has less cleanup There is less clean up than most other dog foods. All of our dogs love diner time. There coats and skin look great. March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product is worth the price I have fed my two american staffshire terriors this food for the last year and immediatly when I started them on it noticed a difference in their coat energy and feces size all improved very satisfied with product March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for keeping our dogs in great health We have a Brittany spaniel lab mix that is 3 months old she is currently on the natural choice small bites puppy, an american pit bull terrrier that is 2 years old on nutro max large breed adult and a dalmation lab that is 11 years old on the natural choice senior so once again thanks for keeping an old dog active, a young adult strong and beautiful and bringing up a puppy with everything she needs to follow in her older sisters footsteps :) March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'll never feed my dogs anything else again! I've been feeding my two dogs (a Doberman and a German Short-Hair) Nutro Max Large Breed Adult for years now, and they love it. About a year ago, I thought I'd try to save some money by switching to another brand - what a mistake! Their coats lost their shine, and they ate almost twice as much to get the same nutrition. I chalked it up to a lesson learned and switched them right back to the Nutro. I don't mind paying a few dollars extra to watch them enthusiastically gobble it up every day and know that they are getting everything they need from their Nutro Max, including glucosamine and chondroitin, which are important for bone and joint health. Thanks for this quality product, Nutro Company! March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love it... I have been feeding my dogs Nutro since 1998. At that time I had 4 dogs who all needed to lose some weight. I started them on the weight control formula and within a year all 4 were down to lower weights. They all lived long, healthy, happy lives. 2 years ago, as my dogs were nearing the end of their lives, I took in 2 foster dogs. I was told that the male was a picky eater and his previous foster had trouble getting him to eat. You could tell, he was painfully skinny. I purchased Nutro Max for them and they loved it. They both still do. When I get dinner ready they prance around wanting the food. My male not only is no longer a picky eater, but at the last vet visit he was slightly overweight - time to move to weight management I guess. Last month we got a new puppy, a Greater Swiss Mountain Dog. I immediately switched her to Large Breed puppy since she will be over 100 lbs when full grown. She absolutely loves it and is growing like a weed. Bottom line is I know my dogs have done so well because of Nutro food. I would not feed my dog anything else and would highly recommend it to any dog owner. March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT! We feed five adult dogs (One Golden Retriever, and 4 Weimeraners) this food. It is great. They love it, and are all healthy. It gets pretty rambuncious at dinner time, but they all know where their bowl will be and eat theirs, then go lick the bowls of the others that finished first! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Features This item is really awesome. I raise and breed great danes. This is the only product that i have found that i can feed all my daness. They are kept at a great weight and have the best coats they have ever had. I have one female i have never been able to keep weight on andshe is doing just awesome on this product. I have recommend this to all my family that have dogs and they couldnt beleive the differance in there weight and coat in a short period of time. Just wished it came in 50 pound bags. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has excellent features. I got my German Shepherd at 8 weeks old and have tried various foods on her. She didn't seem to like anything I gave her and turned into a fussy eater. My dog is now three years old and I have been using Nutro Max for the past year or two. Since I switched I have noticed a big change in her coat and shedding. After about three months being on Nutro Max her coat is soft and shiny. Not like a typical Shepherd. Her shedding has cut down dramatically also. She just loves the food and I love the effect on her. Thank you Nutro Max. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT DANE APPROVED My Great Dane has used NUTRO MAX ADULT since birth. His growth needs to be as natural as possible and the protein levels in this product are perfect for him or any other large breed dog. I also use the NUTRO MAX LARGE BREED Beef & Rice Dinner..Chunks in Gravy. At 15 months now and 6FT 2in, 215LBS,Hamlet has given NUTRO MAX ADULT his PAW of approval! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great for my dog! This product keeps my dog healthy. With the real ingredients it uses, my dog is povided with the nutrition he needs to grow healthy! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better Nutrition for my big babies. I have two large dogs, a yellow lab and a rotweiller. We adopted the Rotti when he was about 2. He has many health issues. We needed a food that would meet his nutritional needs and was reasonably priced as we spend quite a bit on the several medications he needs. Nutro was recommended to us. Both dogs love it and thrive on it. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Douglas Loves This Food, I LOVE the Price Douglas, a 90 lb active yellow lab, is not hard to please however, he does have a sensitive stomach. I tried many different foods, including the expensive organic kinds, and found that the Nutro Max is his favorite and mine because of all the natural healthy ingredients and less clean up. Nutro Max is also good for Douglas' joints which is so important to me as he is a pure bred lab. And, not only is the price the best price I've found for good dog food but it's sold at my local hardware store which is a hop, a skip and a jump away! Thanks Nutro March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't wait till dinner time We have 4 large breed dogs that all love their Max Large Breed Adult food. Luke, our coon hound, used to eat his food one piece at a time, it would take at least 20 minutes for him to finish his dinner. Meanwhile the other dogs would start circling like sharks, hoping to get a few pieces of his food. We switched to Nutro Max and discovered that Luke wasn't a pokey eater, he just didn't like the food. He now starts howling at the sight of the food bowl, and is the first one done with dinner. Thanks to Nutro max, I no longer have to babysit Luke during dinner time. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I can't even TRY to switch The only time my dog shows disappointment in me is when I try a dogfood less expensive than Max. He usually gobbles down his food immediately, except when I try a switch. Then he'll sniff the food and look up at me without eating. It's the saddest thing. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max Large dog My dog,is a adopted rescue dog . The humane society fed him Nutro products and it was recommended to continue it. I tried many types but found best Nutro Max adult beef/Large breed,he was sensitive to Lamb/Rice and Chicken formulas which caused a hair thinning. He is now thriving,has a great coat and has grown! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I tried switching but... My first 2 dogs, Kelsey & Teddy were always fed Nutros Maxx. When Kelsey passed on, I had to find Teddy a new playmate, hence came my rottie puppy, Jack. I tried starting Jack out on a cheaper brand puppy food, but he wouldn't eat it. He'd sneak over to Teddy's bowl & start eating the Maxx. So I picked up the Maxx puppy food & he loved it! Since Teddy's passing, Lucy came along & I started her out on the maxx puppy food also. Jack & Lucy are now 3 & 4 yrs old, have not eaten anything but Maxx Large Breed food. People have complimented about their gorgeous, shiny coats. I have been feeding my 4 dogs Nutros for a span of over 16 years! I recommend this dog food to everyone! From the mouths of 4 different breed dogs-a Labrador Retriever, a German Shepherd, a Rottweiler, & a large Hound mix- it really is the best March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love Max dog food! I have five dogs that I'm feeding Max Large Breed Adult dog food. Two are labs that will eat anything, one is German shepherd mix, and my other two finicky eaters are an Anatolian livestock guardian and a golden retriever mix. I was tired of trying to coax two of my dogs into eating their food. Since my daughter had the labs on Max Large Breed Adult dog food I decided to switch the other three dogs to it. It is wonderful. Their food dishes are always empty after each feeding, they look healthier, and you could never tell that one dog of the dogs is 12 and another is 13 years old by the way they run and play. I am so glad that I switched to Max Large Breed Adult dog food. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved by Saints Lilly, my 6 year old St. Bernard, has always been a "picky eater" . Since switching to Nutra Max she is a member of the "clean the bowl club" on a regular basis. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Dog Loves it! This product gives my lab retriever such an awesome coat! He gets compliments whenever we take him places. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my dogs look awesome! I have two German Shepherds. They both eat nutro Max large breed. They are sooo shiny and healthy! March 10, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dog loves it. I've fed my dog Dobie Nutro Max for years; she loves it! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps our Black lab healthy We love this dog food! Our black lab, katie, is 3 yrs old and her coat is so shiny! Even though it's expensive we will continue to buy it since we can see how healthy it is for her! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful & yummy Hello there! I own 4 Rottweilers and have put them on Nutro Max for lg. dogs. They actually now LOVE to eat there dinner and breakfast. I can just hear them singing-- NUTRO IS YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY IN OUR TUMMY, TUMMY, TUMMY.GO NUTRO < YEA THAT'S OUR DOG FOOD...Just ask us and we will tell ya, woof, woof, woof, for NUTRO!!!!! We are spoiled rotten rottweilers, we even get Nutro entree's for treats along with the natural berries and apple treats. Yes, our names are Dossyn, Miss Tasia, Ridley Rue, and Nevaeh and we have the best parents in the whole world for giving us all THE BEST "NURTO', and that's the truth!!!!!! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our 2 Berners love it We have 2-110 lb Bernese Mountain Dogs that have only been fed Nutro Max daily. They are both very healthy and happy. They get all they need from their nutritious dry Nutro. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for my golden doodle This food is fantastic for my 3 year old golden doodle. His coat is fantastic, he's energetic and he never has any gas. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Lab and I both love it My 3 year old Labrador loves this food - he devours it with vigor and has never had an adverse digestive reaction - even when we switched him to Nutro Max cold-turkey.I like the value and the decreased volume of waste to clean up.I recommend this product to my friends and family as a great alternative to lower-quality "grocery store" dog foods that won't break the bank. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent food very happy to have changed to Nutro Max, my german shepherd loves it, where he was not real crazy about my previous two "high quality" food choices. very reasonably priced, March 9, 2011
  • 2016-05-28 T12:56:24.844-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_197, tr_197
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog74, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 45 6 7 8next>>
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®