For Dogs
Large Breed Adult Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

Large Breed Adult RecipeFarm Raised Chicken

Give your large breed dog a natural, great-tasting meal they will look forward to with NUTRO™ MAX® Large Breed Adult Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food. Our all natural dog food is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of your large dog and satisfy their big appetite. Made with farm-raised chicken and added vitamins and minerals, our NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Large Breed Dogs provides complete and balanced nutrition in every bowl. Your larger dog will love the savory flavors of real chicken and whole grains, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 25lb.

 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 25-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Large Breed Adult Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food
  • NUTRO™ MAX®Large Breed Dog Food is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of large adult dogs
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for adult dogs is made with farm-raised chicken, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural dog food that keeps your large breed healthy and happy — at an affordable price
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Ingredients
Chicken Meal (source of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate), Whole Grain Sorghum, Brewers Rice, Whole Grain Oatmeal, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Chicken, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Whole Brown Rice, Peas, Chickpeas, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Chloride, DL-Methionine, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Potassium Iodide, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 22.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 13.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.50%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Glucosamine (Min.)* 150 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate (Min.)* 350 mg/kg
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
50 lbs. 3 cups 3-1/2 cups 4 cups
60 lbs. 3-1/2 cups 4 cups 4-2/3 cups
80 lbs. 4-1/3 cups 5 cups 5-3/4 cups
100 lbs. 5-1/4 cups 6 cups 6-3/4 cups
120 lbs. 6 cups 6-3/4 cups 7-3/4 cups
160 lbs. 7-1/3 cups 8-1/2 cups 9-2/3 cups
200 lbs. 8-2/3 cups 10 cups 11-1/3 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.15 oz. of NUTRO MAX Large Breed Adult Recipe With Farm-Raised Chicken Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3,619 kcal/kg, 324 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 197reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this food!!! I started my dog trying a couple different brands to see what she liked best when she was a pup, and I found Nutro Ultra (which is another amazing product) but I knew I wanted to find an alternative for when she got older and would be going through a ton of food, because I'm still in college and had to save money some how! I stayed within the brand because I love their ingredients and found Nutro Max, and not only does my dog love it, but my wallet does too. :) I got all of my dogs back home to try it and they love the Chicken Meal and Rice flavor. I have a tiny Coton de Tulear, an Australian Shepherd and then my dog, a German Shepherd Lab mix. I recommend this product to anyone looking for a great brand that's reasonable in cost. I'm so glad I found this brand, every dog I've given it to loves it, so if you're reading this go out and at least try it!! Your dogs will love you for it!P.s I went to Petsmart the other day and was told they're coming out with a grain free version as well! Can't wait for Myla to try it! :) February 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best food! This is the best food I have ever fed any of my dogs! We got our puppy at 4weeks and he was being fed pedigree puppy food, we stuck with that until a few weeks later and switched to kibbles n bits i HATED kibbles n bits because of the tri colored food and turning his number 2 red i didnt think it was very healthy plus when he went number 2 you could see all the chewed up food like it just went straight through his body and he didnt retain anything. Then we went to petsmart and I talked to a nutro rep and they told us all about nutro it sounded pretty good amd a VERY decent price! My puppy just turned a year old and just switched from his nutro max puppy to his nutro max adult food and LOVES it! I HIGHLY would recommend nutro than any other dog food out there! April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food, affordable price! I have always used Nutro Max dog food, my dog has a healthy coat, no gas. healthy stools. He digests it with no problem. My dog is a picky eater and he likes this food. My vet said it has all the nutrients he needs. The price is very reasonable. I would never change. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chicken meal has more protein than chicken Chicken meal has less water and more protein than chicken, it is has more nutrition than if the first ingredient is just chicken, I specifically sought out a dog food that has chicken meal, it has less water and more meat than just chicken. Just google it and find out :-) September 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by IT'S A GREAT PRODUCT....BUT I THINK I WILL BE SWITCHING TO BLUE BUFFALO. MY DOG, LUNA, LOVES THIS FOOD. BUT I JUST CAN'T GET OVER THE FIRST INGREDIENT BEING CHICKEN MEAL. MY DOG IS A DUCK DOG AND I JUST WANT HER IN THE BEST HEALTH. I LOVE NUTRO, BUT I THINK I WILL TRY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by April I have a boxer who is 2 years old this is the only food she can keep down. She eats too quick and this food stays down. I will never switch from this food May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Never switch again to other dog food. I have a dobe and I used to feed with nutro max puppy large breed, he was on a optimun shape then for no reason looking for "better food" switch to science diet then to blue, and now back on nutro max, they love this food look better again better than blue buff, He is more happy better muscle tone and performance, super shine coat. November 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dog food I've been feeding my dogs Nutro Max since 1999. My 12 1/2 yr old shepherd mix will guard the bag every time until it gets put into the container! We just adopted a new puppy and immediately switched him over to Nutro Max Large Breed Puppy. It's an excellent food and our animals love it! April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy pet parents We have a 1yr old lab and a 5 yr old lab/mix and they were previously on a cheaper dog food. We switched to this food about 1 month ago and we have seen a tremendous amount of good differences in both of them. They both now have shinier coats, less bowel movements and seem to be more filled out. We also like how cost effective it is to buy, and that it already has glucosamine in it. We will be staying with this product for sure and have recommended it to others :) January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eat Right! We switched from Nutro Max to another brand and boy was that a mistake!! Our dog has a beautiful coat but not like it was on Nutro Max Adult. Also, we saw a change in bowl movements and her eating habits, seemed like she was always hungry even after eating the correct amount of food. We went back to Nutro Max and we will not be switching again. This is a great, quality dog food at an amazing price. Thank you for producing such a great product for my furry, loved family member!!! January 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT food!!! This is an amazing product! I have an 8 year old AmStaff that is a rescue with quite a few issues--filed down front teeth, malnutrition for the first 7 years of her life, etc. When I adopted her she was being fed another (cheaper) brand of food full of fillers and all the other crazy stuff no one should be eating, and weight 63lbs. All her ribs were showing, she often wouldn't eat, she had no energy and her coat was horrible. I switched her to this food (Nutro Max Large Breed Adult) and she is thriving! She's at her ideal weight, her coat is phenominal, she loves the food, and the best part is that her poo is solid and much easier to pick up. I tried to switch her to the Senior, but she loves this one SO much that we will stick with this for the rest of her life and just give her supplements as needed. I can feed her less than with the cheaper brands so the bag lasts longer and the price is wonderful too (around $30 for a 30lb bag that lasts me at least a month).Thank you Nutro for making an AFFORDABLE, healthy, all-natural food that my dog loves! July 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great quality, excellent price i have a 3 year old GSP for his first couple of years i was using high end food like blue buffalo but he was very gasy, so i moved down to a lower end food and got nature's recipe but he was still very stinky so my friend recommended Nutro and he is not stinky at all, his coat his beautiful, and his stoll is not messy at all. i love this food. great quality at an excellent price!i have noticed too that alot of large breed dog food makes small pebble like food, but not nutro and i love that! it makes my dog eat slower! February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Dobie loves it! We have a 95 lb 1yr old Doberman that loves this food! He isn't a picky eater but he has a sensitive system. We tried some of the "Higher End" foods but they were just way to rich for him and we couldn't keep his system regular. Put him on this food and he does great! Has a great coat has ideal weight on him, only have to feed him 4-41/2 cups a day compared to like 6 and he has great energy and looks Amazing! Very happy with the food!!! January 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent nutritional value I've been giving this product to my GS for the last year and he loves it. His coat looks great and he is full of energy. I am proud to give him dog food which is manufactured in the US that is made from real ingredients. January 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by WHY CHANGE??? Our mastiff has grown up on Large Breed Beef and Rice and now its no where to be found. Why the sudden change??? He has a sensitive stomach to other brands but loved his beef and rice. Nutro MAX is not carried at any local stores but we were willing to travel in order to buy out of town 50 miles to nearest retailer. VERY DISAPPOINTED CUSTOMER!!! January 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy & Affordable Our picky eater, German Shepherd mix, loves it!!!! January 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Goodbye Nutro My Lab loved the large breed beef. Won"t eat the chicken. The granules appear to have oil or grease coming out of them. I have got to find something else. December 28, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Where's the beef??? I've been buying MAX large breed beef for six years. It's the only food my dog will eat (she won't touch the chicken flavor). Now what?It's confusing enough when you change the look of your products (what ever happened to product recognition?), this is the second time in recent years. But now I need to find a new food for my dog. Yikes?! December 19, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Large Breed Adult In the spirit of the Nov. 1st review/post, our dog is asking us, "Where's the Beef?"Our dog also does not like the chicken flavor. This is unfortunate as we thought we had found the right brand for our dog.I guess it comes down to economics as the prices for beef have risen YoY, and Nutro can not or will not raise its prices. November 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by they love it My dogs love this MAX and its a bit more affordable than Natural Choice.Thanks! November 10, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nutro Max Lg Breed Why do they keep changing the flavor from beef to chicken on the lg breed max. My dog loves the beef flavor but every time they change it over to chicken flavor my dog will not eat the food. The brand it self is good and my dog has been on it since he was a puppy but with the changing over to chicken, Im about to switch brands due to this. November 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this food is good but where can i get it i was feeding my dog this food and she loved it she was running low on food so i went to store to get it to only find out that they dont have it anymore why would you get rid of a good food like this i gave her the large breed beef and rice i have been to pet co, pets mart, and tractor supply and nobody has it where can i get her some. October 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loves the taste I was buying Blue large breed food in different flavors. VERY expensive and my collies wouldn't eat it no matter which flavor I tried. I switched to Nutro Max large breed and they gobble it up without having to add something to it to get them to eat. You also get a larger bag for a lot less money and you still have a high quality food. Great food that I heartily recommend! October 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Thing I Have Found!!! Have an Akita, BIG dog (about 130 pounds) and when fed one kind of national dog food he ended up fat. Changed him to a dog food from my local feed store where I purchase horse feed - he ended up eating A LOT and lost weight!Switched him to Nurto Max Large Breed, feed less, and he is at an ideal weight now!That was a year ago!Adopting a new dog and will be moving him over as soon as he comes home! August 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Hungry Dog! I have had my Great Dane/Boxer mix on this food for a couple of years now. Before I tried Nutro Max, I found that I had to switch foods every couple of months, as my baby would grow tired of it. This is not the case with Nutro Max! She will gulp up every last bit, as soon as I put it in her bowl. She loves this food. And it keeps her healthy and coat looking wonderful. Would recommend this to any large breed owner! June 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy, Happy Dog When we got Ernie from the pet store, this is the brand of dog food (Nutro Max Puppy) they were feeding him, I had never owned a dog before so I knew nothing about dog food, so we just stuck with what was going on and transitioned him onto large breed adult. I have to say once looking into it we couldn't have made a better choice for Ernie, he has a soft fluffy coat, has a huge amount of energy and our vet says he is the perfect weight even though he probably eats more than he should, its all thanks to a healthy diet of Nutro and loads of exercise. May 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for my big baby This product has great features, vitamins, real meat March 15, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nutro Max Large Breed Adult I've found with the Nutro Max Large Breed Adult Formula, my dog has a shiny, healthy coat, great muscle tone & energy level. March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves this food. My dog loves this food. His coat is shiny, he has less shedding, and smaller stools. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by good for sensitive tummies I would recommend this dog food for dogs that have sensitive stomaches. I tried switching him to a brand that was a couple of dollar cheaper to save money but I then realized he wasn't keeping the food down. I noticed that. he lost a lot of weight and wasn't playful. Nutro keeps his hair looking nice, active and keeps him looking healthy. Please give this brand a try you won't regret it. March 13, 2011
  • 2016-05-25 T14:25:49.689-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_197, tr_197
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog74, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 34 5 6... 8next>>
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®