For Dogs
Large Breed Adult Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

Large Breed Adult RecipeFarm Raised Chicken

Give your large breed dog a natural, great-tasting meal they will look forward to with NUTRO™ MAX® Large Breed Adult Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food. Our all natural dog food is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of your large dog and satisfy their big appetite. Made with farm-raised chicken and added vitamins and minerals, our NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Large Breed Dogs provides complete and balanced nutrition in every bowl. Your larger dog will love the savory flavors of real chicken and whole grains, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 25lb.

 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 25-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Large Breed Adult Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food
  • NUTRO™ MAX®Large Breed Dog Food is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of large adult dogs
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for adult dogs is made with farm-raised chicken, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural dog food that keeps your large breed healthy and happy — at an affordable price
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Ingredients
Chicken Meal (source of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate), Whole Grain Sorghum, Brewers Rice, Whole Grain Oatmeal, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Chicken, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Whole Brown Rice, Peas, Chickpeas, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Chloride, DL-Methionine, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Potassium Iodide, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 22.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 13.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.50%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Glucosamine (Min.)* 150 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate (Min.)* 350 mg/kg
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
50 lbs. 3 cups 3-1/2 cups 4 cups
60 lbs. 3-1/2 cups 4 cups 4-2/3 cups
80 lbs. 4-1/3 cups 5 cups 5-3/4 cups
100 lbs. 5-1/4 cups 6 cups 6-3/4 cups
120 lbs. 6 cups 6-3/4 cups 7-3/4 cups
160 lbs. 7-1/3 cups 8-1/2 cups 9-2/3 cups
200 lbs. 8-2/3 cups 10 cups 11-1/3 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.15 oz. of NUTRO MAX Large Breed Adult Recipe With Farm-Raised Chicken Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3,619 kcal/kg, 324 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Large Breed Adult Recipe is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1084.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It passes the eye test... I think my dog likes the food because he's eating it but at the end of the day it's giving him some bad diarrhea. The food also smells NOT great and unfortunately I wouldn't be able to afford the increased price from what I'm currently paying for food. Also, it doesn't seem to be keeping well in my regular plastic container. I would want to know that it looks like my dog enjoys it but it doesnt seem good for his bowls. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MAX® Large Breed Adult Dog Food This product has everything i look for when shopping for dog food; affordability, quality, and straight forward honest packaging. I really appreciate the transition guide, changing dog foods can be hard for our pets and by following the guidelines on the package we had no problem at all. My dog Blaze loves it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog luvs this food! I was very pleased with the overall look of this product. The packaging was very nice and reminded me that it has natural ingredients especially farm raised chicken. I was a little skeptical at first giving this to my boy, Montana because he is a very picky . But he instantly loved it! I did the proportions correctly to slowly introduce him to it, and now he is eating it daily not mixed with his regular brand of dog food. Nitro Max has no by products or additives and if you read the ingredient list you can rest assured that this is an all natural kibble. I am so excited to continue to feed this kibble to my big boy Montana. He is very special to me and deserves only the best! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs LOVE this stuff I used to think dog food is, well, dog food. One is just as good as another and my dogs aren't too picky when it comes to eating, so I guess I'm lucky. My dogs usually eat a few bites, sniff around the back yard, do their business, eat a few more bites, and repeat. However, when I put NUTRO MAX Large Breed Adult Dog Food in their bowl, they didn't leave until it was gone. Then they wanted more. Where they used to approach meal time with mild interest, now they're excited and energetic. My old yellow lab has more energy and is more playful than he's been in years. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it! I was unsure about trying a new dog food but my dogs loved it! They couldn't wait for me to get it out. I love everything about it and they the taste! I highly recommend it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nutro Max Large Breed Dog Food My dogs love their normal dog food. I started giving them the nutro max and at first they turned their noses up to it and refused to eat it. LOL But they eventually started to eat it. So far so good! Btw I have a boxer and a yellow lab. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dogs love it I think the food is good, the dogs love it, it seems to be a little greasy to the touch even though that's not really an issue. Usually my dogs get some wet food mixed in, however they have ate this food without mixing so that's a good sign as well. Overall it seems to be good. I can't say it's bad since I'm not eating it, but they sure seem to be fans! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving this dog food! The quality and ingredients in nutro are so much better than what I have been feeding my dogs. I have always wanted to try something like this, but the price kept me away. I would have to say the price is worth it. They love this food, and have actually been eating less for some reason, but still seem satisfied. All in all, I would defiantly recommend this pet food, and will be making the switch permanently. Thanks!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality nutrition! Not my first time trying a Nutro product, but the dirt time trying Nutro max chicken and I was pleasantly surprised.First impression opening the bag was the packaging was fantastic all info was easy to read. The food itself was uniform and smelled fresh.My dogs didn't hesitate to eat the good and seemed to enjoy it to the last bite.I can't attest to long term feeding effects but I feel that the dogs will thrive. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! I was excited to get dog food from BZZAgent that would fit my dogs diet. I have a 9 year old mixed breed dog named Peanut and we have a hard time finding food that will suit her dietary needs. She had lost fur over allergic reactions to dog food and even had to be kept at the vets for observation after a brand of dog food made her intestines swell up (hemmorrhagic gastroenteritis). She loves this food and the ingredients suit her diet better than a lot of other dog foods at this price. She has responded well and seems a lot more peppy since we switched to Nutro Max. I will be looking for this brand the next time I need dog food and keep her on it for the long run. The ingredients list is impressive and seems to be made of high quality ingredients, if your dog has food allergies and you are sick of spending a fortune on dog food then this brand is definitely in the front running. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nutro Max Dog Food My five-year-old boxer loves Nutro Max! She can be picky when it comes to her dog food and has a bit of a sensitive stomach, but she seems to really like the taste of Nutro max and hasn't had any issues with it at all. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Max Both my dogs love Max dog food, the food wasn't overly large. Its the perfect size. I feed once a day and it feels their little bellies up. I honestly never heard of Max dog food but I will def buy again in the near future. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nutro Max Review I was skeptical at first for one of my dogs, who is very picky and finicky. I tested the first dog Rudi, and he loved it, but then Rudi is a Beagle and will eat anything. Then I tested Hannah, the finicky, picky dog. I started with the suggested 75% ratio and she hesitated at first, sniffing and walking around the bowl, but then she ate every morsel.Next day, with the 50% ratio, Rudi gobbled it up as usual, and Hannah, not being so picky this time, ate it without hesitation. I knew then we had a winner.They are both now at 100% Nutro Max and we will be making this choice in the future. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs loved this food. I think this is a wonderful dog food. All of my dogs absolutely loved it, even Rosie. Rosie is like Mikey, she doesn't like most dog foods, but will run you over for people food. She ate this with no problems at all. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Adult Dog food, but smaller sized kibble Ingredients: The first ingredient is chicken meal, the second whole grain sorghum, brewers rice is the third and chicken fat preserved with mixed tocopherols, fourth is dehydrated alfalfa meal and the fifth is chicken. Therafter there are things like peas, flaxseed, whole grain oatmeal and brown rice, some vitamin supplements and chelated minerals, decaffinated green tea, spearmint and rosemary extract.I'm impressed with the ingredients as they seem ro be higher quality and far more natural and wholsesome than many commercial pet foods out there.Taste: My dogs love (and I mean LOVE!!) the taste of this. I have five large breed adult dogs and they are usually quite picky when it comes to trying anything new. They smell it, taste it, spit it out, make a face, walk away, whine and give me "the look". But not with this stuff. They literally wolfed it down. I have found that a lot of the healthier dog foods don't seem to taste that great. My dogs usually pick at them and only really eat them when they are really hungry and realise there's no other option available. This product even smells nice when you open the bag. So Nutromax definitely got it right in the smell and taste department. Well done, folks!Availability: I currently am living in the Caribbean and this brand is not available in the island onwhich I live anywhere. It is also far too expensive to import in sufficient quantities to feed my dogs. If it were available I would definitely buy it, though, but I probably would prefer the Large breed formula in maybe 50lb bags.Bottom Line: I received this product from the company free in exchange for my honest review. I made no promise to give a good review.That said, this is a product I would definitely recommend. The ingredients listed do not appear to be harmful to dogs, appear to be wholesome, great for the skin, liver and overall well being of the dog. There has been some controversy over rosemary extract and seizures in dogs and cats, but as these items are the very last listed in the ingredients list I wasn't too worried about feeding to my dogs. I hope in the future, though, the company may consider removing rosemary extract as perhaps it doesn't offer any real benefit if it only is in trace quantities in the product anyway.My dogs love the product, there have been no tummy or other troubles.One thing about this product that gave me a bit of unease was the shape of the kibble. It is round and fairly small, compared to other adult dog food. I have a very fast eater and I worry that she may choke on this. I had expected to get the large breed formula, but I notice on the bag that the one I received did not specifically state that it is for large breeds, only Adult dogs, so I would suggest that anyone who has a larger breed fast eater maybe check to see if the Large breed formula has larger kibble. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nutro max dog food My dog loves this! She used to not eat right away when we fed her now she goes right for it and eats it all! We will def be buying this in the future! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nutro Max dog food I have two large breed dogs that are sometimes picky eaters. They seem to really like Nutro Max dog food! I really like that it contains whole grains, and farm raised chicken. I'll definitely keep it in mind next time I get dog food. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NUTRO™ MAX™ Is Great! I am so happy that I got the chance to try out NUTRO™ MAX™ Large Breed Adult Dog Food, but really I should say, "My dog Myra, is so happy to try out NUTRO™ MAX™ Large Breed Adult Dog Food." The moment the package came through the door she was all over it. I had a hard time opening the package her nose was in the way. I did not follow the feeding instructions to introduce the new food. She had no problems at all. In fact she has had less gas and I have had less messes to pick up (which is my favorite about this food). I have also noticed her energy has increased a bunch. I am sure it is partly due to spring. I also think it is from eating such great dog food. The NUTRO™ MAX™ Large Breed Adult Dog Food is Food. It does not have all the extra fillers that other brands have. It is made with REAL farm raised chicken, there are no chicken by-product meal. NUTRO™ MAX™ Large Breed Adult Dog Food is mad responsibly in-house with real chicken and real nutrients. There is no corn, wheat or soy protein added and no artificial colors or flavor. The day my Bzz package arrived I called my Dad right away. He has a Golden Retriever, so I told him all about it. Thank you ##‎GotItFree‬ #BZZAGENT [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Max LOVES Nutro MAX!!! Our dog, Max, just loves Nutro MAX Large Breed Adult Dog Food! When we opened the package he just knew it was for him. He loves the flavor (chicken) and he knows he's going to get it at feeding time. Max doesn't eat as much as with his other food. He has SO much energy from eating it and his coat is so soft, shiny and bright. I absolutely love the fact that it's an all natural dog food. I was amazed to see the ingredient list and so happy to let Max try it. I would definitely recommend Nutro MAX dog food to any pet parent. My fur baby loves it ! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Great Danes love it! So far my Great Danes love this food! I have one with severe food allergies and this food has yet to tear her stomach up! They really seem to love the flavor also. If it continues to not upset the one with allergies stomach, we will for sure continue to buy. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My picky dog loved this! My hound has been coddled with food since day one - I've only given her science diet or Blue Buffalo. Also, she's prone to stomach upsets and had to be taken into the vet once before for it, so I've always been extra cautious. Nutro Max's ingredients were all natural and wholesome, and my Penny took to it as if it was her normal food. In fact, she's been going through more of this than her normal food - she's a 65 pound dog, so the kibble pieces are a good size for her, and she genuinely seems to like it a lot! Digestion has been fine, no accidents or unpleasant bathroom issues. Overall, I'm extremely happy with it, and so's my hound! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thor is a fan! My dog Thor loves this food! I had my doubts at first, but when I saw that this food was natural and contained no chicken by-product meal I was a fan. He is definitely more excited to eat this brand of food than his old one, he used to be a slow eater, bit not anymore! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Layla approved!! I own a 4 year old chocolate Lab. Or maybe she owns me!!She enjoys most dog foods so I did my review on her digestion of Nutro. The ingredients aregreat, whole grains and chicken.Layla had no issues with digestion. I followed the introduction with mixing old and Nutro with no problems.The only issue we had was she prefers smaller bites than this kibble was. But she ate it happily.Her energy was great too.Thank you for allowing us to try this dog food. I would buy it again. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best dog food!! I have four, large dogs. They went nuts for Nuteo Max!! They absolutely love it. So, did we. We usually buy 52lb Kal Kan. The ingredients in Nutro Max were way more wholesome , nutritional and from what we could tell delicious (by the way the dogs acted). There we no animal by-product, in which you see in ALOT of other dog foods. Our dogs never go right to the dog bowl after we fill them. As soon as we put the food in the bowl they went crazy, it was litterally gone in 3 minutes!! We will definitely suggest Nitro Max to all our doggy parents! Thank you!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wow nutro max dog food I thought my dogs would love this however I was definitely wrong.. theyou refused to eat it even though I added the paper amount to the old food. It has all the right vitamin and minerals but dogs just didn't like it [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog LOVES this food. My Dog is sort of a picky eater. So I was slightly hesitant to have her try the food. Well, not only did her pick out the pieces of the new food and spit her old food out on the floor, she is never happy with the amount of food I give her at her feedings. She is alway begging me for more. The switch from her old food to this one was easy, and her body adjusted to it very well. I like the ingredient list, and that they are honest amount GMO cross contamination. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nutro Magnificent I think Nutro Max adult dog food is just as it is advertised, simple, Wholesome, and nutritious! It is very important to me to try and feed my dog the best ingredients. Nutri Max is made with farm-raised chicken. No chicken by- products. Nutro Max states it is formulated to meet the nutritional levels your adult dog needs. This is a brand that I would recommend to my family and friends with dogs. My dog didn't waste anytime eating her new food! She gives it a four paws up rating! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gator's favorite food After receiving a 25 lb. Bag, completely free from Nutro and BzzAgent, I immediately gave my Gator some. This food is it bite sized bits and has a pleasant smell, I'm sure is appealing to pooches. It is made with natural ingredients in one of two factories, right here in my home state. To my surprise he did not only eat all of the Nutro, but left his old dog food untouched. Enough said, my Gator has spoken and we will be buying this brand from now on. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from new food, new dogs! i think my dogs really like this, and i do too its all natural and no chicken byproducts! that's what i love this food better than the food i feed them, (which is pedigree) [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dog food I think this brand of dog food is really great! Especially since it is 100% natural. I love how NUTRO Max has no added artificial flavors! At first I was skeptical about giving my dogs a new brand of food , but my dogs LOVE it. I didn't even have to mix in any wet food for them. The bag contains a lot of food for being a 25 pound bag. I would definitely recommend dog lovers to buy this brand of food. Finally found a dog food brand other than Pedigree that my dogs absolutely love. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-17
  • y_2016, m_11, d_24, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1084
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog74, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_nutro
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®