For Dogs
Large Breed Adult Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

Large Breed Adult RecipeFarm Raised Chicken

Give your large breed dog a natural, great-tasting meal they will look forward to with NUTRO™ MAX® Large Breed Adult Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food. Our all natural dog food is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of your large dog and satisfy their big appetite. Made with farm-raised chicken and added vitamins and minerals, our NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Large Breed Dogs provides complete and balanced nutrition in every bowl. Your larger dog will love the savory flavors of real chicken and whole grains, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 25lb.

 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 25-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Large Breed Adult Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food
  • NUTRO™ MAX®Large Breed Dog Food is specially formulated to meet the nutritional needs of large adult dogs
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for adult dogs is made with farm-raised chicken, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural dog food that keeps your large breed healthy and happy — at an affordable price
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Ingredients
Chicken Meal (source of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate), Whole Grain Sorghum, Brewers Rice, Whole Grain Oatmeal, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Chicken, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Whole Brown Rice, Peas, Chickpeas, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Chloride, DL-Methionine, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Potassium Iodide, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 22.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 13.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.50%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Glucosamine (Min.)* 150 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate (Min.)* 350 mg/kg
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
50 lbs. 3 cups 3-1/2 cups 4 cups
60 lbs. 3-1/2 cups 4 cups 4-2/3 cups
80 lbs. 4-1/3 cups 5 cups 5-3/4 cups
100 lbs. 5-1/4 cups 6 cups 6-3/4 cups
120 lbs. 6 cups 6-3/4 cups 7-3/4 cups
160 lbs. 7-1/3 cups 8-1/2 cups 9-2/3 cups
200 lbs. 8-2/3 cups 10 cups 11-1/3 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.15 oz. of NUTRO MAX Large Breed Adult Recipe With Farm-Raised Chicken Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3,619 kcal/kg, 324 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 200reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by He loved it! The first night I fed this to my lab I mixed it 25/75 with his old food as directed, he dug through all of his old food to eat the Nutro Max and then looked around for more before he gave in and ate his old food. He did the same the next night when I mixed it 50/50.I like that it is completely natural with farm raised chicken and whole grains, and no corn, chicken by product or other allergens such as wheat and soy.I will be switching to Nutro Max for good! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] April 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love this food! Our dog CoCo had such a rough looking coat and was very underweight before we switched her over to NutroMax. Now she has such a shiny, soft coat and is at a healthy weight. Before it took her a long time to eat her food, but now, she gobbles it right up before you can blink! I would say she loves it too! April 11, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Dane Approved As an owner of a large breed dog, we try to give the best food we can to make their lives as long as possible. I was excited to try Nutro Max for large breed and so was our dog! Titan enjoyed his meals and swallowed it up as fast as normal. I did notice the kibble to be slightly smaller than other large breed food we are used to, but it didn't seem to bother our dog. My biggest complaint is that chicken meal is the first ingredient while chicken isn't listed until 6th on the list. The best part is since this is corn free and doesn't contain wheat proteins my dog didn't show any signs of irritated skin. I would definitely say we will consider Nutro Max when making our dog food purchases! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] April 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Dog food Well I got my Nutro Max large breed dog food, and here's my review . I wasn't sure at first how my do was going to adjust to the new food but as soon as it arrived and I gave her the first bowl and now she won't touch her other food.. I had to give away her other food.. So Nutro Max is her new dog food!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fur baby approved My St. Bernard noticed she had new food the moment I opened the bag. She was sniffing like crazy to see what the smell was! I kind of expected large pieces of food being it is for a large breed. However, the pieces are small enough for my pekingese to eat easily. My Saint absolutely loves the taste of the Max dog food. She has been eating it for past couple of weeks and still doing great. No bowel changes or stomach upset. The nutrition noted on bag aims toward an all natural ingredients. I can not give any idea of what it costs as I am a buzzAgent and was given a free 25# bag to try and then give my honest opinion about this product. I hope it is reasonable because the bag is almost gone. :) [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! Typically when buying dog food for my lab I typically go with what I know. Why change when something "works just fine"? Well, because it could be better. I felt good about trying this dog food in exchange for a review because it had "whole grains, and farm-raised chicken". None of that "chicken-by-product meal" or any of the other fake ingredients. My dog can be picky and stubborn, one of the reasons I stick with what works. In the past when I've tried something new he just refuses to eat. Not this time! He never hesitated to eat this and almost seemed to say "yum! can I have some more?". It was such a relief trying something that he likes and that I feel great about giving him, especially knowing it is specifically formulated for his large size and he will be getting the proper nutrition. I have already told my friends with 2 German Shepard's about this and they are looking forward to trying it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dog food Nutro max is an awesome dog food. My dog has issues with dog food that has corn in it. And nutro max does not it has helped her coat and she has more engery. Great dog food. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] April 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by NUTRO MAX Large Breed Adult Dog Food Thanks to BzzAgent, I tried the NUTRO MAX, Large Breed Adult Dog Food for my dog. He loves it and seems to prefer it over the food I was previously feeding him. I love that Nutro uses all natural ingredients and formulates their food especially to the needs of my adult dog. They incorporate vitamins and minerals essential to your dogs health which is fantastic since most dogs do not get vitamin supplements. I was also thrilled to hear about Nutro's social responsibility of field to bowl concept. You feed your body with care, do the same for your dog!! Be sure to follow Nutro's directions on introducing the food slowly as to not upset the dog's stomach. and #NutroMax #gotitfree #lovemydog #nothingbutthebest [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a Winner! I've been looking for a new dog food for my dog and was given a bag of MAX® Large Breed Adult Dog Food to try out in exchange for a review. At first, I was apprehensive to try this food with my dog. He isn't necessarily picky, but he often has trouble adusting to new food. I've only found a few brands he can tolerate well. I was pleasantly surprised that he not only happily ate, but he didn't have any tummy trouble after switching to this dog food! I placed a bowl of his regular food side by side with the MAX® Dog Food and he seemed to like it more than his regular food and even tried to nose his way onto the bag for more! I'd say it was a winner for sure! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] April 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food and my dogs LOVES it My dogs both have sensitive stomachs and half the time I'll fill their bowls and come home 8 hours later expecting them to be empty and they are still full. I have tried almost every kind of dog food out there and they really seem to like this one. They wolf this food down in a few minutes and it doesn't upset their stomachs like a lot of other foods do. I highly recommend Nutro Max dog food! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] April 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loved it! I think this is a great brand, and my dog loves it. Since it is important to avoid a sudden change in your dogs food, I followed the steps given when substituting a new food. The first day he ate the majority of his food all at once, and then shortly after, polished the rest off. This product seems to be a healthy alternative for my dog and have a lot of natural ingredients. I found it difficult to find a healthy brand that my dog will eat without having to add a little wet food to it. So far I haven't had to add anything to get him to eat it all. Today was day three, so he got 75% Nutro and then rest was his old food. It seems the more Nutro he gets, the quicker he eats his entire bowl. Great product, and I highly recommend it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doggie Approved As soon as I brought Nutro Max Large Breed Adult Dog Food inside. The dogs sniffed it with high anticipation. The packaging was well thought of and very informative. As opening the bag, I thought to myself "this doesn't smell bad at all". My boyfriend even commented on the smell. He despises the smell of dog food. I love that it is healthy but that the dogs love it as well. Will be recommending this to everyone. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I received a bag of Nutro Max large breed dog food in exchange for my honest review. My dog Athena, who is a three year old English mastiff, absolutely loved the food and really enjoyed it. The first time I introduced it to her she looked at the bag weird as she knew it wasn't her normal bag of dog food. She tried it and she loved it and I will definitely recommend this product for all large breed dogs. I wanted to check for the food in my local pet store and I found that the Nutro brand is reasonably price for an all natural dog food with no by-products. Athena is now a Nutro Max dog! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doggie Aproved My two dogs can be picky about their food, but they really enjoyed the Nutro Max food! I love that I can feed them healthy food they enjoy! The absolute best part about this food: there was no weird smell. I opened the bag and I didn't have to hold my breath. Sometimes dog food can smell so strongly, but this one did not! My dogs and I will definatly be looking forward to this again! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max Dog Food Merlin, my 5 year old Labrador Retriever, received a sample of Nutro Max dog food in exchange for an honest review. He has been enjoying his new dog food for about a week now.I was concerned that he wouldn't like it as much as his other food because it is a much smaller kibble, but he hasn't seemed to notice.Merlin has the Nutro Max for breakfast and dinner and while it takes him a leisure three seconds to finish off the bowl of food, there have been no leftovers to date.I have not noticed any changes in his coat or energy level but this is only he first week.I do love the natural ingredients with zero chicken by-products or corn and wheat ( both are allergens for labs). Also, it doesn't have that stinky dog food smell that some foods have.I think we have found a new food for Merlin.Disclaimer: Merlin is a lab and has been known to eat both edible and non-edible items. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dog really loves the taste Our Bernese Mt Dog, Lola, was having some stomach issues and after multiple trips to the vet, we decided trying out the nutro-max large breed formula to see if we could right the ship. I can't tell you that this product fixed her digestion issues, but neither could any of the vets recommended fixes, what I can tell you is that Lola would consume her bowls of nutro max at nearly twice the rate of the Iams food we were feeding her previously. She can and will consume just about anything, but it was very apparent this tasted better than the Iams. It has a much better ingredient list, chicken meal being the first ingredient. All being said, once we have Lola's digestion issues in order, we will be buying her the nutro-max, bottom line it's healthier and tastier [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I didn't think it would happen but...... My dogs are very picky and usually eat lamb dog food. So when the chicken arrived I thought OK, well, let's give this a try. Much to my surprise, they devoured it! The next morning they were running to the places to get their food bowls, like hurry up mom we want it now. I would have never bought this food before trying it on Bzz, because I would have thought I was wasting my money, however, we have found a new dog food at a really good price that my dogs will actually eat! Thank you NUTRO MAX!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 28, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not 100% impressed My dogs aren't complaining about it (haha), I'm not either. It seems to be good food, very healthy for them. Depending on the price I would buy this all the time for my dogs. I have been giving it to them for a little over 2 weeks now. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this food! My german shepherd, Jack, is 4 years old and has always had a hard time putting on weight because he's so active. We had tried wet food, various dry foods, adding proteins. Anything we could come up with. With this food, he has been able to gain what he was down and has maintained a healthy weight. He's also excited at feeding times and not bored of it after a 25 pound bag (which is pretty incredible since he usually is sick of whate er hes eating by the time hes done with a 10 pound bag!) I'm so glad we were able to test this dog food because we will definitely be buying it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 26, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nutro is neutral I think my Dane loved nutro max but let's face it....what dog doesn't love food given to them? Would I feed this to him over our food we already buy...probably not. The biggest reason is that this has chicken meal as the first ingredient and chicken is not listed until the 6th item. The food we currently use chicken is the 1st and then chicken meal. I did like that the food pieces were smaller than the current food he eats which is probably easier to get down and digest. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Yummy for dogs My dogs are super picky eaters so I wasn't sure they would actually like this new food. I used a 1/4 cup and mixed it with their existing food the first day, and I was surprised that they actually ate most of it. (They normally leave food left in the dish) Day 3 I did a half and half mixture, half this food and half their other food. They picked out all of this food and left their old food all over the floor, like most dogs do. I kept them on a 50/50 mix for longer than recommended, 3 days. By the end of the week I had switched them over completely and did not have to mix anything in with it to get them to continue to eat it. They have been eating this food now for about 2 weeks and have no digestive problems, everything is normal. They seem to be really enjoying it. The only draw back that I found is that the kibbles are much smaller, so if your dog is use to larger kibbles this is noticeably different. This food doesn't carry a "dog food" smell to it either. It stores beautifully in our dog food container. We enjoyed trying out this new product in exchange for our honest opinion. This is a great addition to the dog world! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by He Loves It! My 9 year old weimaraner "Suede" loves the Nutro Max Adult Recipe with farm raised chicken. He has been eating it for one week now and has adjusted to it with no issues at all, he even requires less than he ate of his other food and is completely satisfied. I'm sure it is due to Nutro Max being made with real ingredients and no chicken by product meal, no corn, wheat or soy protein and no artifitial flavors or colors. This just might become Suede's new food! Thanks BzzAgent for giving me the opportunity to try such a great product, I'm that my friends and family will try Nutro Max for their dogs after hearing me rave about it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 24, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nitro dog food Unfortunately this food didn't work well with my dog. I don't blame the food though! My dog is very allergic and has had skin allergies for some time now. This food didn't hurt her skin any but it did upset her stomach. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs like nutromax It's good to see a dog food brand that only uses farm raised chicken and is grain free I will no longer be buying anything with artificial ingredients. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Duke loves the Nutro max Dog Food I received a sample of Nutro Max Adult Dog Food from BzzAgent. I think the Nutro Max Dog Food is a well balanced, low grain, low filler dog food. My Duke dug right in the first day that I had him try it. Of course the first day was only 25% 2nd day was 50%, 3rd day was 75%, and the 4th day was all Nutro Max! I can see that his coat is shinier, he doesn't seem to be as hungry as he was before. I have already started looking for stores that carry the dog food so that purchasing the item will be a snap when this sample is gone. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog knows best I think NUTRO MAX large breed dog food has become a new family favorite. My dog Athena is three and a half years old, when I received my bzz campaign Athena was right by my side. I could tell she was excited about something when I opened my package. When I set the NUTRO MAX down Athena had to investigate and her tail was wagging, she knew this was something special for her. For the next three days I mixed the old dog food with the NUTRO MAX as suggested on the package. Every time I went to feed Athena she was right by her dish waiting, this was something new because normally we have to call her to her dinner. She inhales her new NURTO MAX. By day four we were able to give her 100% NUTRO MAX. The difference is remarkable, she seems happier, more playful, and her coat seems shinier. I will have to agree that 100% natural ingredients in the food makes a difference and NUTRO MAX first ingredient listed is chicken. I've looked online to compare prices and for what I was previously buying was in the same price range of NUTRO MAX. I can honestly say after trying the NUTRO MAX large breed dog food we will be purchasing this from now on. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hoping this helps our dog Our dog got food poisoning a while back from Iams. Since that time he has had stomach issues with digestion and reflux. We switched him to a canned diet of Nutro since then. He has been doing pretty well on it and we were thinking of easing him into mixing some dry food in. This campaign was perfect timing especially since it was with Nutro and he is a large breed. we are going to try it this weekend so we can closely watch how he takes the transition. Fingers crossed! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by dog tested, mom approved! My girl adores this food!!On Day 2 when Rosalie's food was mixed half and half, she picked out the Nutro bits first! That's saying a lot for a girl who usually inhales her kibbles without a tennis ball in the bowl. She loves the Nutro so much we've been using kibbles as training treats as well.I am happy to have switched to Nutro and plan to stick to it. The natural, wholesome ingredients are important to me and Nutro is sold in so many places it is convenient to purchase as well. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 22, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by It passes the eye test... I think my dog likes the food because he's eating it but at the end of the day it's giving him some bad diarrhea. The food also smells NOT great and unfortunately I wouldn't be able to afford the increased price from what I'm currently paying for food. Also, it doesn't seem to be keeping well in my regular plastic container. I would want to know that it looks like my dog enjoys it but it doesnt seem good for his bowls. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog luvs this food! I was very pleased with the overall look of this product. The packaging was very nice and reminded me that it has natural ingredients especially farm raised chicken. I was a little skeptical at first giving this to my boy, Montana because he is a very picky . But he instantly loved it! I did the proportions correctly to slowly introduce him to it, and now he is eating it daily not mixed with his regular brand of dog food. Nitro Max has no by products or additives and if you read the ingredient list you can rest assured that this is an all natural kibble. I am so excited to continue to feed this kibble to my big boy Montana. He is very special to me and deserves only the best! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 21, 2016
  • 2016-09-23 T06:45:53.976-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_200, tr_200
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog74, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5... 8next>>
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®