For Dogs
Large Breed Adult Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

Large Breed AdultNatural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Large Breed Adult dog food is formulated for the specific needs of a large breed dog, and Made in the USA using only the finest ingredients that can be traced back to their source — like real chicken protein from farm-raised chickens and whole grain rice and wheat. And because we only use the best ingredients, you'll never find any chicken by-product meal, ground corn, sorghum, rye or any artificial colors, flavors or preservatives. We're committed to provide great tasting, natural nutrition so your dog will live a long, healthy life.

Package Sizes Available: 15lb. 30lb.

 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Dental Health
    Crunchy kibble scrubs teeth to reduce plaque and tartar build-up, whiten teeth and freshen your dog's breath.
  • Immune System Health
    Made from natural ingredients fortified with vitamins, minerals and taurine to support a strong immune system.
  • Healthy Heart
    Nutrient-rich chicken protein and vitamin E to help your dog maintain a strong, healthy heart for life.
  • Healthy Muscle Mass and Mobility
    Protein from farm-raised chicken promotes healthy muscle mass and mobility for a long, healthy life.
  • Digestive Health
    A combination of natural fibers for easy digestion and small, firm stools.
  • Healthy Skin & Coat
    Rich in omega-6 fatty acids for healthy skin and a lustrous coat.
  • Vitality
    Whole grain wheat and rice for healthy and balanced energy throughout the day.
  • Healthy Joints
    Natural sources of glucosamine & chondroitin for healthy joint function.
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Nutro Food
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min.) 24.00%
Crude Fat (min.) 13.00%
Crude Fiber (max.) 4.00%
Moisture (max.) 10.00%
Calcium (min.) 0.70%
Phosphorous (min.)
0.60%
Zinc (min.) 250 mg/kg
Vitamin E (min.) 250 IU/kg
Taurine (min.)* 0.10%
Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C) (min.)* 35 mg/kg
Omega-6 Fatty Acids (min.)* 3.00%
Glucosamine (min.)* 250 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate (min.)* 200 mg/kg
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding amounts based on ideal body condition for large breed adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® MAX® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Large Breed Adult Dog Food with your old food for 6 days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing in a cool, dry location.

Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
50 lbs. 3 1/4 3 2/3 4 1/4
65 lbs. 3 3/4 4 1/2 5
75 lbs. 4 1/4 5 5 2/3
85 lbs. 4 2/3 5 1/2 6 1/4
95 lbs. 5 6 6 3/4
130 lbs    6 1/2 7 1/2 8 1/2
170 lbs   8 9 1/4 10 1/3
200 lbs  9 10 1/3 11 3/4

† Use a standard 8 oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.64 oz. of NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Large Breed Adult Dog Food. 

NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase feeding amount by one activity level to achieve ideal weight
Maintain feeding at current activity level
Decrease feeding amount by one activity level to achieve ideal weight. If currently feeding at Activity Level I, switch to NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Large Breed Adult Dog Food [but that’s this product. Should this be Weight Loss?]
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3560 kcal/kg, 361 kcal/cup (calculated).
Nutritional Adequacy Claim

NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Large Breed Adult Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.

.

NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 126reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by great quality, excellent price i have a 3 year old GSP for his first couple of years i was using high end food like blue buffalo but he was very gasy, so i moved down to a lower end food and got nature's recipe but he was still very stinky so my friend recommended Nutro and he is not stinky at all, his coat his beautiful, and his stoll is not messy at all. i love this food. great quality at an excellent price!i have noticed too that alot of large breed dog food makes small pebble like food, but not nutro and i love that! it makes my dog eat slower! February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Dobie loves it! We have a 95 lb 1yr old Doberman that loves this food! He isn't a picky eater but he has a sensitive system. We tried some of the "Higher End" foods but they were just way to rich for him and we couldn't keep his system regular. Put him on this food and he does great! Has a great coat has ideal weight on him, only have to feed him 4-41/2 cups a day compared to like 6 and he has great energy and looks Amazing! Very happy with the food!!! January 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent nutritional value I've been giving this product to my GS for the last year and he loves it. His coat looks great and he is full of energy. I am proud to give him dog food which is manufactured in the US that is made from real ingredients. January 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by WHY CHANGE??? Our mastiff has grown up on Large Breed Beef and Rice and now its no where to be found. Why the sudden change??? He has a sensitive stomach to other brands but loved his beef and rice. Nutro MAX is not carried at any local stores but we were willing to travel in order to buy out of town 50 miles to nearest retailer. VERY DISAPPOINTED CUSTOMER!!! January 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy & Affordable Our picky eater, German Shepherd mix, loves it!!!! January 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Goodbye Nutro My Lab loved the large breed beef. Won"t eat the chicken. The granules appear to have oil or grease coming out of them. I have got to find something else. December 28, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Where's the beef??? I've been buying MAX large breed beef for six years. It's the only food my dog will eat (she won't touch the chicken flavor). Now what?It's confusing enough when you change the look of your products (what ever happened to product recognition?), this is the second time in recent years. But now I need to find a new food for my dog. Yikes?! December 19, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Large Breed Adult In the spirit of the Nov. 1st review/post, our dog is asking us, "Where's the Beef?"Our dog also does not like the chicken flavor. This is unfortunate as we thought we had found the right brand for our dog.I guess it comes down to economics as the prices for beef have risen YoY, and Nutro can not or will not raise its prices. November 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by they love it My dogs love this MAX and its a bit more affordable than Natural Choice.Thanks! November 10, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nutro Max Lg Breed Why do they keep changing the flavor from beef to chicken on the lg breed max. My dog loves the beef flavor but every time they change it over to chicken flavor my dog will not eat the food. The brand it self is good and my dog has been on it since he was a puppy but with the changing over to chicken, Im about to switch brands due to this. November 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this food is good but where can i get it i was feeding my dog this food and she loved it she was running low on food so i went to store to get it to only find out that they dont have it anymore why would you get rid of a good food like this i gave her the large breed beef and rice i have been to pet co, pets mart, and tractor supply and nobody has it where can i get her some. October 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loves the taste I was buying Blue large breed food in different flavors. VERY expensive and my collies wouldn't eat it no matter which flavor I tried. I switched to Nutro Max large breed and they gobble it up without having to add something to it to get them to eat. You also get a larger bag for a lot less money and you still have a high quality food. Great food that I heartily recommend! October 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Thing I Have Found!!! Have an Akita, BIG dog (about 130 pounds) and when fed one kind of national dog food he ended up fat. Changed him to a dog food from my local feed store where I purchase horse feed - he ended up eating A LOT and lost weight!Switched him to Nurto Max Large Breed, feed less, and he is at an ideal weight now!That was a year ago!Adopting a new dog and will be moving him over as soon as he comes home! August 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Hungry Dog! I have had my Great Dane/Boxer mix on this food for a couple of years now. Before I tried Nutro Max, I found that I had to switch foods every couple of months, as my baby would grow tired of it. This is not the case with Nutro Max! She will gulp up every last bit, as soon as I put it in her bowl. She loves this food. And it keeps her healthy and coat looking wonderful. Would recommend this to any large breed owner! June 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy, Happy Dog When we got Ernie from the pet store, this is the brand of dog food (Nutro Max Puppy) they were feeding him, I had never owned a dog before so I knew nothing about dog food, so we just stuck with what was going on and transitioned him onto large breed adult. I have to say once looking into it we couldn't have made a better choice for Ernie, he has a soft fluffy coat, has a huge amount of energy and our vet says he is the perfect weight even though he probably eats more than he should, its all thanks to a healthy diet of Nutro and loads of exercise. May 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for my big baby This product has great features, vitamins, real meat March 15, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nutro Max Large Breed Adult I've found with the Nutro Max Large Breed Adult Formula, my dog has a shiny, healthy coat, great muscle tone & energy level. March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves this food. My dog loves this food. His coat is shiny, he has less shedding, and smaller stools. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by good for sensitive tummies I would recommend this dog food for dogs that have sensitive stomaches. I tried switching him to a brand that was a couple of dollar cheaper to save money but I then realized he wasn't keeping the food down. I noticed that. he lost a lot of weight and wasn't playful. Nutro keeps his hair looking nice, active and keeps him looking healthy. Please give this brand a try you won't regret it. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by ziva's zest ziva is highly energetic and her nutro max for large breeds keeps her healthy and enthusiastic. she loves to run, run, run and investigate everything new. She thinks she is a billy goat as she climbs vertical cuts in the land to 6 feet high. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Puppy Power! My big girls think Nutro is great for their tummy! After having an embarrassing little problem (gassy!)...we made the switch from a grocery store brand to Nutro & it was an instant difference for them! Even better... the cost for the "good stuff", Nutro, was no more than what we were paying at our local grocery store for the "okay stuff".They love to see those big, tasty chunks in their bowls. Lots of tail waggin'! March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a difference!!!! We were trying to save a little money and we had all of our dogs on what we thought was a decent dog food. We finally decided we were going to spend the extra money and try a different food because we just weren't happy with what we were using. We started two of our bullmastiff adults on it and within 3 days we were ready to switch every dog we have to it. The difference in the amount of waste was noticeable in 24 hours! With several bullmastiff's and bulldog's to clean up after the change in food cut down our clean up time tremendously. Not only that but all of our dogs love it, they don't shed nearly as much as before and they don't eat nearly as much as they used to eat of the previous food. So glad we tried it! March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product has less cleanup There is less clean up than most other dog foods. All of our dogs love diner time. There coats and skin look great. March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product is worth the price I have fed my two american staffshire terriors this food for the last year and immediatly when I started them on it noticed a difference in their coat energy and feces size all improved very satisfied with product March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for keeping our dogs in great health We have a Brittany spaniel lab mix that is 3 months old she is currently on the natural choice small bites puppy, an american pit bull terrrier that is 2 years old on nutro max large breed adult and a dalmation lab that is 11 years old on the natural choice senior so once again thanks for keeping an old dog active, a young adult strong and beautiful and bringing up a puppy with everything she needs to follow in her older sisters footsteps :) March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'll never feed my dogs anything else again! I've been feeding my two dogs (a Doberman and a German Short-Hair) Nutro Max Large Breed Adult for years now, and they love it. About a year ago, I thought I'd try to save some money by switching to another brand - what a mistake! Their coats lost their shine, and they ate almost twice as much to get the same nutrition. I chalked it up to a lesson learned and switched them right back to the Nutro. I don't mind paying a few dollars extra to watch them enthusiastically gobble it up every day and know that they are getting everything they need from their Nutro Max, including glucosamine and chondroitin, which are important for bone and joint health. Thanks for this quality product, Nutro Company! March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love it... I have been feeding my dogs Nutro since 1998. At that time I had 4 dogs who all needed to lose some weight. I started them on the weight control formula and within a year all 4 were down to lower weights. They all lived long, healthy, happy lives. 2 years ago, as my dogs were nearing the end of their lives, I took in 2 foster dogs. I was told that the male was a picky eater and his previous foster had trouble getting him to eat. You could tell, he was painfully skinny. I purchased Nutro Max for them and they loved it. They both still do. When I get dinner ready they prance around wanting the food. My male not only is no longer a picky eater, but at the last vet visit he was slightly overweight - time to move to weight management I guess. Last month we got a new puppy, a Greater Swiss Mountain Dog. I immediately switched her to Large Breed puppy since she will be over 100 lbs when full grown. She absolutely loves it and is growing like a weed. Bottom line is I know my dogs have done so well because of Nutro food. I would not feed my dog anything else and would highly recommend it to any dog owner. March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT! We feed five adult dogs (One Golden Retriever, and 4 Weimeraners) this food. It is great. They love it, and are all healthy. It gets pretty rambuncious at dinner time, but they all know where their bowl will be and eat theirs, then go lick the bowls of the others that finished first! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Features This item is really awesome. I raise and breed great danes. This is the only product that i have found that i can feed all my daness. They are kept at a great weight and have the best coats they have ever had. I have one female i have never been able to keep weight on andshe is doing just awesome on this product. I have recommend this to all my family that have dogs and they couldnt beleive the differance in there weight and coat in a short period of time. Just wished it came in 50 pound bags. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has excellent features. I got my German Shepherd at 8 weeks old and have tried various foods on her. She didn't seem to like anything I gave her and turned into a fussy eater. My dog is now three years old and I have been using Nutro Max for the past year or two. Since I switched I have noticed a big change in her coat and shedding. After about three months being on Nutro Max her coat is soft and shiny. Not like a typical Shepherd. Her shedding has cut down dramatically also. She just loves the food and I love the effect on her. Thank you Nutro Max. March 11, 2011
<<prev2 3 4 5next>>
Buy Online
 
MAX® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®