For Dogs
Adult Natural Lamb Meal  Rice Recipe

Adult RecipePasture Fed Lamb

Give your dog a natural, great-tasting meal they will look forward to with NUTRO™ MAX® Adult Recipe With Pasture Fed Lamb Dry Dog Food. Our all natural food for dogs is made with pasture-fed lamb and is formulated with added vitamins and minerals to provide complete and balanced nutrition in every bowl. Your dog will love the savory flavors of real lamb and whole grains, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 25lb.


Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 25-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Adult Recipe With Pasture Fed Lamb Dry Dog Food
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for adult dogs is made with pasture-fed lamb, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs contains essential fatty acids to promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural dog food that keeps your pet healthy and happy — at an affordable price
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Sorghum, Brewers Rice, Peas, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Whole Grain Oatmeal, Deboned Lamb, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Lamb Meal, Whole Brown Rice, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Chloride, DL-Methionine, Taurine, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Potassium Iodide, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 24.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 14.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.50%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
15 lbs. 1 cups 1-1/3 cups 1-1/2
25 lbs. 1-2/3 cups 2 cups 2-1/4 cups
35 lbs. 2 cups 2-1/2 cups 2-3/4 cups
45 lbs. 2-1/2 cups 3 cups 3-1/3 cups
55 lbs. 3 cups 3-1/2 cups 4 cups
65 lbs. 3-1/3 cups 4cups 4-1/3 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.37 oz. of NUTRO™ MAX® Adult Recipe With Farm-Raised Chicken Mini Chunk Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3,745 kcal/kg, 358 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.

Product Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 90reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Affordable nutrition for my dogs Economical nutrition for my yellow Lab, Yukon and my white Min. Schnauser. Both dogs eat this food with relish and maintain their weight, both of my dogs are elderly and remain in good health, hunor and good physical condition. I would, and have recomended this food to friends, and family members. December 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally no more, "What the heck is this?" looks! We have two food-loving huskies, the younger one is an extremely picky and slow (she takes one kibble out of the bowl at a time and places it in her crate before eating it) eater and the older will eat almost anything we put in front of her. Except when we change to a healthier dog food. She will sniff her bowl and then give us this long look before she eats it. I bought Nutro Max when it was on sale and haven't looked back. Not only do they both get excited during meal time, but the younger one actually finishes her food in a timely manner and no more taking one kibble out at a time to eat! December 19, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by No more loose stools We had tired many kinds of dog food and found no relief from loose stools and flatulence for our German Shorthair Pointer. I started reading articles on what to feed and what not to feed your dogs which lead to reading ingredients on the bags of food. All of the article said to stay away from beet pulp and corn.Once we started on the Nutro Max our pooch cleared right up. Our little JRT can't eat anything else or she get diarrhea as well. So we're very pleased.Being a label reader, I see beet pulp in in the list of ingredients now which is suppose to cause GI upset and we don't like that.. I sure hope our pups don't start having problems. November 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ideal For Improving Coats I am a breeder of show Beagles, and Nutro has long since been my "show food". A few years back, when a popular brand around the show circuit downgraded its formula, my dogs stood out quite startlingly from the hounds eating the other brand, and I was frequently asked what coat supplements and chalking products I was using to keep coats so dense, soft and their white areas so vivid. No one could believe my dogs were eating a steady diet of Nutro Max, and nothing else.Dogs not being actively shown were always on a rotation of pricy holistic feeds, and when the show dogs were put on these supposed 's star' diets, their coats inevitably went to pot. So I recently switched everyone to Nutro Max Lamb & Rice, which not only saves me between $15-20 per bag as opposed to the other foods, I am astounded how drastically coats have improved! I also notice a healthy change in their energy levels - no more doggie sugar rushes and intense bursts of hyperactivity followed by crashes. They have even activity levels throughout the day, and I know that means Nutro is a meat based, healthy food. I now recommend this shamelessly to anyone who will listen. September 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Sensitive stomachs I have a Boxer which are known for their Flatulence. My wife and I feed our dog Nutro Max and do not have any problems with our dog and his temperamental digestive system. We are very happy with the results we have seen with Nutro. Almost every time we walk him we get compliments on his coat. The credit goes to the food. Nutro Lamb and rice, is an all around great dog food. August 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nurto Max is the best for my dogs! I have a Norwegian elkhund who came from the breeders with a kidney disease, and she does well on Max rice and lamb recipe. I have a lab. who has a sensitive stomach. Both of my dogs perform well, they maintain a healthy look, weight and coat on this food. I have tried other food when they were puppies, but Nutros Max is the best for my dogs! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is a good value. I feed my 3 year old Mini schnauzer 1 1/2 cups per day. Since I switched to Nutro he has lost a few pounds he needed to lose and his energy has skyrocketed. The lamb and rice formula is great for his somewhat sensitive stomach and his coat looks rich and shiny. I highly recommend this product. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs luv it I have four dogs, they love Nutro Max, I just brought a new bag home tonight and they could smell it from our closed plastic container, they went to thier empty bowl and was hitting it so we would feed them. I like how thier coat feels and looks and the energy they have. I also like it because a bag last about 3 weeks and that's great for 4 dogs. With 4 dogs they can generate alot of doggie duty but with the Nutro Max they seem to duy less. I have been buying and using the product for over a year now, I do try other foods but always come back to nutro because the dogs do so much better on it and in the long run it ends up costing less than the stuff I buy in the stores. I like that it has an oily coating it seems good for the dogs skin and stomachs. I do have one dog with allergies and while she isn't 100% on nutro she has less symptons that many other more expensive products I've tried. I like for my dogs to eat well and I know with nutro they will get it. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutritious and delicious Our 14 year old terrier mix, Lucky is an energetic boy who has enjoyed Nutro Max Lamb and Rice since he was a pup. His brother, a bruising, brute 4 year old shepherd mix is right there with him, trying each night to steal a few precious tidbits of anything Lucky misses. Whenever I bring a new bag home, the dogs start barking and don't stop until I throw them a piece or two. We know Nutro's Lamb and Rice is nutritious and according to our dogs, it's also delicious. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value And Quality We have been feeding our dogs Nutro dog food for over 10 years. We recently began using the Adult Lamb Meal & Rice formula with great results. Our dogs love it and the quality of the ingredients keeps them looking great and in good health. Many people will ask us what supplements or shampoos we use to get their coats loking so full and shiny and our answer is nothing but Nutro dog food and baby shampoo! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great I love Nutro for my dogs, because it is all natural with no additives and they love it. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality I have always used Nutro for all my pets and always will it is a great quality kibble with no filler and by products. It is a great food for a great value. Thank You Nutro for keeping my Maggie and Rocky's bellies full and satisfied. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves this food. This product has been great for my dog. I switched from Max puppy to this brand and did not experience any negative side effects in my dogs digestive system. She still scarfs this food down as fast as she did her puppy food. The size of the bites are perfect since she doesn't chew her food very well. They also fit great in her food dispensing ball toy which we use every day. I have never noticed bad breath in my dog and she is easy to clean up after. I would recommend this product. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Dog Food Love this dog food. It helps my dogs allergies and the coat is super shiny. I would recommend this food to anyone without hesitation. Reece, my Norfolk terrier, also loves it! He rushes to dinner time. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great I had my dog back and forth to the vet with a GI isue cost alot of money and i had to cook for my dog everyday,i dont even cook for myself everday after about a month of the cooking ,going back to the vet etc.... i bought your Lamb and Rice and will continue to do so it has been 6 months now i dont have to cook for my dog ,you do it for me now thank you so much. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Affordable Alternative for a Sensitive Eater Our bulldog, like many bulldogs, has food allergies. Early in her life she had such bad reactions to the food that she was being fed that her skin was in pretty bad condition. After she was moved to a new home she was put on a lamb and brown rice formula from another, much more pricey, brand and it did her wonders. When she came to live with us we continued to feed her that same food but as their prices started to go up and up we started to look for alternatives. There are several other brands that carry lamb and brown rice formulas but they still contain other 'by products' and any time we tried to start her on any of those foods there was an immediate negative reaction.I decided to try Nutro Max after searching the web for coupons. Not only did she take to it right away (apparently it must taste better!) but when using the 7-day switch plan printed on the back of the bag she never had any sort of "switch over" reactions that can sometimes be expected (gas, changes in bowels, etc.) She loves it, she never turns down a meal and I would say I've seen an improvement in the shine of her coat since we've switched over as well, which is an unexpected bonus.I love Nutro Max Lamb Meal & Rice recipe (and so does our bulldog!) and would definitely recommend it to anyone, especially those with pups with sensitive tummies. February 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by our dogs love it We have 3 dogs who are picky eaters and all 3 love Nutro Max February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Picky Eaters Cant get enough I am a dog boarding and grooming facilty owner as well as an Alaskan Klee Kai breeder. I have very picky eaters in my Itzy Bitzy Clan pack, and from the very moment I added this to their dish they went NUTS! I am already seeing tear stains clearing up, and cannot wait to see what it does for their coat.My 7 year old Alaskan Klee Kai was looking depressed, lost his energy and didnt have the same pep he once showed as a puppy.After two weeks of being on the Nutro Max, he is running every where, he is smiling, happy and BOUNCY again! He has his pep back in his stride!!I was previously feeding them Nautral Balance varities, and am already glad I tried this out. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by IT 'STOPS' SHEDDING Our Spaniel/Terrier mix's shedding was making a mess out of our house and our clothes. We couldn't wear black pants and certainly couldn't walk around in black socks. There was just too much dog hair everywhere. We even bought a ROOMBA (a motorized device) to supplement our vacuum which was overloaded with dog hair. Then we were recommended to MAX Lamb and Rice. It was so effective that , 4 bags later, its still our dogfood of choice. Now I can wear black pants, sit on the floor and even walk barefoot, without picking up an extra coating of dog hair. Thank you. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is great for dogs with tender tummys I have boxers which are notorious for having really tender tummys. I was struggling to find a good fit for my dog Maddox. Either the food would make him sick or it was too expensive for me to buy so often. My dad got me hooked on Nutro Max. It is at a great price point, and Maddox rarely had any stomach problems. I was thrilled when the Lamb and Rice came out because he got even better. SInce using Nutro Max I have got two more boxers. They both started with Nutro Max Puppy and are now on to Nutro Max Lamb and Rice. Nutro Max is a great product and I will continue to feed my dogs this product and recomend it to others. Thanks Nutro! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shiny Coat!!!! I always used the same brand of dog food for my 4 year old black lab mix and began noticing a decline in the health of my dogs skin and coat. He was itching alot and had a weird smell that would not go away even after bathing. I went to the pet store and was given a coupon to try this brand of dog food and was guaranteed a difference in the dogs coat within 6 weeks. I began noticing a huge improvement in less than 3 weeks and the problem was totally gone by the 6th week. I have used this food ever since and am very grateful. I get compliments from family members who haven't seen the dog in a while. They say how great his coat looks. It is very shiny and looks great! No more smell, itching or flaky skin. Thank you Nutro for your quality, affordable product! February 17, 2011
  • 2016-10-21 T06:08:55.203-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_90, tr_90
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog78, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 34