For Dogs
Adult Natural Lamb Meal  Rice Recipe

Adult RecipePasture Fed Lamb

Give your dog a natural, great-tasting meal they will look forward to with NUTRO™ MAX® Adult Recipe With Pasture Fed Lamb Dry Dog Food. Our all natural food for dogs is made with pasture-fed lamb and is formulated with added vitamins and minerals to provide complete and balanced nutrition in every bowl. Your dog will love the savory flavors of real lamb and whole grains, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 25lb.

 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 25-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Adult Recipe With Pasture Fed Lamb Dry Dog Food
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for adult dogs is made with pasture-fed lamb, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs contains essential fatty acids to promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural dog food that keeps your pet healthy and happy — at an affordable price
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Ingredients
Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Sorghum, Brewers Rice, Peas, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Whole Grain Oatmeal, Deboned Lamb, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Lamb Meal, Whole Brown Rice, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Chloride, DL-Methionine, Taurine, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Potassium Iodide, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 24.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 14.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.50%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
15 lbs. 1 cups 1-1/3 cups 1-1/2
25 lbs. 1-2/3 cups 2 cups 2-1/4 cups
35 lbs. 2 cups 2-1/2 cups 2-3/4 cups
45 lbs. 2-1/2 cups 3 cups 3-1/3 cups
55 lbs. 3 cups 3-1/2 cups 4 cups
65 lbs. 3-1/3 cups 4cups 4-1/3 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.37 oz. of NUTRO™ MAX® Adult Recipe With Farm-Raised Chicken Mini Chunk Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3,745 kcal/kg, 358 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Adult Recipe is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1490.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doggylishous Our Black lab Molly is loving her Lamb dogfood from Max. We had been having a problem with her hair looking dull and she was shedding all over. Even with it only being a week we can tell a huge difference in her coat. She seems to have a little extra pep in her step too! Thank you so much Buzz agent for giving us the opportunity to try this think it's a keeper in our home!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs go crazy for Max Natural Lamb Meal As soon as I got the bag home our lovely sheep dog started to pick at the bag wanting me to open it. Started mixing the food as soon as I got home and Bernice started to sort the food right away. She loves it. When I first grabbed to food out of the bag my hands felt like they had a film on them. Not really a bad thing it makes me feel like there is some real fat and nutrients in the food. She is still loving it @ day 7. Will be switching to this food definitely. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Initial impressions Just opened the bag of lamb variety and Gibson (canine of the household) made a detour from his regularly scheduled sniffing of the things to investigate. Mixed 75/25 for the first day, serving size for a 55lb dog. Seems a little greasier than his old food, but he promptly devoured the whole bowl without hesitation.He normally is some what picky, being spoiled with the addition of chicken gizzards into his regular food, but did not think twice before diving in.Additional review to follow after a few days [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boxer mix, lamb formula. I think that feeding natural dog food is important and this brand is! If you research dog food you will learn this this company is one of the top brands for quality. Our dog isn't the most picky eater but she has no problem cleaning her bowl with this brand! I choose the lamb formula based on preference only, as it's a little easier on belly's than beef. If you are unsure about what flavor to get, lamb or fish generally are the easiest on sensitive bellys. Food pellet size is medium sized and will fine for our boxer who is on the smaller size it would be ok for dogs of smaller or larger breed. There was no problem with transition of this food.Would I boy this brand for our dog is the question. And I would have no issue doing that. Since our dog had no problem eating her food every night. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good new product for my dog. First, the package has so much information about the food inside; like its main ingredient, for what size of dog, what product are not included in that food, etc. Second, the food size are small, so there are not problem for any dog to take it.When my dog first smell the food, I think he didn't like it because it is very different to other dogs food (this one has a strong smell) He took some out of the bowl and inspect them, then tried to eat it, but he spited it and then took it again and then ate it. That was on the first day he tried it. The second day, he smelled it, but ate it.I think if your dog is not familiar with lamb, but you want to feed him with it, you should give it a little time to adjust to it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My picky goldendoodle loved it It's hard finding a dog food with ingredients that I like and a taste my dog enjoys. My mini golden doodle has a lot of poodle traits and included in that list is not being very food motivated. I was pleasantly surprised and quite excited when he not only tried Nutro Max adult recipe with pasture fed lamb but he actually liked it! Such a bonus that it is full of high quality ingredients (non gmo, no corn or soy, no preservatives etc) that I can feel good about feeding him. I did give it four stars instead of five because while the food is made in their U.S. facilities the ingredients are sourced from "around the world". But based on the quality of ingredients they use I'm still comfortable with this product. The actual size of the individual pieces of food are perfect as well, and likely good for all small, medium and large size dogs. My doodle is about 30lbs and almost 3 years old. We won't be switching back to our old brand. Happy dog = happy owner.Disclaimer: I was given this product to try as a bzzagent in exchange for my honest feedback. The opinions above are my own. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gotta try this if you havent my dogs usually don,t do new dog food but s soon as it was opened they did did not wait to dive in not an empty bowl in the house love a food that is easy on there tummies and makes them happy [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not too Positive My 7 year old Golden Retrievor has his mind set on what foods he actually likes. I have tried many brands and wanted to give Nutro a chance. I kept a bowl out filled with Nutro and hestarted pushing it away with his nose. I ignored him and figured if it was the only thing in theway of dried food he would have to eat it and eventually he did have some but very little.Maybe it is the size of the pieces as he is a big dog and these are rather small balls. It has all good stuff in it so who knows but I have tried Blue Buffalo, Wellness, Merrick,Rachel Ray (he only likes the buffalo), etc. Seems nothing satisfies his taste etc. Purina ONe Smartblend's, both dried and canned and while it may not compare to the higher end dog foods, this is what he seems to want.It is a shame cause Nutro really seems to be good quality and I will continue to try to see if he eventually will eat it. Who is to say why it doesn't seem to appeal to him but I have bags of Merrick sitting here and others that he simply does not like. All I can say is try it, give it a chance and see if they make a larger ball or shapes for bigger dogs. I appreciated BzzAgents giving me the chance to try it and to give it a fair chance. I haven't given up but as of today, it hasn't seemed to tempt my dog. Good product with great ingredients though. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this food! Myself and my dog Justice are very excited to say that he loves this food. He brings his bowl to us for more. He has switched foods in the past and either not liked them or had some intestinal issues, with this there were none! I was a little worried. I am definitely going to buy this for him. Happy dog is a happy life! For me I am glad that the product is healthier for him. Like most owners he is my best friend and I want him happy and healthy. One of the most important things is that he is content after a meal. He also seems fuller, after many meals he will be looking for more. He is doing this less in only a matter of a few days.He has always been on the hyperactive side and after he seems a bit mellower. With his breed that is a good thing. He is part pit bull. I like anything that calms him down. I am sure it has something to due with the sugar content. I have been looking for something that will help in this area. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally a food my dog will eat all of! I was recently given NUTRO™ MAX™ Dog Food lamb meal and rice to test and review and I have to say I'm impressed. I have three large dogs and have fed them the same dog food for 10 years and love it. I decided to test it on one of my dogs that never eats all his food and most times has loose stool (as a a dog owner it's all about stool). I opened the bag to look and smell the product and it actually smelled like food and not just dog food. The bits and a good size for all dogs not just large breeds. The first time I gave him NUTRO™ MAX™ Dog Food he gobbled it up! In one sitting!! There wasn't a morsel left! They hooked me there but I waited to see how he tolerated it. To my pleasant surprise it's been great! No stinky butt and no loose stool. They have me hooked for sure. My only complaint is it needs more protein and less carbs than it currently has. I was hoping for a higher protein profile. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a HIT!! I have 2 large dogs who are very particular about their food. When I received the bag of MAX Natural Lamb, I opened it right away. The first thing I noticed was that it did not smell like other dog foods - it actually was quite pleasant because of the natural ingredients. I mixed it with the other dog food - as directed, when changing food. They absolutely loved it! Normally, they would eat some and then walk away. Not with MAX! Their bowls were completely clean. I would highly recommend this dog food product and will be looking for it on shelves. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dog Loves this Food! After receiving the dog food it arrived in an attractively packaged bag with easy to ready ingredients I immediately began the switch with my Rottweiler. Made in USA always is a big bonus in our house and that was one thing I noticed right away. I started the transition to this food slowly with our pup as to not upset her stomach but almost immediately I noticed she was more eager to eat. Usually she's a picky eater and eats little amounts throughout the day however with this food she stood at ate her entire helping at once. I cannot testify to the taste personally and can only judge by my dog's response but if I had to guess I'd say she loves this food. Its made with natural ingredients, no by-products or fillers so would definitely think about making a permanent switch! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doggie approved! My dog loved this adult dog food.It is simple, nutritious, and tasty. He is a big fan of lamb, and he scarfed it up.It is not full of filler ingredients, one thing we find important. Stools were normal with this food, and he didn't seem to have any problems making a graded switch. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased I received the Nutro Max Lamb Meal & Rice today and it was a big hit! It doesn't have that strong nasty dog food smell. It had small round pieces and seems to be crunchy but not too hard so it will be easy for older dogs with weak teeth also. All natural ingredients so I feel good about giving it to my babies. My Belgian Malinois and Jack Russel both gobbled it down. Could not be happier with my first product I received for free in exchange for review!! Love #bzzagent [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Dog Food!!! My dog loves this food! He has allergies, so this NUTRO MAX Lamb Meal & Rice is perfect for him. It has no chicken by products, no corn, wheat or soy and no artificial flavors, colors or preservatives so this is a great food for dogs who need special care because of allergies or skin irritations. I had no problems when changing his food, he loved it right away. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product! I think that Nutro Max is a wonderful dog food. My dogs absolutely loved it. They can't get enough of it. I think it's great that ithe is made with fresh natural ingredients. Even their meat is fresh. I like the fact that it is made in the United States. I can trust to feed this to my dogs. I think this is the best food I've ever given to my dogs. I'm going to continue to purchase it. I can't wait to try all the other flavors to give to my dogs. Thank you for the opportunity to sample! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from kellie1968 I just got my free nutro max lamb and rice recipe adult dog food yesterday. My 3 dogs love it! I will be purchasing this regular for my dogs. Everyone should give this dog a try, I have 3 very picky eaters. If my dogs love so will yours. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from O M G my babies LOVE it When I got home the box was waiting for me ...it was huge! I got the bag out finally and my 4 dogs went crazy. They are very picky, they don't like dog food too well. Their favorite treat is blueberries. If that says how picky they are. I mixed the food like it said to and when they were finished they had picked out all the MAXX. I have 4 happy babies. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Day 1 introduction Remy our female German Shepard knows a bag of dog food the minute she sees/smells it. She begged, she sat next to the bag and waited until the moment she could finally dig in. Since we are new to this brand we used the suggested transition amount for day 1. The first thing I noticed is regardless of the fact that about 75% was her old dog food she dug out each and every piece of the new food to eat first. Sounds like a good sign she doesn't mind the change one bit. Day 1 seems to be a win for MAX®. Thanks buzzagent for the free huge bag! Looking for a nutritional dog food that cares about your pet, so far we say go for MAX®! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Max for Vinnie You should know this is not your average dog food. You notice it immediately after opening the bag by the look and smell. It contains no dyes and the ingredients are quality cut. At first my baby just sniffed at it. About 15 minutes later I found him licking the bowl. I think the size of the food is perfect and will really help his digestive track. We both are excited. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Natural Dog Food. I think it's really good to finally have a dog food that doesn't have all the added perservatives and artificial fillers in it. Also no wheat, corn, or soy is very hard to find at an affodable price. Nutro does a great job at bringing us a great product to market. Can't wait to purchase my second bag of this stuff. So far my dog loves it and is doing really well from eating this dog food. Thanks Nutro. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very impressed with this Nutro! I'm super excited to try a new dog food for my pup. From the first moment that she tried it, I could tell that she loved the all the finest ingredients that are in Nutro Max, with our Malamute we ale always looking for the finest dog food, that does not have corn in it , with the ingredients that are in the lamb and rice I am very comfortable knowing she is getting the best nutrition. She loves it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome quality dog food The nutri max lamb and rice was high quality food with high quality ingredients. All 3 of the dogs loved it. They even wanted it as a treat. I recommend this product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The pups love Nutro Max All 3 of my fur babies love Nutro Max Lamb & Rice dog food. Even my sensitive tummy picky eater boxer! The food pieces ar small enough for my rat terrier itch dental issues to eat with no problems too. Understanding all the ingredients makes me feel good about this choice! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog foodNUTRO MAX I absolutely love the product it be something that I would buy for my dog he really enjoyed it I just started using it a couple hours ago so we'll give it a couple days and see how it works but it's something that I would try again [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT FOR MY PET I think this product is great! My dog loved it from the second I put it out. Picky eater but he seems to finally find exactly what makes him happy! I think more dog food companies should take this healthy approach to all their products. This one surely stands out and is a keeper. Of it makes my dog happy, then it makes me happy. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my 4 dogs on for 3 weeks My dogs absolutely love this and they will even eat it dry without any broth or wet food in it. I switched from a grocery store brand that I had used for years because my beagle had bad red skin on his belly. After a week on this his skin returned to normal and his coat is the shiniest it has ever been.My other dogs coats have greatly improved as well. I highly recommend this formula.
Date published: 2013-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't switch... I have two English bulldogs and have been using natural choice since we got them! I noticed nutro max at the store and wondered what the difference was cause the price was much lower.... No one at the pet store could really tell me so I compared both bags and seemed very comparable in ingredients. I switched to try save some money but you defiantly get what you pay for! My dogs have gotten sick multiple times and defiantly don't have their nice coat like their used too! I guess it might be a good product if you started it when they were puppies but don't switch from natural choice to nutro max to try and save money and the ingredients may appear to look the same on the bag!!
Date published: 2013-02-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never Again I have been using Natural Choice for over 6yrs. I noticed a difference in price a yr or so. And didnt correlate that it was different dog food.My Lab was algeric to the MAX product line. I investigated further and noticed that there are the normal Natural Choice and then the MAX product line. I switched back to the Natural Choice (which cost about $20.00 more a bag than MX) from the MAX and all her symptoms went away immediately.Not sure what they do different in the MAX food but it is true here. You get what you pay for!!.My Lab is back to her SOFT coat self now :-). Save your dog some pain and stick with the main Natural Choice line.
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SMALL BITES DOG I COULD NOT GET ANY COUPONS. THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT BUT IT IS PRICEY..I WOULD LIKE COUPONS..
Date published: 2012-12-15
  • y_2016, m_11, d_24, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1490
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog78, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_nutro
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®