For Dogs
Adult Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

Adult RecipeFarm Raised Chicken

Give your dog a natural, great-tasting meal they will look forward to with NUTRO™ MAX® Adult Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food. Our all natural food for dogs is made with farm-raised chicken and is formulated with added vitamins and minerals to provide complete and balanced nutrition in every bowl. Your dog will love the savory flavors of real chicken and whole grains, and you will like that NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs never contains chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat or soy protein.

Package Sizes Available: 25lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Contains one (1) 25-lb. bag of NUTRO™ MAX® Adult Recipe With Farm Raised Chicken Dry Dog Food
  • Our great-tasting, quality food for adult dogs is made with farm-raised chicken, plus whole grains as a nutritious source of fiber
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Food for Dogs contains essential fatty acids to promote healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat
  • Our all-natural, affordable dog food contains no artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NUTRO™ MAX® Dog Food is responsibly made in the U.S.A. in our own facilities
  • A complete and balanced natural dog food that keeps your pet healthy and happy — at an affordable price
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Ingredients
Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Sorghum, Brewers Rice, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Chicken, Peas, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Whole Brown Rice, Whole Grain Oatmeal, Chickpeas, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, DL-Methionine, Salt, Zinc Sulfate, Niacin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin E Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Selenium Yeast, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Potassium Iodide, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract, Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.) 24.00%
Crude Fat (Min.) 14.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.) 3.50%
Moisture (Max.) 10.00%
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing it in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
15 lbs. 1-1/3 cups 1-1/2 1-3/4 cups
25 lbs. 2 cups 2-1/4 cups 2-1/2 cups
35 lbs. 2-1/2 cups 2-3/4 cups 3-1/4 cups
45 lbs. 3 cups 3-1/3 cups
4 cups
55 lbs. 3-1/2 cups 4 cups 4-1/2 cups
65 lbs. 4 cups 4-1/2 cups 5-1/4 cups

Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 2.94 oz. of NUTRO™ MAX® Senior Recipe With Farm-Raised Chicken Dog Food.

Calorie Content
Calorie Content: Metabolizable energy 3,715 kcal/kg, 383 kcal/cup (calculated).
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Adult Recipe is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1219.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really like this product line My dog Bentley really did well and loved the puppy stuff so when he turned 1 we moved him to this one. He seems to like it so so. I'm not sure if its the taste or the size that throws him off. He used to mow down the puppy stuff as soon as it hit his bowl! Not sure what to do about that. I enjoy the minimal clean up though!
Date published: 2011-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! When we first brought our adopted pug Rocko home, his spirit was broken. He was injured and sad. It took us some time to find a food that he enjoyed. Nutro was the one he loved and still loves. Now we feed Nutro Puppy to our new puppy. Rocko and Toci both clean their bowls every feeding! They are healthy and happy pugs with shiny coats thanks to Nutro!
Date published: 2011-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Less and Very Easy Clean Up Nutro Max delivers it's promises. It's really true that it makes their hair shiny, Less Clean Up and taste good for our babies. I have already recommend Nutro to many of our friends because Nutro Dog Food really satisfies us and is making our 2 babies happy and healthy.
Date published: 2011-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky Eaters Approved!! When you’re trying to feed one produce to five picky dogs it can be a very large challenge. We have tried different bands to attempt to satisfy everyone but one bag of Nutro Max and our dogs were hooked. As an owner Nutro provides not only full bellies but easy waste cleanup and its good on the wallet. I’m not going to lie the only downside to feeding this dog food is the occasion smelly gas.
Date published: 2011-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT Helps with bad shedding and keeps them healthy too
Date published: 2011-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and value!! I am extremely happy with Nutro Max dog food. After reviewing all the different products, ingredients and costs, I have found Nutro to be the best choice! Not only does my Sandy puppy get the best food available but I don't empty my wallet when it is time for another bag. She has a nice coat and doesn't shed very much. Never a worrie about the product!
Date published: 2011-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY DOGS LOVE IT!!! I have been using Nutro Max for years and my dogs love it. It is easy on their stomachs, their coats are soft and shiny. I would recommend this food to anyone that wants a healthy diet for their pet.
Date published: 2011-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves it's taste My neighbor told me about Nutro because I was having a hard time finding something that she seemed to enjoy. I took my dog to the Neighbors for a visit and she started munching on the dog food they had out. I thought she just liked eating other dogs food but I purchased a bag for home and we have been steady customers ever since.
Date published: 2011-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs love this food and it's great for their coats My dogs love this food and always lick their bowl clean down to the last crumb. It makes their coats very shiny and glossy. I think it alawys helps cut down on their shedding as well. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a great quality food that isn't too pricy. I feed it to my 2 labs and min pin so its great for all size dogs.
Date published: 2011-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't give my dog anything else I have used Nutro Max for my past three dogs. I have been very pleased with Nutro Max. It makes the coats shine, is easy on their digestive system and my dogs love it. When I come home from the store with a new bag my dog, Gizmo, can't wait for me to open the new bag and feed him. I think he could pick it out himself at the store. He won't eat any other dog food now. Thanks for your dedication for quality dog food.
Date published: 2011-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from max dog food Great food dog loves it . Dog is in great shape because of your food I have only bought your food from the first day we got her .Thank you for a great thing
Date published: 2011-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy Happy Four Legged Kids Mulligan, Benson and Gracie Lou absolutely LOVE Nutro Max Adult dog food. And their owners absolutely LOVE how Nutro Max Adult dog food keeps them nourished, healthy and happy. With aging St. Bernards, it is our utmost responsibility to provide them the best quality of food to keep them healthy and happy. Nutro Max is the only dog food that doesn't upset their sensitive bellies and provides the right nutrients to keep their bones, joints and coats strong and healthy. Nutro Max has kept our aging four legged kids very happy and healthy into their late adulthood. Thanks for a great product!
Date published: 2011-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I WOULDNT FEED MY FIELD/HUNTING LABS ANYTHING BUT! The quality of NUTRO dogs foods has been proven to our family over the years thru the use of the Natural Choice product line that we feed our Mini Doxies!About 3 1/2 yrs ago I realized that with our kids grown I had the time to start training field/hunting labs again. So my search began for the best field line Yellow Lab genetics in the country. After lots and lots of studying and searching, I finally got my first female Yellow Lab. I got her as a yr old "started dog" and she was in outstanding shape.I found that the trainer had raised her thru her first yr of life on NUTRO products and being that my wife and I were already die hard believers in NUTRO, I put her on NUTRO MAX ADULT ACTIVE. She is now almost four yrs old and is a top notch hunting/hunt test dog! In fact, she has done so well that Ive been approached time and time again to sell her for what is considered big money for a trained hunting/competition dog! Of course she is going no where but to the MH hall of Fame when her career is over! LOL!Her health is fantastic and the NUTRO keeps her charging hard in the field whether we are in freezing temps in the duck blind or in the heat of summer running hunt tests in competition! My girl had her first litter of puppies this last summer and they were/are gorgeous! EVERY pup went to homes of professional trainers or to homes of field trial competitors! Genetics of course plays a huge role in the breeding of top notch dogs, but i truly believe that you must have the BEST food available to do your dogs justice and NUTRO brand has proven over and over to be the best we have ever used! Whether we are hunting or competing in the field, people CONSTANTLY ask us what brand of food we feed our Labs and our reply is always the same! NUTRO MAX!Thanks again for the high standards you folks keep at NUTRO MAX as we are always confident that our K9 family members are getting the best ingredients money can buy! NUTRO has truly been a key in the success of our Labs both in the field and with their fantastic health!
Date published: 2011-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best food for my current dog I have recently rescued a 1 year old lab mix. Shortly after adopting him I found out that he is allergic to beef. My vet recomended putting him on a chicken protein source. I tried seveal different brands that were chicken based but he would not eat them no matter what I tried. He loves nutro max adult and it is better priced than the other brands I tried. He is a very active dog and has reached a great wieght and is maintaining perfectly since I sarted feeding him nutro. I have had several friends adopt dogs since I adopted mine and they are all on a nutro product.
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! My dog is a very picky eater, he wont even eat his food if no one is around. I have fed him different brands and he seems to only enjoy Nutro. When I feed him he will eat it all up even if no one is around. I made a switch a couple of months ago and he did not even touch the other food. I am glad I found Nutro and very happy that my dog enjoys what he eats!
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nutro Max helps keep our dog healthy Our dog Jake is an active McNab Shepherd mix who has been dining on Nutro Max since we adopted him as a 6 month old puppy. His coat is sleek and he maintains a healthy weight. He walks, runs and chases his ball from sun-up to sun-down! Now he is 2 years old and Nutro Max seems to have made a big difference in his overall health.
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! We have 2 beagles, and they both love Nutro Max! After switching, they both have improved skin and coats, and their activity level is improved. Because of the improved quality of the food, we notice less "mess" in the yard as well - with 2 that's important!One of our boys is a very picky eater (Odd for a beagle I know!) but he loves Nutro Max and is excited for mealtime. We couldn't be happier!
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog who is a picky eater loves his new dog food My dog who is a picky eater loves his new dog food. We give it a two thumbs up
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved Coat and Skin I adopted a Rhodesian Ridgeback mix from an Animal Shelter on July 31st and have had him on the Nutro Max Adult Active Breed since then. I have seen a significant difference in his coat and skin, he went from dry, flaky skin with a thin dull coat to a nice healthy, thicker coat. No more dry skin and his coat is very shiney. He is very active, jogs with me three times a week plus lots of walks and is in great shape, solid muscle.
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy transition from Puppy to Adult When we set out to adopt a puppy, we knew we wanted a large breed. We found Sadie at the Franklin County Animal Shelter in Columbus, Ohio. She was a 6-week old black lab/black shephard mix. Her siblings were all available and we took each for a "test drive" and chose her. Sadie weighed 10lb when we adopted her on 8/31/09. We immediately began feeding her Nutro Puppy formula and kept her on it for about 15 months. By December (she was 5mos old), she weighed 75 very healthy pounds. Her transition into Active Adult formula was very easy. We mixed the remainder of her puppy food with the new bag of Active Adult and she devoured the bowl. Sadie is now 1-1/2 years old and has never had table food and does great with her exclusive Nutro diet! She teeters between 72 and 80 lbs and is the light of the Vet office eyes when she comes in. We would never consider another brand of food, as we get complimented on her clear eyes, shiny coat, and great disposition (although the puppy in her is still rampant!!). Glad this was our choice right out of the gate!!
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog never gets enough of this food. My dog really enjoys this pet food. He can eat it mixed with wet food, or dry as a snack. He loves it just as much as his special dog treats and people food. This food leaves him with a shiny coat and it is gentle on his sensitive stomach.
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a transformation in my dog! I started feeding this product to my long haired German Shep looking for SOMETHING to control his out of control shedding, itching and dull ugly hair coat. By the end of my first bag my dog's shedding was noticeably reduced. After 4 years on it now he has a GORGEOUS hair coat and I break out the vaccume about 1/10 as much as I used to. This is a marvelous product, to take my skinny wiry haired shepard and turn him in the magnificent animal he is today. LOVE it!
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product is perfect for my dogs i rescue abandoned and abused dogs. i use to buy different brands of dog food. one for my personal dogs who are seniors. another for my over-weight dogs. then several different brands for my rescued dogs. one day at petsmart a nutro representative gave me some coupons and i tried nutro. now it is the only brand i use. it has everything my dogs need. the puppy formula is excellent for puppies that are malnourished and have been eating garbage. my personal dogs love the senior and overweight formulas. all my dogs love nutro. i'll never switch dog foods again.
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dogs really love this food I was using another over the counter product that did not control the shedding problem. I also had dogs that had mutiple bowel movements. both issues have been reduced.
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nutro Max is the best ever. My dog shilo was flown to Oregon from Kansas to a pet store in Portland. When I first saw him and took him out of his cage, he kissed me on the nose and I knew he was mind. I purchased him and took him home. The pet store wasn’t sure what he would eat, so I did some research and found the breeder and called him and he said he feeds all of his puppies Nutro Max. Shilo is 5 years old next month and to this day he has eaten Nutro Max. We have had no stomach problems or gas with him. He has done very well on his diet of Nutro Max. He eats no other kind of food. You can try and give him doggie bones or something different and he will not eat it. His teeth are in very good shape and hasn’t had any dental work done as of yet. The vet said his teeth are in good shape.
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog is healthy! I love Nutro Max because it allows my dog to eat a healthy, high-quality pet food without breaking my budget. My dog loves the food and she is very healthy from years of eating Nutro Max. Her coat is shiny, her nose is wet, and her eyes shine, all due to a healthy diet. I would never go back to the grocery store brands of dog food.
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my dogs love it!!!!! I have 4 dogs, boxer, 2 daschands, and a corgi...they don't agree on much except they all love Nutra MAX. Chicken is the favorite, but they all love it all. It's amazing to know they all eat it like it's home cooking. I was tempted to try a kibble...LOL
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our dog loves the taste of this food We first tried this food at my mom's, and every time he goes there he still tries to feed himself straight from the bag. We have to keep it in a sealed container at home so he doesn't eat the whole bag at one time! With his old food, he would leave behind anything that fell out of his bowl; now, he comes looking for more.
Date published: 2011-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good for both ends and the middle. zuriel is an adopted mastiff-rittweiler at a very active 120 lbs Nitro works well.both my rotts are large.with NITRO I dont need to feed them as much as i did with the old brand .There energy and coats are fantastic.and on the far end stool cleanup is a lot easer than it had been before i changed to NITRO.I did a lot of research before I went to NITRO. I want the best I can find for my dogs.
Date published: 2011-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent choice Excellent choice for active dogs with allergies and sensitive systems. Since my dogs have been on this food their coats have been shinny, they have been extremely active, and have no problems digesting this food.
Date published: 2011-02-17
  • y_2016, m_11, d_24, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1219
  • loc_en_US, sid_maxdog75, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_nutro
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®