For Dogs
Adult Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

AdultNatural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Adult dog food is Made in the USA using only the finest ingredients that can be traced back to their source — like real chicken protein from farm-raised chickens and whole grain rice and wheat. And because we only use the best ingredients, you'll never find any chicken by-product meal, ground corn, sorghum, rye or any artificial colors, flavors or preservatives. We're committed to provide great tasting, natural nutrition so your dog will live a long, healthy life. 

Package Sizes Available: 5lb. 15lb. 30lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Dental Health
    Crunchy kibble scrubs teeth to reduce plaque and tartar build-up, whiten teeth, and freshen your dog's breath.
  • Immune System Health
    Made from natural ingredients fortified with vitamins, minerals and taurine to support a strong immune system.
  • Healthy Heart
    Nutrient-rich chicken protein and vitamin E to help your dog maintain a strong, healthy heart for life.
  • Healthy Muscle Mass and Mobility
    Protein from farm-raised chicken promotes healthy muscle mass and mobility for a long, healthy life.
  • Digestive Health
    A combination of natural fibers for easy digestion and small, firm stools.
  • Healthy Skin & Coat
    Rich in omega-6 fatty acids for healthy skin and a lustrous coat.
  • Vitality
    Whole grain wheat and rice for healthy and balanced energy throughout the day.
  • Healthy Physique
    Complete and balanced nutrition for adult dogs plus L-Carnitine to help burn fat for a healthy body weight.
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Nutro Food
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min.) 24.00%
Crude Fat (min.) 14.00%
Crude Fiber (max.) 4.00%
Moisture (max.) 10.00%
Zinc (min.) 250 mg/kg
vitamin E (min.) 250 IU/kg
Taurine (min.)* 0.10%
Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C) (min.)* 35 mg/kg
L-Carnitine (min.)* 55 mg/kg
Omega-6 Fatty Acids (min.)* 3.00%
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding amounts based on ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® MAX® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Dog Food with your old food for 6 days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing in a cool, dry location.

Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
5 lbs. 1/2 3/5 2/3
15 lbs. 1 1 1/4 1 1/3
25 lbs. 1 1/2 1 3/4 2
35 lbs. 2 2 1/3 2 2/3
55 lbs. 2 3/4 3 1/3 3 3/4
75 lbs.+    3 2/3+ 4 1/4+ 4 3/4+

† Use a standard 8 oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.64 oz. of NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Dog Food. 

NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase feeding amount by one activity level to achieve ideal weight
Maintain feeding at current activity level
Decrease feeding amount by
one activity level to achieve
ideal weight. If currently feeding
at activity level I, switch to
NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken
Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Weight Control Dog Food
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3610 kcal/kg, 372 kcal/cup (calculated).
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 87reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improved Coat and Skin I adopted a Rhodesian Ridgeback mix from an Animal Shelter on July 31st and have had him on the Nutro Max Adult Active Breed since then. I have seen a significant difference in his coat and skin, he went from dry, flaky skin with a thin dull coat to a nice healthy, thicker coat. No more dry skin and his coat is very shiney. He is very active, jogs with me three times a week plus lots of walks and is in great shape, solid muscle. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy transition from Puppy to Adult When we set out to adopt a puppy, we knew we wanted a large breed. We found Sadie at the Franklin County Animal Shelter in Columbus, Ohio. She was a 6-week old black lab/black shephard mix. Her siblings were all available and we took each for a "test drive" and chose her. Sadie weighed 10lb when we adopted her on 8/31/09. We immediately began feeding her Nutro Puppy formula and kept her on it for about 15 months. By December (she was 5mos old), she weighed 75 very healthy pounds. Her transition into Active Adult formula was very easy. We mixed the remainder of her puppy food with the new bag of Active Adult and she devoured the bowl. Sadie is now 1-1/2 years old and has never had table food and does great with her exclusive Nutro diet! She teeters between 72 and 80 lbs and is the light of the Vet office eyes when she comes in. We would never consider another brand of food, as we get complimented on her clear eyes, shiny coat, and great disposition (although the puppy in her is still rampant!!). Glad this was our choice right out of the gate!! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog never gets enough of this food. My dog really enjoys this pet food. He can eat it mixed with wet food, or dry as a snack. He loves it just as much as his special dog treats and people food. This food leaves him with a shiny coat and it is gentle on his sensitive stomach. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a transformation in my dog! I started feeding this product to my long haired German Shep looking for SOMETHING to control his out of control shedding, itching and dull ugly hair coat. By the end of my first bag my dog's shedding was noticeably reduced. After 4 years on it now he has a GORGEOUS hair coat and I break out the vaccume about 1/10 as much as I used to. This is a marvelous product, to take my skinny wiry haired shepard and turn him in the magnificent animal he is today. LOVE it! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product is perfect for my dogs i rescue abandoned and abused dogs. i use to buy different brands of dog food. one for my personal dogs who are seniors. another for my over-weight dogs. then several different brands for my rescued dogs. one day at petsmart a nutro representative gave me some coupons and i tried nutro. now it is the only brand i use. it has everything my dogs need. the puppy formula is excellent for puppies that are malnourished and have been eating garbage. my personal dogs love the senior and overweight formulas. all my dogs love nutro. i'll never switch dog foods again. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by dogs really love this food I was using another over the counter product that did not control the shedding problem. I also had dogs that had mutiple bowel movements. both issues have been reduced. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max is the best ever. My dog shilo was flown to Oregon from Kansas to a pet store in Portland. When I first saw him and took him out of his cage, he kissed me on the nose and I knew he was mind. I purchased him and took him home. The pet store wasn’t sure what he would eat, so I did some research and found the breeder and called him and he said he feeds all of his puppies Nutro Max. Shilo is 5 years old next month and to this day he has eaten Nutro Max. We have had no stomach problems or gas with him. He has done very well on his diet of Nutro Max. He eats no other kind of food. You can try and give him doggie bones or something different and he will not eat it. His teeth are in very good shape and hasn’t had any dental work done as of yet. The vet said his teeth are in good shape. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog is healthy! I love Nutro Max because it allows my dog to eat a healthy, high-quality pet food without breaking my budget. My dog loves the food and she is very healthy from years of eating Nutro Max. Her coat is shiny, her nose is wet, and her eyes shine, all due to a healthy diet. I would never go back to the grocery store brands of dog food. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my dogs love it!!!!! I have 4 dogs, boxer, 2 daschands, and a corgi...they don't agree on much except they all love Nutra MAX. Chicken is the favorite, but they all love it all. It's amazing to know they all eat it like it's home cooking. I was tempted to try a kibble...LOL February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dog loves the taste of this food We first tried this food at my mom's, and every time he goes there he still tries to feed himself straight from the bag. We have to keep it in a sealed container at home so he doesn't eat the whole bag at one time! With his old food, he would leave behind anything that fell out of his bowl; now, he comes looking for more. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by good for both ends and the middle. zuriel is an adopted mastiff-rittweiler at a very active 120 lbs Nitro works well.both my rotts are large.with NITRO I dont need to feed them as much as i did with the old brand .There energy and coats are fantastic.and on the far end stool cleanup is a lot easer than it had been before i changed to NITRO.I did a lot of research before I went to NITRO. I want the best I can find for my dogs. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice Excellent choice for active dogs with allergies and sensitive systems. Since my dogs have been on this food their coats have been shinny, they have been extremely active, and have no problems digesting this food. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Gang and "Max" Dog Food I have an unusual job, I travel nation wide and do doggie seminars with my 2 pooches. We just finished 10 days at the Eastern Sport Show where I did seminars and my dogs Rommel and Ava were the stars.When picking a food I did a ton of research. My dogs are required to be alert for demos any time of day that we are scheduled. It can be tough on a dog traveling and living in motels. .I also want a super haircoat on my dogs. Tons of folks pet them and they need to be soft, not shed and shine in the spotlights. So MAX was the food I picked for them. And ya know what...it has passed all expectations I had for the food. My dogs shine, keep great weight and eat it all the time no matter where they are fed. So thanks I feel good about feeding my dogs MAX. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would not change it for other We have 7 dogs at our home ~ 5 of them are Siberian Huskies, as you know they can shed a lot. Since we started feeding our dogs 6 years ago with Max Adult Dog food, not only their coats have improved but they barely shed. I will not buy another brand of food for nothing in this world, if I can't find it at the store that I usually go to, I'll go to another store and purchase it. My dogs are worth driving the extra miles! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just got this brand and my Chow loves it. Just git this brand and my Chow loves it. Nice big chuncks for her. I will get it again for her, Thanjk you so muuch!! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 3 pups love this food! When my wife and I got our first puppy, we didn't know what to look for in food. We tried a couple of foods, but still were not satisfied that our puppy was eaten the right thing.When we went to Petsmart one day, a Nutro rep was there and we decided to speak with her. She told us about the different nutrients within the food, so we decided to give it a try. Seven years later, and now the parents of 3 great dogs, we are still feeding them this product and they love it! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product My breeder uses this product and so we just continued when we picked up our puppy. We have been using it ever since. Zoey dives right in! She likes it. We like it too. It makes her coat very shiny and smooth. I would recommend it to anyone. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love this dog food Nuto has developed a great dog food. It is balanced and really has inproved my dogs coat and skin. I have a black Lab and a boxer mix. Since I switched to Nutro Max, the shedding is only seasonal instead of daily. My dogs love the taste. I mix it with a little warm water to make a nice gravy. Both my dogs get a lot of exercise and Nutro Max keeps them fit and trim. My vets says Nutro Max is a good high end formula dog food. My dogs are part of my family pack and I feel Nutro Max is the best formulla to meed their nutritional needs. Thanks Nutro. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easily Digested & Less To Pick Up Outside I have 4 dogs ranging in age and size (2 Shih Tzu's, 1 large Lab mix and 1 small Dachshund/Chihuahua mix - we think!) and we feed all of them the same Nutro Max Adult food. Although they each should get their own type of food, that's just not afforable and they eat each other's food anyway, and I have found that the Nutro Max Adult doesn't upset their stomachs and each of them likes the taste. (And there really is less "to scoop!") February 17, 2011
<<prev 2 34
Buy Online
 
MAX® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®