For Dogs
Adult Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

AdultNatural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Adult dog food is Made in the USA using only the finest ingredients that can be traced back to their source — like real chicken protein from farm-raised chickens and whole grain rice and wheat. And because we only use the best ingredients, you'll never find any chicken by-product meal, ground corn, sorghum, rye or any artificial colors, flavors or preservatives. We're committed to provide great tasting, natural nutrition so your dog will live a long, healthy life. 

Package Sizes Available: 5lb. 15lb. 30lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Dental Health
    Crunchy kibble scrubs teeth to reduce plaque and tartar build-up, whiten teeth, and freshen your dog's breath.
  • Immune System Health
    Made from natural ingredients fortified with vitamins, minerals and taurine to support a strong immune system.
  • Healthy Heart
    Nutrient-rich chicken protein and vitamin E to help your dog maintain a strong, healthy heart for life.
  • Healthy Muscle Mass and Mobility
    Protein from farm-raised chicken promotes healthy muscle mass and mobility for a long, healthy life.
  • Digestive Health
    A combination of natural fibers for easy digestion and small, firm stools.
  • Healthy Skin & Coat
    Rich in omega-6 fatty acids for healthy skin and a lustrous coat.
  • Vitality
    Whole grain wheat and rice for healthy and balanced energy throughout the day.
  • Healthy Physique
    Complete and balanced nutrition for adult dogs plus L-Carnitine to help burn fat for a healthy body weight.
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Nutro Food
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min.) 24.00%
Crude Fat (min.) 14.00%
Crude Fiber (max.) 4.00%
Moisture (max.) 10.00%
Zinc (min.) 250 mg/kg
vitamin E (min.) 250 IU/kg
Taurine (min.)* 0.10%
Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C) (min.)* 35 mg/kg
L-Carnitine (min.)* 55 mg/kg
Omega-6 Fatty Acids (min.)* 3.00%
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding amounts based on ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® MAX® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Dog Food with your old food for 6 days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing in a cool, dry location.

Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
5 lbs. 1/2 3/5 2/3
15 lbs. 1 1 1/4 1 1/3
25 lbs. 1 1/2 1 3/4 2
35 lbs. 2 2 1/3 2 2/3
55 lbs. 2 3/4 3 1/3 3 3/4
75 lbs.+    3 2/3+ 4 1/4+ 4 3/4+

† Use a standard 8 oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.64 oz. of NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Dog Food. 

NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase feeding amount by one activity level to achieve ideal weight
Maintain feeding at current activity level
Decrease feeding amount by
one activity level to achieve
ideal weight. If currently feeding
at activity level I, switch to
NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken
Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Weight Control Dog Food
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3610 kcal/kg, 372 kcal/cup (calculated).
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 87reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by this is good for a dog with allergies I have 3 large dogs and this has by far been the best dog food we have ever used! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product makes Copper's fur shine! We have had our Australian Shepherd for 4 years. We got him when he was a puppy. We started on Nutro Max due to stomach issues in our dog. But soon after we discovered not only the health benefits for his intestinal system but also the way he started to look.His fur actually shines like copper and it feels silky smooth, ALL THE TIME! People we meet are always telling us how soft he feels and asks if we just bathed him. They are shocked when we say NO. We tell them about Nutro Max.Nutro Max is the only food that we will feed to our Coppper! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Miracle in a bag My dog absolutely loves this food! The very first day she ate it she licked her bowl clean and than sat there and stared at us just begging for more. This food does all that it promises. After a week n the food my dogs hair was significantly shinier and softer and you could tell a big difference around the house because we didn't have to vacuum as often! I give this food a 15 out of 10 in my book and my dog's!!!! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thumbs up. When I got my black Lab from the breeder, she recommended NutroMax, which I have continued to feed him. Wherever I go with my Lab, people always comments on his beautiful coat. I tell everyone that he eats NutroMax. He loves the food and gobbles down every bite. His waste is never messy and is easy to clean up. I love the special offers and coupons. Nice job, NutroMax. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great dog food Nutro Max makes my dogs coat nice and shiny. They love the taste, as they dive right in. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by You are what you eat. When I adopted Marco, he chose Nutro Max over other popular dog foods. He ate Nutro Max every day of his long life. He was 26 years old when he passed; not quite the record for a dog but close. He knew what was good for him. Thanks, Nutro, for all the good years you gave me with Marco. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A product that delivers My girl has been on three different Nutro products over the years. This one is easily digestible, produces small stools and her coat is super shiny!! A winner!! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Miss Mollie has never eaten anything but Max and is healthy and happy. When we go away we bring our food (Max) to the kennel and she is fine. I wouldn' feed her anything else, "Why fix it when it isn't broke?" She has the shiniest coat and everyone remarks on it. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only the Best Food for the Best Dog! I was put on to the Nutro brand of dog food from the breader I bought my Olde English Bulldog from and I must say that the quality of the food is better than any other Ive ever bought. Your probably saying to yourself, "how do you know how good the quality is? Are you a dog, do you eat the food?" Good question. The reason I know this is because I also have 2 other dogs and ever since I switched to Nutro, they now eat all their food without hesitation. Whereas before, they would just nibble on it throughout the day, never eating it all in 1 sitting. Ive also noticed they don't shed as much and their coats appear to be shinier and more healthy. Nutro is the only brand of dog food I will feed my dogs now. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by simply the best i am a dog-lover. that says a lot. mango, my 2-year old lab mix, is my life and i give him only the best. this food is easy to digest, really good for his coat and -apparently- really tasty since he never gets tired of it. I would definitely recommend this brand and im pretty sure i will never switch it for any other one. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excited Dog In the past, my dog has seemed a little bored with life, especially when it was food time. We feed her once a day in the morning and she would often just sniff the bowl and walk away. Now, when we let her out in the morning she pees and races back to the house and waits with tail wagging at the food bowl!! March 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs love it. Great value and our dogs love it. Keeps their flatulence to a minimum, which is a plus for us! March 1, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I really like this product line My dog Bentley really did well and loved the puppy stuff so when he turned 1 we moved him to this one. He seems to like it so so. I'm not sure if its the taste or the size that throws him off. He used to mow down the puppy stuff as soon as it hit his bowl! Not sure what to do about that. I enjoy the minimal clean up though! February 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT! When we first brought our adopted pug Rocko home, his spirit was broken. He was injured and sad. It took us some time to find a food that he enjoyed. Nutro was the one he loved and still loves. Now we feed Nutro Puppy to our new puppy. Rocko and Toci both clean their bowls every feeding! They are healthy and happy pugs with shiny coats thanks to Nutro! February 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Less and Very Easy Clean Up Nutro Max delivers it's promises. It's really true that it makes their hair shiny, Less Clean Up and taste good for our babies. I have already recommend Nutro to many of our friends because Nutro Dog Food really satisfies us and is making our 2 babies happy and healthy. February 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Picky Eaters Approved!! When you’re trying to feed one produce to five picky dogs it can be a very large challenge. We have tried different bands to attempt to satisfy everyone but one bag of Nutro Max and our dogs were hooked. As an owner Nutro provides not only full bellies but easy waste cleanup and its good on the wallet. I’m not going to lie the only downside to feeding this dog food is the occasion smelly gas. February 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT Helps with bad shedding and keeps them healthy too February 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality and value!! I am extremely happy with Nutro Max dog food. After reviewing all the different products, ingredients and costs, I have found Nutro to be the best choice! Not only does my Sandy puppy get the best food available but I don't empty my wallet when it is time for another bag. She has a nice coat and doesn't shed very much. Never a worrie about the product! February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by MY DOGS LOVE IT!!! I have been using Nutro Max for years and my dogs love it. It is easy on their stomachs, their coats are soft and shiny. I would recommend this food to anyone that wants a healthy diet for their pet. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Dog Loves it's taste My neighbor told me about Nutro because I was having a hard time finding something that she seemed to enjoy. I took my dog to the Neighbors for a visit and she started munching on the dog food they had out. I thought she just liked eating other dogs food but I purchased a bag for home and we have been steady customers ever since. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs love this food and it's great for their coats My dogs love this food and always lick their bowl clean down to the last crumb. It makes their coats very shiny and glossy. I think it alawys helps cut down on their shedding as well. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a great quality food that isn't too pricy. I feed it to my 2 labs and min pin so its great for all size dogs. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wouldn't give my dog anything else I have used Nutro Max for my past three dogs. I have been very pleased with Nutro Max. It makes the coats shine, is easy on their digestive system and my dogs love it. When I come home from the store with a new bag my dog, Gizmo, can't wait for me to open the new bag and feed him. I think he could pick it out himself at the store. He won't eat any other dog food now. Thanks for your dedication for quality dog food. February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by max dog food Great food dog loves it . Dog is in great shape because of your food I have only bought your food from the first day we got her .Thank you for a great thing February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy Happy Four Legged Kids Mulligan, Benson and Gracie Lou absolutely LOVE Nutro Max Adult dog food. And their owners absolutely LOVE how Nutro Max Adult dog food keeps them nourished, healthy and happy. With aging St. Bernards, it is our utmost responsibility to provide them the best quality of food to keep them healthy and happy. Nutro Max is the only dog food that doesn't upset their sensitive bellies and provides the right nutrients to keep their bones, joints and coats strong and healthy. Nutro Max has kept our aging four legged kids very happy and healthy into their late adulthood. Thanks for a great product! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I WOULDNT FEED MY FIELD/HUNTING LABS ANYTHING BUT! The quality of NUTRO dogs foods has been proven to our family over the years thru the use of the Natural Choice product line that we feed our Mini Doxies!About 3 1/2 yrs ago I realized that with our kids grown I had the time to start training field/hunting labs again. So my search began for the best field line Yellow Lab genetics in the country. After lots and lots of studying and searching, I finally got my first female Yellow Lab. I got her as a yr old "started dog" and she was in outstanding shape.I found that the trainer had raised her thru her first yr of life on NUTRO products and being that my wife and I were already die hard believers in NUTRO, I put her on NUTRO MAX ADULT ACTIVE. She is now almost four yrs old and is a top notch hunting/hunt test dog! In fact, she has done so well that Ive been approached time and time again to sell her for what is considered big money for a trained hunting/competition dog! Of course she is going no where but to the MH hall of Fame when her career is over! LOL!Her health is fantastic and the NUTRO keeps her charging hard in the field whether we are in freezing temps in the duck blind or in the heat of summer running hunt tests in competition! My girl had her first litter of puppies this last summer and they were/are gorgeous! EVERY pup went to homes of professional trainers or to homes of field trial competitors! Genetics of course plays a huge role in the breeding of top notch dogs, but i truly believe that you must have the BEST food available to do your dogs justice and NUTRO brand has proven over and over to be the best we have ever used! Whether we are hunting or competing in the field, people CONSTANTLY ask us what brand of food we feed our Labs and our reply is always the same! NUTRO MAX!Thanks again for the high standards you folks keep at NUTRO MAX as we are always confident that our K9 family members are getting the best ingredients money can buy! NUTRO has truly been a key in the success of our Labs both in the field and with their fantastic health! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best food for my current dog I have recently rescued a 1 year old lab mix. Shortly after adopting him I found out that he is allergic to beef. My vet recomended putting him on a chicken protein source. I tried seveal different brands that were chicken based but he would not eat them no matter what I tried. He loves nutro max adult and it is better priced than the other brands I tried. He is a very active dog and has reached a great wieght and is maintaining perfectly since I sarted feeding him nutro. I have had several friends adopt dogs since I adopted mine and they are all on a nutro product. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves it! My dog is a very picky eater, he wont even eat his food if no one is around. I have fed him different brands and he seems to only enjoy Nutro. When I feed him he will eat it all up even if no one is around. I made a switch a couple of months ago and he did not even touch the other food. I am glad I found Nutro and very happy that my dog enjoys what he eats! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro Max helps keep our dog healthy Our dog Jake is an active McNab Shepherd mix who has been dining on Nutro Max since we adopted him as a 6 month old puppy. His coat is sleek and he maintains a healthy weight. He walks, runs and chases his ball from sun-up to sun-down! Now he is 2 years old and Nutro Max seems to have made a big difference in his overall health. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! We have 2 beagles, and they both love Nutro Max! After switching, they both have improved skin and coats, and their activity level is improved. Because of the improved quality of the food, we notice less "mess" in the yard as well - with 2 that's important!One of our boys is a very picky eater (Odd for a beagle I know!) but he loves Nutro Max and is excited for mealtime. We couldn't be happier! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog who is a picky eater loves his new dog food My dog who is a picky eater loves his new dog food. We give it a two thumbs up February 18, 2011
<<prev 23 4next>>
Buy Online
 
MAX® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®