For Dogs
Adult Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

AdultNatural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe

MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Adult dog food is Made in the USA using only the finest ingredients that can be traced back to their source — like real chicken protein from farm-raised chickens and whole grain rice and wheat. And because we only use the best ingredients, you'll never find any chicken by-product meal, ground corn, sorghum, rye or any artificial colors, flavors or preservatives. We're committed to provide great tasting, natural nutrition so your dog will live a long, healthy life. 

Package Sizes Available: 5lb. 15lb. 30lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Dental Health
    Crunchy kibble scrubs teeth to reduce plaque and tartar build-up, whiten teeth, and freshen your dog's breath.
  • Immune System Health
    Made from natural ingredients fortified with vitamins, minerals and taurine to support a strong immune system.
  • Healthy Heart
    Nutrient-rich chicken protein and vitamin E to help your dog maintain a strong, healthy heart for life.
  • Healthy Muscle Mass and Mobility
    Protein from farm-raised chicken promotes healthy muscle mass and mobility for a long, healthy life.
  • Digestive Health
    A combination of natural fibers for easy digestion and small, firm stools.
  • Healthy Skin & Coat
    Rich in omega-6 fatty acids for healthy skin and a lustrous coat.
  • Vitality
    Whole grain wheat and rice for healthy and balanced energy throughout the day.
  • Healthy Physique
    Complete and balanced nutrition for adult dogs plus L-Carnitine to help burn fat for a healthy body weight.
 
Accordian Arrow

Ingredients and Guaranteed Analysis

Nutro Food
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min.) 24.00%
Crude Fat (min.) 14.00%
Crude Fiber (max.) 4.00%
Moisture (max.) 10.00%
Zinc (min.) 250 mg/kg
vitamin E (min.) 250 IU/kg
Taurine (min.)* 0.10%
Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C) (min.)* 35 mg/kg
L-Carnitine (min.)* 55 mg/kg
Omega-6 Fatty Acids (min.)* 3.00%
* Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding amounts based on ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® MAX® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Dog Food with your old food for 6 days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing in a cool, dry location.

Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
5 lbs. 1/2 3/5 2/3
15 lbs. 1 1 1/4 1 1/3
25 lbs. 1 1/2 1 3/4 2
35 lbs. 2 2 1/3 2 2/3
55 lbs. 2 3/4 3 1/3 3 3/4
75 lbs.+    3 2/3+ 4 1/4+ 4 3/4+

† Use a standard 8 oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.64 oz. of NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Dog Food. 

NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase feeding amount by one activity level to achieve ideal weight
Maintain feeding at current activity level
Decrease feeding amount by
one activity level to achieve
ideal weight. If currently feeding
at activity level I, switch to
NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken
Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Weight Control Dog Food
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3610 kcal/kg, 372 kcal/cup (calculated).
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 87reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weight gained Helped my Shepard finally gain weight after a year of being the same weight. Love it! April 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great Just purchased food for my four year old female Doberman. I likethe texture of the product an my dog ate it right up so right away Iknew this was good dog food cause I feed her human food like chickenmeat an her other dog food would sit there for a while so very happywith product March 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality at a Great Price! I have been a Nutro dog ever since my mom and dad rescued me at 6 months and I couldn't be happier or healthier! They used to feed me the large breed formula but the kibble was too big and I would choke and have to spit some out every time I ate. The regular adult chicken kibble is perfect and I love it! (My cat likes it too and always tries to steal a bite!) February 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stop changing the bag!! I have used your food for 5 years because our dog seems to do the best on your food with her allergies. I wish when you change the bag you would tell us which one it is replacing. I always send my husband for the "Golden Retriever" bag and now its gone! :( I am hoping this is the food that replaced that old bag. If not, our dog will tell us in a week when she starts scratching her skin off. February 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT!!! I just recently switched from PurinaONE to this and I must say that my boy LOVES it! I have never seen him so excited to eat!! My 2 year old rottie is one happy PUP!! January 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by They Actually Eat It! I feed both my dogs this food. They both eat it with no problem as this used to be a problem I had in the past when trying out other foods. They absolutely love it! and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good dog food for their dog and the price is extremely reasonable! I give it two thumbs up... or should I say 8 paws up! December 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is Awesome My dog loves this food.....He's got a soft/shine coat and the nutrients it provides him is second to none. September 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT DOG FOOD I have been using this product for 6 years. This is the best dog food i have ever used. I have a springer spaniel, and i always get compliments on how soft and shiny his coat is, and the energy and overall health he has for a 6 year old springer, I will never use anything but Nutro. And my pet LOVES it as well! August 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is very effective Have been feeding this to my dogs for 4 years and they love it. I have a Labrador Retriever and a Golden Retriever. June 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the coat I have gotten so many compliments on my dogs coat. It is so shiny and soft. When we had him in puppy training they told us to go out and find the food we feed our dog on the shelf and bring back a small bag. The trainer showed us what the first 3 ingredients mean. The first 3 in our Nutro food were not fillers as in the other foods people brought back.Even the vets have asked what I feed him and when I say Nutro they all reply that is why his coat looks so nice. He is a black lab and his fur just shines.It really does matter what you feed your dog or cat. He is a member of our family and want to be sure he is getting the best. June 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! When we first adopted our APBT, she had a lot of fur missing and scars on quite a bit of her body. We tried another brand of "good" dog food first and it was ok but nothing spectacular- she looked a bit better than when we brought her home. We then tried a bag of Max and the change in her appearance was amazing. Within a month, her fur grew back in - the only scar visible is the very large one on her head. She is a completely different color- going from a dull grey to a shiny blue/grey and is full of energy. March 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two Happy Dogs I have a medium-sized Pitbull/Boxer, and my brother has a large Black Lab. I have never seen such excitement out of a dog as much as I see it in both dogs when they're about to eat Nutro Max. This is the dog food that I will stick with, as will my brother. It works great for both dogs; my dog is very high energy, while my brother's dog isn't very active. But both dogs love the sound of their food bowls being filled with Nutro Max. March 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product keep my dog very visibly healthy! My baby Saige B, deserves only the best food quality. She is my very best friend, confidant and precious baby. Saige B is 3 years old, she is a Queensland Blue Heeler, she is brindle in color with a beautiful white patch on the front. Saige B is very smart, witty, sweet and loving. She is very quick in speed and has a beautiful glow in her eyes, smile and coat. Her health is pristene. I was introduced to Nutro products when Saige B was 2 months old. I was approached by a product representative in a Petsmart location in Tucson, AZ. It was recommended that I start her on the puppy pouches and small desert tins. She absolutely loves the product. I have periodically tried to supplement a cheaper product when times are tight, but Saige B would rather starve than eat anything else. She always rejects anything that is not Nutro products. She loves the lamb/rice snacks and the mini bones. My Saige B is sometimes called a princess by my friends and relatives because she is fed the "expensive" food. All I can say is that Saige B and her health are worth it! I cannot imagine life without her, I love her so much... March 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! Nutro dog food is excellent for our dog. It is the only dog food brand that we have used since becoming a dog owner...past four years. We will continue to use it! March 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the food for life!!! We just recently got a new Rotti puppy to accompany our current Rotti and Shep/Rotti mix. I decided to start researching what we were actually feeding our children. I was shoked and disguested to find what companys could actually put in dog food and actually get away with!!! Thats when I found Nutro Max. My furry children can't get enough of this food! The are so excited at dinner time and they are happy to finish every last piece of there dinner!!! There coats are gorgeous!! I can't even begin to tell you the number of compliments we get on how good they look and how much more active they are. I never thought that changing there food would be such a great reward not only for them but us as well!!! We started the puppy on Nutro Max Large Breed which has helped her growth tremendously!!!Thank you Nutro Max for the wonderful products you have put out you have a customer for life!!! March 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by CoCo Loves big dog food I married a year and a half ago. My husband has a 6lb toy poodle named Coco and I have a medium size Brittany Spaniel Mix. My Dog loves the Nutro Max Dog Food and has her own elevated table with her own food dish. Coco decided he was the Alpha Dog and would stand on his hind legs and eat the Nutro Max Dog food from the elevated dish. My dog was not allowed (per Coco) to eat her own food until CoCo was done. Now Coco will not eat his small bread food anymore. He prefers the "Big Dog Food". Funny thing Coco only has about 6 bottom teeth but will eat the Nutro Max anyway. He mouths it until it is soft enough to swallow. We stopped buying two kinds of dog food and let them both eat the same food. The Vet is saying Coco has gained weight so it can't be doing him any harm and he loves it. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Use Ultra I started my dog on Ultra Senior a few months ago and he has done really well on it, and enjoys it also. I was hoping I could review that to enter the contest. I also wanted to ask that more coupons be availalab for this product, as well as some type of discount plan for saving up UPC's. March 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it My lab mix Sisco loves it. Its natural and moist and keeps his coat shiny. March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love your product I live in the country and have 9 dogs...several small breeds and the rest large breeds. As any dog owner knows, dogs can be finicky at times with what they eat. I switched to Nutro Max several years ago upon the advice of a Nutro representative at my local pet supply store. All of my dogs enjoy the Nutro Max and finish their meals without any hesitation. They have very healthy coats and are full of energy. March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Choice! I have two retired racing greyhounds. One came off a track & the other from a puppy farm. I tried a few different dog foods and finally found this perfect fit.My dog's coats are thick, soft and shiny. They are able to digest the food with ease. And, they love it! I can tell by the way they gobble it up.I am so glad I found a dog food that makes my dogs healthy and happy! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome dog food! When I first got my puppy, I had him on Nutro Natural but when he turned 1 I switched to Nutro Max and couldn't be happier. He is vivacious, energentic and healthy. I wouldn't use anything else. Nutro has all the nutritions and heath benefits I look for in a dog food. Boone is very pleased with the taste as well! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gassy Dog My English Setter had issues with gas. It was so bad at times that I couldn't stand to be in the same room with her. A stockperson at Petco saw me looking at the dog beano and suggested I try a premium dog food to help her digestion. When I told him I couldn't pay what those foods cost, he took me to Nutro Max dog food. I have been feeding Nutro Max for a couple months and my dog is much nicer to be around. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by OUr 8 adopted rescue dogs love it. SInce 1993, we have adopted 16 shelter &/or rescue dogs. We began buying Nutro Max Adult for our first one, Buddie. Sadly we have lost some of our pets over these years due to age but we always are open to adopting new members into our pet family. We now have 8 dogs, ranging in size from 11 lbs. to 130 lbs. The smallest is a Jack Russell Terrier (the only pure bred we have) & Lady, our Lab-Great Dane-? mix is our big girl. We continue to feed our loving pets Nutro Max Adult so it would seem that we "all" are satisfied with this product & have been for 18 years. Is this a good review??! We also give products when we can to our favorite rescue group. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is just grat.... I tryed two other dog foods and my dog would not eat every thing until we took her to get trained and the place gave her Nutro Max and now we cant keep food in her bowl. Thanks for having a great product. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love this brand! We have 2 chocolate labs and they both love this dog food. We sometimes mix it with the Natural Choice Large Breed brand and they love the combo. We love their soft and shiny coats and all the energy they have! They never seem to have dry or irritated skin. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Girls!! I have 2 very large lab mixes. They have both been on Nutro Max since they were a year old. They have the most beautiful coats that I have seen on any dog, and we do have a lot less waste in the yard. When we pet sit, the guest dogs always want to eat our girls' food at dinner time, and the guest dogs seem upset that my girls won't share!!! I always recomend Nutro!!! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best food for the best price My German Shorthaired Pointer has a sensitive stomach and it was hard to find a food that he loved and that loved him back. Max not only ensures he licks his bowl clean after each meal, but his skin and coat are in the best condition. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro for all of her life (So far) We have lived with "Jackie" since we adopted her at the Animal Rescue League here on Cape Cod as a puppy. She is a healthy "mixed breed" Lab/Shepard blend now 13 years of age and has eaten nothing but Nutro for all those years, ( save an occaisional treat from the table) She has maintained her weight over the years (You know how important that is to us girls) and has experienced excellant health and has the vigor of a puppy (Just not for as long)..Oh, she has never asked for any other brand than Nutro..Thank you... March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rescue dog - Fully changed after MAX We adopted our Beagle mix from a rescue in Fayeteville NC. She had flees, was underweight and we thought she had wired hair. We went ahead and cleaned her up de-fleaced her and started her on NutroMax. 4 years later she is a healthy 28lbs, with super smooth hair and glad to say, Flea free. She happily eats 1 cup in the morning and 1/2 a cup each evening, even jumps up and down doing hop/dance before feeding. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product makes my dog happy My dog can't wait for her dinner, I love Nutro Max because it just what she needs to stay healthy and maintain her shiney coat March 11, 2011
<<prev2 3 4next>>
Buy Online
 
MAX® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®