For Dogs
Adult Natural Beef Meal & Rice Recipe

AdultNatural Beef Meal & Rice Recipe

MAX® Natural Beef Meal & Rice Adult dog food is Made in the USA using only the finest ingredients that can be traced back to their source — like real beef protein from farm-raised beef and whole grain rice and wheat. And because we only use the best ingredients, you'll never find any chicken by-product meal, ground corn, sorghum, rye or any artificial colors, flavors or preservatives. We're committed to provide great tasting, natural nutrition so your dog will live a long, healthy life.

Package Sizes Available: 5lb. 15lb. 30lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Dental Health
    Crunchy kibble scrubs teeth to reduce plaque and tartar build-up, whiten teeth, and freshen your dog's breath.
  • Immune System Health
    Made from natural ingredients fortified with vitamins, minerals and taurine to support a strong immune system.
  • Healthy Heart
    Nutrient-rich beef protein and vitamin E to help your dog maintain a strong, healthy heart for life.
  • Healthy Muscle Mass and Mobility
    Protein from farm-raised beef promotes healthy muscle mass and mobility for a long, healthy life.
  • Digestive Health
    A combination of natural fibers for easy digestion and small, firm stools.
  • Healthy Skin & Coat
    Rich in omega-6 fatty acids for healthy skin and a lustrous coat.
  • Vitality
    Whole grain wheat and rice for healthy and balanced energy throughout the day.
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Note: These are the recommended feeding amounts based on ideal body condition for adult dogs of various weights. Individual dogs’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your dog’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® MAX® Dog Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® MAX® Natural Beef Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Dog Food with your old food for 6 days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing in a cool, dry location.

Suggested Daily Feeding Amount Cups to Feed
Dog Weight Activity Level I
< 1 hr/day Walking
on Lead
Activity Level II
 1 to 2 hr/day Playing
off Lead
Activity Level III
3 to 4 hr/day
Intense
Training
5 lbs. 1/2 3/5 2/3
15 lbs. 1 1/4 1 1/3 1 1/2
25 lbs. 1 3/4 2 2 1/4
35 lbs. 2 1/4 2 2/3 3
55 lbs. 3 1/4 3 2/3
4 1/4
75 lbs.+    4+ 4 2/3+ 5 1/4+

† Use a standard 8 oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.64 oz. of NUTRO® MAX® Natural Beef Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Dog Food.

NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase feeding amount by one activity level to achieve ideal weight
Maintain feeding at current activity level
Decrease feeding amount by one activity level to achieve ideal weight. If currently feeding at activity level I, switch to NUTRO® MAX® Natural Chicken Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Weight Control Dog Food
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3530 kcal/kg, 337 kcal/cup (calculated).
Nutritional Adequacy Claim

NUTRO® MAX® Natural Beef Meal & Rice Recipe Adult Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.

NUTRO® Dog Food Body Chart
Underweight Dog Idealweight Dog Overweight Dog
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount by one activity level to achieve an ideal weight..
Maintain feeding at the current activity level.
Decrease feeding by one activity level or feed NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Weight Management Dog Food to achieve an ideal weight.
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3615 kcal/kg, 296 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Large Breed Senior Chicken, Whole Brown Rice & Oatmeal Formula Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 29reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our dog loves it! Our dog can't wait for us to put her bowl down. She gobbles down her food in minutes. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for finicky dogs , shiny coat I love Nutro Products because they are better and healthier for my pets ,i know my pets are getting all of there vitamins and nutriant that they need March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only thing he can eat My dog Ripley has food allergies that cause him to itch and lick himself raw. We had tried just about every supermarket dog food including the ones that were supposed to be the 'premium' brands. Nothing helped. I was just about ready to start making all of his food myself when I happened to try Nutro Max Beef. He loves it and we love that he is no longer suffering. Thank you Nutro! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by tasty treat we mix nutro in with our wheaten's regular food and he gobbles it up like it's a treat. it also doesn't give him horrible breath like other dog food. we love it! March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Scarf, Scarf and Gone! I purchased this dog food for my other dog Puddles in another city I lived in last year. They had a incentive program. If I purchased so many bags I would get one free. So I was tempted by the special price, the incentive program and my dogs itching.I do not think my dog Panda liked the food at first but Puddles ate it so fast that there was nothing left.If she waited puddles would eat her food too. I never got my free bag of food from the incentive program as they changed the price of the food and it was then out of our price range. Puddles liked it.. thanks =) March 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love this stuff. I have three dogs ranging from a Yorkie to a Lab and all enjoy the Nutro Max adult food. We have tried other dog foods in the past but the best by far is Nutro. The price will not break the bank and I like knowing all the nutrition is there that my dogs need. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! Our dog has an allergy to Chicken and chicken by-products. We were so happy to find a great food for her that she loves and we love the price! Our 9-year-old retriever mix has great energy, great coat and no worries of an allergic reaction!Thank You Nutro! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Da bomb! I have a boxer and until this food, he would shed like crazy! He loves it to death. And I love it too because he eats less and poos less. Win win win! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutro makes my dog feel and look better! Our dog's name is Max. We think its ironic that this food is called Max, we really think they named it after him because it is without a doubt the best food for him!He is a shepard mix, many people think he looks like a Pit Bull, but we will leave that alone...Anyway, for his first few years we really struggled with finding him a dog food that would be easier on his stomach. In other words, we wanted to turn his droppings from soup to soilds. Our Vet said he was fine, he just had a sensitive stomach and we would need to try different dog foods. He suggested we try the pet stores. I didn't want to spend the extra money for "dog food" so we tried many kinds of grocery store varieties, only to no avail. Some foods made him sick immediately some periodically. We wanted a permanent fix. So that's when we started to try the food from the pet stores. We tried a couple on the cheaper side with the same results. Then I talked to a "Pet Food Specialist" at the local pet store and she recommended Nutro Max Beef and Rice. I was not impressed with the price but we reluctantly tried it anyway.We saw an immediate improvement. He had solids! Then we bought another bag and another bag and soon we realized we had found a winner! You see, we live in a condo comunity and we are required to pick up the droppings-and as you can imagine, this makes it so much easier! We also noticed he was eating more of his food per sitting. He usually eats all the food in his dish, even to this day. So he still likes it after about five or six years now.Another major thing I was really impressed with was, after about a month or so, the improvement in his skin and his coat. Virtually all the dander was gone and his coat is so much softer. He also stopped scratching himself so much and there is a lot less sheading.Not long ago, I was standing in line waiting to pay for a new bag of Nutro Max at the pet food store. A "Specialist" from Nutro came over to greet me and thank me for purchasing the product, I told her we have buying it for years now and I told her this story. She asked how old Max is and I told her he is 11 years old now. She suggested we try the Nutro Senior formula because its better for older dogs. My dog is still pretty active and not showing many signs of age. I am still thinking about trying it but a part of me figures "if its not broken-don't fix it" but I am thinking maybe it wouldn't hurt to try it. If it was any other product or company I would say NO WAY! But I feel comfortable enough with Nutro, so we will try it when its time to buy more. I figure if I get any improvement in results with the Senior food, it will be worth it. That's the point of me writing this very review, I was so reluctant to spend this kind of money on "dog food" initally, but after seeing the results-it is MORE than worth it! And my dog is worth it too! If you are a little unsure about spending the extra money, try it anyway! If you get the kind of results we did-we think you will be glad you did. Whenever it comes up in conversation with other dog owners, I tell everyone about Nutro! Thanks Nutro! February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves this brand I have been buying this dog food brand for about two years from my local feed and pet supply store and my dog loves it! It has to be one of the best nutritional feeds out there; the only deterant i have had recently is the fact that it went up $10 in price... But i continue to buy it anyways based on the feedback i recieve from my dog. Since he is a pure bred boxer he has a sensitive stomach and this is one of the only feeds he can eat without diarhea; and it definately provides him the required nutrients and protien required to build powerful lean muscles.5 out of 5 no exceptions February 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This food is good stuff My 80 pound yellow lab loves this food and his coat is beautiful. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love the beef formula. I have two dogs, Clancy a 5 year old Irish Setter and Molly a six year old English setter. We live in the mountains and have 2.4 acres. The dogs have a large fenced in area, with lots of room to run. Both have a lot of energy and when I get home from work we take an hour hike.Clancy has always loved the beef dry food, and Molly we got from a rescue group when she was 2 1/2. We got her on the food as soon as we got her.Clancy also runs along with my husband when he mountain bikes, hislongest run was 25 miles. I feed them in the morning and early everning.They get into each others bowls, Clancy gets more cause he a larger dog,I love the product and so do they! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! My boxer LOVES this dry food. When I pour the bag into our food bins, he stands by, begging for a few kernels to fall on the floor so he can have some! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big and small, they love it all I have a 50 lb mixed breed dog and a wired hair Jack russell. My dogs are grazers, which means I can fill their bowl and they nibble all day long . Vets hate that I do that for fear of over eating and over weight, but with this product, they snack , and maintain a perfect weight. I have been feeding them for years this way.At one time I had two 50lbs dogs and a Jack and Nutro made feeding them a good product very affortable. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT STUFF MY DOG LOVES THIS STUFF WITH NO HESITATION SHE JUMPS RIGHT TO IT AND SHE LOOKS GREAT HER COAT IS EXTRA LUSTROUS February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST DOG FOOD THERE IS! We began using Nutro a year ago when we got our puppy, a mini schnauzer named Toby. I had heard a lot of great things about Nutro and thought this would probably be the best food for him. He did great on the puppy mix and transitioned into the adult variety very easily. Around Toby's first birthday my husband and I heard about an adult dobermann who was very much needing to be rehomed. We weren't sure how a full sized male dog and our little schnauzer would get along but decided to bring the dobie, Hank, home for the weekend on a trial run. The two dogs hit it off immediately. We knew right away Hank was now a part of our family. Hank however was in a very poor state of health. He was nearly 3 years old and obviously of tall stature for a dobermann yet only weighed in at 60lbs. To put it bluntly, he was skin & bones. We started him on Nutro the first night he was with us and continued giving him 6-7 cups a day in an effort to put some weight on him. 2 months later this dog is nearly 80 lbs and the picture of perfect health for a dobermann. We were told when we got him he couldnt seem to keep weight on and could eat and eat all day long. I think all he needed was food with a little substance. Now that he is at a stable weight he has been cut back to 5 cups and is having no trouble maintaining. He has come out of his shell and has proved to be a great addition to our family. I only wish I could post pictures with this review so you could really see the effect this food had on Hank's health. Thank you for making such a quality product. February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs Love It My very active dogs do very well on this variety of Nutro. They have great coats and their energy level is outstanding. Stools are small and solid. This product is everything it is advertised to be. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT We have fed our boxer, named Maxx, this brand of food since we got him at 6 weeks.... very happy with it February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used this product for years Our dog has a very sensitive stomach. After trying numerous brands, Nutro Max seems to be the only one she can eat. Our small dog now wants to fight her for it! February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by No more gas.... We have an american bulldog with a VERY finicky stomache. Everything we fed her just gave her gas! Not only was it disgusting to smell but it was an embarrassment to have people over to our home. I had heard this was a common problem with bulldogs but until it happens to you, you have no idea how horrible it is!After trying several different brands/flavors of dog food we finally found one that worked. I highly recommend Max adult beef & rice to those of you with the same problem.Our dog is happier, we are happier & our house once again smells like home instead of a dirty, smelly dog kennel.Signed,No more gas masks in Idaho February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Both my dogs love the food. My German Shephard has a sensitive stomach but has never had a problem with this product. She is healthy, active & her coat is very shiney. She is 7 years old. February 17, 2011
<<prev2
Buy Online
 
MAX® Dog Food
OR
FIND A STORE
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®