For Cats
Max Indoor Adult Roasted Chicken Dry Cat Food 

Indoor AdultRoasted Chicken Flavor

MAX® CAT Natural Indoor Cat Foods are made with select ingredients and the vitamins and minerals your cat needs for health and wellness. With the taste of real chicken, your indoor cat will find MAX® CAT Foods irresistible! MAX® CAT Dry Cat Foods provide rich sources of omega-6 and omega-3 fatty acids to help provide for a rich, glossy coat and supple skin.

Package Sizes Available: 3 lb., 6 lb., 16 lb.
 

Overview and Key Benefits

  • Antioxidants
    Vitamin E, taurine, vitamin C, tomato pomace, cranberries and blueberries provide excellent sources of antioxidants for a healthy immune system. Taurine is also essential for your cat’s vision and heart function.
  • Real Chicken Protein
    The #1 ingredient in NUTRO® MAX® CAT Indoor Adult Cat Food is chicken meal, made from real chicken with most of the water and fat removed. Additionally, we then add chicken to enhance the flavor your cat loves! NUTRO® MAX® CAT Food never uses chicken heads, feet or intestines, which may be found in products containing chicken by-product meal.
  • Hairball Management
    Oat fiber, tomato pomace and rice are excellent fiber sources, which help to pass any swallowed hair gently through the digestive tract and into the litter box. MAX® CAT Indoor Adult Formulas help promote a healthy coat, which may help minimize opportunities for hairballs! Omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids, along with zinc, help promote a lustrous coat and supple skin.
  • Shiny Coat
    Fish oil, sunflower oil, soybean oil and chicken fat are rich sources of omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids. These fatty acids and zinc help support supple skin and a lustrous coat.
  • The Natural Nutrition Difference
    Highly digestible natural ingredients — fortified with essential vitamins, minerals and amino acids — truly make the difference. NUTRO® MAX® CAT Food is naturally preserved — no artificial chemicals like BHA, BHT or ethoxyquin. We do not add artificial colors, flavors or sweeteners. NUTRO® MAX® CAT Food uses easy-to-digest brewers rice; never any sorghum, ground corn, whole grain corn, corn meal or corn grits — which can be more difficult to digest.
  • Guaranteed Great Taste
    Our quality ingredients, unique kibble shape and natural flavors guarantee love at first bite! In fact, we’re so sure your cat will love NUTRO® MAX® CAT Food that we have a 100% satisfaction guarantee or your money back!
  • 100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED
    If for any reason you are dissatisfied with this product, return the unused portion along with the information contained within the dotted panel on the bag to your NUTRO® products retailer for replacement or refund. Should you wish to contact our Consumer Care Department, please call 1-800-833-5330 (for English) or 1-877-515-8589 (for French). Please visit us at www.nutro.com in the U.S. and in Canada at www.nutro.ca (English) or www.nutro.ca/fr (French).
Accordian Arrow

Feeding Guidelines

Feeding Guidelines
These are the recommended feeding amounts based on the ideal body condition for indoor adult cats of various weights. Individual cats’ energy requirements may differ. Adjust the amount fed to obtain or maintain your cat’s optimum weight. If feeding NUTRO® MAX® CAT Food for the first time, we suggest you blend increasing amounts of NUTRO® MAX® CAT Indoor Adult Roasted Chicken Flavor Cat Food with your old food for six days. Keep fresh drinking water available at all times, provide plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly. Serve dry or lightly moistened. To help maintain freshness, we recommend sealing the bag tightly and storing in a cool, dry location.
Suggested Amounts to Feed Per Day (Cups)

Cat Weight (lbs.) Indoor Inactive Indoor Active
4 1/4 1/3
8 1/2 2/3
12 2/3 3/4
16 3/4 1
2011 1/8

 Use a standard 8-oz. measuring cup, which holds 3.53 oz. of NUTRO® MAX® CAT Indoor Adult Roasted Chicken Flavor Cat Food.

NUTRO® Cat Food Body Chart

underweight cat idealweight cat oerweight cat
Underweight Ideal Weight Overweight
Increase the feeding amount to achieve an ideal weight.
Maintain feeding at the current level.
Decrease feeding amount to the indoor inactive level or feed NUTRO® MAX® CAT Indoor Weight Control Cat Food to achieve an ideal weight.
The 7-Day Switch Plan
We recommend a 7-day transition period from your old food to MAX® CAT food. This gradual change allows your cat’s system to adjust gradually without stomach upsets.
Day 1–2 Day 3–4 Day 5–6 Day 7+
25% MAX®
CAT Food
50% MAX®
CAT Food
75% MAX®
CAT Food
100% MAX®
CAT Food
75% Old 50% Old 25% Old
Calorie Content
Metabolizable energy 3,700 kcal/kg; 370 kcal/cup (calculated)
Nutritional Adequacy Claim
NUTRO® MAX® CAT Indoor Adult Roasted Chicken Flavor Cat Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
 

Product Reviews

Buy Online
 
MAX® CAT Food
OR
FIND A STORE
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 44reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love this I recently switched my 2 cats to this food and they love it. My daughter also thinks it is great because the litter box is not smelling as bad !!! June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big Pieces I recently switched to this cat food. It seems like a great product and my cats enjoy it. However, I think the pieces are huge. They are almost the size of the dog food. I have a senior cat who struggles to chew the pieces. Her teeth are not the best but because of her age, (15) I have opted out of having her put under to have her teeth cleaned.Not to worry though. I give her Nutro canned food. She is not starving. :) April 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great pruduct. I feed my two cats, plus two strays in streets. The two strays are also fed by some nieighbors, but they won't touch the food. They'll wait until I come by with their Nutro Roasted Dry Chicken Cat food. It's the funniest thing. Beggers can be choosie. I love this food. My two cats Maddie, Figaro,and the two strays I feed Lucilled and Pather have beautiful fur, and no hairballs. March 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Cat Food Made! I have been a Nutro user for years now, and I am so glad that I discovered this brand. All of my cats love this food, I have never had one refuse it. Their coats are soft and shiny, and I never have hairballs puked up on the floor. Also, I have discovered a lot less incidents of urinary tract issues since I switched my cats to Nutro Max Cat. February 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love this! I switched my cats to this food by chance when the pet store didn't have their normal food, and I'm so ad I did! We have 3 cats who used to just graze all day. They absolutely love this food and finish it all up very quickly. December 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is better than those other brands My tom cat, Dongwa, loves his MAX cat indoor (roasted chicken formula). I wasn't satisfied with those other brand names cat food. This is a very good source of a special nutrition that he needs. Dongwa, is now 5 and will turn 6 yrs old on 3/04/12. And I recommed this those who have indoor cat(s) to give your feline(s) a try on the Nutro MAX Indoor Cat Food. December 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well worth the cost My 2 kittens were eating a different dry food and seemed to never be full. I switched to Nutro Max Kitten Roasted Chicken and immediately noticed the difference. Now that they are a year old they are eating the Indoor Adult version and continue to be happy. I also give them a little snack portion of the Adult wet food in the small cans a few times a week. Both of them have beautiful shiny coats. And since the food is more nutritious & healthy there is less waste in the litter box. November 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feed my girls nothing else! I have been using dry Nutro Max/Max Cat for 25 years. I never liked flea collars or any chemicals on my cats. So, there were times when I had to deal with a minor flea problem. Much to my delight, about 6 months after I began using Nutro, I realized that I had not had to deal with any flea problems for months. I have had many cats in 25 years, and NONE of them EVER had fleas. Also, dander was negligible and their coats were beautiful. August 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the larger kibble I had tried different premium foods but the kibble was too small. Woody would swallow them whole and then throw it back up. I decided to try Nutro Max Indoor Roasted Chicken flavor. The kibble is large enough he has to chew it up. The crunching was music to my ears. And he loves the taste. And since he has to chew it up, he eats slower. I also put him on Natural Choice canned. Since it is a pate I add a little water to it and he gobbles it up. I am so glad I came back to Nutro. July 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product! I switched my three cats' food to Nutro Max Indoor Adult Chicken dry formula last fall and what a difference in their coats! Not only have they become wonderfully soft but so healthy and shiny they almost sparkle in the sun! July 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing nutrition my cats have been on nutro for years and they have always done the best on this food than any other food. i work at a pet store and i always recommend it to my customers June 25, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Switching Brands I've been feeding my 4 indoor cats this food for 3-4 years now, however the last 2 bags I've bought they will barely touch, I don't know what changed or why something would change (if it ain't broke, don't fix it) but they literally swallow the pieces whole to avoid having to taste the food...very disappointed. May 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for healthy cats!! I rescued 2 tiny kittens from a flooding situation in my mom's back yard. The vet recomended that I start them on Nutro food and that is what they still eat today, almost 8 years later. Geroge and Olivia have food at will and are perfect weights and are in good health. The only problem that we have is when George sees any of the bottom of the bowl showing, he complains loudly and demands more food be put in the bowl. I travel 40 miles round trip to get Nutro for the kitties because it is all they want and it keeps them healthy. March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Has everything needed for all life stages. My cats range in age from 14 yrs to 3 yrs of age. We leave food out continuously. This food keep my senior cat happy and well fed to keeping the youngster full of energy. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best cat food ever I started buying this cat food almost 2 years ago for my cat who was having a bad hairball issue. The food worked great! She has a nice soft coat now too,thanks to this food. I have told friends about this food, its great!! March 11, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the best ingredients For the price, I thought it would have more premium ingredients (like real meat versus meals, no gluten and stuff)...... My cats like the taste but the ingredients are not the healthiest for them. I hope for the price they sell them, they'd use better ingredients. March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this cat food!! We have been using this cat food for over 3 years now. We have 3 cats and they are all picky eaters. I was trying to find a food that would be good for them and was told about this by someone I worked with. I bought a bag and switched them right away. They ate AROUND their old food just to get to the Max Cat, I couldn't believe my eyes. So we got rid of the old stuff and haven't looked back. The only other food we buy now is the Salmon flavor so they can a mix up every other bag! March 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Natural Product for the Price I have been feeding my3 cats Nutro Max for a little over a year. They were previously eating Purina. There is a noticable difference in their coat sheen and their tummies are losing their pouches. Definetely recommend. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product I've been feeding Nutro Max Cat to all of my cats for over 10 years now. They all love the food. You can see the difference in their coats. Very shiny. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! We've used this produce since we brought our rescue kitty home 2.5 years ago! We tried to switch to other products, but she would have nothing but Nutro MaxCat - the opened (and full) bags of other products still sitting in our basement are a testimony to this!! My only complaint - stop changing the packaging! Once we get the hang of a new package, you change it and we have purchased the wrong product on occasion. March 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our cats thrive on Max Cat For over 20 yrs. we have been rescuing cats & kittens. We'd tried a lot of brands before a friend recommended Max Cat & all of our "kids" have done really well on it. Since we have so many it's hard to find food that they all like but with the Max Cat we hit the jackpot. They all love it. Since we started using the Nutro products our vet bills have decreased & that is a major concern especially in this economy & since we are on a limited income. Thanks Nutro for the quality products you provide! February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy cats My 2 cats an I like this food. Especially because it doesn't have this unhealthy byproducts other cat foods have. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is wonderful! this cat food is great! no by-products or fillers. This is the only cat food my cats will eat. It was recommended to me in 2000 by a nutro rep, and I have been feeding it ever since! February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats favorite I changed to max cat over a year ago and have not regreted it since. My cats coats look great, they are healthy and active. My vet even compliments them on their coats. I tried to switch to a different brand at a friends suggestion because of the cost. I was very unhappy and so were my cats, nedless to say we went back to Max. The results and satisfaction of my cats makes it well worth it. The cats favorite is the chicken, occassionaly I will mix in a different flavor to give them variety. Feeding them Max has not only made a difference in their health, but it has also made a difference in the litter box usage. I use less litter since I started using Max, because it doesn't go straight through them like other brands I have used. It also seems to keep the cats fuller, which in turn I have to fill their bowls less. I have switch many of my friends to using Max cat, they are also pleased with the results. So all in all it's my cats favorite food, it is healthier for them, and there's less waste. I am completely satisfied with it, and believe me I have several mouths to feed. February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love, love,love this food! Its a 10! I have 5 indoor cats, i know....five is alot. My cats are VERY hard to please! Since switching to this food, my cats don't shed nearly as much, and there coats are silky soft. They all love this food...which is amazing, and i love what this food does for their health. Feeding them food that makes them feel good and healthy, makes me feel good too! After all, pets are family....so why wouldn't we feed them like family? My husband and i always say "other cat foods are like Mcdonalds. You wouldn't feed your kids nothing but mcdonalds, would you?" I am sure if you switch to this food, you will never look back. I have five happy and healthy cats to prove it. February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by For even the finicky cats I was at my local pet store and was fixing to buy another (cheaper) brand and a woman walked up to me with a NUTRO logo on her shirt and said "Let me tell you about this wonderful food." I listened for about 15 minutes as she took me around to look at the back of all the bags of different cat food comparing the nutritional ingredients with all the other brands. My cat is like family to me and I am a new owner for the first time in my life. I was SOLD. If you want the best for your cat this is the food to buy. I weened him off the cheaper brand and thought he would be too finicky to eat it, but he LOVED it! And with all the coupons and good deals from the NUTRO website you can always get a good deal no matter which size bag you purchase. I also convinced my mother to come with me a couple of weeks later to talk to the same lady and she was sold too. Her cat was overweight and the most finicky cat about her food I'd ever seen. Within 1 week, she was only eating the NUTRO. Love the company...love the food:) February 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hair Cure I just began feeding my 3 cats Nutro Max about 2 months ago at the suggestion of the pet store employee. I have one long haired car that is allergic to just about everything and her hair falls out.....when I began the Nutro, slowly but surely her hair is returning, and you can tell she is much happier. All 3 of the cats enjoy the flavor and munch it to the bottom of the bowl! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice coat easy to digest We have 2 indoor cats and they love this food. We switch between the 2 indoor formulas, or mix them sometime, for the variety of flavor. They run to the bowls when they hear the food drawer open. They seem to enjooy the flavor and it has helped with their dry skin and coat. One of our cats has digestive troubles and he is seems to be able to easily digest this food without pain or discomfort. I also love the size and shape... it is big enough that they need to bite it and chew, but small enough to fit in their mouths. Our pet family loves nutro! Thank you Nutro!Stephanie, happy mom, and Reggie & Dixon happy kitties February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy choices matter I work @ Petsmart & have for almost 3 years. I have many choices for my cats at my fingertips. But, what I find that offers the BEST quality, vitamins, nutrients & overall smartest selection is with Nutro Max Cat foods. They love the taste, & no matter what I bring home & they pick over, they always come back to enjoying Nutro Max Cat. How could 3 wonderful felines ever be wrong! February 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My kitties favorite !! I ran out of food once and got awoke to a MAD kitty..........he actually woke me up by biting my chin and walking me to his bowl to let me know he is hungry and the empty bowl was not acceptable ! LOLI borrowed a bowl from the neighbor of another kind of food, he wouldn't even touch it, I tossed it out as soon as I got home with his new bag of Nutro. February 17, 2011
<<prev2 3next>>
PROVEN. NATURAL. NUTRITION.®